WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Paul Rudd in Marvel's "Ant-Man"
Aug 20th, 2014
Mark Wahlberg in Talks for "Deepwater Horizon" BP Oil Disaster Film
Aug 20th, 2014
Photos of Henry Cavill as Superman on Set of "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 19th, 2014
Alfred Molina Wants to Return as Spider-Man Villain Doctor Octopus in "Sinister Six"
Aug 19th, 2014
Trailer for Lifetime's "Saved By the Bell" Movie
Aug 19th, 2014
"Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel Hires Director, Filming to Begin in October
Aug 19th, 2014
"The Fault in Our Stars" Director in Talks for Anne Rice's "Lestat" Vampire Film
Aug 19th, 2014
Milla Jovovich is Pregnant, "Resident Evil: The Final Chapter" Gets Delayed
Aug 18th, 2014
"Sharknado 3" Star Wants More Money, May Get Replaced
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Devil's Advocate" to Become a TV Series
Aug 18th, 2014
Photo: Marc Webb Unveils Concept Art From "The Amazing Spider-Man" Spin-Off "Sinister Six"
Aug 18th, 2014
Video: Robin Williams Recorded Message of Hope For Terminally Ill Woman
Aug 18th, 2014
First Posters for Antonio Banderas' "Automata" Sci-Fi Film
Aug 18th, 2014
"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top
Aug 17th, 2014
Concept Art of Main Villain and Han Solo From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 17th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio, Tom Hardy and Tobey Maguire Sign On for Animal Poaching Film
Aug 17th, 2014
Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Started Training For "Rambo 5"
Aug 16th, 2014
New "Dumb and Dumber To" Posters Parody Scarlett Johansson's "Lucy" Film
Aug 16th, 2014
Sylvester Stallone Recalls His Terrible "Star Wars" Audition
Aug 16th, 2014
First Look at Paul Thomas Anderson's "Inherent Vice," with Joaquin Phoenix and Josh Brolin
Aug 16th, 2014
New Trailer for Elijah Wood's "Open Windows" Thriller
Aug 16th, 2014
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" Attached to "Sin City: A Dame to Kill For"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Look at Stormtroopers From "Star Wars: Episode VII"
Aug 15th, 2014
First Clip From Robin Williams' "Merry Friggin' Christmas"
Aug 15th, 2014
Simon Cowell Making a "Betty Boop" Movie
Aug 15th, 2014
Trailer for "Rudderless," with Billy Crudup and Anton Yelchin
Aug 15th, 2014
Ben Affleck Discuses Playing Batman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 14th, 2014
"Godzilla" Sequel Gets a Release Date
Aug 14th, 2014
Dwayne Johnson to Return for Two New "Journey to the Center of the Earth" Sequels
Aug 14th, 2014
Is This How Lex Luthor Will Defeat Superman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Aug 14th, 2014
Brittany Murphy Getting a Biopic on Lifetime
Aug 14th, 2014
Martin Lawrence Says "Bad Boys 3" is Happening
Aug 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV Series

Posted: January 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
TNT has announced plans to develop "LA Noir" television series, based on John Buntin's book "LA Noir: The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City" and produced by Frank Darabont ("The Walking Dead," The Shawshank Redemption) and Michael De Luca (The Social Network, Moneyball).

"LA Noir" is the true story of a decades-long conflict between the Los Angeles Police Department, under the determined leadership of Police Chief William Parker, and ruthless criminal elements led by Mickey Cohen, a one-time boxer who rose to the top of LA's criminal world. The series is a fast-paced crime drama set in Los Angeles during the 1940s and '50s. It's a world of glamorous movie stars, powerful studio heads, returning war heroes, a powerful and corrupt police force and an even more dangerous criminal network determined to make LA its West Coast base.

"John Buntin's superb book, though non-fiction, is our touchstone and inspiration for the stories we'll be telling, weaving fiction throughout the facts and facts throughout the fiction," said Darabont. "The book provides elements that are irresistible, a big canvas with endless possibilities."

The book is not connected to the popular video game with the same name.

Source: TNT


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:28:05 PM

Hmmm. The guy that gave us Shawshank is doing TV no one really wants, instead of making another really stupendous film.

Color me disappointed.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:31:25 PM

So is gonna be a mix of L. A. Confidential with Crime Story....I liked. I can start hearing from the backside of my head Del Shannon singing Runaway.... Just bring it on!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:06 PM

Seems like they are just trying to cash in on Boardwalk Empire's success.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:25 PM

Yeah, but the Black Dahlia movie tanked.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:58:43 PM

If done well, will be good.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:47:50 PM

If Aaron Stanton is playing the lead I'm in.
pornfly writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:53:34 PM

And theyll be talkin like this,see
Talkin real fast,see
Hey mack stop squealin to the fuzz,see or i'll pump ya fulla lead and it'll be curtains,see CURTAINS
DexterMorgan writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:28:51 PM

i thought it was gonna be about the game
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:33:11 PM

I thought it would be about an LA Tattoo Shop hijacked by the Brothas.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 1:11:56 AM

RANGER they cant spell Noir
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:17:15 AM

@Pornfly Hey!!! I'm black and i do know how to spell Nore....Noare....N...Fu
Lol And i really am black btw.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:33:57 AM

Oh sh!t.....my message got cut.It's supposed to say

Nore.....Noare.....N...f*ck it,I quit.

(Sigh......this is what happens when your laptop is down and the only working device wihh internet is a game console.....)
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:41:44 AM

*with (sigh.....)
Bullit writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 4:33:00 AM

I hope it will be better to James Elroy. I got bored reading his books using the same themes over & over again.

FYI: Noir in French means black ! I guess you can't designate a "Black film" genre. So, they had to disguise with a French word. Lol !
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:19:05 AM

Im noir y'all
Im noir y'all
Im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir yall
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:53:55 AM

Great... you just gave Bieber the lyrics to his next hit.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:21:32 PM

See
CB4
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:28:34 PM

His songs sound like they were written by unemployed herbheads anyway.
By the way
See
CB4

"Sharknado 2" Breaks Records with 3.9 Million Viewers

Ronda Rousey Says She Should Have Been Wonder Woman in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

TJ Miller Explains Why He'll Never Work With Director Michael Bay Again

Bruce Wayne's Age in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed

Robin Williams' Cause of Death Revealed

Anthony Mackie Says He's Ready to Become Captain America

James Gunn Says "Guardians and the Galaxy" and "Avengers" Superheroes May Soon Meet

"Batman v Superman" Director Zack Snyder Defends Aquaman's Powers

"The Expendables 3" Bombs at the Box Office, "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" Still On Top

Jackie Chan Discusses "The Expendables 4" and "Rush Hour 4"
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved