WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Explained: Why Bill Murray's Days Repeated in "Groundhog Day"

Posted: February 3rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Explained: Why Bill MurraySubmit Comment
Since Groundhog Day just passed, many of you likely revisited the Bill Murray comedy "Groundhog Day." The movie is hilarious, but doesn't answer many questions, like how long Phil Connors (Murray) was stuck in the time loop and why did this even happen to him.

Now, many years later, actor Eddie Deezen has answered these questions, based on what he saw in the second draft of the script which he says was very close to what's in the final movie.

"Near the beginning of this script, we meet Phil's girlfriend, Stephanie, who Phil coldly and unceremoniously dumps," he explained. "Later, as Phil is going to bed in Punxsutawney, we see Stephanie in her room, using Phil's business cards and broken watch (conveniently set at 5:59) to perform a magic spell from a book titled 101 Curses, Spells, and Enchantments You Can Do At Home. This sets the theme of Groundhog Day in motion. There is no 'higher purpose' given, just an angry, embittered ex-girlfriend with a little book."

He added: "It also has a more definite answer as to why he comes out of it. It was apparently the kiss with Rita (Andie MacDowell) at the end of the film that broke the spell, much like a fairy tale."

And according to Deezen, Phil was stuck in the time loop for 10,000 years. Director Harold Ramis previously confirmed this, but later said that Phil was probably stuck for about 10 years.

Source: Neatorama


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
GreenLensman writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:22:44 AM

Is he a God?
The Derp Knight writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:35:42 AM

10,000 years will give you SUCH a crick in the neck
pornfly writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:54:41 AM

One of the best date movies disguised as a comedy
I think when hes teachin her how to toss cards he eludes to how long
Groundhog Day/Kingpin CLASSIC
Still have to see that Hunter S Thompson movie,i heard it was dissappointing but he really nailed his performance. Bill even returned to SNL still in character
boogiel writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 7:09:21 AM

Don't care. No need for explanation. Just leave it be.
Tanman32123 writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 7:25:42 AM

10,00 is bullcrap, i read somewhere that the easiest way to guess the length he was stuck was by the piano, claiming, it takes about 6+ years to learn Piano perfectly like he did in the film. plus there were other things that added unto the time he was in "the loop" that also would have taken many tears to master.
GuynamedLloyd writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 7:52:05 AM

GreenLensman, If somebody ever asks you if you are a god, you say YES!
BadChadB33 writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 8:12:01 AM

Yay I can finally sleep at night now.
Big_Daddy writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 8:48:49 AM

I like to believe it was because of a higher power because I like to think God is mischievous like that
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 9:04:36 AM

I swear read this same article the other day.
velocityknown writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 9:37:56 AM

@boogiel

I agree, it never mattered to me. His growth as a character is what made the movie, not the mystery behind what caused the the days to repeat.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 10:24:48 AM

As I expected when I opened the article, the reason was a huge anti climax. No one needed to know why he was stuck in the loop just like no one needed to see how Anakin became Darth Vader, it's better left to the imagination and I'm glad that the stupid ex girlfriend spell wasn't included in the final film.

Groundhog Day is one of my favourite films of all time, Bill (f*cking) Murray is a genius. I just don't see how Harold Ramis can go from a film like that to the pile of horse sh*t that was Year One.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 10:46:27 AM

uh, no....many of us did not rewatch this sh*tty, totally unfunny movie
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 10:50:50 AM

Was there not enough d*ck or fart jokes in there for you PowderedToastMan? I thought a 32 year old man wit ha username as witty as yours might appreciate funny movies. You can have an opinion but let me tell now... it's wrong!
Sleuth1989 writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 1:04:26 PM

@The Derp Knight
Using an Aladdin line huh?...Yes(Nodding head in approval)....yes.
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 1:21:29 PM

i got the explanation right here, in my pants...not really lol...but seriously, i think everybody here knows the real reason why days repeated...and it's no where near the same reason as the actor mentioned in the article...that actor needs to realize people watch the movie, not the script...there's no ex girlfriend in the movie and there's no evidence of somebody switching the clocks via some spell...he was a broken man whom God gave time to fix himself...simple as that
CelluloidMan writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 1:50:13 PM

^ ^ ^ Like this explanation better. Cheers, mate.
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 1:59:25 PM

dave

That was a joke yes ??!! lol if it was ...
trailertrash writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 2:04:02 PM

Cinema

Yeah this was a good movie and Ramis last good film he directed.

And to think he started with the brilliant Caddyshack and Nat-Lampoons Vacation and last time was that pile of Dinosaur crap Year One, Bet he wants to make Groundhog Day 2
synthetic1985 writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 2:35:18 PM

@ CelluloidMan...thanks, yea was just thinking smart people don't say stupid sh*t like that actor...just like marky mark stopping the 9/11 attacks, yea i'm sure anybody there would've tried to stop it from happening if given the opportunity, but as it was, it didn't happen that way...and people need to stop saying stupid sh*t like 'if i was there...'...guess what, you weren't there so shut up lol...i dunno, i'm just not liking marky mark's direction lately...he'll help justin beiber with a movie career but won't help other aspiring actors or musicians get their start?...i mean why does beiber need help? he's already famous...it's pathetic, he could make his own movie w/o marky, and it would still sell because of the countless girls and moms that are into him, well and gay people too i forgot about that...point is, he's trying to convince people like us that justin beiber can be accepted...and the only thing people like us can accept from beiber is failure or death, although i like failure much better...would love to see all the hate capitalize on him like miley cyrus or lindsay lohan...not that it doesn't already, but it will even more so if beiber says more stupid sh*t like 'i'm the kurt cobain of my generation'...i'm just happily waiting because it's like sick boy says in trainspotting, everybody has it and then they don't...don't worry guys, bullsh*t material like this won't last forever in the industry, i mean people thought rock n roll would never die, which it didn't, just so happens rock is bigger and better than ever because of the people that still listen to it...keep listening to those good tunes, over time it'll rule the sh*tty sounding spur the moment artists...always worked before in the past, no reason why it couldn't work today too
pornfly writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 3:32:57 PM

what CINEMA said
baxattax writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 4:07:13 PM

I'd f*ck everyone in town after 10,000 years.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 5:22:11 PM

What a silly explanation. 10,000 years doing the same sh*t would've made Muray's character mad, mad I tell ya. Which is why I don't belive in heaven. I mean, what the f*ck would you do with infinite time? Most people are batsh*t insane after just 80 years, so imagine your mental state after ten millennia...
Rambo writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 5:53:36 PM

what boogiel said
Cinemaisdead writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:14:20 PM

Trailer- Yeah mate another two great films. It makes me wonder how much influence Murray had and whether he ad libbed a lot of his lines.

synthetic1985- "he was a broken man whom God gave time to fix himself...simple as that"

Too be fair that's just as far fetched as the spell idea you seem to think it makes more sense that a big imaginary man would care about changing the life of an egotistical news reporter?

minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:22:15 PM

I hate it when people say "what so and so said".

Either come up with your own opinion or don't say anything.
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:31:57 PM

^^Needed to be said, I think.
pornfly writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:42:35 PM

YEAH DITTO
minkowski writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 6:50:46 PM

You're funny, pornfly. That's why I'm going to kill you last.
pornfly writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 8:42:17 PM

JUST FINISHED WATCHIN THAT MOVIE
Sully yells oooolala!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on February 3rd, 2012 at 8:44:14 PM

@TT

How did you guess? Lol.
tolgaboy writes:
on February 4th, 2012 at 1:38:14 AM

not the god ey god the best
Rambo writes:
on February 4th, 2012 at 3:50:26 AM

what mink said ;-)
Džeko writes:
on February 4th, 2012 at 6:45:17 AM

Who the f*ck asked for an explanation !?
obd2works writes:
on September 29th, 2013 at 10:32:49 PM

Near the beginning of this script, we meet Phil's girlfriend, Stephanie, who Phil coldly and unceremoniously dumps

http://www.obd2works.com/

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved