WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Saving Private Ryan" Writer Hired for "Thor 2"

Posted: January 11th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Saving Private Ryan" Writer Hired for "Thor 2"Submit Comment
Marvel recently hired director Alan Taylor to helm the upcoming "Thor" sequel. The majority of Taylor's experience has been directing a few episodes of such TV series as "Game of Thrones," "Mad Men" and "The Sopranos."

In other words, Marvel is taking a chance on Taylor, hoping he can deliver a high-quality blockbuster, despite never actually working on one. But now comes word that the studio at least wants to get the script right and has hired "Saving Private Ryan" writer Robert Rodat to re-write the new film.

"Thor 2" is set to hit theaters on November 15th, 2013.

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 49 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 6:11:01 AM

As long as this is the last rewrite, it should be good. Otherwise, it'll be Saving Thor's Private.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 7:52:53 AM

UH OH Theyre really serious about this movie.
Rambo writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:29:00 AM

this movie will suck.they should had sticked to kenneth branagh
OneTime writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 9:01:24 AM

this is a step in the right direction.
nawtnt writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 9:25:00 AM

Bring back the first movie's writers, Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz and maybe have Kenneth Branagh produce Thor 2.

I think Saving Private Ryan was a amazing movie, I didn't expect the director of E.T. to make a violent, gorey war movie but still the ending disappointed me.

Let's hope Marvel makes a great sequel that's more better than the first one.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 10:24:00 AM

How did the ending of SPR disappoint you nawtnt?
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 10:40:40 AM

Can we have some action this time?
nawtnt writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 12:34:45 PM

Ranger, it's my opionion so F*** U.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 12:38:26 PM

Sure f*ck me. But just asked what about the ending disappointed you (pretty straight-up question I think)?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:14:26 PM

Damn Natwnt youre so defensive.He asked why you didnt like the ending of Saving Private Ryan.

I didnt like part of it cause Tom Hanks was killed along with most of the members of his platoon and they all sacrificed their lives to save MATT DAMON.

are you like from India or the Middle East?
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:43:35 PM

lol...

Yep, I thought I was just asking a question.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:20:30 PM

It's probably laundry day and his mom has his tighty-whities getting into a bunch in the washer.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:33:24 PM

He cried when Vin Diesel died
See what you did RANGER? You and your questions
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:36:51 PM

Why would Marvel be taking any chances at all!?
Is there a shortage of directors i havent heard about?
This whole thing sounds suspect and desperate
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:42:09 PM

@pornfly --- my bad.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:49:37 PM

Vin Diesel died hahahahahahhahaha
good one pornfly
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:59:24 PM

I know. I'm still chuckling over that one.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:02:05 PM

The ending was about duty and honor. We fight and sacrifice for a greater good and even if the greater good was Tom Hanks dying so Matt Damon could live then so be it. Millions of people sacrifice just so i can smoke weed and bitch and complain about why Xmen First Class/Thor was rushed. But thats freedom and thats why i watch SPR every Memorial Day and i served 5years as a Naval Rescue Swimmer
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:03:57 PM

Well said.

My dad served (Tanks), and had an Uncle killed by the Japs in one of their POW Camps (much worse to allied soldiers than the German's treatment).

All so nawt can feel sad that a movie had a realistic ending with the hero dying.

Maybe he should get out from under his mom's apron a bit more.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:11:11 PM

and just so there's no misunderstanding Tom Hanks,Vin Diesel and the guy that got stabbed while that mousy f*ckn reporter watched are STILL ALIVE and RANGERS uncle (may he rest in peace,THATS A f*ckIN SACRIFICE all those japs around and no karaoke,egg roll,suckysucky) is still gone
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:29:10 PM

"I didn't expect the director of E.T. to make a violent, gorey war movie but still the ending disappointed me."

So, Shindler's List not ending with a Jew-Nazi stomp dance musical number must have really disappointed you, huh?

"But now comes word that the studio at least wants to get the script right and has hired "Saving Private Ryan" writer Robert Rodat to re-write the new film.

Sounds like a good idea, though bringing in somsone else for re-writes never looks good to people following development. Can't say Rodat won't do a good polish, and it may need one to compensate for Taylor's lack of prior big-budget experience.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:34:38 PM

Thx. Pornfly. I think the saddest thing about the Uncle is that he was only 22 years old. He missed out on a lot.

@Mink - Oh great. Now I like Schlinder's List a bit less because it didn't have a Jew-Nazi stomp dance musical number at the end... lol.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:37:16 PM

"All so nawt can feel sad that a movie had a realistic ending with the hero dying."

Depends on what you mean, though. In classical story telling, in fiction, the hero rarely dies.

And Saving Private Ryan, despite all it's effectively historical renditions, is essentially total fiction, minus the Normandy landing recreation.

So, whether you give a sh*t or not, and I suspect not which is totally fine by me, nawnt's complaint has nothing to do with disrespect.

He simply sees it as a work of fiction, and nothing else.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:43:36 PM

I didn't take his reply as disrespect.

I took it as he didn't read my post properly and see I was just asking a question, which didn't deserve his reply nor his defensiveness.

His mom probably just didn't put enough milk in his Cheerios, or wiped his ass well enough and he got a rash.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:47:52 PM

MINKS in rare form today
That was sum good ol common sense neutral wisdom
Nice input as always
Now im gonna watch Mel Gibsons The Producers
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:50:01 PM

I watched (again) Mel in Payback last week. Man I like that film.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:51:00 PM

Mel f*ckn BROOKS
but can you imagine lmfao!
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:53:48 PM

Cant wait for his return to 'angry pissed off at the world guy' in his new film
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:55:32 PM

Mel would have spiced up 'The Producers' fo sho!
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 3:59:25 PM

His dad could produce
He doesnt believe in The Holocaust
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:06:06 PM

I am genuinely interested in NAWTs opinion about what SPR is,
thats why i read the comments here when i never used to. keeping an open mind and reading different perspectives and maybe realizing something new that i might be overlooking for whatever reason
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:09:40 PM

Same (on both points).
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:12:45 PM

nawtnt wow anger, What happened there fella ...
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:15:20 PM

"I watched (again) Mel in Payback last week. Man I like that film."

Yep. Great film, one of the better adaptations of Donald Westlake's 'The Hunter', and the way it starts out is reminiscent of the Bourne Identity, though the films do diverge significantly almost immediately.

I would suggest you check out the Straight Up Director's Cut.

http://www.amazon.com/Payback-Directors-Cut-Special-Collectors/dp/B000M3439O/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1326316370&sr=8-3

Not as delightfully bad as the studio cut, but if you're a fan of the original, it's a must.
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:16:38 PM

Love Payback, Top film Mel kicked ass in that movie.

Have you seen Point Blank with Lee Marvin which Payback is based on another very good film.

Plus Angie d*ckinson is in it, there's something Mmmm Mmmmm Mmmmm about her.
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:19:19 PM

Didn't like the music from that directors cut Mink for some reason.

I turned it off and watched the normal version instead.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:25:32 PM

@Mink - I didn't know there was a Director's Cut... thx. Will look for it.

Yeah, Mel's wheeling n' dealing at the beginning of the flick was priceless.
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:31:58 PM

High hopes for Mel's How I Spent My Summer Vacation this summer.

Now he's got his hand out of Jodie Foster's Beaver
nawtnt writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:33:57 PM

You know what guys, this is my last comment because I am qutting from commenting about movies.

I like Saving Private Ryan and the ending so I guess you guys are happy.

Bandolero 999 and Ranger, peace out.
trailertrash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:41:56 PM

nawtnt

That's a little over the top mate.

If you just re-read Ranger post he only asked you why you didn't like the end of Saving Ryan, Nothing more.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:47:09 PM

"High hopes for Mel's How I Spent My Summer Vacation this summer."

No hopes here. Any time you pair an action star with a child, things are never as enjoyable as you hope. Mel just needs to go back to doing badass films. Payback 2 would be a good start.

"Didn't like the music from that directors cut Mink for some reason."

Yeah, the general opinion is that it's not nearly as good in any respect as the studio cut, and I agree, but still, if you loved the original version as much as I, the director's cut is a must see.

"Yeah, Mel's wheeling n' dealing at the beginning of the flick was priceless."

I love how he went from nearly dead to living large in like three or four cuts. lol.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 4:56:22 PM

"Payback 2 would be a good start."

And you know Maria Bello needs the work.
Ranger writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 5:09:48 PM

@nawtnt - Take care.
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 5:11:57 PM

Yep. Live long and posper. Nanoo nanoo, nawtnt. You were felled without Ranger firing a single shot. lol.
pornfly writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 5:27:26 PM

Maria Bello is on the reboot Hellen Mirren series Prime Suspect where she rocks a turtleneck to cover her 'my neck is aging faster than me' body that killed in History of Violence
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 8:23:11 PM

LMAO, that's so true about her neck, it's like it's melting from the heat coming off her...aww f*ck it, that joke wasn't going anywhere.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 11:53:28 PM

Nawtnt,technoqueefer,Jake Vermont should of been born with vaginas.all you hoes are some drama queens.
technoreaper writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 6:29:36 AM

So the beginning will be good, the rest will be terrible.
Ranger writes:
on January 12th, 2012 at 10:51:11 PM

Sounds like Nic Cage in Knowing.

Talk about script writers to meet a deadline. The second half sucked more sh*t than Lohan (anything).

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved