WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race, "Thor" is Out

Posted: January 4th, 2012 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
10 Films Remain in Visual Effects Oscar Race, "Thor" is OutSubmit Comment
About a month ago, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences revealed the fifteen films that were being considered in the Achievement in Visual Effects category for the 84th Academy Awards.

Today, that list has been narrowed down to ten films, cutting "Cowboys and Aliens," "Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows," "Sucker Punch," "Super 8" and "Thor." The remaining contestants (see below) will be narrowed down to five, which will go on to compete for the Oscar.

The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced on January 24th, 2012. The Oscars will then take place on February 26th, 2012 and televised live by ABC.

* Captain America: The First Avenger

* Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows - Part 2

* Hugo

* Mission: Impossible – Ghost Protocol

* Pirates of the Caribbean: On Stranger Tides

* Real Steel

* Rise of the Planet of the Apes

* Transformers: Dark of the Moon

* The Tree of Life

* X-Men: First Class


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
canadiansarefags writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 9:10:36 PM

my top 3 are transformers, apes, real steel
Crazyhorse writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 9:38:03 PM

Planet of the Apes would be my pick

Xmen wasnt bad with that Diamond Chick though
bandolero999 writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 9:49:05 PM

APES for sure
adamXmarshall writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 9:51:22 PM

pissed hotel for dogs didnt get a nod
BadChadB33 writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 10:54:53 PM

Apes for sure!
ilovebatman writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 11:47:36 PM

I saw three of these movies. Regrettably, one was Transformers. But it's true, that movie left me forever TRANSformed...
ilovebatman writes:
on January 4th, 2012 at 11:48:21 PM

Thought behind post: It neutered me
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 12:02:47 AM

Give it to "Apes" now.
KillerCOck writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 12:16:24 AM

How the f*ck did X-men make it. Most of the effects in X-men looked cheap as hell except for the part with the Blackbird.
Thor's Effects looked Way better especially in the beginning.

f*ck Sucker Punch would almost be more deserving than X-men if it wasn't just sucha c*nt of a film
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 12:39:32 AM

apes or real steel, those robots looked incredible
Johnnyb writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 3:59:22 AM

I believe the ones who past to the next level are Harry Potter, X-Men, Hugo, Transformers and Real Steel.... The other ones have great visual but no enough to enter in the category....
Džeko writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 4:57:26 AM

Pirates of the what have ya is on the list because ...!?
Rambo writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 5:38:04 AM

Apes should win.

wtf is the tree of life doing in this list?
Damon242 writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 5:49:38 AM

Mission impossible? The CG in that film was actually quite standard, and didn't blend all that well with the rest of the footage.

When it's so obviously CG, and the CG isn't Transformers-complicated, there's really nothing there that, in my opinion, deserves to be rewarded with an oscar - let alone a nomination for one - in 2012.
JakeVermont writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 6:50:50 AM

@Damon, totally agree, I cant see why MI:IV is on the list.

My top five guess in the order i would reward them:

1. TF- Dark of the Moon

2. Rise of the planet of the apes

3. Real Steel

4. HP-Deathly Hallows PII

5. X-Men First Class

I have to say that except for Hugo and Tree of Life I've seen the other ones so I cant take these two into consideration.

But the VFX in Transformers were mindblowing again. If only the movie had a better script.

ILM rocks!!! keep it coming!

Behind the magic:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yOdKDRTC790&feature=g-user-u&context=G2d4e61bUCGXQYbcTJ33aS2yY2xzv1lG1viGqbmE4N2753hy2STR4
JakeVermont writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 6:53:06 AM

Just have a look at megatrons transformation at 1:01 minutes. gives me an errection... where are my tissues...
j-man writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 11:04:59 AM

It should go to transformers, the apes effects werent 'that' good
minkowski writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 11:27:55 AM

I get the feeling Jake Vermont watches nothing but Transformers and Terminator.

I also get the impression he'd f*ck robots if he could do so without getting rust in his ass.

Tetanus shots are a bitch, I hear.

Having said that, how about none of the above? Or just go with POTA or Real Steel as others have said, though I've not seen either film as of yet, an issue I may have to rectify sooner rather than later.
rocketman writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 12:56:51 PM

No Conan?
Kill-the-director writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 1:31:19 PM

i'd take pirates out and put thor in
JakeVermont writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 2:39:05 PM

@Minki: I've seen tf3 only twice yet both times in theatre and you still hang on to that terminator thing xD uhm since you havent seen most of those movies you cant comment sry cuz you'd know that what ILM did there again exceeds every one of the other movies by far so it would be well deserved :) as for the robot f*cking... if I had a stainless steel d*ck yeah why not otherwise everything would rust cuz all of the rubbing.
Rambo writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 3:46:40 PM

Dark side of the moon was the second worst movie of 2011
JakeVermont writes:
on January 5th, 2012 at 5:36:04 PM

@Rambo even moviewise I wouldnt say that, it was disappointing in a lot of ways but this is about the VFX, ILM's work, no Michael Bay, just pure movie magic by ILM and fx wise this movie kicked everyone elses ass!!!!

yes I'm a VFX whore... bring it on... Prometheus, John Carter, Wrath of the titans, battleship.... and more those are all movies that I will pay to see cuz I know that even if they suck storywise or lack of awesome dialogues or characters so what I'm gonna have a lot of fun watching awesome FX-shots. Now dont get me wrong I also like a good drama or just a brilliantly made movie. Cant wait for the oscar norminees cuz I'm gonna watch them all.

@minkiboy: can you even enjoy a movie which is vfx driven but crap in every other aspect? just for fun's sake? Did you ever come out of the theatre thinking "man that was a bad movie but I had a lot of fun watching it"?
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 1:41:00 AM

Of course Thor's out, an hour of the movie was fooling around with Natalie Portman. Actually, that wasn't really a valid point.
codeman_1216 writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 1:42:13 AM

I'd have to say Rise, HPDH2, Transformers for top 3.
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 4:07:47 AM

Am I the only one who didn't like Captain America at all? The visual effects were sh*tty (one of the many issues with that movie).
Adamtheflash writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 4:08:54 AM

Rise of the Apes wins this category for sure. Dark of the Moon would be the only other choice on this list worthy of a visual effects Oscar.
bandolero999 writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 9:00:59 AM

Adam the Flash.I dont think you've seen the original Capt America from the 90s.It is extremely painful to the eyes.and the new one is a big improvement.

minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 5:26:06 PM

Captain America sucked in pretty much every way. Terrible film they threw together just to pave the way for Avengers. Real rush job on the script, too.
minkowski writes:
on January 6th, 2012 at 5:27:57 PM

"@minkiboy: can you even enjoy a movie which is vfx driven but crap in every other aspect?"

No, and why the hell should I? That's a stupid question. It's like asking me why can't I just waste my time for no damned good reason.
GIANT_midget writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 6:08:30 AM

looking at the ones that r left, thor would beat all except apes. but i cant say for hugo and tree of life cause Ive never saw them.. beside thos three thor bends the rest over and f*cks them up the arse
GIANT_midget writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 6:13:52 AM

I thinks apes should win it but looking at the history of the oscars, harry potters gonna win cause they will look at it as all 8 films like they did with the lord of the rings trilogy in 04
GIANT_midget writes:
on January 9th, 2012 at 6:34:50 AM

@mink

You seriously need to chill, ever comment on ever thread I’ve read from you has been negative and yes you can walk into a cinema and enjoy a movie maybe not just for the VFX but if a movie has a crap script doesn’t mean you can’t still have a laugh watching it.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved