WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" - What Did You Think?

Posted: December 22nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
David Fincher's remake of "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an 85% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that it sticks closer to the book. And while everyone believes that the movie looks fantastic, ultimately, it is too long (at 158 minutes) and is very forgettable.

"The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" cost approximately $100 million to make. It grossed $1.6 million on Tuesday, which was only enough for fourth place. Come back on Sunday to see how the film performed over the Christmas weekend.

Click here to read our "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 30 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
oklahomaer writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 6:06:06 AM

That idiot Putzman gave it a 4/10.So,the odds were high it is a good movie.
KillerSniper45 writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 6:20:01 AM

Is this movie really good? I have seen the original Swedish movie. I was amazed, but i am curious regarding this movie.
pornfly writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 6:32:50 AM

I'll wait for the porno Girl with the Dragon Tramp Stamp
pornfly writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 6:34:38 AM

...with her sister Kate Mara
corleone82 writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 7:17:24 AM

I think its great.. But no surprises if you've seen the original one.. And I generally don't like that they speak american, but the story takes place in Sweden, and some signs are en swedish, and they say some words in swedish.. If thay wanted to make an american version, why the hell not move it to America instead of this "halfway"solution.. But the movie is still pretty damn great :-)
cress writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 7:48:15 AM

It was very good, but not great. Fincher excels with this material, but its not his best. The problems I had was that it never really ratcheted up the tension, and before you know it your at the climax. Also, Saarsgard was miscast. He was great, but his presence drew too much unwarranted attention IMO. Also, I went in cold, not reading the book or seeing the Swede version. Yet I guessed a major plot twist 45 minutes into it. I hated the end, which essentially tells the audience in a cold way "More to Come". Still, I think Fincher can correct some of these in the next one and I definitely want to see the rest completed.
Rambo writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 9:18:01 AM

Fincher's last two movies sucked so i don't have high hopes for this one.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 10:30:04 AM

Fincher won't get back to good until he reteams with Andrew Kevin Walker. Sadly, that may only be for 'The Reincarnation of Peter Proud', which isn't exactly ground-breaking fare, nor is it up to the suspense standards of Fincher's earlier, cinematically superior films.

As for 'The Girl...', it looks like another remake for lazy, xenophobic American audiences, whereas the original natively and simply suffices.

When you look at Fincher's film, you notice that his last great one was Fight Club. He bowed out for five long years after he directed the underwhelming and nearly incoherent Panic Room.

After his hiatus, he came back with Zodiac, a well-shot but random-walk mish-mash of Robert Graysmith's nonsensical and grossly inaccurate retelling of the Zodiac killer's Bay Area escapades, from Graysmith's ill-reputed book Zodiac Unmasked.

He then did Benjamin Button, a ridiculously implausible film based on a story that was never meant for film, but ended up there as little more than Forrest Gump 2: The Return.

The Social Network was dry and clinical, a surgeon's dissection of America's most uninteresting 'networking' fad, Facebook, a film based on a website aimed towards American's increasingly inward and self-centered narcissism. Yawn.

Now he's remaking foreign films that neither need nor really deserve a remake.

Yeah, he can still shoot. Yeah, he can still make 'good' and well-shot films. But the luster of his hungry days is long, long gone, and he'll be solely executive producing in five to ten years. I don't expect much more from him, and he seems to be doing the Michael Bay thing: looking for a sequel to braind with his name.

Great. Really innovative, there, David. How's that working out for you? Good? Well keep it up then.
Raider writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 10:30:28 AM

Fincher is one of my favorite directors, Im gonna see this sometime soon.

That *sshole Putzman doesnt know anything about good movies. 4/10? get the f*ck outta here. I doubt that it deserves a 4/10.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 11:11:58 AM

Mink- Are there any movies that you really like? It seems like you hate almost everything. I'm not bashing you or anything. I'm on here all the time and I enjoy all the banter and opinions you give for sure. But what movies do you truly like?
captnhowdy writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 11:32:20 AM

i,ve seen the swedish version film, but did not read the books.

so what i noticed about this (fincher) version is that they seemed to just change a few things around, but the ending is to me is what they really screwed up on.

my only hope is that things improve with the next two films, but meh probably wont happen.

one more thing is this, there is a huge music scene happening in swedan right now plenty of buzz bands. what i dont understand why wasnt that incorporated into something like this, alas try n keep it swedan, except we recieve a soundtrack with well over 30 sound scape songs, and two songs with vocals.

so f*ck it.....
film is ok, still think the original is a tad better.

minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 11:50:24 AM

"Mink- Are there any movies that you really like? It seems like you hate almost everything. I'm not bashing you or anything. I'm on here all the time and I enjoy all the banter and opinions you give for sure. But what movies do you truly like?"

If you notice, I culled, from the list of unimpressive Fincher films, Seven, Fight Club, The Game and Alien 3, the latter film everyone hates, not because it was a bad film, but for the same inexplicable reason X-Men 3 garners such undiserved hate: someone took the toys away, meaning the director/screenwriter had the unabashed gall to eliminate primary characters. Oh noes!

Thus, I enjoy Fincher's earlier films, and on the note of Alien, I'm rather looking forward to Prometheus.

If you folks would actually comprehend what I write rather than react emotionally to the criticism, or as you childishly label it 'negativity', you might not demand I clarify that which is already plainly evident.

Thank you.
october_midnight writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 12:16:50 PM

With all the pretentious opinions though, you'd think you were a critic for some well known website or newspaper, instead of just another random internet voice on a random internet movie site. Well spoken? Sure. But so are a thousand others who are actually out in the world creating things to the best of their abilities instead of trying to sound 'holier-than-thou' to the same dozen people on the comments section of a website that probably gets about a tenth of AICN.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 12:23:26 PM

Your point?
Rambo writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 12:38:37 PM

@mink

Good review on Fincher's last movies since fight club.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 12:52:59 PM

Thanks.
Syriph writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 1:40:36 PM

I love most of Fincher's work. I was not a fan of Benjamin Button or Panic Room but most of it is amazing. This movie is amazing. It gave Fincher a chance to do what he does best. It was extraordinarily suspenseful at times and brutal and gritty at others. This movie felt like classic Fincher.
This was not some pop American remake of a foreign film, which usually I despise. This was a perfect telling of a pretty great story with great characters. I think everyone who loves dark movies or classic Fincher should check this out. You will not be disappointed. It is one of the best American movies I have seen in a while
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 1:50:48 PM

"And while everyone believes that the movie looks fantastic, ultimately, it is too long (at 158 minutes) and is very forgettable."

Doesn't this sum up every Fincher film starting with Zodiac?

Looks great, too long, easily forgettable.

Zodiac, Benjamin Button, The Social Network and now The Girl with the Golden Dildo.

I'm not saying his latter film's aren't good, they're just poorly balanced between the run-time and the quality of content as a form of entertainment.

Re-edit. Chop some limbs off that script. Throw in some zing, some action, something. Don't play safe.

All of his earlier films performed a shocking feat.

Alien 3 killed Ripley. Fight Club featured a man who was his own shadow. The Game was a quite good mind-f*ck. Seven was a great hard-boiled noir detective film with a unpredictable clincher finale.

None of his latter films, after his five year hiatus, have that punch, and I'll be damned if they do.

Zodiac? The meanderings of a murderer sans conclusion of any kind.

Benjamin Button? A man ages backward while uttering folksy aphorisms.

The Social Network? Some guy builds a webpage and gets sued because he wasn't smart enough to not rip off, with a modic*m of discretion, some other whitebred *ssholes.

And now, an undesired remake.

Dude's losing it, I tell you. Losing that magic, if it hasn't already left the building with Elvis.

pornfly writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 5:47:07 PM

MINK u nailed it with that last post
U must take a loooong rip then start typing then exhale when youre done
I thought Finchs' was supposed to be more faithful to the book
Im confused since alot of people are saying the swedish version is better. The only swedish movies ive seen have been porn
gg_galaxy2002 writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 7:13:56 PM

It was good but not as good as the original! Mara was great and so was the music!
iluvmarvel writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 7:14:39 PM

I've both seen the Swedish version and read the books and I enjoyed it. Granted, they did jump around a little bit and skipped some things (when you only have 2 1/2 hours, there's a lot you have to leave out) and changed a couple things, but in general, it was actually closer to the book than the Swedish version was. Overall, I thought it was well done and entertaining. The ending was pretty much in-line with the book, set it up nicely for the next installment.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 8:32:31 PM

Why thank you pornfly.
GrandpasWeiner writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 11:39:53 PM

Does Lisbeth have hairy armpits in this version like she did in the Swedish version?
reach110 writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 11:43:55 PM

I'm sorry, but on this one WP has its head up its collective ass. This was one of the best films I have EVER seen. And I am SO sick of people bitching about the length of movies. Three hours is not long. It's just more commitment than most people are used to giving for movies. If you don't like long movies, look at the goddamn running time before you buy your ticket and if it's too long, DON'T GO. Not if you're not going to just complain about it like it was the only feature of the movie.
vaodsi writes:
on December 23rd, 2011 at 12:23:39 AM

I'll pretty much watch any film by Fincher. I've "liked" just about all of his films, I just don't "love" them they way I enjoyed fightclub. Still, they've always entertained me. panic room felt the most sub-par. I'll rent this one.
technoreaper writes:
on December 23rd, 2011 at 10:53:43 AM

Sounds like it sucked. Good call WP reviewer.
minkowski writes:
on December 23rd, 2011 at 12:59:25 PM

Three hours IS a long time to sit in one place, especially if that one place is a dark, stinky theater full of people talking over the film, flipping open cell phones and otherwise detracting from the object of your attention, which, in the case of a 3 hour film, becomes ever more important.

If you leave the theater, you quite expectedly miss a significant chunk of the film. It's obviously very different from the situation of watching a long film at home, wherein you can pause the player, or return later at your luxurious discretion.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 23rd, 2011 at 7:07:31 PM

I friggin' LOVED Zodiac. Not much replay value, as with most of his films... thought that doesn't diminish its initial viewing's effect. I highly looking forward to seeing TGWTDT.
Euler writes:
on December 26th, 2011 at 11:14:35 AM

I read the book and saw the Swedish version. Fincher's version is not significantly better than the Swedish one. But then, I don't know how it could have been. There's more smoking and drinking here than I've seen since the last Bogart and Bacall movie. For some reason, they changed the ending so that they didn't have to go to Australia. I don't quite get the point of that.
SACdaddy writes:
on December 26th, 2011 at 11:53:44 AM

Decent role for daniel craig finally, but the film itself falls far short of the hype of its source material and its director. 6/10 for decent acting but unimpressive plot.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved