WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Chiwetel Ejiofor in Talks for "Doctor Strange" Role
Jan 23rd, 2015
Video: Will Ferrell Hits Cheerleader in the Face at Basketball Game
Jan 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Vincent Cassel's "Partisan" Sundance Film
Jan 23rd, 2015
First Look at Leonardo DiCaprio in "The Revenant" Thriller
Jan 22nd, 2015
Photo: Will The Hulk Turn Grey in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"?
Jan 22nd, 2015
Four Actresses Considered for Female Lead in "Star Wars" Spin-Off
Jan 22nd, 2015
"Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" to Begin Filming in August
Jan 22nd, 2015
Nicolas Cage to Hunt Osama Bin Laden in "Army of One" Comedy, Directed by "Borat" Helmer
Jan 22nd, 2015
Fox Planning New Season of "24" Without Kiefer Sutherland
Jan 22nd, 2015
Promo Art: Batman's Armored Suit From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Jan 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Kidnapping Mr. Heineken" Thriller, with Anthony Hopkins and Sam Worthington
Jan 21st, 2015
First Poster for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 21st, 2015
"Mortal Kombat: Legacy" Actor Darren Shahlavi Dead at 42
Jan 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Salma Hayek's "Everly" Action Thriller
Jan 20th, 2015
New Trailer for Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Action Film, From Director of "Taken"
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Jan 20th, 2015
"Batman v Superman" Choreographer Teases Fight Between Batman and Superman
Jan 20th, 2015
"The Purge 3" Will NOT Be a Prequel
Jan 20th, 2015
Trailer for "All the Wilderness," with Kodi Smit-McPhee and Danny DeVito
Jan 20th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"

Posted: January 27th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Nicolas Cage Used Real Magic to Prepare for "Ghost Rider"Submit Comment
Nicolas Cage recently participated in a lengthy web chat with Empire Online to talk about his career, including what he did to prepare for "Ghost Rider." The short answer is magic. The long answer is:

"Ghost Rider was an entirely new experience, and got me thinking about something I read in a book called 'The Way Of Wyrd by Brian Bates,' and he also wrote a book called 'The Way Of The Actor,'" said Cage. "He put forth the concept that all actors, whether they know it or not, stem from thousands of years ago pre-Christian times when they were the medicine men or shamans of the village. And these shamans, who by today's standards would be considered psychotic, were actually going into flights of the imagination and locating answers to problems within the village. They would use masks or rocks or some sort of magical object that had power to it."

He continued: "It occurred to me, because I was doing a character as far out of our reference point as the spirit of vengeance, I could use these techniques. I would paint my face with black and white make up to look like a Afro-Caribbean icon called Baron Samedi, or an Afro-New Orleans icon who is also called Baron Saturday. He is a spirit of death but he loves children; he's very lustful, so he's a conflict in forces. And I would put black contact lenses in my eyes so that you could see no white and no pupil, so I would look more like a skull or a white shark on attack."

"On my costume, my leather jacket, I would sew in ancient, thousands-of-years-old Egyptian relics, and gather bits of tourmaline and onyx and would stuff them in my pockets to gather these energies together and shock my imagination into believing that I was augmented in some way by them, or in contact with ancient ghosts. I would walk on the set looking like this, loaded with all these magical trinkets, and I wouldn't say a word to my co-stars or crew or directors. I saw the fear in their eyes, and it was like oxygen to a forest fire. I believed I was the Ghost Rider."

Source: Empire, Blastr


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 24 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 9:17:11 PM

Maybe he should use some magic to pay off his IRS bill.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:05:02 PM

Magic, eh? Looks like someone's been snorting too much "Pixie Dust"...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:12:10 PM

I want what he's having
boogiel writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:20:39 PM

"I believed I was the Ghost Rider"

Riiight. I wonder does he actually think about his answers before saying or does he just smoke a bag of crack before interviews? Anyway, I think that confirms it. Cage is definitely a retard.
encoreyourface writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:35:25 PM

that's sort of f*cked up.
Bouk writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:54:41 PM

Just flipping though my Webster's Dictionary...A,B,C,D,E,F...ah, here it is, "Freak: (noun) a moron of an actor who has long lost his grip on reality (See picture)." And there is Nicolas Cage's headshot.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 10:59:44 PM

I think his mouth was working quicker than his brain.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:14:37 AM

Pay off the IRS or fix his movie career to what it used to be.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:33:37 AM

I'll bet he's gotten some skull from that dino T-Rex head he has.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 1:44:50 AM

hahahaha He's the best!
Judoguru writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:02:35 AM

Makes sense.. He is a warlock from the 1800's right? WHAT AM I TALKING ABOUT?! Idiot..
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:23:18 AM

I love him. I. Love. Nicolas. Cage. The man is pure awesomeness. Batsh*t insane? Absolutely. But awesome nonetheless.
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 4:37:45 AM

Now, I understand better the Cage family.

I knew that his son had some mental issues but obviously it runs in the family. The things he did just to pay back the IRS.
pornfly writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 5:40:10 AM

Wait Nic Cage can sew?!
I need to see this The Way of Weird book
....and that wasnt fear in their eyes. It was the shock of seein a bedazzled middle age man with rocks janglin in his pockets and contacts
Thank God he didnt play Superman
Gotta luv that kook
Buckles44 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:18:28 AM

Nic cage can read?
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:26:43 PM

This is hardcore. @Bullit you should be saying "I understand better the Coppola family" if you want to be accurate.
triggax writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:34:29 PM

This is word for word exactly what I expected to hear from Cage.

Dude is pig sh*t psychotic and I f*cking love it.
minkowski writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 12:56:28 PM

He's eiher the world's greatest method actor, or he's crazier than Tom Cruise looks.

I'm betting on the latter.
gotsghostrider writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:03:55 PM

@Min. Could be both, I saw footage of voodoo Cage and it suits him
vincere01 writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 2:42:59 PM

I can see cage spiraling downward as he ages and eventually turning into the the senior citizen serial killer in a pasadena retirement community. Won't be able to claim insanity defense by then after the body of work that is his life though. I didn't think it was possible for cage to have a crazier look in his eyes, but with those contacts I bet
Bullit writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 3:45:42 PM

@gotsghostrider: yes indeed, I knew he was related to the Coppola's family but i think they cut the ties since then.
Ranger writes:
on January 28th, 2012 at 11:07:16 PM

Yeah. You know when you're not invited to their Xmas Party when you find your prize horse's head in your bed (no, not Sarah Jessica Parker's).
rorschach writes:
on January 29th, 2012 at 7:33:38 PM

You beautiful, psychotic, crack-addicted man.
trailertrash writes:
on January 31st, 2012 at 10:08:57 AM

mrstretch

You see the Wolf down and nearly dead breathing heavy and it looks like Neeson is laying on it's side, Alive i think it's only a 3 or 4 second scene..

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Chris Pine Says "Jack Ryan: Shadow Recruit" is One of His Deep Regrets

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Tim Burton Was Replaced on "Batman Forever" Because of McDonalds

Adam Sandler is Hollywood's Most Overpaid Actor, Again

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved