WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Devil Inside" Breaks Box Office Record

Posted: January 9th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Devil Inside" Breaks Box Office RecordSubmit Comment
The beginning of the year is always a weak time for movies, which is why "The Devil Inside" was the only new wide release of the weekend. But even with a RottenTomatoes rating of 7%, the horror film was still able to set a record for the best opening ever for early January with $34.5 million.

"The Devil Inside" also scored the third biggest opening for the entire month of January, only being topped by "Cloverfield" ($40.1 million) and the 1997 re-release of "Star Wars" ($35.9 million). And the record-breaking performance is even more impressive when you consider that the film cost only $1 million to make.

"The Devil Inside" is the first project under Paramount's Insurge label, which focuses on making low-budget films with hopes of capturing the success of "Paranormal Activity." The studio was hoping that their new movie would land in the $8 million to $10 million range, but obviously bested that.

Meanwhile, "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" took second place with another $20.5 million for a worldwide total of $458 million. "War Horse" and "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" continue to struggle, both yet to make back their budgets domestically.

Click here to read our "The Devil Inside" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 29 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
OneTime writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 12:02:14 AM

i saw it with my gf and..

its terrible..
everything u see in the trailer is the entire movie..

everyone was booing at the ending....

take my advice and dont bother ..its not even scary
secondbest writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 12:04:35 AM

"But even with a RottenTomatoes rating of 7%, the horror film was still able to set a record for the best opening ever for early January with $34.5 million."

Great job, America!
KillerSniper45 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 12:12:24 AM

Good job America!!! Even if it has a lousy rating of 7%, people would still see it? Is that how stupid people see movies now?
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 12:59:31 AM

"The Devil Inside" made a ton of money because it was marketed really well, and strong marketing is what brings the majority of film-goers to the theatre. Based on reviews and word-of-mouth, this film is utter sh*t. So don't be surprised to see a huge drop-off by this time next week.
Donyae 420 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 1:11:50 AM

HOW CAN THIS f*ckING MOVIE MAKE ANY MONEY?WHY ARE U PEOPLE EVEN ADMITING SEEING IT TO START WITH.(at least its not a reboot or remake)
nicholas56 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 1:43:13 AM

i heard the movie was sh*t glad i didn't waste my money
GreenLensman writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 2:40:39 AM

How was it marketed really well, only saw ads on this site hehe, still see them...
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 3:38:14 AM

i watched it with 7 friends. i didn't wanna go, but only went because everyone was going.

it was exactly as i expected.
Cheap Scares From Loud Noises that Spring out across the theater at unexpected times...

Everyone Boo'd the sh*tty Ending lol
Crap ass Movie, The only Credit i give this movie is getting all my Friends Together in one place, That was fun..

Btw only go watch this if you want an Easy Laugh.. :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 3:41:45 AM

f*ck this movie lol Honestly. I Hate it, if your gonna be a money grabbing douche and only spend 1 million on a film, have the decency to at least TRY to make it a good Movie :P

Like i know its worth a quick 30m+ Because all the little kiddys will go see it with their friends, But is it worth selling out your Career ? lol Even the Website at the End is Gay!

f*ck this film ahah :P
Bullit writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 4:17:21 AM

I don't like horror movies but "War Horse" is mentioned, so let me tell you as I saw it last night, it's a great film. I never thought that I could feel for a horse. Deserves an Oscar for that. S.Spielberg has still the magic touch.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 4:46:27 AM

@rambo

LOL....but which is SJP?...and do we care.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 4:57:20 AM

Oops...wrong thread with the above comment.
FBO writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 5:06:55 AM

Ever time I see the poster for this movie it makes me want to hear that lady say "candy bars" just like the dope head in the beginning of super troopers
oklahomaer writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 5:40:57 AM

The only reason people went and saw this. Was because,the trailer made it look really f*cking good.What a piece of f*cking sh*t film.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:17:53 AM

Everyone I know who has seen it said they knew it was going to be horrible, and that's why they paid 11.50 to see the film. I guess. Why?

If you know a movie is going to be bad, and you're not going to like it, then why in the f*ck would you PAY TO GO SEE IT?
bandolero999 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:33:41 AM

yea that Devil Inside me trailer looked like sh*t.but there was no other good movie that came out last weekend.Mostly everybody has seen Mission Impossible,Sherlock,Girl with the Dragon Tattoo.So they decided to give this movie a chance.

Dre-EL writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 8:53:06 AM

Its very difficult to track the horror fan base, no question about it.

minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:53:35 AM

"Is that how stupid people see movies now?"

In a word, yes.

"Oops...wrong thread with the above comment."

Wrong thread? Are you sure? I thought you were asking if SJP played the horse in 'War Horse'.
Bunny X writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 9:54:22 AM

I went even knowing how bad it was. There were a lot....and I mean a LOT of 12-18 year olds in the theaters watching this. How they all got in since it was rated R is up for debate but I've seen a lot of teens in movies before but this was by far the biggest group I've ever seen.
As stated, the movie is just God awful no pun intended. The worst part was the lead's acting. If they were going for mockumentary, she completely screwed it up. So unbelievable. she was just horrible as was just everything else.
I asked my niece who is 14 and she said her all her friends went to see it and for some reason teens want to see scary flicks.
Note to Hollywood, now would be a good time for a new horror franchise. And not rehashes of Final Destinations, Screams, or other knock offs. start something new.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 10:43:29 AM

this movie might not be in the top 10 next week, so with bad word of mouth it'll be in Walmart 5 dollar bin in no time.

but people are always getting suckered for a horror movie.
minkowski writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 11:02:16 AM

Computer companies are also getting into the horr film business

http://tinyurl.com/856lfnm

Lots of sequels there.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 3:04:40 PM

Thank goodness you guys are saying how bad this is,i was actually going to see this movie.You all just saved me some wasted time.

Also...what's the Worst horror movie you guys have ever seen?
There's this movie called The Mad that's so epicly awful,it's hilarious.
F-ing hamburgers were attacking people......I couldn't make that sh!t up if I tried.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 3:15:29 PM

House of 9 and Ginderdead man
White Noise writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 6:25:31 PM

@TrueAvenger American Idiot!!!!!!
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 11:50:08 PM

@ True avenger,

Here's some bad ones

S.I.C.K. Serial Insane Clown Killer
Killer instinct
The Devil Inside!
Halloween 3 (never seen but know its sh*tty
Most of the Friday the 13ths sucked
and Halloween 5 wasnt very good either lol

just to name a few...

But What about good Horror movies ?
Any of you guys Seen a film called Session 9 ? its f*cking Amazing!
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 3:10:37 AM

@Tanman Just the title for S.I.C.K. makes me a little sick(cheesy,i know).
The last Friday The 13th i attempted to watch had jason in space........I think that's enough said.

I really wish that i could give you a list of good scary movies i've seen,but i'm really not a horror movie guy.Plus the ones that I seem amused by (from trailers), later turn out to be garbage.(The Devil Inside)
minkowski writes:
on January 10th, 2012 at 10:02:33 AM

Actually, Halloween 3 isn't a terrible film, and you shouldn't say so if you haven't seen it.

It's just not a Micheal Meyers film, and that alienated and annoyed the 'fans'.

What someone needs to do is recreate Halloween 3, Carpenter style, to fill in any gaps between 2 and 4, if possible.
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:07:29 AM

@ Mink, True, I've just heard many bad reviews. i would have already watched it if it wasn't so damn hard to find on dvd.

Ive tried to add it to my Horror film Collection for awhile now. I'm missing Halloween 3,6 and 8.

i got :

All the Leprechauns
All The Friday the 13ths
All The Nightmare on elm streets
All the Child Plays
The Hannibal Trilogy
All the Screams
All The Aliens
All the Predators
and all the Evil Deads. Not to mention another Random 30 or so horror dvds. lol Im a Damn Fanatic :P
Tanman32123 writes:
on January 11th, 2012 at 1:09:11 AM

and Avenger, my personal fav Friday was the 8th: Jason takes Manhattan, i still like watching that one lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved