WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Poster for 2012 Academy Awards

Posted: December 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Poster for 2012 Academy AwardsSubmit Comment
The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has unveiled the poster for the 84th Academy Awards, featuring the Oscar statuette alongside images from eight films spanning eight decades: "Gone with the Wind" (1939), "Casablanca" (1943), "Giant" (1956), "The Sound of Music" (1965), "The Godfather" (1972), "Driving Miss Daisy" (1989), "Forrest Gump" (1994) and "Gladiator" (2000).

All the films featured on the poster won the Academy Award for Best Picture, except "Giant," for which George Stevens won the Oscar for Directing.

The design of the poster is meant to evoke the emotional connections we all have with the movies. "Whether it's a first date or a holiday gathering with friends or family, movies are a big part of our memory," said Academy President Tom Sherak. "The Academy Awards not only honor the excellence of these movies, but also celebrate what they mean to us as a culture and to each of us individually."

The 84th Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Tuesday, January 24th, 2012, at 5:30am PST. The actual awards show will be presented on Sunday, February 26th, 2012.

Poster: (click to enlarge)


Source: AMPAS


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 6:36:30 PM

I stopped caring about the Oscars after they made The Departed the best movie of the year.
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 6:56:29 PM

Frankly my dear, I don't give a damn.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 6:59:48 PM

lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 7:04:36 PM

All it does is reminds me that Francis Ford Coppola did make a decent movie back in the day.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 7:06:20 PM

@ minkowski:

Really broż? What about if I make you a deal, you can´t refuse....
minkowski writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 7:26:58 PM

I've refused Satan several times, Johnny.

I think I can refuse you.
Rambo writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 7:35:05 PM

what????noooooooo....
secondbest writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 8:31:23 PM

Like much of Hollywood today, this poster lacks originality. It's nice and all, but eeeehhhhh.
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 9:11:00 PM

Bando every comment that you makes me cry.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 10:30:01 PM

Boondockchin please explain and dont make it retarded, and just downloaded Bronson with Hardy so i'm expecting good things from it.I saw the trailer and it kinda reminded me of that Eric Bana movie CHOPPER.Its a British movie and they are almost better than sh*tty hollywood movies.

YOu got a classic avatar though loved IT THE Clown.he has scared the sh*t outta many people and Tim Curry is one of my favorite actors.The last movie I saw him was in 3 musketeers with Sheen and Kiefer sutherland.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 11:23:16 PM

f*ck The Oscars!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 7:00:21 AM

Well how boutit
rocketman writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 7:42:23 AM

Can't think of any good films of this past year,Drive mabey but that won't get a look in.
The Ozzies are a sham.
rocketman writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 7:43:43 AM

You're in for a treat Bando,Hardy owns the screen in that film.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 8:34:02 AM

I know i've only seen Hardy in Rockanrolla and he was average.When I saw the trailer of Bronson I couldnt even recognize Hardy,he bulked up a lot.
rocketman writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 10:28:08 AM

Oh yeah his performance is better than the film if that makes any sense
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 1:17:13 PM

He is and it does Rocket ...
Ranger writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 9:59:01 PM

Nice enough poster. Still not enough for me to watch this political, favorite-picking (based on Hollywood party schmoozing), boring, non-entertaining, sh*t-fest.
Bullit writes:
on December 30th, 2011 at 10:25:14 AM

Let's just hope that Billy Crystal is not old to be funny as a host. I'll download the show anyway, so I can skip the boring parts.
Ranger writes:
on December 31st, 2011 at 5:33:34 AM

I too liked him as host. But one of those times was back when City Slickers (first one, not the lame sequel) was coming out. Hard to believe it was that many years ago already.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved