WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Avatar 2" Delayed by Three Years?

Posted: January 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Avatar 2" Delayed by Three Years?Submit Comment
During a preview screening of scene from James Cameron's 3D version of "Titanic," producer Jon Landau answered a few questions, including about the status of the upcoming "Avatar" sequels.

When the sequels were first announced, we were told that "Avatar 2" will hit theaters in 2013 (likely December) and "Avatar 3" will then follow in 2014. But now, according to Landau, the first sequel is "four years away."

After doing some quick math, it turns out that "Avatar 2" will actually be released in 2016, a whopping three years later than expected. Landau believes the films will be worth the wait, since they will showcase brand new technology that will be used in 3D cameras, CG and performance capture, and also in the framerate, that will be higher than usual.

Source: BleedingCool


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 41 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
KM579 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:15:24 PM

Landau believes the films will be worth the wait, since they will showcase brand new technology that will be used in 3D cameras, CG and performance capture, and also in the framerate, that will be higher than usual.

Sooo It'll take an additional 4 years to do everything that The Hobbit is doing RIGHT NOW?
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:19:55 PM

That's gay... Avatar was a huge achievement in Film-making and CGI, i cant wait to See Whats Next..

But 4 Years ? f*ck that's long..
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:25:51 PM

This is great news

Maybe we dont have to hear about Ava-terd as much for a while
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:37:37 PM

I could take it or leave it
But i am interested in some new Cameron tech, his work on The Abyss speaks for itself
canadiansarefags writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:40:59 PM

just as I thought, movie is delayed cos cameron needs a time to think how to collect more money and write even more dumbest script than 1 one. cameron was dopest guy ever until titanic.
vincere01 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:41:41 PM

Yes James Camerons work plunging into the deep abyss of his ego. That man is so full of himself it makes me sick. He used to make good movies and be a nice guy. Now hes just a douche. I think he should take a vow of silence and just film his movies and use sign language for directions given.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:52:27 PM

Youre right VINCE i really took notice of that when WP showed that clip of him behind the scenes and this guy wasnt makin the sound the way he wanted and he just took over his job. Yes you have a vision but theres a right way and a wrong way to 'direct' your people
technoreaper writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:01:34 PM

I smell debacle. This will likely be cancelled soon.
Rambo writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:03:43 PM

delay it by 30 years...make True Lies 2 instead.f*ck those blue smurfs and their f*cking planet.
PrevalentMind writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:12:30 PM

Ummmm...Who the f*ck used to say James Cameron was nice? The guy cheated on his wife, f*cked her career and was ALWAYS an egotistical prick- BUT He backs up his mouth. He's our prick, but make no mistake, this guy's a master craftsman and knows it. You can try to take the man down a peg but how this is accomplished by slamming him for making a best picture I just don't know. Like seriously? Thats the best ya got to knock him? What a sad bunch of lame sacks.
PrevalentMind writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:18:47 PM

Cameron could blow a whisp of air at the back of your geek necks and you'd c*m and sh*t yourselves senseless, then tell your mom the entire story repeatedly as she sits with a mortified look on her face wondering why the f*ck she didnt use that oily gross contraceptive from 1989 that she opted out of because of the rashes it gave her gash.
Dekead writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:19:38 PM

2016?! It better be worth the wait
d.stidham1982 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:51:49 PM

Sooo James Cameron is waiting until 2016 because the standard ticket price will be $15.00 for a daily matinee and $20.00 for a night showing. That will guarantee another billion dollar movie. What is the cost of making a movie, daily, for a full year, times four years?
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:01:40 PM

@Canadiensarefags

Free Health Care Bitch, Not to mention the Greatest Sport Ever made, Hockey!, Talk sh*t eh ;)
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:13:49 PM

lol@PrevalentMind

Well, I'm not a huge fan of Avatar. The man lost me with Titanic. I was one of his largest, most loyal fans, but when he got soft on me with that sinking ship and the sunken stone, I dunno. True Lies was his last enjoyable film.

And yeah, he's a f*cking master of the art of cinema, and Titanic and Avatar showcase his style and prowess, but the story, the story is where he lost me.

I'm just not that into the whole evil white man/good noble savage/unobtainium thing he had going on, and let's face it, Titanic was a very big, very expensive, very successful chick flick.

As for the delays, strike while its hot, Cameron, because I don;t think you repeat the 3D technical achievements twice. Avatar 2 will be evolutionary, not revolutionary like Avatar.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:33:01 PM

So the end of the world is in 2016 instead?
koul writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:38:11 PM

what the hell! i'll be old as hell when the second film comes out.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:39:17 PM

I wanna see the blue things in Avatar fight (or f*ck) either the Transformers, or Terminator. Or both.

I think Jake Vermont's head would explode if they made such a film. Especially the one where they f*ck.

And maybe throw in the machines from the Matrix. They're not doing sh*t these days, and neither are the Wackoffski Siblings.

And Dolph Lundgren. Dolph's always good. And maybe Jackie Chan's coat from Rumble in the Bronx. And his little, little hat. So cute that hat.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:48:05 PM

He has become another another Snyder. No story line focuses way too much on effects one difference he has done all but burned out. We all agree the first was dances with wolves in space. His last entertaining film true lies. I say f*ck off. Go into producing and revive the terminator franchise.choose the director, work on the story line do something the fans would appreciate
technoreaper writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:48:07 PM

James Cameron screwed his ex-wife's film directing career? Did you see how terrible Hurt Locker was? No, I don't care what the academy fools think, it sucked.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:52:09 PM

They called Hurt Locker an action film. Dunno about you, but I didn't see any action. More like a drama about getting blown up in Iraq. Like I need Bigelow for that when I have CNN.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:53:12 PM

By the mink. Did you take your name from minkowski space theory? Just wondering. Cuz that's what pops to mind when I see your posts?
encoreyourface writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 9:35:04 PM

"Avatar 2" Delayed by Three Years?"
God i hope so
mrstretch writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 10:08:00 PM

Avatar sucked. Cameron lost his magic and started doing pg-13 bull crap, how about you make a good rated R sci-fi flick.
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 11:03:02 PM

So we will have to do with 2 more Avatar re releases in the meantime?
echoparkman writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 11:42:59 PM

hurry up!
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 11:48:32 PM

good we are safe from film disasters like this one,Akira remake,Oldboy remake.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 11:57:16 PM

From the awards and accounting side of things, there's no denying Cameron's resume.

Created the 2 top grossing movies of all time.
Aliens, Terminator, True Lies.

The man made (personally) $525 mil. either last year or the year before.

He even admits (unlike Lucas) that he intends to crank out several money grabbing versions of Avatar each one better than the one before.

And maybe the delay in the Avatar sequel will see a 'thinning of the (Avatard) herd' via a batch of Kool-Aid I'm drumming up now.
boogiel writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 12:20:25 AM

Better yet...let it be delayed indefenitely!
Bullit writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 4:23:17 AM

What Rambo said ! Bloody smurfs all right.

"The man made (personally) $525 mil."

And yet, the guy looks & is dressed like sh*t ! No taste whatsoever ! He looks like a real plonker. Better give some diamonds to pigs, they'll make better use than him & his money.
nawtnt writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 6:30:37 AM

I have to be honset that Avatar is a ciemia mastpiece by it's montion capture performances and the 3D but Avatar isn't James Cameron's best movie ever.

I mean, I was amazed by the special effects but the story was weak then again, here must of not be lot of time for the story to get fix.

Still let's hope Avatar has a great stroy to match with it's speical effects.
JakeVermont writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 7:10:55 AM

"I wanna see the blue things in Avatar fight (or f*ck) either the Transformers, or Terminator. Or both.

I think Jake Vermont's head would explode if they made such a film. Especially the one where they f*ck.", Minkowski

Naahh I took a look at the avatar parody that was lame, but aliens having sex with giant machines... or robots... well I'm not really into interracial you know :D

I been to the IMAX premiere here in germany when avatar came out I was totally blown away by the visuals that I didnt pay any attention to how sh*tty the story actually was. And all that naturalist crap like Cameron gives a f*ck about pollution and stuff.

BUT he did revolutionize cinema. Sad thing about that is that so many studios milk the 3D cow with lame conversions.

Now Cameron did a Titanic conversion and John Campea (AMC theatres) has seen a screening and he says it was really really good, so Cameron is a perfectionist.

Concerning Avatar 2/3 I dont even think about it, I mean it will be CGI "porn" for your eyes just like the first one which is okay if you want to relax and watch a popcorn flick and not keep thinking about a movie like Inception.

Cameron has the opportunitiy to come up with an original story now. But I dont really expect much.

As Minkowski said, J.C. doesnt pay much attention to story telling anymore...
canadiansarefags writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 9:16:25 AM

@Tanman... hahahaha, greatest sport, that sh*t's like mix of ice skating and ufc. I bet your dentists are so f*ckin busy. :)
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 10:24:40 AM

@nawty - done pouting... bitch? That's a good boy.

minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 11:59:21 AM

"By the mink. Did you take your name from minkowski space theory"

Yes sir! Named after Herman Minkowski, the mathematician. Cool you noticed. Almost nobody ever gets that.
minkowski writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 12:00:46 PM

lol@Jake, and I agree dude.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 5:19:03 PM

@ Canadiensarefags

Your Pathetic, i'm Canadian and i bet you cant give me one legitimate reason on why Canadians are "Fags" Go back under your bridge you big Troll, your not wanted.
Bullit writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 5:57:58 PM

^ ^
Vive le Québec libre !

Just kidding, mate.

As far as i am concerned, i can tell you that every single Canadian person i have met in my life so far, English or French speaking, they were by far the nicest people that i could come accross. Especially one girl that i will never forget. I've got some friends in Vancouver and i promised them that i should visit them one day. Beautiful country from what i saw so far.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 13th, 2012 at 10:59:00 PM

Nice to know man! lol Visit them up, come to Toronto, ill buy you a beer lol
rorschach writes:
on January 14th, 2012 at 6:48:54 PM

That's three years i'm sure we're all grateful for.
rorschach writes:
on January 14th, 2012 at 6:51:48 PM

P.S. Canadians ARE fags.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved