WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Underworld Awakening" Wins Box Office Weekend

Posted: January 23rd, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Underworld Awakening" Wins Box Office WeekendSubmit Comment
"Underworld Awakening," the fourth installment in the "Underworld" franchise, topped the domestic box office this weekend by grossing $25 million, which is higher than the opening numbers of the first ($22 million) and the third ($20 million) films, but lower than the second ($27 million).

The new movie cost $70 million to make, and in addition to the $13.4 million that it earned overseas, "Underworld Awakening" has grossed a worldwide total of almost $39 million. The film has a 27% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes, and will have no problem earning its budget back.

"Red Tails" had to settle for second place with a $19.1 million opening. George Lucas financed the film himself, $58 million for the production and another $35 million in distribution costs. The film has a 34% fresh rating and will struggle to make back its budget, especially since it won't get much of an international release.

Steven Soderbergh's "Haywire" thriller was the other wide release of the weekend. It grossed $9 million, which was only good enough for fifth place. Luckily, the film has an 82% fresh rating and has a budget of only $23 million, which means that the film will likely become profitable.

Click here to read our "Underworld Awakening" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 43 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:35:39 AM

Underworld Awakening anyone see it, any good ??
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:36:40 AM

What i mean is does Kate look mighty fine as always ;-)
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:38:48 AM

It stinks!!!
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:40:39 AM

What Kate !!! Never !!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:53:50 AM

Sorry trailer, me is not a fan of this franchise.
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:02:13 AM

But you's a fan of Miss Beckinsale though right dave ??!!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:26:49 AM

Not really no, but it depends on what she is acting in.
YoungChris writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:53:54 AM

@DaveThePhotoGuy i'm sorry but i got to say this: you're gay ...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:13:09 AM

Actually surprised that Haywire didn't do any better.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:15:00 AM

Everyone on my Facebook keeps slamming Haywire, never seen such negativity for a movie on there before.

I would pay just to watch Kate sit there in that outfit for 2 hours and occasionally roll over.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:17:09 AM

@youngchris

I'm gay because I don't find Miss Beckinsale attractive?

Well I guess I am gay then.

..and for you to make that comment is in it self stupid, everybody has their own taste. You have yours and I don't be-grudge that one bit.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:20:41 AM

And your favorite taste just happens to be penis.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:40:34 AM

@myvaghurtz

Is that aimed at me or youngchris?

If it is aimed at me, why are you getting involved?

So I don't like Beckinsale, so what!
Bullit writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:43:46 AM

If i had to be standing next to K. Beckinsale, I also will have great difficulties to conceal my massive erection !
Bullit writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:47:33 AM

C'mon guys, everybody has their own taste. How boring it will be to live in a wolrd where everybody like the same thing. We would end up being gay with the lack of choice.
happileperkon writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:49:03 AM

I saw Underworld and I thought it was the best in the franchise.
Flav writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 9:55:39 AM

Action was much better in this one, little less story, annoying flashing lights... still no better than the first Underworld.
Bullit writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 10:13:40 AM

^ ^

Good to know because the 3rd one was boring as f*ck !
bandolero999 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 10:22:15 AM

should of watched Underworld and stay the f*ck away from HAYWIRE.the only action scenes are in the trailer.and the director tried hard to make that movie have a plot.Too much talking and little action.

Channing Tatum dies and Fassbender as well,but he's cool so it kinda pissed me off.Now for that mistake I will give that Denzel movie and John Cusack movie of Poe a chance.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 10:23:01 AM

I'm a fan of all 3 underworld movies liked the prequel as well.That Sheen dude kicked ass
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:02:29 AM

Funny a guy with an avatar of the Rock calling someone gay


and Dave

if it will help you see Kate in a different light I will let you watch or you can just get the video trailer makes of it...your choice
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:09:15 AM

@Big_Daddy

Sounds like a party to me.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:25:07 AM

betcha YoungChris is gonna watch the Journey sequel and he's gonna j*zz at the part when the CACK moves his tits.
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:54:34 AM

dave - Acting ??!!
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:55:45 AM

And we know your not batty bruv ....
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 11:58:06 AM

And if wanting to do Kate up the old alimentary canal makes ya gay, Then i'm as batty as they c*m ...
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 12:00:14 PM

I rather liked Rise of the Lycans. I haven't gotten around to this UA yet.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 12:06:54 PM

Kate's going the same way as that Milla body of a 10 year old Dropabitch playing the same character every EFFING time! Some actors like Daniel Day Lewis are more selective and choose parts that will stretch their abilities. Some actors just don't give a sh*t about their reputation they just want the moneysss!
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 1:14:13 PM

I just think Kate just know's her range Cinema thats all.

To compare her to one of the great actors from the past 20 years is a little harsh on her mate IMO.
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 1:23:00 PM

In her defence

http://scifibloggers.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/12/kate-beckinsale.jpg
Rambo writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 2:21:00 PM

@davethephotoguy

I agree.beckinsale is not that attractive...she's cute and have a fit body but i know other women that are much hotter.just for example:sofia vergara
rocketman writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 2:24:05 PM

I've just had an awakening....in my pants.



Will purchase on Bluray.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 3:04:21 PM

Trailer- I'm not comparing her acting itself to Lewis's mate just her career choices. It's her job to act and she gets payed millions for it so I think someone who treats their job seriously should not get caught up in franchises. I don't think she's too bad in the few other thing's I've seen her in.

It's sort of my problem with a lot of actors now days, bad career choices. It will affect the next films she gets picked for if she keeps going for the easy buck.

And that's a compelling case you raise with the last picture lol
trailertrash writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 3:46:34 PM

Cinema

I know what you mean mate, Money rules it's like the footballers here happy to take the 75 grand a week and sit on the bench week in week out, Why the f*ck would you not want to play each week.

Maybe she needs that one role that would change her career path.

I like Kate though the first Underworld was good and her dad is a legend (in my book anyway) it's always good to see a brit doing well abroad.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 3:50:21 PM

Yeah I know, most of the first team players on the Chelsea and Man City benches that could be playing every week lol. It just shows the difference between loving what you do and loving money.

She's in Total Recall remake next so you know she's still in producers good books.
YoungChris writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:25:02 PM

@Big_Daddy & @bandolero999 I SEE Bullit NeilMcCauley Sleuth1989 Rambo triggax oklahomaer Syman404 supafly wills tattooz DexterMorgan minkowski happileperkon Flav WITH THEIR AVATAR OF A MAN (ACTOR) & THAT DOESN'T MAKE THEM GAY! I CALL THAT BEING "FANATIC" .. DUMBASS!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 7:56:57 PM

Tranquilo estoy jodiendo

I guess it could be worse you could have an Avatar of prince Royce,Romeo,or Aventura,or Ricky Martin then that'll be really gay. and I won't give you Presidente beer,Atlantico rum or mangu

Your Dominican or Boricua since youre from New York papo
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 23rd, 2012 at 8:47:41 PM

@trailer and cimema

You guys said it all there.

@rambo

Couldn't agree more.
YoungChris writes:
on January 24th, 2012 at 1:34:32 AM

@bandolero999 i know you are messing around & me too .. & btw im Dominican ...
YoungChris writes:
on January 24th, 2012 at 1:41:37 AM

@bandolero999

P.S

those guys you mentioned they're deff gay, no doubt lol!!
Shiye writes:
on January 24th, 2012 at 2:50:29 AM

I knew Kate would top Gina...but i'd hoped both did very well which they seem to be doing. I love Kate Beckinsale btw an if u don't ...You're Gay (jking)
seveltoto writes:
on November 4th, 2017 at 10:29:11 PM

sevelace writes:
on December 3rd, 2017 at 11:19:01 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved