WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

James Brolin Almost Became First American James Bond

Posted: December 27th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
James Brolin Almost Became First American James BondSubmit Comment
We knew that James Brolin once auditioned for the 1983 film "Octopussy," which would have made him the only American James Bond. But it turns out that he was the favorite to replace Roger Moore, who was planning to quit the franchise.

"Roger Moore had made the decision to leave the franchise, but at the last minute he decided to continue playing the suave 007, which was a real disappointment," Brolin revealed.

Moore came back one more time in 1985 for "A View to a Kill" before handing over Bond duties to Timothy Dalton.

Source: WENN


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 85 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Bullit writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 6:43:46 AM

Well, considering the author, Ian Fleming, was English and was quite disappointed when he saw the Scottish Sean Connery in "Dr No". It's easy to imagine that he would turn in his grave hearing that his character has become American.

But Timothy Dalton was the worst of them all ! Even George Lazenby would have been a much better choice. Bloody producers.
lewis2001 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 6:46:23 AM

Sam Neil Shouldv taken the ppk!
mr_bono writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 6:53:35 AM

John Gavin would've actually been the first American to play Bond, if Connery didn't come back for Diamonds are Forever he would've done it.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:13:31 AM

Agree Bullit that Dalton was the weakest of the Bond's, But Licence To Kill was a bloody good movie IMO.

I would have been happy to see him back for a 3rd time after that, But the Boxoffice results killed it for him, Wasn't easy opening around the same time as Batman, Lethal weapon 2 and Indy 3.

Bond had kind of lost his way towards the end of the 80's.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:21:45 AM

Back in the day Flemming wanted his cousin Christopher Lee to play bond but that was a no go with the studio, He also liked Roger Moore, David Niven and Cary Grant.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:22:56 AM

Moore will always be my favorite followed by Connery.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:25:28 AM

WP you idiots ,James Bond hgas already been played by a yank.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barry_Nelson
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:28:12 AM

Bond fact.
Ex special forces op and Dracula actor Christopher Lee was Flemings choice to play Bond.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:34:22 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5bBnVDj5SkA&feature=related
pornfly writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 7:37:50 AM

Shouldv stuck with secret agent peewee herman
Bullit writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 8:23:15 AM

@Trailer

I respect your choice about R. Moore.

Nevertheless, Ian Fleming portrayed J. Bond as a killer, a blunt instrument of the British government. So, to me, R. Moore doesn't fit to the profile. Perhaps he was too classy with his perfect tuxedo. Daniel Craig is the best incarnation since Connery. The fighting scenes in Quantum of Solace is a perfect example.
R. Moore was never a good fighter, not athletic or virile enough. His movements were to bloody slow even with the special effects.

Cheers mate.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 8:35:30 AM

OH GOD not another flashback story.His career is in the sh*tter anyway and he takes it for the team by banging one of the FUGLIEST women in hollywood.Barbara Streisand.

guess Alex is on vacation.

Streisands 15 min of fame in SOuth Park
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O2TxUctW60I&feature=related
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 8:40:52 AM

and speaking of George Lazenby,just found out he made 3 Hong Kong movies in the 70s anybody saw them?one was gonna be with Bruce Lee but he passed away,then was replaced with Angela Mao.

his movies were
Man From Hong Kong,Stoner,Queens Ransom
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 8:44:56 AM

He used to be in the SAS too
Rambo writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:14:09 AM

Octop*ssy is one of the best bond films ever made,I don't care everybody else hate it.

And Roger Moore was the best bond together with sean connery.He was the smartest bond out of them all and always used his mind over muscles unlike the other bonds who were pretty much a bunch of idiots who just f*ck and fight.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:16:40 AM

Personally my favs are Connery, Craig, Moore, Brosnon and Dalton. Would love to have seen Lazenby do more with the role had he had a chance to play Bond more.
TT- I definatly respect your liking Moore as the best but just some of his movies just seemed way too cheesy and out there, Moonraker for instance. But I do like Moore and would love to have seen what he woulda done with Bond if he was younger than 45 when he started playing Bond or maybe what he woulda done is he was playing Bond in some of Connery's installements.

After Craig, who do you think would be great to play Bond next? I like Fassbender, he's got my vote. I really don't see Craig playing him for a total of 8 times.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:31:48 AM

Rambo and Trailer


Moore has always been my favorite especially the 2 films with Richard Keil as Jaws

By the way Trailer

Is there a possibility that Kate and Pippa will be auditioning as Bond girls?
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:36:30 AM

BadChad

I agree Moore's films could be cheesy I thought his acting and since of humor to certain parts of his films made me forget about the cheesyness of some of his films

I do like the Craig's films as they have brought a little more realism and better action
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:37:14 AM

sense not since
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 10:00:58 AM

If you believe there would have been an American 007 then you're probably stupid enough to believe Obama is a good president.
Dre-EL writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 10:04:16 AM

this is old, old, old news. Is everyone on vacation?
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 10:10:30 AM

He's lucky Moore stuck with it. If Brolin had done only one Bond, and it was "Octop*ssy," he would be one of the most ridiculed, (and possibly hated by Bond enthusiasts)actors out there. I don't think there's a single Bond movie that even comes close to how awful "Octop*ssy" was.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 10:13:42 AM

An American playing Bond..pah...could you imagine the outrage if a Brit played Superman or Batman...oh the horror.
pornfly writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 10:25:32 AM

Wolverine
Superman
Spiderman
Thor
Batman

THEY TOOK OUR J O B S !
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 11:52:11 AM

Well, Helmsworth and Jackman are Australian by birth, so, they're about as British as I.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:15:36 PM

Swapsies for Sherlock Holmes?
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:18:00 PM

Mink now that you actually got the time to read and comment on the threads, you might want to put it on the most recent thread on top so all of the users can go on it and do what you do best.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:20:24 PM

well for Sherlock Holmes looks like the Producers got fed up of every European actor playing an American.So in return they casted Robert Cokehead Downey to play one of Britains most Iconic character and say f*ck you to all.

DOnt worry Bond is next,P Diddy wants in on it, as you have read in recent articles in the past.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:26:50 PM

Over my dead body.

*shudder*
bandolero999 writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:32:46 PM

I know is painful so was ANtonio Banderas playing a Mexican in Desperado when he is from Spain and also portraying Pancho Villa.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:33:19 PM

Just saw the new Sherlock Holmes and I thought it was good.

Yea I did wonder why they didnt put a British actor for that. But I can say that for the new Superman.

Anyway just make a good film thats all I care
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:37:32 PM

Ritchie's Sherlock Holmes is good, but it ain't Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. It's an American retread for idiot American audiences that could never sit through a film that doesn't feature at least one action set piece and at least twenty explosions.

(hint: nothing ever exploded in Doyle's novels/short stories, and Watson rarely if ever used his revolver. 'The Strand' readers wouldn't hear of it.)
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:42:32 PM

Indeed Mink,although I have yet to read* any I'm familiar with the real Holmes.
T
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:42:33 PM

Indeed Mink,although I have yet to read* any I'm familiar with the real Holmes.
T
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:53:55 PM

Don't know what happened then....

As I was saying this is the Holmes I'm familiar with.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zTUJLNZQQXI&feature=related

*Plan to remedy that with some free Kindle downloads
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 12:56:28 PM

Read the 'Hound of the Baskervilles', then, rocketman. Excellent novel. His best I think.

Unfortunately, 'The Hound' paved the way for Scooby Doo, in all seriousness, but I digress...
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:02:47 PM

Yes, Bando, because there's absolutely no connection to Mexico with Spain, right?

Nothing at all...
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:04:14 PM

mink


I agree. But thats what America is quickly becoming. We stray away from stuff for entertainment or to be politically correct. Most of our history books now are telling less and less real historical facts.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:04:47 PM

Thats my fave Sherlock adaptation so I was thinking that.
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:08:07 PM

"Most of our history books now are telling less and less real historical facts."

You're right, CH, such that you can drop out in the sixth grade without knowing that Mexico is a former colony of Spain.

And to rocket: read The Hound. You won't regret it!
blinkbomber writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:09:28 PM

I caught a tv movie adaptation of the Hound of Baskervilles once... prolly didn't do the novel justice but i found the story very entertaining. Matt Frewer played Holmes, lol.
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:16:56 PM

mink


wait a minute now

arent our kids being taught that Mexico is the 51st state as of this past decade
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 1:20:12 PM

CH: More like that the United States is Mexico's newest province.

But schools do have classes for teaching kids the thirty proper ways to apply condoms. Bando's mom promptly failed that one. Bummer for the gene pool.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:07:42 PM

Love the "The Hound of the Baskervilles", Great book.

The 2 best versions i have seen are the 1939 Basil Rathbone (a brilliant Holmes BTW)and the 1959 Hammer film with Peter Cushing as Holmes and Christopher Lee as Si Henry Baskerville.

Both have heaps of style and atmosphere but lack explosions and gun fights i'm afraid.
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:16:57 PM

The new films undermine Holmes altogether, as his weapon, his only necessary weapon, the finest weapon at his or anyone else's disposal, is his mind, but you don't see much of that in Ritchie's Sherlock films, do you? Nor do you see the rich interplay between Watson the ever-loyal pup and his master, the true hound.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:23:33 PM

Bullit

Agree on Moore's portrayal of Bond was far away from the Bond in Flemmings books.

Moore as person is very lighthearted and that was the way he felt he should play Bond. If he had tried to copy how Connery was i don't think he would have lasted 7 films.

Dalton once said "half the world likes Connery and the other half likes Moore" and he tried to be neither and the series stalled with him.

Funny my favorite Bond film is For Your Eyes Only which is the toughest Moore ever played Bond.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:27:23 PM

Yes Mink Watson was always in the back ground to Holmes.

In Guy's films they play it out like they are an old gay couple who would be better suited to living in palms springs or something.
minkowski writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:29:14 PM

lol
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:29:34 PM

CH

Is there a possibility that Kate and Pippa will be auditioning as Bond girls?

We can only hope my friend
RiCardoLopeZ writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:47:46 PM

old news - must be a slow news day
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 2:50:52 PM

I doubt it Americans don't generally do good English accents. Even RDJ doesn't nail it in Sherlock Holmes. Best I've seen is d*ck Van Dyke in Mary Poppins! ha

Trailer- I'll take Lucy Pinder as the next Bond girl!
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:04:31 PM

I'll take Pippa as my next hat.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:05:20 PM

lol

I'll take Lucy Pinder anytime ......
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:19:58 PM

d*ck Van Dyke in Mary Poppins (head in hand here)

Seems like American women do a better British accent, Renee Zellweger wasn't bad in Bridget Jones and Meryl Streep seems to have nailed Maggie Thatcher.


rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:23:32 PM

Paltrows ain't too shabby,the all seem too posh though.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:24:39 PM

Saying that I'm a northern monkey,Pat Butcher sounds posh to me.
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 3:26:28 PM

lol !!!
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 4:00:12 PM

Yeah Renee wasn't bad actually and Angelina's Lara Croft was OK. I haven't heard an American do a more common English accent.

I think it's mostly cause in England we're more exposed to American accents in films and on TV so British actors find it easier to do the accent but in America the only English films people seem to watch are period films about royalty or some sh*t!
pornfly writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 4:05:19 PM

I guess All these foreign-american superheroes is payback for Austin Powers
Rambo writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 4:24:16 PM

breaking news:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DJH9bIeHD1k
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 4:58:38 PM

Amazing news report but can she do this http://i.imgur.com/Sx3Mv.gif
Rambo writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 5:03:30 PM

yes,with her melons
trailertrash writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 5:13:13 PM

lol nice clips ...

Is that Cheryl Cole twisting her tounge ?
The Skippy Spartan writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 5:28:05 PM

Sam Neil would have made the best Bond after Connery!
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 5:43:41 PM

@Skippy no disrespect mate but not whilst I've got a hole in my arse. :)

Lewis Collins is the one that got away.
rocketman writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 5:51:22 PM

Rambo,you deserve a purple heart for gathering that intel.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 6:23:34 PM

Yeah Cheryl Cole showing one of her 2 talents. (The other one definitely aint singing!
Johnnyb writes:
on December 27th, 2011 at 9:07:58 PM

It was good he didnīt get the chance to play Bond.... I donīt see or imagine him as Bond....
witwicky-potter writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 1:43:14 AM

The british would have never accepted this.but he would make a good bond.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 2:41:52 AM

Cinema - lol, you ain't wrong there mate
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 2:43:47 AM

Rocket

Lewis Collins would have made a great James Bond for sure, A Double hard bastard !
rocketman writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 6:21:55 AM

Yeah.ex Para..i think he auditioned for Bond or something but never got it,might be to do with Who Dares not being very successful in the US???
fools.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 8:36:43 AM

Indeed they were ....

There was talk in the mid 80's after the The Professionals (greatest show ever made BTW) ended, Him, Antony Andrews and Pierce, But Moore stayed on so it never really became anything more than rumor, Shame.
rocketman writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 3:23:55 PM

With the best theme tune ever...
America i present 70's gold
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GH7VFJjDhVU
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 3:50:32 PM

haha

That's my ring-tone right there ....

Have had the pleasure of meeting Martin Shaw and Lewis Collins (the latter for quite a while with Patrick Mower) It doesn't get any better than that i can tell you, boy's own stuff.

rocketman writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 4:02:19 PM

You've met The Pro's.... die happy TT,mission accomplished
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 4:07:32 PM

lol , Yep just a shame i didn't get the chance to meet Gordon Jackson not only the governor of the Pro's but worked with Steve McQueen as well , What a legend !!

rocketman writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 4:12:39 PM

Yeah,always think of him in Great Escape...
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 4:17:26 PM

Love that movie, One of my All Time favorites infact.
rocketman writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 6:31:43 PM

You would be French if is wasn't.
trailertrash writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 7:09:39 PM

lol
CBullitt writes:
on December 28th, 2011 at 11:07:36 PM

A day later and still no one has noted that the first James Bond WAS American--Barry Nelson in "Casino Royal," with Peter Lorre as LeChiffre, 1954.
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0310853/
trailertrash writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 2:42:45 AM

^ We do know this and Rocket already mentioned it plus he added a link, my good man
rocketman writes:
on December 29th, 2011 at 11:06:33 AM

Word
rabid writes:
on January 1st, 2012 at 11:16:58 AM

@C Bullit
don't leave out Woody Allen.

and I guess that makes Ursula Andress the first female/Swiss OO7.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved