WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Warner Bros to Impose 56-Day Delay on Movie Rentals

Posted: January 10th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Warner Bros to Impose 56-Day Delay on Movie RentalsSubmit Comment
Warner Bros has announced that it will extend the current 28-day window to 56 days for Netflix users looking to rent a DVD or Blu-ray. That means that a Warners movie will take almost two months to appear on Netflix after it has already been released on DVD/Blu-ray.

"Since we implemented a 28-day window for subscription and kiosk, we have seen very positive results with regard to our sell-through business," said the studio. "One of the key initiatives for Warner Bros is to improve the value of ownership for the consumer and the extension of the rental window."

Netflix added: "Netflix wants to ensure members have continued secure access to Warner Bros DVDs and Blu-ray discs and, as such, is accepting the 56 day holdback."

It's only a matter of time before other studios arrange a similar deal.

Source: Warner Bros, Netflix


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
DavidsoMighty writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:23:45 PM

I hate you Warner Brothers, you and you're stupid little Frog.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:39:33 PM

So is this good news for video stores?
It sure sounds like it
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 8:14:28 PM

Warner c*nts.

"Improve the value of ownership"

Really? Do they really believe that the average joe gives a damn about ownership? They just want to see the movie, as easy and as cheap as possible. If a person hasn't bought the DVD after a month, he probably will not buy it all. But he might have watched on Netflix. Now, he will download it instead.

Good work there lads.
Big_Daddy writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 8:46:20 PM

Just thier way of f*cking Netflix out of business. Ah will to the torrent I go!
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 8:53:08 PM

People who buy movies now do it just to show off.
Everybody else just bootlegs and forgets about it.
so i dont know where they get this 'value of ownership' b.s. excuse
technoreaper writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:00:21 PM

I still pay to rent, mostly because I don't want to get surprised with a nasty lawsuit or a visit from the Feds. Believe me, they will find any excuse to prosecute people if they can! You don't want to go through that, trust me. However, I can't blame people for pirating when Warner Brothers, through some fuzzy math, thinks people still want to pay $3 for rentals, even when overhead for these kiosks is very minimal. I rent a lot of movies for the $1 price, and it encourages me to try movies that I wouldn't normally rent.
thisisntme writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:14:31 PM

And you wonder why people bootleg.
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:23:33 PM

Buying overpriced DVDs is a waste of money
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:32:48 PM

What the f*ck!!!!!!
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 10:54:49 PM

Make it 90 days Warner. I'm (always) so behind on my movies, it doesn't matter to me. If you get 28 (now 56) days behind in ALL your movie viewing, you'd never know because they still come out for viewing (for me) at the same rate.

But yep... bootleg away people. I don't, but certainly don't mind those that do. I'll just wait 56 days now instead of 28. Big whoop.
telur writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:26:51 PM

why you need to buy or rent it if you can download it free?
FBO writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:31:02 PM

I've got a better idea to improve value of ownership; Stop making sh*tty movies!

I've stopped gambling on impulse movie buying, if I don't know how good it is then I ain't paying retarded amounts of money for it.
FBO writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:34:42 PM

Also, you should probably stop charging retarded amounts of money for your movies. $35 for a single blu ray movie, really? Go suck a nut.
technoreaper writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:34:57 PM

I'm a little tired of the crowd that thinks it's cool to illegally download every movie that comes out. Everything in this life costs money. Keep doing it, and eventually you will be prosecuted or it will impact the industry so much that it will impact the quality of films. I'm betting that the former will happen before anything else. Enjoy getting your wages garnished for years after your settlement and possibly getting your assets seized, after having to pay a lawyer a lot of money. Then that rental or Blu-ray will have seemed cheap by comparison. I think the Feds are trying to get that anti-piracy bill passed that might allow them to prosecute pirates and downloaders more successfully. While I'm against it, I support it when I read comments from people who think it's ok to just download everything for free without consequence. While the studios like Warner Brothers may be ridiculously greedy, you also have the other end of the spectrum with certain members of the general public who expect to get everything for nothing.
nuttie30xx writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 12:21:33 AM

so am i picking this up right you can buy the movie right away just not rent it?

if thats the case great i can remember the last time i rented a movie i think it was a vhs lol i buy 90 of movies anyway so no big deal

this whole thing will boost more downloads too i think they need to rethink this idea
FBO writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:31:22 AM

@techno - Normally I'd agree with you, I am usually a good law abiding citizen. The worst crime I've ever committed is running a stop sign. But, in this case I am ok with illegal downloads. I don't download them, just can't bring myself to do it, but I am glad that people do. Does anyone remember when new cds started to sell for $23 (usd)? And then napster came along and the industry was beside itself trying to figure out what to do. Ultimately there were two things that happened (1) cd prices went down and (2) there were a lot less one hit wonders.

Movie pirating, in my opinion, is the same thing. People are willing to pay for great movies but no one is willing to shell out $18 for a streaming pile of dandy. So ultimately the studios that suffer the most will be the ones pumping out crap.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:40:30 AM

really Techno dont snitch on me I have a hundred movies downloaded and if I like them I buy them on Bluray.for NO MORE THAN 10 USD and I'm being nice.

all those dollars you spent on Rentals could of added up to p*ssy,blowjobs,alcohol,8ballz(if yo do) and instead you gave it to some sh*tty movie,because you usually hate everything that comes out from HOLLYWOOD.
The_Zizzler writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:25:24 AM

There is nothing wrong with downloading a movie and watching it for free only to find out it was a pile of sh*t. It saves me gas, money and time, which are three treasures particularly in this economy. That said however, if I knew the movie was going to be good, id go to IMAX or a regular theatre.
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:34:15 AM

gay
Bunny X writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 10:59:32 AM

And then these dumb f*cks wonder why there is so much pirating.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 12:21:42 PM

Go to the pawn shop,they have 100s of dvds 5 for 10$
minkowski writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 2:51:33 PM

"I think the Feds are trying to get that anti-piracy bill passed that might allow them to prosecute pirates and downloaders more successfully."

It's called SOPA, Stop Online Pirating Act. and it's lost a great deal of support over the last few weeks. May become a dead issue before too long.

Anyway, I see this is as boon to the other studios that don't spend too much time worryong over how much the rental market is cutting into disc sales.

Bad news for Netflicks, though. And Redbox, how does this affect them? Equally?

As someone else said, DVDs are very cheap on the secondhand market. Unfortunately, studios are working to phase them out to BD only.

As for piracy, I don't see an issue if you were never going to buy the movie anyway, or if you saved yourself some cash by checking the film beforehand only to discover it reeks.

Consumers need rights and freedom to choose. We're not here to be exploited like some postbellum cash crop.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved