WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "Men, Women and Children," Directed by Jason Reitman
Aug 20th, 2014
Daughters of Johnny Depp and Kevin Smith to Star in "Yoga Hosers"
Aug 20th, 2014
Photo: Is Scoot McNairy Playing The Flash in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 20th, 2014
Trailer For "A Good Marriage" Thriller, Based on Stephen King's Short Story
Aug 20th, 2014
New Trailer For "Ouija" Supernatural Thriller, Based on Board Game
Aug 20th, 2014
Benedict Cumberbatch is Shere Khan in "The Jungle Book" Film
Aug 20th, 2014
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Simon Cowell Making a "Betty Boop" Movie
Aug 15th, 2014
Trailer for "Rudderless," with Billy Crudup and Anton Yelchin
Aug 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"

Posted: January 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
Nicolas Cage recently participated in a lengthy web chat with Empire Online to talk about his career, including what he did to prepare for "Ghost Rider." The short answer is magic. The long answer is:

"Ghost Rider was an entirely new experience, and got me thinking about something I read in a book called 'The Way Of Wyrd by Brian Bates,' and he also wrote a book called 'The Way Of The Actor,'" said Cage. "He put forth the concept that all actors, whether they know it or not, stem from thousands of years ago pre-Christian times when they were the medicine men or shamans of the village. And these shamans, who by today's standards would be considered psychotic, were actually going into flights of the imagination and locating answers to problems within the village. They would use masks or rocks or some sort of magical object that had power to it."

He continued: "It occurred to me, because I was doing a character as far out of our reference point as the spirit of vengeance, I could use these techniques. I would paint my face with black and white make up to look like a Afro-Caribbean icon called Baron Samedi, or an Afro-New Orleans icon who is also called Baron Saturday. He is a spirit of death but he loves children; he's very lustful, so he's a conflict in forces. And I would put black contact lenses in my eyes so that you could see no white and no pupil, so I would look more like a skull or a white shark on attack."

"On my costume, my leather jacket, I would sew in ancient, thousands-of-years-old Egyptian relics, and gather bits of tourmaline and onyx and would stuff them in my pockets to gather these energies together and shock my imagination into believing that I was augmented in some way by them, or in contact with ancient ghosts. I would walk on the set looking like this, loaded with all these magical trinkets, and I wouldn't say a word to my co-stars or crew or directors. I saw the fear in their eyes, and it was like oxygen to a forest fire. I believed I was the Ghost Rider."

Source: Empire, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 9:17:11 PM

Maybe he should use some magic to pay off his IRS bill.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:05:02 PM

Magic, eh? Looks like someone's been snorting too much "Pixie Dust"...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:12:10 PM

I want what he's having
boogiel writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:20:39 PM

"I believed I was the Ghost Rider"

Riiight. I wonder does he actually think about his answers before saying or does he just smoke a bag of crack before interviews? Anyway, I think that confirms it. Cage is definitely a retard.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:35:25 PM

that's sort of f*cked up.
Bouk writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Just flipping though my Webster's Dictionary...A,B,C,D,E,F...ah, here it is, "Freak: (noun) a moron of an actor who has long lost his grip on reality (See picture)." And there is Nicolas Cage's headshot.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

I think his mouth was working quicker than his brain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:14:37 AM

Pay off the IRS or fix his movie career to what it used to be.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:33:37 AM

I'll bet he's gotten some skull from that dino T-Rex head he has.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:44:50 AM

hahahaha He's the best!
Judoguru writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:02:35 AM

Makes sense.. He is a warlock from the 1800's right? WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT?! Idiot..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:23:18 AM

I love him. I. Love. Nicolas. Cage. The man is pure awesomeness. Batsh*t insane? Absolutely. But awesome nonetheless.
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:37:45 AM

Now, I understand better the Cage family.

I knew that his son had some mental issues but obviously it runs in the family. The things he did just to pay back the IRS.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 5:40:10 AM

Wait Nic Cage can sew?!
I need to see this The Way of Weird book
....and that wasnt fear in their eyes. It was the shock of seein a bedazzled middle age man with rocks janglin in his pockets and contacts
Thank God he didnt play Superman
Gotta luv that kook
Buckles44 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:18:28 AM

Nic cage can read?
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:26:43 PM

This is hardcore. @Bullit you should be saying "I understand better the Coppola family" if you want to be accurate.
triggax writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:34:29 PM

This is word for word exactly what I expected to hear from Cage.

Dude is pig sh*t psychotic and I f*cking love it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:56:28 PM

He's eiher the world's greatest method actor, or he's crazier than Tom Cruise looks.

I'm betting on the latter.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:03:55 PM

@Min. Could be both, I saw footage of voodoo Cage and it suits him
vincere01 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:42:59 PM

I can see cage spiraling downward as he ages and eventually turning into the the senior citizen serial killer in a pasadena retirement community. Won't be able to claim insanity defense by then after the body of work that is his life though. I didn't think it was possible for cage to have a crazier look in his eyes, but with those contacts I bet
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:45:42 PM

@gotsghostrider: yes indeed, I knew he was related to the Coppola's family but i think they cut the ties since then.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:07:16 PM

Yeah. You know when you're not invited to their Xmas Party when you find your prize horse's head in your bed (no, not Sarah Jessica Parker's).
rorschach writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:33:38 PM

You beautiful, psychotic, crack-addicted man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 31st, 2012 at 10:08:57 AM

mrstretch

You see the Wolf down and nearly dead breathing heavy and it looks like Neeson is laying on it's side, Alive i think it's only a 3 or 4 second scene..

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved