WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Winners of 2012 Golden Globe Awards

Posted: January 16th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Winners of 2012 Golden Globe AwardsSubmit Comment
The 69th annual Golden Globe Awards just wrapped with "The Descendants" taking the trophy for Best Motion Picture - Drama, while "The Artist" won for "Best Motion Picture - Comedy or Musical.

In the end, "The Artist" took home three awards, while "The Descendants" took home two. On the television side, "Homeland" won two awards, including for Best Television Series - Drama and for Claire Danes' performance on the show.

Check out the full list of nominees and winners (in red) below. And let us know what you thought of the awards show.

BEST MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA:
* The Descendants
* The Help
* Hugo
* The Ides of March
* Moneyball
* War Horse

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA:
* Meryl Streep (The Iron Lady)
* Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs)
* Viola Davis (The Help)
* Rooney Mara (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)
* Tilda Swinton (We Need to Talk About Kevin)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE - DRAMA:
* George Clooney (The Descendants)
* Brad Pitt (Moneyball)
* Ryan Gosling (The Ides of March)
* Michael Fassbender (Shame)
* Leonardo DiCaprio (J. Edgar)

BEST MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* The Artist
* 50/50
* Bridesmaids
* Midnight in Paris
* My Week with Marilyn

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* Michelle Williams (My Week with Marilyn)
* Jodie Foster (Carnage)
* Charlize Theron (Young Adult)
* Kristen Wiig (Bridesmaids)
* Kate Winslet (Carnage)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MOTION PICTURE - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* Jean Dujardin (The Artist)
* Brendan Gleeson (The Guard)
* Joseph Gordon-Levitt (50/50)
* Ryan Gosling (Crazy, Stupid, Love.)
* Owen Wilson (Midnight in Paris)

BEST ANIMATED FEATURE FILM:
* The Adventures of Tintin
* Arthur Christmas
* Cars 2
* Puss In Boots
* Rango

BEST FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM:
* A Separation
* The Flowers of War
* In the Land of Blood and Honey
* The Kid with a Bike
* The Skin I Live In

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE:
* Octavia Spencer (The Help)
* Berenice Bejo (The Artist)
* Jessica Chastain (The Help)
* Janet McTeer (Albert Nobbs)
* Shailene Woodley (The Descendants)

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A MOTION PICTURE:
* Christopher Plummer (Beginners)
* Kenneth Branagh (My Week with Marilyn)
* Albert Brooks (Drive)
* Jonah Hill (Moneyball)
* Viggo Mortensen (A Dangerous Method)

BEST DIRECTOR - MOTION PICTURE:
* Martin Scorsese (Hugo)
* Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris)
* George Clooney (The Ides of March)
* Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist)
* Alexander Payne (The Descendants)

BEST SCREENPLAY - MOTION PICTURE:
* Woody Allen (Midnight in Paris)
* George Clooney, Grant Heslov, Beau Willimon (The Ides of March)
* Michel Hazanavicius (The Artist)
* Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash (The Descendants)
* Steven Zaillian, Aaron Sorkin (Moneyball)

BEST ORIGINAL SCORE - MOTION PICTURE:
* Ludovic Bource (The Artist)
* Abel Korzeniowski (W.E.)
* Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo)
* Howard Shore (Hugo)
* John Williams (War Horse)

BEST ORIGINAL SONG - MOTION PICTURE:
* "Masterpiece," Music and Lyrics by Madonna, Julie Frost, Jimmy Harry (W.E.)
* "Hello Hello," Music by Elton John, Lyrics by Bernie Taupin (Gnomeo and Juliet)
* "The Keeper," Music and Lyrics by Chris Cornell (Machine Gun Preacher)
* "Lay Your Head Down," Music by Brian Byrne, Lyrics by Glenn Close (Albert Nobbs)
* "The Living Proof," Music by Mary J. Blige, Thomas Newman, Harvey Mason, Jr., Lyrics by Mary J. Blige, Harvey Mason, Jr., Damon Thomas (The Help)

BEST TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA:
* "Homeland"
* "American Horror Story"
* "Boardwalk Empire"
* "Boss"
* "Game of Thrones"

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA:
* Claire Danes ("Homeland")
* Mireille Enos ("The Killing")
* Julianna Margulies ("The Good Wife")
* Madeleine Stowe ("Revenge")
* Callie Thorne ("Necessary Roughness")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES - DRAMA:
* Kelsey Grammer ("Boss")
* Steve Buscemi ("Boardwalk Empire")
* Bryan Cranston ("Breaking Bad")
* Jeremy Irons ("The Borgias")
* Damien Lewis ("Homeland")

BEST TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* "Modern Family"
* "Enlightened"
* "Episodes"
* "Glee"
* "New Girl"

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* Laura Dern ("Enlightened")
* Laura Linney ("The Big C")
* Zooey Deschanel ("New Girl")
* Tina Fey ("30 Rock")
* Amy Poehler ("Parks and Recreation")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A TELEVISION SERIES - COMEDY OR MUSICAL:
* Matt LeBlanc ("Episodes")
* Alec Baldwin ("30 Rock")
* David Duchovny ("Californication")
* Johnny Galecki ("The Big Bang Theory")
* Thomas Jane ("Hung")

BEST MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION:
* "Downton Abbey"
* "Cinema Verite"
* "The Hour"
* "Mildred Pierce"
* "Too Big to Fail"

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION:
* Kate Winslet ("Mildred Pierce")
* Romola Garai ("The Hour")
* Diane Lane ("Cinema Verite")
* Elizabeth McGovern ("Downton Abbey")
* Emily Watson ("Appropriate Adult")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION:
* Idris Elba ("Luther")
* Hugh Bonneville ("Downton Abbey")
* William Hurt ("Too Big to Fail")
* Bill Nighy ("Page Eight")
* Dominic West ("The Hour")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTRESS IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION:
* Jessica Lange ("American Horror Story")
* Kelly Macdonald ("Boardwalk Empire")
* Maggie Smith ("Downton Abbey")
* Sofia Vergara ("Modern Family")
* Evan Rachel Wood ("Mildred Pierce")

BEST PERFORMANCE BY AN ACTOR IN A SUPPORTING ROLE IN A SERIES, MINI-SERIES OR MOTION PICTURE MADE FOR TELEVISION:
* Peter Dinklage ("Game of Thrones")
* Paul Giamatti ("Too Big to Fail")
* Guy Pearce ("Mildred Pierce")
* Tim Robbins ("Cinema Verite")
* Eric Stonestreet ("Modern Family")

Source: The Hollywood Foreign Press Association


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:34:55 PM

Who gives a f*ck, next!!!
boogiel writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:41:21 PM

Kelsey grammer?? Really? Also, I cannot believe The Descendants took more than The Help. The Descendants was nothing more than a couple of little girls with potty mouths running around the screen, and a man playing their father who has no idea what it is like to be committed to a wife or children. Oh wait, come to think of it, Clooney's personal life DOES qualify him for the role. Still, The Help was fantastic, and was robbed. Such a shame.
Kindlegolas writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:45:17 PM

Correct me if I'm wrong, but I do believe that Laura Dern won for Best Actress in a television series: comedy/musical, and not Laura Linney...
NeilMcCauley writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:57:25 PM

Watching this so called award show made me want to throw up with everyone kissing each others asses. How the hell did Kelsey Grammer beat Bryan Cranston or Steve Buscemi.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:01:05 AM

Glad "The Artist" and Meryl Streep won and good on Jean Dujardin too.

What the f*ck is all this love and awards for "Morden Family"?
GreenLensman writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:19:47 AM

Didn't see one thing on that entire list, but ill give midnight in Paris a go some day.
Ranger writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 1:35:47 AM

Off topic: I just had a really nice dump.

On topic: although I have never seen the following, from what I have seen (trailer-wise, etc.) I'm glad to see the winners being:

Meryl Streep (no surprise... I and many others on here called that one).

Michelle Williams (was Lovag actually considered for that role? LOLOLOL!!!).

And: TinTin

Further, I'm a huge Christophe Plummer fan, so anything he wins is well deserved.

Oh-oh... feels like my ass isn't done slingin' some iron... brb!
Rambo writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 2:44:04 AM

I saw 'The Artist',well made and well acted but the story was depressing and cheesy.

I will never watch 'the descendants',i could see from the trailer its the most depressing movie ever.
coolguy writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:16:45 AM

shame that 50/50 didnt win any awards, best movie of the year in my opinion (granted i havent seen some of the other nominees). definately an underrated movie. Very happy that Peter Dinklage won, game of the thrones was the best show to come along in a very long time
telur writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:48:44 AM

can't beat The Adventures of Tintin for Best Animated Series
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:10:44 AM

Nice one Idris !!

Luther the best show the BBC have made in years ..
Patrick Bateman writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:38:27 AM

I wanted Game of thrones to win best series!! f*ck homeland
Quidd writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:41:08 AM

Anyone else think this has been the worst year for movies in quite some time. Every best picture nom on that list was not that good, except maybe Hugo, but if this were say 2007 that movie wouldn't even be considered.
jpocunha writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 5:03:42 AM

GAME OF THROOOOONES!!!!
j-man writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 5:28:17 AM

@trailer

Seriously??? I gVe up on luther the moment he said that the killer was going to kidnapp children series 2 ep2, like he'd no clues towards that or no suggestions, he just randomly came off with it n everybodys like 'yea luther ur right'. Total rubbish, pity tho coz i likdd the first series
Valerie writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 5:32:58 AM

This has become such a joke, i just cant even!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 5:48:37 AM

Yeah, 50/50 should've won something. Easily one of the best movies of the year. Otherwise I think it was mostly the expected winners, quite boring.
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 5:58:06 AM

The real question is: was Ricky Gervais funnier than last year ? Was he censored ? Anybody ?
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 6:05:29 AM

J-man

Yeah mate i loved it.

Granted the 2nd series wasn't quite up to series 1 but it was still pretty good IMO only 4 episodes though that sucked.

It's his conflicts he has for doing the wrong thing for the right outcome that makes the show for me, adds a different spin to the normal cop shows you see on the TV.
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 6:06:08 AM

Bullit

I hope he gave them hell !!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 7:42:14 AM

Toned down Ricky! tut tut
http://arts.nationalpost.com/2012/01/16/golden-globes-ricky-gervais-best-punchlines/
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 7:46:14 AM

and yeah, Game of Thrones should have won, amazing show!
trailertrash writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:08:59 AM

He seemed to hit on all the easy targets this year AYT, Shame ..
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:43:18 AM

@Trailer: yeah, me too but I'll keep the surprise for tonight as I'll be able to download the show.

Thanks AYT !
bandolero999 writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:57:15 AM

opening
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h_OnK0SrtC8
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 10:32:48 AM

Thanks a lot Bando, looks promising, i just love the guy.
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:06:33 AM

George Clooney once again puts out another boring movie and yet gets high praise and awards

j-man writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:20:58 PM

@trailer

4 eps, thats cheap, even for bbc lol
SACdaddy writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:31:10 PM

Nice to see Claire Danes and Homeland get some props. That's a surprisingly good show and Danes goes WAY outside her normal comfortzone with her nutty portrayl of a government agent living on the edge. Jack Bauer would be proud :)
Raider writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 12:33:14 PM

I'm glad Midnight in Paris won something that movie was really good.
Bullit writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 3:43:14 PM

I just saw the show and obviously he was forced to tone it down. Pitty.

But the funniest line came from Seth Rogen, accompanied with Kate Beckinsale and he said:

'Hello, I am Seth Rogen and I am currently trying to conceal a massive erection.' LMAO !
Kurskij writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:25:25 PM

Mrs. Streep won deservingly. And IMHO
Kurskij writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:32:01 PM

^f*ck.

cont.:

...she should win the Oscar. Because she is just so Great. Yet too see The Iron Lady, but she should've won over Bullock in 2010.

Scorsese is a bit of a surprise, but that only means that he won't score at the Oscars.

Clooney is not really a big surprise, but I thought they'd give it to Fassbender.

Happy for Mr. Plummer and as strong as supporting actor competition is this year, I hope he scores at the Oscars - he's been long due, he's a legend. Peter O'Toole is enough.

Glad for the young and immensely talented Ms.Williams.

And Holy f*ck Matt Le Blanc won a Golden Globe!

OneTime writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 7:24:35 PM

i watched just to see ricky make fun of all of "them"
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:30:00 PM

Just watched 50/50......GREAT movie! deserved some wins!
AYT BALL writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 9:35:33 PM

and I'm still waiting for my Globe!!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Txs3qLMpPVw&context=C3508a3eADOEgsToPDskJ_R6qoZl9q4ZhqxhJH2qY5
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 3:52:39 AM

Kurskij

You've seen the Iron Lady, Any good (other than her performance of course)?
Kurskij writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 6:00:04 AM

tt

Nope, not yet.

Those who saw it tell me it feels like a made for television biopic elevated by outstanding central performance from Streep and strong supportin cast.
Kurskij writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 6:00:04 AM

tt

Nope, not yet.

Those who saw it tell me it feels like a made for television biopic elevated by outstanding central performance from Streep and strong supportin cast.
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 8:03:30 AM

Thanks bud

Just seen the 1st part of your 2nd post where you clearly state you have not seen Iron Lady yet Doh !!

Little bit of discontent here from the conservative party saying it concentrates too much on her later life and illness while she is still alive.
trailertrash writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 8:04:41 AM

But it's one i will see soon ...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved