WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Zoolander 2" Teaser Trailer Arrives Online
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Robert Redford as Dan Rather in "Truth"
Aug 1st, 2015
New Photos of Emma Watson in "Colonia" Cult Thriller
Aug 1st, 2015
"They Live" Actor and WWE Star "Rowdy" Roddy Piper Dead at 61
Aug 1st, 2015
First Look at Jake Gyllenhaal in "Demolition," From Director of "Dallas Buyers Club"
Jul 31st, 2015
New Trailer for Johnny Depp's "Black Mass"
Jul 31st, 2015
Trailer for "The Night Before" Comedy, with Seth Rogen, Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Anthony Mackie
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Bay's "13 Hours" Benghazi Thriller
Jul 30th, 2015
Channing Tatum Quitting "Gambit" Film?
Jul 30th, 2015
Trailer for Mark Ruffalo's "Spotlight," About Pedophile Priests
Jul 30th, 2015
New Trailer for "Sicario" Thriller, with Emily Blunt and Josh Brolin
Jul 30th, 2015
Vince Vaughn Joins Mel Gibson's "Hacksaw Ridge" WWII Film
Jul 30th, 2015
Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals
Jul 25th, 2015
Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
Jul 25th, 2015
New Trailer for Zac Efron's "We Are Your Friends"
Jul 25th, 2015
"Jurassic World" Sequel Gets Release Date, Chris Pratt to Return
Jul 24th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson's "Baywatch" Movie Hires "Horrible Bosses" Director
Jul 24th, 2015
Russell Crowe in Talks to Join "King Kong" Prequel
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2" is Here!
Jul 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "Maze Runner" Sequel
Jul 24th, 2015
LeBron James Signs Deal with Warner Bros, "Space Jam 2" Happening?
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "Mississippi Grind" Poker Film
Jul 23rd, 2015
Final Restricted Trailer for "Vacation" Sequel
Jul 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Patrick Wilson's "Zipper" Thriller
Jul 23rd, 2015
Full Trailer for "Spectre" James Bond Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
Full Trailer for Pixar's "The Good Dinosaur" Animated Film
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Kung Fu Panda" Director Making "Emoji" Movie
Jul 22nd, 2015
"Pacific Rim 2" to Begin Filming in November
Jul 22nd, 2015
Backstreet Boys and 'NSync Members Unite for "Dead 7" Low-Budget Horror Film
Jul 21st, 2015
Benicio Del Toro May Play Villain in "Star Wars: Episode VIII"
Jul 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Before We Go," Chris Evans' Directorial Debut
Jul 21st, 2015
"The Godfather" Actor Alex Rocco Dead at 79
Jul 21st, 2015
New Trailer for "American Ultra," with Jesse Eisenberg and Kristen Stewart
Jul 21st, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV Series

Posted: January 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
TNT has announced plans to develop "LA Noir" television series, based on John Buntin's book "LA Noir: The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City" and produced by Frank Darabont ("The Walking Dead," The Shawshank Redemption) and Michael De Luca (The Social Network, Moneyball).

"LA Noir" is the true story of a decades-long conflict between the Los Angeles Police Department, under the determined leadership of Police Chief William Parker, and ruthless criminal elements led by Mickey Cohen, a one-time boxer who rose to the top of LA's criminal world. The series is a fast-paced crime drama set in Los Angeles during the 1940s and '50s. It's a world of glamorous movie stars, powerful studio heads, returning war heroes, a powerful and corrupt police force and an even more dangerous criminal network determined to make LA its West Coast base.

"John Buntin's superb book, though non-fiction, is our touchstone and inspiration for the stories we'll be telling, weaving fiction throughout the facts and facts throughout the fiction," said Darabont. "The book provides elements that are irresistible, a big canvas with endless possibilities."

The book is not connected to the popular video game with the same name.

Source: TNT


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:28:05 PM

Hmmm. The guy that gave us Shawshank is doing TV no one really wants, instead of making another really stupendous film.

Color me disappointed.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:31:25 PM

So is gonna be a mix of L. A. Confidential with Crime Story....I liked. I can start hearing from the backside of my head Del Shannon singing Runaway.... Just bring it on!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:06 PM

Seems like they are just trying to cash in on Boardwalk Empire's success.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:25 PM

Yeah, but the Black Dahlia movie tanked.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:58:43 PM

If done well, will be good.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:47:50 PM

If Aaron Stanton is playing the lead I'm in.
pornfly writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:53:34 PM

And theyll be talkin like this,see
Talkin real fast,see
Hey mack stop squealin to the fuzz,see or i'll pump ya fulla lead and it'll be curtains,see CURTAINS
DexterMorgan writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:28:51 PM

i thought it was gonna be about the game
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:33:11 PM

I thought it would be about an LA Tattoo Shop hijacked by the Brothas.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 1:11:56 AM

RANGER they cant spell Noir
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:17:15 AM

@Pornfly Hey!!! I'm black and i do know how to spell Nore....Noare....N...Fu
Lol And i really am black btw.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:33:57 AM

Oh sh!t.....my message got cut.It's supposed to say

Nore.....Noare.....N...f*ck it,I quit.

(Sigh......this is what happens when your laptop is down and the only working device wihh internet is a game console.....)
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:41:44 AM

*with (sigh.....)
Bullit writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 4:33:00 AM

I hope it will be better to James Elroy. I got bored reading his books using the same themes over & over again.

FYI: Noir in French means black ! I guess you can't designate a "Black film" genre. So, they had to disguise with a French word. Lol !
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:19:05 AM

Im noir y'all
Im noir y'all
Im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir yall
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:53:55 AM

Great... you just gave Bieber the lyrics to his next hit.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:21:32 PM

See
CB4
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:28:34 PM

His songs sound like they were written by unemployed herbheads anyway.
By the way
See
CB4

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

"The Amazing Spider-Man 3" Would Have Brought Characters Back From the Dead
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved