WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"

Posted: January 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
Nicolas Cage recently participated in a lengthy web chat with Empire Online to talk about his career, including what he did to prepare for "Ghost Rider." The short answer is magic. The long answer is:

"Ghost Rider was an entirely new experience, and got me thinking about something I read in a book called 'The Way Of Wyrd by Brian Bates,' and he also wrote a book called 'The Way Of The Actor,'" said Cage. "He put forth the concept that all actors, whether they know it or not, stem from thousands of years ago pre-Christian times when they were the medicine men or shamans of the village. And these shamans, who by today's standards would be considered psychotic, were actually going into flights of the imagination and locating answers to problems within the village. They would use masks or rocks or some sort of magical object that had power to it."

He continued: "It occurred to me, because I was doing a character as far out of our reference point as the spirit of vengeance, I could use these techniques. I would paint my face with black and white make up to look like a Afro-Caribbean icon called Baron Samedi, or an Afro-New Orleans icon who is also called Baron Saturday. He is a spirit of death but he loves children; he's very lustful, so he's a conflict in forces. And I would put black contact lenses in my eyes so that you could see no white and no pupil, so I would look more like a skull or a white shark on attack."

"On my costume, my leather jacket, I would sew in ancient, thousands-of-years-old Egyptian relics, and gather bits of tourmaline and onyx and would stuff them in my pockets to gather these energies together and shock my imagination into believing that I was augmented in some way by them, or in contact with ancient ghosts. I would walk on the set looking like this, loaded with all these magical trinkets, and I wouldn't say a word to my co-stars or crew or directors. I saw the fear in their eyes, and it was like oxygen to a forest fire. I believed I was the Ghost Rider."

Source: Empire, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 9:17:11 PM

Maybe he should use some magic to pay off his IRS bill.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:05:02 PM

Magic, eh? Looks like someone's been snorting too much "Pixie Dust"...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:12:10 PM

I want what he's having
boogiel writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:20:39 PM

"I believed I was the Ghost Rider"

Riiight. I wonder does he actually think about his answers before saying or does he just smoke a bag of crack before interviews? Anyway, I think that confirms it. Cage is definitely a retard.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:35:25 PM

that's sort of f*cked up.
Bouk writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Just flipping though my Webster's Dictionary...A,B,C,D,E,F...ah, here it is, "Freak: (noun) a moron of an actor who has long lost his grip on reality (See picture)." And there is Nicolas Cage's headshot.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

I think his mouth was working quicker than his brain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:14:37 AM

Pay off the IRS or fix his movie career to what it used to be.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:33:37 AM

I'll bet he's gotten some skull from that dino T-Rex head he has.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:44:50 AM

hahahaha He's the best!
Judoguru writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:02:35 AM

Makes sense.. He is a warlock from the 1800's right? WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT?! Idiot..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:23:18 AM

I love him. I. Love. Nicolas. Cage. The man is pure awesomeness. Batsh*t insane? Absolutely. But awesome nonetheless.
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:37:45 AM

Now, I understand better the Cage family.

I knew that his son had some mental issues but obviously it runs in the family. The things he did just to pay back the IRS.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 5:40:10 AM

Wait Nic Cage can sew?!
I need to see this The Way of Weird book
....and that wasnt fear in their eyes. It was the shock of seein a bedazzled middle age man with rocks janglin in his pockets and contacts
Thank God he didnt play Superman
Gotta luv that kook
Buckles44 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:18:28 AM

Nic cage can read?
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:26:43 PM

This is hardcore. @Bullit you should be saying "I understand better the Coppola family" if you want to be accurate.
triggax writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:34:29 PM

This is word for word exactly what I expected to hear from Cage.

Dude is pig sh*t psychotic and I f*cking love it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:56:28 PM

He's eiher the world's greatest method actor, or he's crazier than Tom Cruise looks.

I'm betting on the latter.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:03:55 PM

@Min. Could be both, I saw footage of voodoo Cage and it suits him
vincere01 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:42:59 PM

I can see cage spiraling downward as he ages and eventually turning into the the senior citizen serial killer in a pasadena retirement community. Won't be able to claim insanity defense by then after the body of work that is his life though. I didn't think it was possible for cage to have a crazier look in his eyes, but with those contacts I bet
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:45:42 PM

@gotsghostrider: yes indeed, I knew he was related to the Coppola's family but i think they cut the ties since then.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:07:16 PM

Yeah. You know when you're not invited to their Xmas Party when you find your prize horse's head in your bed (no, not Sarah Jessica Parker's).
rorschach writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:33:38 PM

You beautiful, psychotic, crack-addicted man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 31st, 2012 at 10:08:57 AM

mrstretch

You see the Wolf down and nearly dead breathing heavy and it looks like Neeson is laying on it's side, Alive i think it's only a 3 or 4 second scene..

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved