WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Why is This "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Poster So Offensive?
Jul 30th, 2014
TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again
Jul 30th, 2014
New Trailer For "Maze Runner" Sci-Fi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2014
Zoe Saldana Gives an Update on "Avatar" Sequels
Jul 30th, 2014
Trailer for "The Longest Week" Comedy, with Jason Bateman and Olivia Wilde
Jul 30th, 2014
Watch 5 Minutes From "The Simpsons" and "Family Guy" Crossover Episode
Jul 29th, 2014
Sam Raimi and Bruce Campbell Developing "Evil Dead" TV Series
Jul 29th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel Makes Offer to "Attack the Block" Director Joe Cornish
Jul 29th, 2014
Jodie Foster to Direct George Clooney in "Money Monster" Thriller
Jul 29th, 2014
Trailer For The Asylum's "The Expendables" Rip-Off, With Brigitte Nielsen and Vivica A. Fox
Jul 29th, 2014
New Poster for "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies"
Jul 29th, 2014
Extended Restricted Trailer for "Sin City 2: A Dame to Kill For"
Jul 29th, 2014
First Photos From Ben Stiller's "Night at the Museum 3"
Jul 29th, 2014
Photos: Lots of "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Props On Display at Comic-Con
Jul 28th, 2014
"Deadpool" Movie Test Footage Leaked Online
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1" is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
"Mad Max: Fury Road" Comic-Con Trailer is Here!
Jul 28th, 2014
Trailer for "Air" Sci-Fi Film, From Creator of "The Walking Dead"
Jul 28th, 2014
New Trailer for "Batman" Prequel TV Series "Gotham"
Jul 28th, 2014
Comic-Con Trailer For DC's "Constantine" TV Series
Jul 28th, 2014
"Lucy" Destroys "Hercules" at the Box Office
Jul 27th, 2014
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Comic-Con Trailer Leaked Online!
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at Gal Gadot as Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jul 27th, 2014
"King Kong" Prequel "Skull Island" Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
Full "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Banner Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" Sequel Confirmed, Release Date Announced
Jul 27th, 2014
"Godzilla 2" Announced, Three Monsters Revealed
Jul 27th, 2014
Four Character Posters for Tom Hardy's "Mad Max: Fury Road"
Jul 27th, 2014
First Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot?
Jul 26th, 2014
Trailer for Kevin Smith's "Tusk" Horror Film
Jul 26th, 2014
Chris Pratt Wants to Kill Iron Man in Future Marvel Film
Jul 26th, 2014
New Trailer for Daniel Radcliffe's "Horns" Supernatural Thriller
Jul 26th, 2014
First Bizarre Photo From "SpongeBob SquarePants: Sponge Out of Water" Movie
Jul 26th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"

Posted: January 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
Nicolas Cage recently participated in a lengthy web chat with Empire Online to talk about his career, including what he did to prepare for "Ghost Rider." The short answer is magic. The long answer is:

"Ghost Rider was an entirely new experience, and got me thinking about something I read in a book called 'The Way Of Wyrd by Brian Bates,' and he also wrote a book called 'The Way Of The Actor,'" said Cage. "He put forth the concept that all actors, whether they know it or not, stem from thousands of years ago pre-Christian times when they were the medicine men or shamans of the village. And these shamans, who by today's standards would be considered psychotic, were actually going into flights of the imagination and locating answers to problems within the village. They would use masks or rocks or some sort of magical object that had power to it."

He continued: "It occurred to me, because I was doing a character as far out of our reference point as the spirit of vengeance, I could use these techniques. I would paint my face with black and white make up to look like a Afro-Caribbean icon called Baron Samedi, or an Afro-New Orleans icon who is also called Baron Saturday. He is a spirit of death but he loves children; he's very lustful, so he's a conflict in forces. And I would put black contact lenses in my eyes so that you could see no white and no pupil, so I would look more like a skull or a white shark on attack."

"On my costume, my leather jacket, I would sew in ancient, thousands-of-years-old Egyptian relics, and gather bits of tourmaline and onyx and would stuff them in my pockets to gather these energies together and shock my imagination into believing that I was augmented in some way by them, or in contact with ancient ghosts. I would walk on the set looking like this, loaded with all these magical trinkets, and I wouldn't say a word to my co-stars or crew or directors. I saw the fear in their eyes, and it was like oxygen to a forest fire. I believed I was the Ghost Rider."

Source: Empire, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 9:17:11 PM

Maybe he should use some magic to pay off his IRS bill.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:05:02 PM

Magic, eh? Looks like someone's been snorting too much "Pixie Dust"...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:12:10 PM

I want what he's having
boogiel writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:20:39 PM

"I believed I was the Ghost Rider"

Riiight. I wonder does he actually think about his answers before saying or does he just smoke a bag of crack before interviews? Anyway, I think that confirms it. Cage is definitely a retard.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:35:25 PM

that's sort of f*cked up.
Bouk writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Just flipping though my Webster's Dictionary...A,B,C,D,E,F...ah, here it is, "Freak: (noun) a moron of an actor who has long lost his grip on reality (See picture)." And there is Nicolas Cage's headshot.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

I think his mouth was working quicker than his brain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:14:37 AM

Pay off the IRS or fix his movie career to what it used to be.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:33:37 AM

I'll bet he's gotten some skull from that dino T-Rex head he has.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:44:50 AM

hahahaha He's the best!
Judoguru writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:02:35 AM

Makes sense.. He is a warlock from the 1800's right? WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT?! Idiot..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:23:18 AM

I love him. I. Love. Nicolas. Cage. The man is pure awesomeness. Batsh*t insane? Absolutely. But awesome nonetheless.
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:37:45 AM

Now, I understand better the Cage family.

I knew that his son had some mental issues but obviously it runs in the family. The things he did just to pay back the IRS.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 5:40:10 AM

Wait Nic Cage can sew?!
I need to see this The Way of Weird book
....and that wasnt fear in their eyes. It was the shock of seein a bedazzled middle age man with rocks janglin in his pockets and contacts
Thank God he didnt play Superman
Gotta luv that kook
Buckles44 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:18:28 AM

Nic cage can read?
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:26:43 PM

This is hardcore. @Bullit you should be saying "I understand better the Coppola family" if you want to be accurate.
triggax writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:34:29 PM

This is word for word exactly what I expected to hear from Cage.

Dude is pig sh*t psychotic and I f*cking love it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:56:28 PM

He's eiher the world's greatest method actor, or he's crazier than Tom Cruise looks.

I'm betting on the latter.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:03:55 PM

@Min. Could be both, I saw footage of voodoo Cage and it suits him
vincere01 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:42:59 PM

I can see cage spiraling downward as he ages and eventually turning into the the senior citizen serial killer in a pasadena retirement community. Won't be able to claim insanity defense by then after the body of work that is his life though. I didn't think it was possible for cage to have a crazier look in his eyes, but with those contacts I bet
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:45:42 PM

@gotsghostrider: yes indeed, I knew he was related to the Coppola's family but i think they cut the ties since then.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:07:16 PM

Yeah. You know when you're not invited to their Xmas Party when you find your prize horse's head in your bed (no, not Sarah Jessica Parker's).
rorschach writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:33:38 PM

You beautiful, psychotic, crack-addicted man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 31st, 2012 at 10:08:57 AM

mrstretch

You see the Wolf down and nearly dead breathing heavy and it looks like Neeson is laying on it's side, Alive i think it's only a 3 or 4 second scene..

Thousands of People Believe Steven Spielberg Killed a Dinosaur

Joaquin Phoenix in Talks for Marvel's "Doctor Strange"

Robert Downey Jr Discusses Returning for "Iron Man 4"

"The Patriot" Actress Skye McCole Bartusiak Dead at 21

Robert Downey Jr is Hollywood's Highest Paid Actor

First "Guardians of the Galaxy" Reviews are Incredibly Positive

Marvel Announces Release Date for Five New Superhero Films

Howard the Duck to Appear in "Guardians of the Galaxy"?

"X-Men vs Justice League" Movie is Now a Possibility

Gary Oldman Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved