WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Artist" Director Michel Hazanavicius Wins DGA Award

Posted: January 29th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Artist" Director Michel Hazanavicius Wins DGA AwardSubmit Comment
The Directors Guild of America (DGA) has selected French filmmaker Michel Hazanavicius as the Best Director of 2011 for his work on the black-and-white, silent film "The Artist."

Ever since the guild started giving out awards in 1948, only six times did their winner not go on to win at the Academy Awards. Last year, Tom Hooper won the DGA award for "The King's Speech." The film went on to win the Oscar for Best Picture and Best Director.

Meanwhile, director James Marsh won a DGA Award for his documentary "Project Nim," which didn't receive an Oscar nomination.

Best Director (winner in red):
* Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist)
* Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris)
* David Fincher The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo)
* Alexander Payne (The Descendants)
* Martin Scorsese (Hugo)

Source: DGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 11 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Evil_Disco writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:25:56 AM

The Artist was good, but not Oscar for Best film-good..
SeWerin writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 8:22:14 AM

So Artist will snub everything on Oscars.

And Fincher was ignored again, i'm a bit sad, but he should know better than doing remakes.
Rambo writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 9:30:23 AM

@evil

agreed.but then again you could say the same things about 85% of the movies that ever won 'best film'
trailertrash writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 10:16:46 AM

Best picture winners from about the mid 90's onwards have been very hit and miss if you ask me.
-Chewy- writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 12:15:40 PM

The artist should win best movie, and yeah, it wasn't that good, it's just that the competition is piss-poor this year.
minkowski writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 2:55:14 PM

No sound, no color. This is like a deaf blind man winning a spelling bee. Or, in other words, who gives a sh*t?
JakeVermont writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 4:26:58 PM

@Minkowski: true, true.

I just came back from watching this movie, I should have saved my money.
You know storywise it would fit perfectly in the era when the first movies with sound came out, as one of the last of it's kind.

But today... sorry no. It feels like a movie from the 20s(not that I've seen any but everyone has seen glimpses thats what I mean) and it's just a simple movie with a boring story and cliche love interest.

I have no idea why there is such a hype. You could have released a movie from those days with the same story and nobody would give a sh*t. Now you release a movie from today which is just like a movie from back then and everybody is hyped out.... I dont understand.

Sorry but those people who vote for this as BEST PICTURE are media driven. Now dont get me wrong, moviewise it is good, the story is good, the actors are good, sets, editing also.
But we have 2012! Wrong f*cking year!

It was so boring... and the dialogues were crap. Oh wait there werent any... -_-^


never again...
JakeVermont writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 4:30:37 PM

Oh and dont confuse a good story with a boring movie... I think these are two different things. e.g. Tinker, taylor, soldier, spy.

I've seen it recently and I think the story is good and complex enough for a spy thriller... but I was so bored. Just my opinion.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 30th, 2012 at 12:03:01 AM

Good he won, don't mind him winning the Oscar but there are other directors more deserving.
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 6:30:38 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 3rd, 2017 at 11:01:32 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved