WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Artist" Wins PGA Award, Likely to Win Best Picture Oscar

Posted: January 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Artist" Wins PGA Award, Likely to Win Best Picture OscarSubmit Comment
The Producers Guild of America announced the winners of its theatrical motion picture and TV nominations for the 2012 PGA Awards. Check out the full list of nominees and winners (marked in red) below.

This year's big winner was "The Artist," which means that the silent film will likely also go on to win the Oscar for Best Pictures since the PGA Awards predict the Academy Award winner about 75% of the time. In the animation category, Steven Spielberg's "The Adventures of Tintin" won, beating out "Rango" and "Cars 2."

On television, "Modern Family" was chosen as the best comedy and "Boardwalk Empire" as the best drama.

THEATRICAL MOTION PICTURE NOMINEES:

Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* The Artist
* Bridesmaids
* The Descendants
* The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo
* The Help
* Hugo
* The Ides of March
* Midnight in Paris
* Moneyball
* War Horse

Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* The Adventures of Tintin
* Cars 2
* Kung Fu Panda 2
* Puss in Boots
* Rango

Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
* Beats, Rhymes and Life: The Travels of a Tribe Called Quest
* Bill Cunningham New York
* Project Nim
* Senna
* The Union

TELEVISION NOMINEES:

Episodic Television, Comedy:
* Modern Family
* 30 Rock
* The Big Bang Theory
* Glee
* Parks and Recreation

Episodic Television, Drama:
* Boardwalk Empire
* Dexterm
* Game of Thrones
* The Good Wife
* Mad Men

Long-Form Television:
* Downton Abbey
* Cinema Verite
* The Kennedys
* Mildred Pierce
* Too Big to Fail

Non-Fiction Television:
* American Masters
* 30 for 30
* Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations
* Deadliest Catch
* Undercover Boss

Live Entertainment and Talk Television:
* The Colbert Report
* The Ellen DeGeneres Show
* Real Time with Bill Maher
* Saturday Night Live
* The 64th Annual Tony Awards

Competition Television:
* The Amazing Race
* American Idol
* Dancing with the Stars
* Project Runway
* Top Chef

News Programs:
* 60 Minutes
* Anderson Cooper 360
* BBC World News America
* NBC News with Brian Williams
* The Rachel Maddow Show

Sports Programs:
* 30 for 30
* Monday Night Football
* Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel
* Sports Center
* 2010 FIFA World Cup
* US Open Tennis Championship

Children's Programs:
* Sesame Street
* Dora the Explorer
* iCarly
* Phineas and Ferb
* SpongeBob Squarepants

Web Series:
* 30 Rock Presents Jack Donaghy, Executive Superhero
* Ask a Ninja
* The Guild
* Parks and Recreation Presents: April and Andy's Road Trip
* Web Therapy

Source: PGA


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:29:33 AM

Good "The Artist" won. Roll on the Oscars.

Ok with most of the winners on here.
boogiel writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:16:23 AM

My money is on The artist. The artist is Waay much better than The descendants.
pornfly writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:22:03 AM

A TRIBE CALLED QUEST
pornfly writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:24:09 AM

Can we put the people who asked for their money back for The Artist on a rocket to the moon like Willzyx
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:31:28 AM

Silent movies are perfect for the standard movie goer, no talking to have to think about just pretty pictures and facial expressions! :D

Tin Tin didn't deserve to beat Rango, Rango was beautifully crafted and the attention to detail on the texture of the animals was genius. Also it was a hilarious film!
Bullit writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:37:51 AM

This put a smirk on my face as i can easily imagine how pissed off is G. Clooney. He probably thought that he has given the Best performance in his career and being beaten at the end by a total unknown actor playing in a silent movie ! Lol !

I have seen The Artist yesterday and it's indeed a good film which has the paradox to be quite "refreshing" by using a very retro style at the age of CGI and incredible special effects.

Jean Dujardin is a very funny guy in real life and I'm very happy for him.
NeilMcCauley writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:48:23 AM

Yet another movie will win best picture but will anyone remember it in a couple years or care about " the artist". I admit I haven't seen the movie nor do I even care to see it anyway. Last year I thought the kings speech was a bit better then average, but that movie was better then almost if not all the movies that are being considered best movie of this year. Also where is breaking bad for best drama that's the best show on tv with boardwalk empire.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 10:14:37 AM

it the Artist it so f*cking great, why are so many people demanding their money back?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 10:19:28 AM

Cant believe Bridesmaids is a contender.SERIOUSLY

Good that Clooney didnt win he's so facking overrated.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:53:16 AM

What DaveThePhotoGuy said and Pornfly.

I watched "The Artist" about a week ago and completely enjoyed it. I truely hope this movie of mostly unknowns wins best picture.

I'm surprised that "Shame" wasn't on this list.
JakeVermont writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 12:28:19 PM

Havent seen it yet but you guys seem to like it I'd give it a shot.

Never seen a silent movie before could be interesting.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 12:46:22 PM

@boogiel
I ask you because I haven't seen it yet, but does George Clooney play a different guy for once?! I figured he must have to won a golden globe. And is that girl from Secret Life of the Unrealistic Teengager any frikkin' good? I kind of hate everyone on that show with a passion for it's unrealistic and horrible over-optmistic point of view.
SeWerin writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 2:07:49 PM

"it the Artist it so f*cking great, why are so many people demanding their money back?"

Because it's a movie and a movie is a form of art and art comes in many forms and people are just ignorant bastards.

I haven't seen it yet tho...
Rambo writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 2:18:00 PM

where is the 'best porn movie' category?
pornfly writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 4:01:12 PM

RAMBO i saw a porno where a nun made 4school girls into a human centipede using strapon dildos on their mouth(sorry couldnt find the link again)
Also after i re-up today im watchn the 30Rock web series with Alec Baldwins character,i didnt even know they had that,him and Tracy Morgan kill on that show(get well soon Tracy)
pornfly writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 4:03:59 PM

I watch SNL every week and they should not be on this list
pornfly writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 4:07:17 PM

The living legend Mel Brooks 'Silent Movie'
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 6:56:42 PM

another sh*tty year for movies
DexterMorgan writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:18:24 PM

i haven't seen the artist yet how good is it
DeVries writes:
on January 26th, 2012 at 1:58:16 PM

As much as I can hate people from France most of the time (and I'm a Quebecer), I think Dujardin is awesome. Great actor.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved