WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot
Aug 9th, 2015
Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews
Aug 8th, 2015
Three Actresses in Talks for "Gambit" Female Lead
Aug 8th, 2015
Trailer for "By The Sea," with Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie
Aug 8th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV Series

Posted: January 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
TNT has announced plans to develop "LA Noir" television series, based on John Buntin's book "LA Noir: The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City" and produced by Frank Darabont ("The Walking Dead," The Shawshank Redemption) and Michael De Luca (The Social Network, Moneyball).

"LA Noir" is the true story of a decades-long conflict between the Los Angeles Police Department, under the determined leadership of Police Chief William Parker, and ruthless criminal elements led by Mickey Cohen, a one-time boxer who rose to the top of LA's criminal world. The series is a fast-paced crime drama set in Los Angeles during the 1940s and '50s. It's a world of glamorous movie stars, powerful studio heads, returning war heroes, a powerful and corrupt police force and an even more dangerous criminal network determined to make LA its West Coast base.

"John Buntin's superb book, though non-fiction, is our touchstone and inspiration for the stories we'll be telling, weaving fiction throughout the facts and facts throughout the fiction," said Darabont. "The book provides elements that are irresistible, a big canvas with endless possibilities."

The book is not connected to the popular video game with the same name.

Source: TNT


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:28:05 PM

Hmmm. The guy that gave us Shawshank is doing TV no one really wants, instead of making another really stupendous film.

Color me disappointed.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:31:25 PM

So is gonna be a mix of L. A. Confidential with Crime Story....I liked. I can start hearing from the backside of my head Del Shannon singing Runaway.... Just bring it on!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:06 PM

Seems like they are just trying to cash in on Boardwalk Empire's success.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:25 PM

Yeah, but the Black Dahlia movie tanked.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:58:43 PM

If done well, will be good.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:47:50 PM

If Aaron Stanton is playing the lead I'm in.
pornfly writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:53:34 PM

And theyll be talkin like this,see
Talkin real fast,see
Hey mack stop squealin to the fuzz,see or i'll pump ya fulla lead and it'll be curtains,see CURTAINS
DexterMorgan writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:28:51 PM

i thought it was gonna be about the game
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:33:11 PM

I thought it would be about an LA Tattoo Shop hijacked by the Brothas.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 1:11:56 AM

RANGER they cant spell Noir
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:17:15 AM

@Pornfly Hey!!! I'm black and i do know how to spell Nore....Noare....N...Fu
Lol And i really am black btw.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:33:57 AM

Oh sh!t.....my message got cut.It's supposed to say

Nore.....Noare.....N...f*ck it,I quit.

(Sigh......this is what happens when your laptop is down and the only working device wihh internet is a game console.....)
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:41:44 AM

*with (sigh.....)
Bullit writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 4:33:00 AM

I hope it will be better to James Elroy. I got bored reading his books using the same themes over & over again.

FYI: Noir in French means black ! I guess you can't designate a "Black film" genre. So, they had to disguise with a French word. Lol !
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:19:05 AM

Im noir y'all
Im noir y'all
Im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir yall
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:53:55 AM

Great... you just gave Bieber the lyrics to his next hit.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:21:32 PM

See
CB4
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:28:34 PM

His songs sound like they were written by unemployed herbheads anyway.
By the way
See
CB4

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved