WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment
Mar 1st, 2015
"Star Trek" Actor Leonard Nimoy Dead at 83
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Black Widow, Thor and Nick Fury Posters
Feb 28th, 2015
First Look at Eddie Redmayne as First Transgender Person in "The Danish Girl"
Feb 28th, 2015
Leonardo DiCaprio to Have 24 Personalities in "The Crowded Room"
Feb 28th, 2015
"Brewster's Millions" Remake Gets a Director
Feb 28th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils The Hulk Poster
Feb 27th, 2015
Director Neill Blomkamp Says His "Elysium" Film is Not Very Good
Feb 27th, 2015
Harrison Ford Confirmed for "Blade Runner 2," Director Announced
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Clarifies His "Alien 5" Comments
Feb 27th, 2015
"Red Sonja" is Happening Again
Feb 27th, 2015
Neill Blomkamp's "Alien" Sequel Will Give Ripley a Proper Ending
Feb 26th, 2015
"Avengers: Age of Ultron" Unveils Iron Man Poster
Feb 26th, 2015
Official "Creed" Plot Synopsis Hints at Rocky's Health Issues
Feb 26th, 2015
Four New Photos From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Feb 26th, 2015
"Tomb Raider" Reboot Hires "Divergent" Writer
Feb 26th, 2015
Poster for Marvel's "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 25th, 2015
Arnold Schwarzenegger Says He'll Return For "Terminator Genisys" Sequel
Feb 25th, 2015
Dark "Power Rangers" Short Film with James Van Der Beek
Feb 25th, 2015
"The LEGO Movie" Sequel Announces Director
Feb 25th, 2015
Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?
Feb 24th, 2015
Chris Pratt Comments on Starring in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 24th, 2015
Rooney Mara Says "Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" Sequel is Dead
Feb 24th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Feb 24th, 2015
"Fifty Shades of Grey" Still First at Box Office, "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Bombs
Feb 23rd, 2015
Academy Award Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Steven Spielberg May Direct Chris Pratt in "Indiana Jones 5"
Feb 22nd, 2015
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play Wolverine Until He Dies
Feb 22nd, 2015
"Wonder Woman" Set to Begin Filming This Fall
Feb 22nd, 2015
2015 Razzie Winners Announced!
Feb 22nd, 2015
Trailer for "Infinitely Polar Bear," with Mark Ruffalo and Zoe Saldana
Feb 22nd, 2015
First Look: Jason Momoa is Aquaman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Feb 21st, 2015
Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Feb 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"

Posted: January 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
Nicolas Cage recently participated in a lengthy web chat with Empire Online to talk about his career, including what he did to prepare for "Ghost Rider." The short answer is magic. The long answer is:

"Ghost Rider was an entirely new experience, and got me thinking about something I read in a book called 'The Way Of Wyrd by Brian Bates,' and he also wrote a book called 'The Way Of The Actor,'" said Cage. "He put forth the concept that all actors, whether they know it or not, stem from thousands of years ago pre-Christian times when they were the medicine men or shamans of the village. And these shamans, who by today's standards would be considered psychotic, were actually going into flights of the imagination and locating answers to problems within the village. They would use masks or rocks or some sort of magical object that had power to it."

He continued: "It occurred to me, because I was doing a character as far out of our reference point as the spirit of vengeance, I could use these techniques. I would paint my face with black and white make up to look like a Afro-Caribbean icon called Baron Samedi, or an Afro-New Orleans icon who is also called Baron Saturday. He is a spirit of death but he loves children; he's very lustful, so he's a conflict in forces. And I would put black contact lenses in my eyes so that you could see no white and no pupil, so I would look more like a skull or a white shark on attack."

"On my costume, my leather jacket, I would sew in ancient, thousands-of-years-old Egyptian relics, and gather bits of tourmaline and onyx and would stuff them in my pockets to gather these energies together and shock my imagination into believing that I was augmented in some way by them, or in contact with ancient ghosts. I would walk on the set looking like this, loaded with all these magical trinkets, and I wouldn't say a word to my co-stars or crew or directors. I saw the fear in their eyes, and it was like oxygen to a forest fire. I believed I was the Ghost Rider."

Source: Empire, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 9:17:11 PM

Maybe he should use some magic to pay off his IRS bill.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:05:02 PM

Magic, eh? Looks like someone's been snorting too much "Pixie Dust"...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:12:10 PM

I want what he's having
boogiel writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:20:39 PM

"I believed I was the Ghost Rider"

Riiight. I wonder does he actually think about his answers before saying or does he just smoke a bag of crack before interviews? Anyway, I think that confirms it. Cage is definitely a retard.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:35:25 PM

that's sort of f*cked up.
Bouk writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Just flipping though my Webster's Dictionary...A,B,C,D,E,F...ah, here it is, "Freak: (noun) a moron of an actor who has long lost his grip on reality (See picture)." And there is Nicolas Cage's headshot.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

I think his mouth was working quicker than his brain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:14:37 AM

Pay off the IRS or fix his movie career to what it used to be.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:33:37 AM

I'll bet he's gotten some skull from that dino T-Rex head he has.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:44:50 AM

hahahaha He's the best!
Judoguru writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:02:35 AM

Makes sense.. He is a warlock from the 1800's right? WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT?! Idiot..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:23:18 AM

I love him. I. Love. Nicolas. Cage. The man is pure awesomeness. Batsh*t insane? Absolutely. But awesome nonetheless.
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:37:45 AM

Now, I understand better the Cage family.

I knew that his son had some mental issues but obviously it runs in the family. The things he did just to pay back the IRS.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 5:40:10 AM

Wait Nic Cage can sew?!
I need to see this The Way of Weird book
....and that wasnt fear in their eyes. It was the shock of seein a bedazzled middle age man with rocks janglin in his pockets and contacts
Thank God he didnt play Superman
Gotta luv that kook
Buckles44 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:18:28 AM

Nic cage can read?
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:26:43 PM

This is hardcore. @Bullit you should be saying "I understand better the Coppola family" if you want to be accurate.
triggax writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:34:29 PM

This is word for word exactly what I expected to hear from Cage.

Dude is pig sh*t psychotic and I f*cking love it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:56:28 PM

He's eiher the world's greatest method actor, or he's crazier than Tom Cruise looks.

I'm betting on the latter.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:03:55 PM

@Min. Could be both, I saw footage of voodoo Cage and it suits him
vincere01 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:42:59 PM

I can see cage spiraling downward as he ages and eventually turning into the the senior citizen serial killer in a pasadena retirement community. Won't be able to claim insanity defense by then after the body of work that is his life though. I didn't think it was possible for cage to have a crazier look in his eyes, but with those contacts I bet
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:45:42 PM

@gotsghostrider: yes indeed, I knew he was related to the Coppola's family but i think they cut the ties since then.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:07:16 PM

Yeah. You know when you're not invited to their Xmas Party when you find your prize horse's head in your bed (no, not Sarah Jessica Parker's).
rorschach writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:33:38 PM

You beautiful, psychotic, crack-addicted man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 31st, 2012 at 10:08:57 AM

mrstretch

You see the Wolf down and nearly dead breathing heavy and it looks like Neeson is laying on it's side, Alive i think it's only a 3 or 4 second scene..

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Will Smith Trashes "Another Earth," Vince Vaughn Trashes "The Internship"

More Details on Marvel's Spider-Man Deal, New Spider-Man to be Younger

Mark Ruffalo Discusses The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" and in New Solo Film

It's Official: Spider-Man to Appear in Marvel Films

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Matthew Vaughn Reveals His Version of Quicksilver Scene in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Director Matthew Vaughn Wanted Two Wolverines in "X-Men: Days of Future Past"

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Jared Leto Talks Playing The Joker in "Suicide Squad"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved