WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Chronicle" Surpasses Expectations and Wins Super Bowl Weekend

Posted: February 6th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Chronicle" Surpasses Expectations and Wins Super Bowl WeekendSubmit Comment
Fox's superhero film "Chronicle" surpasses expectations and won the Super Bowl weekend by grossing $22 million on only a $12 million budget. It will likely continue performing well, since it has an impressive 85% fresh rating on RottentTomatoes.

Daniel Radcliffe's "The Woman in Black" horror film had to settle for second place with $21 million. It also surpasses expectations, but "Chronicle" surprised experts since it performed well even on Sunday, when most males were supposed to watch the Super Bowl. "The Woman in Black" has a 62% fresh rating.

The other new wide release of the weekend was "Big Miracle," starring Drew Barrymore and John Krasinski. The $40 million film landed in fourth place with only $8.5 million, which means it will struggle to make its money back. "Big Miracle" has a 71% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, Madonna's "W.E.," which she directed, opened in four locations in New York and Los Angeles, and grossed $45,000. That's $11,250 per theater, that's considered a decent debut. "W.E." will expand into the top ten markets next weekend.

Click here to read our "Chronicle" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 4:21:57 AM

Alex-

Why not start a Worstpreviews rating system instead of keep using Rottentomatoes all the time.

I'm sure most people on here would rather see what WP folk think, If they want to know what RT think they can go there and look can't they.

Just a thought ...
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 5:12:06 AM

Good thinking TT. Batman would be proud.

Seriously though , that is a good idea.

And "Chronicle" can suck my hairy ballsack.
oklahomaer writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 7:23:49 AM

I enjoyed the woman in black.
bandolero999 writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 7:49:36 AM

Madonna directed a movie?EWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWWW
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:11:40 AM

I know Bando, who knew ...

The only thing i thought she directed was c*ck to her ass
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:14:49 AM

dave - lol

I see Alex has since posted a "want to be a guest writer" thread.

Still think most on here would rather here reviews and opinions on films they have seen more than anything else.
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 8:46:23 AM

Smart man TT, good thinking
Bullit writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:18:46 AM

@TRAILER: Excellent remark.

Since we ask each other what do we think about a film and therefore taking into account what many WP posters are saying, I really don't see why Rottentomatoes has to be the constant reference and I personnally consider Rottentom. as a crap site.

WE ARE the reference as we are movie fans, moviegoers. Some of us has been seeing movies for over over 30 years now. Therefore, we have some experience in that area and it's certainly more valuable than any other site.

After all, we are here talking about movies, aren't we?
Bullit writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:26:22 AM

And TRAILER, I saw "The Grey" and I don't share the same enthusiasm as you. The film is good but I wouldn't praise it as to be one of the best. I don't want to be a spoiler to some readers but the story is...pointless and the ending doesn't make any sense. The theme is: survival and was it worth it? I don't think so since he went out of the bar with his rifle and he didn't use it while he should have. You know what I mean? So, I felt quite frustrated at the end.
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:44:52 AM

Cheers fellas, It just seems like the obvious progression for the site to me.
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:53:38 AM

I totally get what you mean Bullit about The Grey. A couple of the people i went with felt the same way as you did.

I just really enjoyed the film as a piece of escapism cinema, But it does leaving wondering a little at the end doesn't it.
SACdaddy writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 9:54:12 AM

I saw Chronicle Sunday before the Superbowl and loved it. Really a nice spin on the superhero and found footage genre. Would love to see a sequel, and considering its profit margin I'm sure their will be one.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:39:32 AM

Wp should also institute a comment on comment type entry. this way viewers can view comments on the title post rather than sift through
secondbest writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 10:56:32 AM

In response to trailer's first comment, I think WP does have a rating system. It's a dictatorship called the "Dustin Putnam rating."
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 12:04:57 PM

That is a good idea, Trailer, and I would welcome it, but the issue is that essentially every site uses RT, which is critic-based and not popular movie-goer based, the latter need well-filled by IMDb's longstanding decade-old rating system.

Not to mention that RT's critics are vetted and IMDb has MILLIONS of popular raters, whereas WP has perhaps a hundred thousand registered users, many of them bots, and only perhaps 0.5% (500) return posters.

Like I said, it's a good idea, but I'm not sure what would be the point? By making WP more clique-ish and insular? I think we certainly could use an edit button long before we get a rating system, as simple correctios to posts would help legibility and improve this site's public appearance.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 12:08:13 PM

Need I also add that we, the few active posters, can vote ourselves by posting in a thread, and then tallying the record?

Contrarily, if you open the vote, then everyone and their grandma would submit a rating, registering only for that purpose, skewing the results wildly, and then never bothering to attend to the comments section or the forum, which would essentially defeat the purpose of the internal vote idea.
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 12:20:52 PM

And the kid is STILL flipping the bird and no one thinks that's just a bit odd...
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 12:27:48 PM

"Still think most on here would rather here reviews and opinions on films they have seen more than anything else."

That's true, but then, why?

For every film, there's a HUNDRED reviews filed by known and not so known critics, and then you have IMDb which has thousands of popular reviews.

Why do we need one just for the handful of folks that post here?

What's SCARCE here at WP, and decling by the second, is informed, intelligent opinion.

Instead, you guys would rather post a thousand links to naked women and 'discuss' the merits of sex with underage girls and the various scents of freshly laid female feces.

I really think Alex just needs to go full-retard by posting images of nude celebs, and wistful opinionating on the beauty of the modern sex-scatologist.

As you said, trailer, Alex seems to know his 'audience', so why pretend this place is serious about film NOW?
Dr Fate writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 1:37:05 PM

Is there any way to rate the stretchiness of minkowskis mothers vajayjay. 10 being no friction, 1 nice and night
minkowski writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 1:46:48 PM

You're a clever cat, Dr. Fart, by dredging up a mother joke and using 'vajayjay', because the word 'vagina' just isn't gay or juvenile enough.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 4:20:56 PM

Instead, you guys would rather post a thousand links to naked women and 'discuss' the merits of sex with underage girls and the various scents of freshly laid female feces.

This just sounds like society in general and the media's successful dumbing down of he people to increase sales of sh*tty products and sh*tty films. Sex is everywhere now days it's no wonder kids are growing up with one track minds. Also by the sounds of some comments there's more younger people on WP who are used to social networking sites and not having the attention span to write anything worth reading but to be say as little as possible.

As for Alex knowing his audience it's a chicken and the egg scenario. Did Alex get lazy and lose the original WPers who gave a f*ck about films or did the new breed of WPers force Alex to start writing ridiculous articles.
trailertrash writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 5:15:54 PM

Thanks for the info Mink.

I have never been on Rottentomatoes before. I use IMDB now and then or i come here (more for the crack and the naked chick pics than for the movie news)

I don't know how many users WP have. But with only 5300 odd FB likes WP does have some way to go before they can compete with the big film sites out there.

HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on February 6th, 2012 at 5:28:55 PM

Speaking of Rotten Tomatos, they gave Madonna's new movie a 16% fresh rating. Makes me wonder if her new movie will make its budget back.
minkowski writes:
on February 7th, 2012 at 12:09:11 PM

Thanks trailer, and I meant no offense.

As I said, I thin kit's a great idea, that was my first reaction, but then I thought about how few of us there are, the ones that actually post, and I just don't think we have the user base for it.

That, and if you skim the member list, so damned many of them are bots...

@cinema: Someone agrees with me. Yay! Finally!
trailertrash writes:
on February 8th, 2012 at 4:23:45 PM

Cheers Mink and none taken mate ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved