WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Idris Elba on James Bond Rumors

Posted: January 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Idris Elba on James Bond RumorsSubmit Comment
After winning a Golden Globe for his performance on "Luther," Idris Elba took some questions from the press. One of the questions was about a rumor that he would be interested in playing James Bond one day.

"There was a huge rumor that once Daniel Craig finishes playing Bond that they were looking for someone different and my name was in that mix," he explained. "And I answered a bunch of questions and the bottom line is of course, I'd be honored to play the part if it comes my way."

The rumor started in 2009, when Elba said: "I can run around, flirt with ladies and drink. Plus I'm English. Who wouldn't like to play Bond? Do I think it will happen? No, but I've got what it takes to do it."

Elba isn't the only actor rumored for the role. Michael Fassbender has previously been mentioned and even P. Diddy threw his name in there at one point.

Question: Do you think Elba would make a good Bond?

Source: Golden Globes


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 57 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:32:11 AM

Bond will always be a White character to me. However, he is the only choice for a black bond I would be ok with. I like him as an actor and he seems decent.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:38:24 AM

When P Diddy threw in, I threw up ....
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:42:34 AM

Do you think Elba would make a good Bond?

Yeah i guess he would, but it won't happen.

I can see him playing the bad guy (no not cause he's black) he could be the ultimate test for Bond.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:46:12 AM

Michael Fassbender will follow Craig as Bond
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:52:05 AM

A black Bond ? I'm not racist but c'mon, let's be serious for a min ! Why do we have to mess with Ian Fleming's character ! That is the question. But i think it's sounds more like a buzz or self publicity than anything else. There isn't much to debate about it, really.

P. Diddy ?? That's a good joke. It did make me laugh.
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:55:11 AM

I totally agree with you Trailer, but he should hit the gym for many months as he shows too much bones right now.

BTW, have you seen War Horses ?
Phil writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:56:57 AM

Bond is a white character. Period. I would be upset too if the next blade or spawn would be a white guy. sh*tty comparisson I know, but you catch my drift.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:01:56 AM

Bullit

I missed the showing and ended up seeing The Darkest Hour instead, was ok hopefully will see War Horse at some point this week.

Have you (or anyone else) seen Shame yet ?
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:05:19 AM

no, you just think your name is on the list to play James Bond...ain't gonna happen homie.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:09:39 AM

Trailer Trash

I saw Warhorse this weekend and thought it was good
The Boss_ Gray Fox writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:13:35 AM

haha p.diddy dont make me laugh
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:15:08 AM

No Trailer, I haven't but I will. The critics are saying only good things about it and they already claim that it's the year for M. Fassbender.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:17:11 AM

Neither of these actors would be a good bond! instead of casting someone famous why not go with someone completely new but still plays off the daniel craig type???
jgrantt18 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:39:04 AM

Is there any way we can both of those guys to play James Bond? They're both fantastic actors and have a strong presence on screen.
Bunny X writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:42:43 AM

Yeah I'm not a fan of all these cross cultural changes to characters. No Beyonce for Wonder Woman, or Will Smith for Captain America. I hated Michael Clarke Duncan as Kingpin and I'm only ok with Samuel L Jackson as Fury because they made the change in the comics first (which wasn't to hard to deal with since Fury's not so iconic)
So as much as I absolutely adore Idris, I wouldn't want him playing Bond. He would be a great addition to the franchise while Craig is still on board. Have him as a villian 2nd in command to the main baddie. He would be great as a rouge ex-double 0 who would go head-to-head against Bond. That whole "I know all your moves and protocols" cliche. Yeah it's been done in Goldeneye with Sean Bean, but that worked so well.
Idris could be the rouge agent and never truly be defeated so he could reappear in subsequent 007 films.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:52:00 AM

well if P.Diddy would be bond there'll be better looking HOES and more pimped out carz.

He has a sh*tload of money you never know it may happen.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:01:49 PM

Yea no thanks, could you imagine all the STDs he'd give all the Bond girls?
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:05:56 PM

@TRAILER: About War Horse, here is an article from the Daily Mail and it's worth reading it. I know it's a stupid tabloid but the article is good.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/tvshowbiz/article-2087132/War-Horse-review-It-historically-questionable-right-weep-over.html
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:10:39 PM

Yea Mr Diddy doesn't know what condoms are and all the girls twats will be stretched out from getting d*cked down on Ciroc Vodka.
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:17:17 PM

I totally agree, but changing races in well known characters don't have a good history, but he's interested in Bond? Why would he want Bond? There's some character out there that he would be great in like Shaft. Sam Jackson got a turn, I think this guy with a cop/gritty screenplay could bring in a fresh take. Hell, Blade could also be remade and bring him back with some Krav Maga/street fighter style. Could be good for him, I think he has what it takes.
MontoyaWA writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:19:04 PM

I think you do it if you think Elba brings something to the character (other than a different skin tone), that the others haven't. Craig brought a certain toughness to the character that seemed to be dissapearing with each new Brosnan film. Elba could do the same, but it has to be because of development, and not just because he's a black actor.

Having said that, I do think he would do a terrific Bond, with the right director.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:32:40 PM

Agree that Bond is a white character I know it sounds racist but it just wouldnt fit.


I have seen shame and I thought it was very good but I am a fassbender fan so might be a biased opinon.
minkowski writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:43:56 PM

I wish you folks would stop saying "I know it sounds racist, but...". You sound weak and way, way too apologetic for merely having an opinion, an attitude that helps keep political correctness alive and well.
boogiel writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 1:26:53 PM

I look forward to a white actor playing Shaft also, lets mix it all up!
zyban03 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 2:09:44 PM

Might as well! Black Bond, White Shaft, American Akira.
baxattax writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:16:32 PM

I wonder what Ian Fleming would think of this...probably turning over in his grave.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:21:02 PM

Crazy - Good stuff looking forward to it pal

Bullit - Interesting article there mate.

You don't often see films based around WW1 so it doesn't realy suprise me it's not historically accurate, But thats Hollywood for you they will always go for the heart strings.
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:51:32 PM

Well Minki, what can I say ? You're taxed very quickly for being racist these days and for even less like this subject.

You should know better that in the land of the free, you can loose your job, your wife, your money and ending up in jail by non-being politcally correct ! Those times are over, you can't say whatever you want, even on the Internet. So, I rather clear the area, just in case. You never know.

But I'll tell you my opinion: J. Bond can only be white because his author invented him like that. Et voilą !
Rambo writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:55:48 PM

John Cutter: Charlie, ever played roulette?
Charles Rane: On occasion.
John Cutter: Well, let me give you a word of advice. Always bet on black!
technoreaper writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:57:54 PM

Go to London these days and tell yourself that there could never be a black James Bond.
technoreaper writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:01:08 PM

BTW, how in the world can some of you think Bond could only be white? How ignorant is that? If you think the Bond franchise is going to turn ghetto, I have to remind you that an American studio is not going to be making this. He will still be British and upper-crust. Who knows what the Bond franchise will have evolved into by the time Idris takes the helm? The Cold War is over. Bond isn't going to be running around in suits at parties all the time.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:26:50 PM

Go to London these days and tell yourself that there could never be a black James Bond.

Bond will likely be Polish or Indian then.
Rambo writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:45:34 PM

I cannot imagine anyone worse then this guy:

http://i.thisislondon.co.uk/i/pix/2010/04/06-bond-lazenby415.jpg
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:55:51 PM

Awwww come on Rambo George was ok as JB, He would have grown into the role if he'd had the chance.
Rambo writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 6:06:53 PM

well thank god he didn't get that chance...
Dirt writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 7:58:01 PM

Is it just me or is this article repeated every now and then? No one wants a black Bond. If a black character was suggested to a white actor Im sure we'd hear an uproar about how racist 'crackers' are..
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 8:16:49 PM

No!

Blank x25 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 8:28:25 PM

Always saw "James Bond" as a code name, not a single character. Elba would make an awesome Bond.

Sean Connery, Roger Moore, Tim Dalton, Pierce Brosnan, Daniel Craig....they aren't playing the same person. They are all different characters given the code name "James Bond". If that's the case, I'd give him a shot. Who gives a turd what Ian Fleming would say?

Elba s a villain would be insanely awesome, but he would make a kick ass 007, too.
jeffw1978 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 8:37:50 PM

Well I know I haven't been on here in a while but couldn't pass up the opportunity:

HAPPY CHOCOLATE MILK day *ssholes!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:34:54 PM

and I'm still waiting for my Globe!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Txs3qLMpPVw&context=C3508a3eADOEgsToPDskJ_R6qoZl9q4ZhqxhJH2qY5
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:37:28 PM

oops wrong thread, but Fassbender i could see in the role...you know what its not racist to want the character true to its roots. Think Elba is the man, just not Bond. Its like getting a white dude to play shaft.
WV-Films writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:49:51 PM

I remember when P. Diddy wanted to do it, and made that awful video in the helicopter to help promote himself. In fact that
news was the first article I even commented on here at WP! I said something like "Maybe he can play Dr. Not a chance in Hell."
Rambo writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 1:06:17 AM

@Ayt

that was really nice :-) did you make this video?
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 2:45:22 AM

He did indeed Rambo ..

Up to trailer 3 now AYT good stuff mate
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 2:46:15 AM

jeff - lol now that was a thread ...
AYT BALL writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 4:56:13 AM

Cheers Rambo

And yeah Trailer, 3rd and final, not sure it will ever get finished now, boss isnt willing to give me the time on it, too busy with other projects....pisser! lol
Sonic writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 5:02:17 AM

He might make a good Bond, but I say Fassbender should be the next Bond.
Valerie writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 5:41:08 AM

Was he in Big C? To lazy to Google, but i think i remember him from that show, he certainly has charm, and is a decent actor!
technoreaper writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 5:58:18 AM

If Fassbender takes Bond, that is the beginning of the end of his career.
YoungChris writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 6:15:47 AM

Damn!! Not these niggaz again ...
La Grinta Belga writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 8:55:00 AM

I think Idris Elba is a good actor, but James Bond is a white character. Just like Shaft is a black character... Leave those things as they were. Hollywood/move makers/writers should try to invent different, innovative things and not make small adaptations to scripts or stories that have already been squeezed out or that are good as they are.
Bouk writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 9:14:46 AM

Once you go Bond you never go back.

"Bond. James MotherF@#$in' Bond"
acreshakers writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 10:34:47 AM

Ya, I think he would however then you'd have to remake the other remakes! What's the point just keep letting Daniel craig do it until it's over!
The_Zizzler writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 1:56:04 PM

A black Bond is like a white MLK....
technoreaper writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 6:44:42 PM

Can anyone explain why Bond being black is such a terrible thing? How would it change the character? It wouldn't.
thetheeyecreature writes:
on January 18th, 2012 at 8:55:48 AM

James Bond keeps getting retconned and rebooted; otherwise he'd be 93 years old. Why not a black actor? Idris Elba rocks the house. (Though, really, if I were recasting a few years down the road, I'd prefer to go with a young unknown.)
witwicky-potter writes:
on January 18th, 2012 at 4:16:55 PM

No way a black guy can play Bond.it would be a betrayal to the franchise

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved