WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Marvel Surprised Robert Downey Jr With an Unexpected Gift
Oct 20th, 2014
"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Struggling in China Due to Terrible Subtitles
Oct 20th, 2014
French Theaters Cancel "Annabelle" Screenings Due to Damage Caused by Teenagers
Oct 20th, 2014
Jason Momoa's First Comments About Starring in "Aquaman"
Oct 20th, 2014
Brad Pitt's "Fury" and Michael Keaton's "Birdman" Top Box Office
Oct 19th, 2014
New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Concept Art Teases Hulkbuster's Giant Size
Oct 19th, 2014
Producer Gives "Halloween 3" Update
Oct 19th, 2014
Teaser for Disney's "Feast" Animated Short Film
Oct 19th, 2014
Tom Hardy May Play Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse"
Oct 18th, 2014
Jena Malone is Female Robin in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"?
Oct 18th, 2014
Marvel in Talks with Colin Farrell and Benedict Cumberbatch to Star in "Doctor Strange"
Oct 18th, 2014
Channing Tatum Not Sure We Need "23 Jump Street"
Oct 18th, 2014
Poster For Tim Burton's "Big Eyes," with Amy Adams and Christoph Waltz
Oct 18th, 2014
Photos: Nicolas Cage Protesting Against His "Dying of the Light" Movie
Oct 17th, 2014
James Cameron Discusses Getting "Terminator" Rights Back in 2019
Oct 17th, 2014
Guillermo Del Toro Says "Pacific Rim 2" Sets Up "Pacific Rim 3"
Oct 17th, 2014
New Trailer For Angelina Jolie's "Unbroken" World War II Drama
Oct 17th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson Offered $10 Million to Star in "Ghost in the Shell"
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer For Chris Rock's "Top Five" Comedy
Oct 17th, 2014
Trailer: Chris Hemsworth Fights a Whale in Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea"
Oct 16th, 2014
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in Ron Howard's "Heart of the Sea" Survival Film
Oct 16th, 2014
James Wan May Direct Another "Saw" Film in 2016
Oct 16th, 2014
Channing Tatum Provides "Gambit" Update
Oct 16th, 2014
Christian Bale in Talks to Star in Steve Jobs Biopic
Oct 16th, 2014
New Teaser For "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1"
Oct 16th, 2014
Warner Bros Announces "The Flash," "Aquaman," "Justice League" and "Green Lantern" Movies
Oct 16th, 2014
Trailer for Nicolas Cage's "Dying of the Light" Thriller
Oct 16th, 2014
Edward Norton Says Today's Movies are Just As Good as Films From 1960s
Oct 15th, 2014
Photos: Michael Douglas is Hank Pym on "Ant-Man" Set
Oct 15th, 2014
Javier Bardem in Talks to Play Main Villain in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Oct 15th, 2014
Trailer: Katie Holmes Kills Lots of People in "Miss Meadows"
Oct 15th, 2014
Ninth Character Poster For "The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies," Features Bilbo Baggins Again
Oct 15th, 2014
New "Jurassic World" Poster Arrives Online
Oct 15th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV Series

Posted: January 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Frank Darabont Developing "LA Noir" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
TNT has announced plans to develop "LA Noir" television series, based on John Buntin's book "LA Noir: The Struggle for the Soul of America's Most Seductive City" and produced by Frank Darabont ("The Walking Dead," The Shawshank Redemption) and Michael De Luca (The Social Network, Moneyball).

"LA Noir" is the true story of a decades-long conflict between the Los Angeles Police Department, under the determined leadership of Police Chief William Parker, and ruthless criminal elements led by Mickey Cohen, a one-time boxer who rose to the top of LA's criminal world. The series is a fast-paced crime drama set in Los Angeles during the 1940s and '50s. It's a world of glamorous movie stars, powerful studio heads, returning war heroes, a powerful and corrupt police force and an even more dangerous criminal network determined to make LA its West Coast base.

"John Buntin's superb book, though non-fiction, is our touchstone and inspiration for the stories we'll be telling, weaving fiction throughout the facts and facts throughout the fiction," said Darabont. "The book provides elements that are irresistible, a big canvas with endless possibilities."

The book is not connected to the popular video game with the same name.

Source: TNT


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:28:05 PM

Hmmm. The guy that gave us Shawshank is doing TV no one really wants, instead of making another really stupendous film.

Color me disappointed.
Johnnyb writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:31:25 PM

So is gonna be a mix of L. A. Confidential with Crime Story....I liked. I can start hearing from the backside of my head Del Shannon singing Runaway.... Just bring it on!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:06 PM

Seems like they are just trying to cash in on Boardwalk Empire's success.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:40:25 PM

Yeah, but the Black Dahlia movie tanked.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:58:43 PM

If done well, will be good.
coldplayesence writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:47:50 PM

If Aaron Stanton is playing the lead I'm in.
pornfly writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:53:34 PM

And theyll be talkin like this,see
Talkin real fast,see
Hey mack stop squealin to the fuzz,see or i'll pump ya fulla lead and it'll be curtains,see CURTAINS
DexterMorgan writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:28:51 PM

i thought it was gonna be about the game
Ranger writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:33:11 PM

I thought it would be about an LA Tattoo Shop hijacked by the Brothas.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 1:11:56 AM

RANGER they cant spell Noir
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:17:15 AM

@Pornfly Hey!!! I'm black and i do know how to spell Nore....Noare....N...Fu
Lol And i really am black btw.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:33:57 AM

Oh sh!t.....my message got cut.It's supposed to say

Nore.....Noare.....N...f*ck it,I quit.

(Sigh......this is what happens when your laptop is down and the only working device wihh internet is a game console.....)
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:41:44 AM

*with (sigh.....)
Bullit writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 4:33:00 AM

I hope it will be better to James Elroy. I got bored reading his books using the same themes over & over again.

FYI: Noir in French means black ! I guess you can't designate a "Black film" genre. So, they had to disguise with a French word. Lol !
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 7:19:05 AM

Im noir y'all
Im noir y'all
Im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir y'all
And im noir yall and im noir yall
And im noirer than noir and im noir yall
Ranger writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 9:53:55 AM

Great... you just gave Bieber the lyrics to his next hit.
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:21:32 PM

See
CB4
pornfly writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 11:28:34 PM

His songs sound like they were written by unemployed herbheads anyway.
By the way
See
CB4

Will Marvel Split "Avengers 3" Into Two Films?

Christian Bale's "The Machinist" Co-Star Reveals Disturbing Story About Actor's Weight-Loss

Ben Affleck Regrets Making "Daredevil," Very Confident About "Batman v Superman"

Robert Downey Jr Would Make "Iron Man 4" If Mel Gibson Directs

Robert Downey Jr Now Says He Won't Return For "Iron Man 4"

Chris Cooper Gained 40 Pounds of Muscle For "American Sniper"

Penelope Cruz is Esquire's 2014 Sexiest Woman Alive

Why Ben Affleck Won't Get to Keep the Batman Costume

Amanda Bynes Placed in Psychiatric Care, Says Her Father Asked Her For Sex

Description of "Jurassic World" Trailer
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved