WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Quentin Tarantino's Favorite Films of 2011

Posted: January 15th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Quentin TarantinoSubmit Comment
While we wait to find out which films will be nominated in the Best Picture category at the Academy Awards, director Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds) unveiled his own list of favorite movies of 2011.

The list is nothing more than twelve films. There's no commentary, so it's up to us to figure out what Tarantino found so great in them. Some are obvious, but I have trouble understanding how "The Three Musketeers" made the list.

Tarantino is known for his loyalty to his friends, and since Christoph Waltz is in "Musketeers," maybe the helmer thought it would help the film somehow if he mentioned it. Same thing goes for "Our Idiot Brother," which was developed by his buddies at The Weinstein Company.

1. Midnight In Paris

2. Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes

3. Moneyball

4. The Skin I Live In

5. X-Men: First Class

6. Young Adult

7. Attack The Block

8. Red State

9. Warrior

10. The Artist / Our Idiot Brother (tie)

11. The Three Musketeers


Source: Tarantino


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 48 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Phil writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 6:58:34 AM

The three musketeers was without doubt the worst film of last year and one of the worst I've seen for over ten years. Honestly.
bill the butcher writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:27:16 AM

in my country

my fave film of 2011 was the aussie thriller

ANIMAL KINGDOM
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:29:05 AM

How much influence do you think QT has over people Alex ??

Even though he "says" he likes The Three Musketeers there is no way i will be watching it on his say so ! No sir .....
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:36:08 AM

Attack The Block was a great little British Alien movie, I highly recommended it BTW
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:50:04 AM

TT- I was wondering about that. Gonna have to give it a look see then.
boogiel writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:53:52 AM

Looks more like tarantino's endorsement movies which emphasize more on the actor rather than the movie itself. Anyway, Three musketeers was a bad choice.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:54:52 AM

Wellworth it mate, They are nasty mofo's ..
j-man writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:20:57 AM

@trailer

Attack the block? How long before the kids talking becomes really annoying?? Never watched it reminded me of adulthood/kidulthood, two tremendlessly awful films
pornfly writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:21:08 AM

So he wouldv picked Ballistic: Ecks vs. Sever cuz of Rucy Riu
He even picked The Skin I Live In cuz of Banderas
heynow writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:25:07 AM

Surprised Green Hornet isnt on this list
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:25:12 AM

Just for the hell of it and because it's ZZZZZzzzunday

In no order the top 6 films i watched last year;

MI:4

Drive

Attack the Block

Super 8

Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

Struggling here , i know it was 2010 but i only watched it last year

The Next 3 Days .....

Looking back 2011 was pretty poor for films.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:26:30 AM

j-man

I hear ya pal, I live in Basildon Essex they all talk like that here !! lol
bandolero999 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:26:51 AM

he is starting to look more like a hillbilly Frankenstein each day?

and is he talking about Paul Andersons musketeers?
Bullit writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:32:27 AM

"Our Idiot Brother" was sooo boring, i stopped watching it after 40 min or so. And i rarely do that.

"Midnight in Paris" is the best surprise of the year.

About Quarantino, I'll retain only 2 films: "True Romance" & "Pulp Fiction". "Reservoir dogs" was killing me with it's endless ending dying scene !

@Trailer: talking about Quarantino, what the hell happened to Michael Madsen to end up being one of the contestant on CBB ??? Before Reservoir, he was quite promising in "Kill me Again" in 1989 with Val Kilmer. And now, look at him !
Serpico1988 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:43:58 AM

lol @Drive not being on the list.

thought it would be on it; it was clearly without a doubt the best film of 2011
bandolero999 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:44:58 AM

I'm surprised no one talks about that Val Kilmer movie Kill Me again.It also starred Kilmers ex wife.

Madsen is the B graded Bruce Willis and pretty much takes any role.He even said that in an interview he's gotta pay the bills.He stars in about 5 movies per year.
Bullit writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:47:12 AM

Also, Tarantino is excellent in writing epic lines, like Ving Rhames, after he've been butt f*cked, he says"I'm gonna play evil on your ass..."

Just type:" Pulp Fiction Homosexual Scene " in youtube.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:47:46 AM

Madsen's a busy man more than Sam Jackson.hes got 6 movies to come out this year.MOSTLY TURDS.
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0000514/
Bullit writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:50:14 AM

@Bando: yes mate, i really liked Val Kilmer in the 80's & 90's until he start behaving like a drama queen on every single set of his movies.

Too bad, really.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:53:56 AM

YEa I know Kilmers an arrogant prick.Well Karmas a bitch look at him know starring in 50 cent movies and MCGRUBER.should of bit his f*cking tongue.Along with his homeboys Cristian Slater and CUba GOODING JR.
pornfly writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 9:00:52 AM

Has Tarantinos forehead sold out of The Dark Knight Rises tix yet?
LeeMaca writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:55:46 AM

@Bullit
the line is "i'm gonna go medieval on his ass"

Drive has to be one of the most boring films of all time, ryan gosling isn't interesting enough to watch 'driving and playing with a tooth pick' for two hours

Animal kingdom was good, a little drawn out but worth a watch

for me thor was the movie of 2011 if thor had tanked the avengers would have been in trouble and although captain america was ok it was nothing to rush out and see

loved xmen first class but michael fassbender ever changing accent gets a little stupid abd thought james mcvoy was a crap pro x.
murphyslaw93 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 11:59:07 AM

@Serpico1988: http://whatculture.com/film/quentin-tarantino-puts-rampart-drive-on-his-nice-try-worst-2011-films-list.php?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=quentin-tarantino-puts-rampart-drive-on-his-nice-try-worst-2011-films-list
Drive was in his "Nice Try" section. Don't understand that one, he's probably upset that he didn't have the opportunity to direct it. But even if he did, there's no way it would have turned out as amazing as it did
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 12:53:30 PM

Bullit

I know mate WTF !!

Don't know why he's just made a film with Eric Roberts, Did that drive him in there ..

Think he was trying to cop off with old margarine legs (giggs sister in-law)
Bullit writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 1:39:18 PM

@LeeMaca: I must check my hearings. Thanks
Drive was a good surprise as said above. As Steve McQueen, I'm a petrol head so, I expected a more memorable car chase's scene just like it was in "BULLITT" 1968, but it didn't happen. Cheers.

@Trailer: Margarine legs, Lol.
the wire writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 1:42:13 PM

LOL good joke quentin.
j-man writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 1:49:50 PM

@trailer

Ouch!! Lol
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 2:46:01 PM

lol ...
vincere01 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 3:24:35 PM

QT is a hack. Him and his script stealing, foot licking, whiny bitch face ass needs to take advice from gollum and go away....and NEVER come back.
Džeko writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 4:12:39 PM

He should be in the new Star Trek movie as a Klingon....no make-up needed.
kBob writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 4:29:36 PM

He must not go to the movies a lot, also I can completely understand why he enjoyed Three Musketeers. He smokes a lot of marijuana. The best films of the year imo were Drive, The Muppets, We Need to Talk about Kevin, 50/50, and XMen First Class. I didn't see Midnight in Paris but I hear good things. I'm not sure I want to watch a movie that's directed by a pedophile and starring an ex suicidal comedian.
Quidd writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 4:48:05 PM

Who the f*ck cares what this guy likes
Rambo writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 5:20:02 PM

only movies i agree with are rise of the planet of the apes and maybe warrior and x men
technoreaper writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 6:01:20 PM

This guy has good taste. He didn't include Drive, thank god. I'm gaining more respect for Quentin by the day.
technoreaper writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 6:04:55 PM

@bill the butcher, Animal Kingdom was terrible and overrated.

@kBob, People who like Drive drive me insane, no pun intended. If anyone thinks Drive is movie of the year potential, then why didn't you nominate The Transporter and the Fast and Furious movies for Oscars then? It had the same exact plot. The only difference? The lead character was quite possibly the most aggravating, pretentious ever written of all time. This was directed by the same idiot who did Bronson, another infuriating move to watch. Had I known that, I would have avoided this movie.
trailertrash writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 6:22:44 PM

That is only YOUR opinion on Drive technoreaper, So why would it bother you what other people think of the movie.

That makes no sense to me at all ...

Would be pretty boring if we all liked the same films wouldn't it.
kBob writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 7:25:44 PM

@Technoreaper

It's all opinion brotha, but seriously, you cannot look me in the eye and tell me that Three Musketeers deserves to be near a "Top 10 Best" list. At least Drive has credibility. Also, Transporter is a straight up action film. (Awesome flick albeit) Drive was a drama and a character study.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 8:29:39 PM

Just seen Warrior last night. Not a bad film. Think it was better than The Fighter in some respects.
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 9:02:38 PM

Warrior !
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 9:41:42 PM

I only agree with 5 of those choices.

How the f*ck can he pick "Attack the Block" & "The Three Musketeers" is beyond me.
technoreaper writes:
on January 15th, 2012 at 10:28:28 PM

Drive was a drama and character study? Excuse me, what? This movie was terrible. I mean, the ex-con guy that got out of prison was playing 80's emo music at his welcome back party. Seriously? Driver didn't talk the entire movie, and the other characters didn't seem to think it was strange. The whole movie was bizarre. Everyone I know hated it. Only my weird film snob friends liked it, but honestly, I don't really believe them. It was a terrible movie, and aside from the obnoxiousness, it was no better than any Fast and Furious movie, or any other B-movie piece of garbage at it's core. You've been duped!
Džeko writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:50:29 AM

@technoreaper Cool story bro.
jpocunha writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 4:57:04 AM

Yeah dude (Tarantino)... The three musketeers one of the best?... and you´ve said that Drive wasn´t good? Get real Quentin... You´re getting soft... You´ve only nominated blockbusters and Saturday afternoon movies.The Skin I Live In (the worst Almodovar movie)... Well wanna know what do I think about your list? Check out what they´ve done to the 5th Amendment on Harold and Kumar (interrogatory scene).
EarOne writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 11:10:24 AM

quite surprised Midnight in Paris is number one...but, then again...maybe not. QT loves anything europe.
Whitta writes:
on January 16th, 2012 at 6:34:49 PM

Good call on Red State, probably one of the best movies of the year.


unfortunately that says jacksh*t for films of 2011
minkowski writes:
on January 17th, 2012 at 7:08:41 PM

Drive >> Fast and the Furious.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 18th, 2012 at 12:28:17 AM

There was only 2 movie this year for me that really standed out. Drive and Super 8, i thought those 2 movies Were f*cking awesome. but then you've got the other 30 or so good movies that id recommend, but am too lazy too. Drive and Super 8 are AMAZING. so i Recommend those
CelluloidMan writes:
on January 27th, 2012 at 2:26:06 AM

Tarantino's list? Who gives a rat's ass!! Who really care for the what, when the why is so much more iteresting...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved