WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Andrew Garfield Wants Half-Hispanic, Half-Black Actor as Next Spider-Man

Posted: February 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Andrew Garfield Wants Half-Hispanic, Half-Black Actor as Next Spider-ManSubmit Comment
Sony Pictures has been holding sneak peek events for "The Amazing Spider-Man." The one in London had Andrew Garfield answering a few questions, including about the honor of playing Spidey.

Garfield told the crowd that the role is bigger than any one actor. Last time it was Toby Maguire, this time it's him and next time... he wants to see the role played by a half-Hispanic, half-black actor.

In other words, he wants the studio to make a movie based on the "Ultimate Spider-Man" series that features the half-Hispanic, half-black Miles Morales (pictured).

It seems that actors are always happy to step aside for another actor to take over their roles, as long as that actor is a minority. Daniel Craig previously said that the next James Bond should be black.

In related news: A brand new "The Amazing Spider-Man" trailer is set to appear online at 3am EST on Tuesday, February 7th.

Question: Do you think Spider-Man should be played by any actor other than white?

Click here to read more about "The Amazing Spider-Man."

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:51:08 PM

f*ck off you brit faggot.I don't want no Dominican/Puertorican/Panamanian/Afro Cuban spiderman
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:56:59 PM

why-- is Spidey a thief now?
BJsforeveryone writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:57:32 PM

Hmm..I want a black Bond,half-Hispanic, half-Black Spider-Man as much as i need an asian John Shaft..Not at all !! Stop messing with the classic figures and stay true to the stories. I know it`s 2012 but not everything has to change!
technoreaper writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:00:25 PM

Dear god, no. This will not work. Maybe with Bond, but not this.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:05:41 PM

So PP will be a lazy thief, who will drop out of school and live off of foodstamps?
OneTime writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:15:00 PM

shut the f*ck up.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:19:27 PM

...sh*t, why not go the extra mile and make him a gay single dad too!?!?1
beepboop writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:26:08 PM

big actors offering to hand down their roles to them poor minorities. oh how lucky they are to get the gift of approval from the white man! so generous!
Rambo writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:40:12 PM

they'll probably cast jaden smith as the next spiderman.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:45:56 PM

Connor Cruise or Shayhiri for the colored spiderman
boogiel writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:01:24 PM

Hell No. Peter Parker is the one and only Spider-Man not because he is white but because he is a beloved character since he was created. Nuff Said!
Dekead writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:10:45 PM

Answer to question: no. What's up with making all the characters multiracial? There was nothing wrong with Nick Fury although I love Sam Jackson as him
Avirex writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:12:02 PM

Where's the f*cking quote Alex? When you begin a story with "Actor ____ says ____" your supposed to follow that sh*t with the actual quote from the actor.

Goddamn amateurs.
Avirex writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:15:49 PM

"Hey guys guess what that one dude said?!"

"What?!"

"He says (provoking statement)!!"

"Woah, where's the link? Nevermind. We don't need one. We'll just f*cking flip out prematurely and take your words at face value."
pornfly writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:21:37 PM

Dont worry bout the color of our Spiderman and we wont worry bout the color of your teeth
pornfly writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:23:22 PM

^
That was for Garfield in case i confused some folks
freebasedog writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 12:09:43 AM

how nice of him to say this a year after he got the role amidst all the Donald Glover internet chatter...
freebasedog writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 12:12:27 AM

that said I see no reason not to switch it up after his run at which point they will have made 2 trilogies could probably use a shake up assuming we are still in the era when these things simply get rebooted asap
rocketman writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 12:50:40 AM

How very PC

Brad Pitt for Zorro!
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 12:56:54 AM

Garfield can ask for whatever he wants, but the truth of the matter, the "minority" Spiderman is not bankable.

I mean, no one outside the comic book community knows Spiderman is now a half black, half hispanic, which is a lot to assimilate, knowing since the 1960s he's always been Peter Parker...

But this is not the first time they changed Spiderman's race. In 2099 version of Spiderman (badass costume BTW), his name was Miguel O' Hara.

Weird, huh?
buttabean writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 1:00:38 AM

Instead of an "amazing fail" it would be the "Ultimate fail"
johnny_boy writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 1:23:25 AM

Looks like somebody is trying a bit too hard to over compensate for how racist he must really be.
snoop writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 2:29:23 AM

Gotta love that white guilt.
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 2:38:16 AM

Half-Hispanic, Half-Black --- so after he steals cars, he can bring them to his day job at the car wash for cleaning?

Slick.

And are there ANY Half-Hispanic, Half-Black people out of prison that could play this?
Ted Mosby writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:12:26 AM

Here you go fellas:

http://youtu.be/-tnxzJ0SSOw

I personally am beyond stoked for this... TDKR has some serious competition.
trailertrash writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:31:15 AM

Can Half-Hispanic, Half-Black man carry off the name Peter as well as he could my tv though ?
trailertrash writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:32:04 AM

Cheers for the link Ted ...
tolgaboy writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:34:03 AM

hell yeah
trailertrash writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:34:43 AM

Alex hope you got the response you were looking for with your, Do you think Spider-Man should be played by any actor other than white?


Rambo writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:50:14 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9vGOkcty1aI
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:57:52 AM

Gee let me think....

NO!!!!!!!!!!
Phil writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 3:59:04 AM

Sure, and while we're at it, let's make spawn, black panther and blade white. Btw when is the new bad boys with an all white cast coming out. I'm pretty sure no one would mind.
trailertrash writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 4:08:51 AM

^ That would be called Obnoxious Boys then ....
LeeMaca writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 4:22:04 AM

can i ask how would people feel about white people playing black and hispanic roles? frankly I dont care how this comes across but stop messing with sh*t. next up black superman wearing green suit with white cape!
Damon242 writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 6:48:55 AM

A whole film made for and based off of the gimmick of having a "half-Hispanic, half-black" in a predominantly caucasian role?

Wow. Why don't we also have 'The Lion King' remake starring humans in a predominantly wildlife role? Or more Harry Potter films, but this time starring Darth Vader in the lead role?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 7:15:53 AM

@TT

Or Essex Boys....lol
codeman_1216 writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 7:22:34 AM

as long as they happen to find a black-hispanic guy who can act and they follow up from peter parker's death (like the beginning of the movie) i don't care. you're all racist bastards lol
SACdaddy writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 8:57:47 AM

Now I know what will win the guest writing job. Just propose a traditional white charater being played by any other race and you'll get plenty of WB user feedback. Works for Alex all the time!
AYT BALL writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 9:17:10 AM

Yeah great idea! and then lets make shaft white, Indy an indian and Jaws a Cod!
Artie writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 10:05:13 AM

Next they will want a Black President??
Ranger writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 10:55:35 AM

@AYT - my shaft is already white.

TMI?
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 11:20:53 AM

I have no idea what Garfield is on. Spiderman is supposed to fight crime, not create it.

But the 'racist' jokes are all used and worn out.

The fact is, it won;t happen. Avengers is the tie in, and though I can see perhaps a black Spiderman playing a role later on, or getting a stand-alone film after Avengers has enjoyed its run, right now, it's regular Spidey.

And Garfield can stop pandering to black people, because it just makes him look like a f*cking liberal parrot, too stupid to think for himself, giving away a job he doesn't own to so-called minorities who apparently can't do a damned thing without the consent of a white guy like Garfield.

f*ck off, Faggle Rock.
happileperkon writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 1:57:13 PM

is it really that bad to keep spiderman white? its not racist it's how the character was written!
witwicky-potter writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 4:12:36 PM

like that will ever happen
KillerCOck writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 4:16:16 PM

As much as I like the idea of the whole multicultural thing, they're things that I don't think hollywood really don't consider when doing sh*t like this.

If they made Bond Black, he's going 2 have a certain swag thats different to white people swag. Its a little detail thats going to have a huge effect on the character which is why I think it'd be better if they just made an original character thats Bond-like instead of making a black person play Bond.

A black/hispanic Spider-man i'm all for but the thing is they need to get people who know to write for that character without making him white washed which I think will happen.
I happen to be black/hispanic so even though I was raised in Canada there is that whole background culture thats influenced my life.

I imagine it'd be different for a black/hispanic character coming from New York but they can make something really good and even real dramatic if they can get someone who knows about this sh*t to write for it. If they don't take it seriously then it'll just be like Kingpin being black in Daredevil. He could've just been played by a white guy and it would've made know big difference because of how it was written.

Just keep thecharacter white if they arnt going to actually try and make it right is all i'm saying.
vwkombi writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 5:51:50 PM

What a condescending attitude. "Here is something whitey approved black guys. Since we know you guys can't do anything without it being approved by liberal racists like us!"
Mudders writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 7:27:26 PM

i reckon the next head of the kkk should be black....i mean everything else is changing seems a shmae for those guys to miss out.....
struck21 writes:
on February 13th, 2012 at 1:27:33 AM

And I want Luke Cage, Black Panther, Bishop, Blade, and Mexican Superman to be White.

Comics are what they are. They are not based on a PC world were they need to take into affect Affirmative Action when making them. Suggest you make Shaft white and you will have the LA riots all over again.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved