WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Wahlberg NOT a Fan of "Planet of the Apes"

Posted: December 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Wahlberg NOT a Fan of "Planet of the Apes"Submit Comment
During a press junket for "Contraband," MTV had a chance to sit down with Mark Wahlberg and asked him if he had the chance to see "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" and how it compares to his 2001 "Planet of the Apes" film that was directed by Tim Burton.

"I haven't seen ['Rise of the Planet of the Apes'] yet," said Wahlberg. "But I heard it was pretty damn good. Well, ours wasn't. It is what it is. Ours wasn't."

He continued: "[The studio] didn't have the script right [for 'Planet of the Apes']. They had a release date before [Burton] had shot a foot of film. They were pushing him and pushing him in the wrong direction. You have got to let Tim do his thing."

Wahlberg's "Planet of the Apes" grossed $362 million on a $100 million budget, but has a lousy 45% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes. "Rise of the Planet of the Apes" grossed $481 million on a $93 million budget and has an 83% fresh rating.

Source: MTV


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 5:47:36 AM

Didnt u get to hang out with your people??
I guess the monkeys didnt like wiggers either
That chick was smOkin though especially now since she fought with the cops for a dui
pornfly writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 5:49:13 AM

Id still f*ckdat original Nova
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 6:38:56 AM

Neither are we.
rocketman writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 7:22:31 AM

Bang bang,monkey dead. The worst kind of Sci-fi.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 8:30:50 AM

Marky Marky doesn't rate this movie too much wonder how far down his sh*t scale The Happening is ...
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 8:31:29 AM

This made me smile from Empire today

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q4goSUHt1E8
rocketman writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 8:38:07 AM

Yeah made me giggle too but not as much as this,you know when your jaw aches

http://www.stupidvideos.com/video/just_plain_stupid/Angry_Guitarist/#383371
Rambo writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:16:52 AM

Heston would have made the movie work,you simply suck at acting,mark,and you have zero charisma.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:21:05 AM

Tim Roth kicked ass in the movie though as always like in Rob Roy,The Hulk,Hoodlum,Pulp Fiction
bandolero999 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:33:17 AM

and Marky keep burning bridges with directors so you'll end up in B movie world like your boy Ryan Phillippe.
rocketman writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:44:32 AM

He should do a Shooter 2
zyban03 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:52:41 AM

^^ Would love to see a Shooter 2!

Concerning this article I can't hate a guy for admitting his film was sh*t. At least he admits it!

@bando To me it sounds like he's burning bridges with the studio, not the director.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:57:28 AM

Rocket -

Love that clip, Was that the 5th Beatle by any chance ??!! lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:58:41 AM

Could play a tune for sh*t, But could hot wire your car in 3 seconds flat ....
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:00:12 AM

*couldn't ...
bandolero999 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:06:05 AM

I know,Burton has only made two movies without Johny Depp and this one was it and Big Fish with Ewan.

Shooter I downloaded it but havent finished it.they got Marky playing a similar Charles Bronson character in the movie Death Hunt with Lee Marvin and Carl Weathers (a must watch).

Fuqua is a good director but one of his best movies has been besides Training Day,Brooklyns Finest with WEsley Snipes,Richard Gere.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:07:26 AM

Band

For serious Tim Roth you have to see Alan Clarke's "Made in Britain" f*ckin awesome TVM, Maybe Roth's best ever role IMO
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:12:20 AM

So in other word you didn't like the 3 some you had with Burton, and Bonham-Carter?
bandolero999 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:14:19 AM

I've seen lots of Tim Roths movies,hes awesome.Even seen him in some old movies with Gary Oldman when they were both young.Havent seen Lie to me yet.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:19:06 AM

bad

Really who would ever like that Mnage trois mate ..
rorschach writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:20:31 AM

HA
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:26:49 AM

Never seen Rosencrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead or Lie To Me both i feel i should have.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:58:56 AM

Pornfly -

Linda Harrison, Your not wrong my friend
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 11:15:08 AM

TT- It would cringe if I seen Burtons saggy old balls, but that's just me and who knows maybe Marky Mark got poked by both of em.
technoreaper writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 1:07:53 PM

Hey Mark, it was mostly bad because of miscasting, namely your part!
c-prime writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 1:55:47 PM

"Mark Wahlberg NOT a Fan of 'Planet of the Apes'"

Yeah, that's all fine and dandy, provided he makes the concession that the movie featured one hell of a performance by Tim Roth. Even buried under a deluge of Rick Baker prosthetics, his menacing characterization lost nary a shred of impact. Sublime actor who we simply do not see enough of.
c-prime writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 1:57:07 PM

Crimony. Seems that bandolero999 made a similar comment earlier in the thread. Oh, well...
encoreyourface writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 3:40:44 PM

why does worst previews suddenly post every single thing mark wahlberg has an opinion on? who f*cking cares!
nawtnt writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 4:19:47 PM

The 2001 version of Planet Of The Apes was great but I didn't thought fans and critics were that upset with the movie.

Also Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes is way better than POTA.

ROTPOTA shows how a prequel is done.

I mean Rupert Wyatt did a great job but the cast did wondeful jobs and Andy Serkis deserves a Oscar because Censar was the best part of the movie.

I hope the sequel will be great.

Also Mark Wahlberg was maybe the worst part of the movie.

Also, **** Tim Burton, WTF? Why a cliffhanger ending if Burton isn't going to make a sequel, just stupid.

ROTPOTA is one of the best movies of the year, plain simple.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 4:25:19 PM

The only tolerable film Marky has made was the fighter and he had mostly more support from Christian Bale.so there you have it the British actors once again saving a movie and making us look bad by having juice head Wahlberg as the lead.His brother is such a better actor and does B movie and straight to TV sh*t.he was great in SAW 2

@ENcore guess Wahlberg is the new Lohan
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 4:40:52 PM

@ tt + rocket... nice links... lol.

Looks like Rainman (the later years) trying to learn the guitar.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 4:58:19 PM

Well at least he was honest
Ranger writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 4:59:20 PM

Yep. Don't feel bad Markie, many of us didn't like it either (regardless of the reasons). Remaking that one was a mistake to begin with. Heston's version will never be over-turned.
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 5:25:08 PM

..but he has very high ratings for Justin Bieber.

He'd talk very differently about the film if Burton's 'Planet of the Apes' had been better received.

Wahlberg is a third-tier actor with a yes-man's personal integrity.

As for Tim Roth, I'll bet no one here, Americans especially, knew the guy even existed until he collided with Tarantino.

lol.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 6:13:34 PM

lol your most likely right Mink, A career before a QT movie Never !!
minkowski writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 6:32:50 PM

He was in the Hit, but many of his prior films are British IIRC, so yeah, all these people singing the praises of Tim Roth are probably QT fanboys that have likely never seen the man doing what got him noticed by QT in the first place.

I've always found it amusing that so many American boys, men, think they're film fans because they like QT. lol.

His stuff isn't all that good, and if it wasn't for that over-hyped tripe Pulp Fiction, and perhaps Reservoir Dogs, both featuring Roth, no one would know he's alive.

And Terence Stamp is f*cking better anyway, only Americans don't know the f*cking guy's alive because he's never been in a QT film.

Pathetic.

BTW, The Limey is an awesome film, and the trailer is absolutely superb. Makes anything QT made look like a sh*tty(-ier?) Roger Corman film, or something (else) from Hammer Films.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 8:01:12 PM

The Limey is great movie Mink and showed what a good film maker Soderbergh was before he became a real bore after the 1st Ocean 11 film.

Terence Stamp what a guy, The greatest super hero villian ever !!?? I believe he was ....

As for QT i liked both Dogs and Fiction plus Inglourious Basterds wasn't bad, but the rest of his films have always failed match those no matter how hard he seems try.
trailertrash writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 8:03:28 PM

And hey i love those old Hammer Films , lol
snoop writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 9:13:38 PM

eh... I liked it.
baxattax writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 11:42:08 PM

he shoulda f*cked the monkey at the end
Avirex writes:
on December 31st, 2011 at 12:07:29 AM

Gridlock'd back in 1997 is what made me a fan of Tim Roth. Underrated film imo.

Also, Marky Mark's acting was even more artificial than the ape costumes the actors wore.
rabid writes:
on January 2nd, 2012 at 12:47:48 PM

Still better than Chuck Heston's acting though. I was fine with Burton's remake. The only thing that ruined it was his attempt to one-up the original ending.
That was a horrible final impression on the viewers.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved