WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" Leaker Sentenced to One Year in Prison

Posted: December 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"X-Men Origins: Wolverine" Leaker Sentenced to One Year in PrisonSubmit Comment
Before "X-Men Origins: Wolverine" hit theaters, an work-in-progress copy of the film appeared online. 20th Century Fox claims that the leak hurt box office numbers and with the help of FBI, dedicated themselves to tracking down the pirate.

Bronx resident Gilberto Sanchez (49) was eventually caught and brought before a judge, who described the offense as "extremely serious." And now comes word that Sanchez has been sentenced to one year in federal prison, plus one year of supervised released and numerous computer restrictions.

"The federal prison sentence handed down in this case sends a strong message of deterrence to would-be Internet pirates," said United States Attorney Andre Birotte Jr. "The Justice Department will pursue and prosecute persons who seek to steal the intellectual property of this nation."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sleepingshane writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:12:11 AM

it should have been the director and the fox producers that got the year in prison, in fact i would have given them the gas chamber if i was on the jury for making such a pile of steaming sh*t and destroying one of marvels great icons !!!! bastards let him out the guy tried to warn us it was sh*t hes a hero!!!
FBO writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:58:20 AM

This guy deserves a medal and a twelve foot granite statue of his likeness erected right outside of fox studios
pornfly writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:12:35 AM

Stealing intellectual property?! REALLY?!?
Johnnyb writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:17:55 AM

Well, there goes his ass as bitch in jail and his desire to still downloading or uploading movies, poor guy!!!!!
masht7 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:18:02 AM

But should I remind you all, I don't give a f*ck.
pornfly writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:24:01 AM

The leaked version hurt box numbers??!
His lawyer shouldv went to prison with him for losing that arguement
Rambo writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:27:46 AM

and yet the director is walking free...
paulieXpocket writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:36:47 AM

i thank the director for giving me an hour of peace while idiots watched this.
snoop writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:37:19 AM

"intellectual property of this nation"

Nice try, jnr. That sh*t isn't gonna work now. Cowardly bastard.
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 6:13:49 AM

If you can't do the time, Don't do the crime.

Stealing is stealing no matter what it is or how much everybody hated Wolverine, It wasn't his property to put onto the net.

The guys a d*ck he was always gonna get caught, end of ....
Alderon writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 7:33:07 AM

I would thank this guy.....he saved me from wasteing my money.
boogiel writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 7:43:47 AM

Hell yeah, pirate rules!! It was a sh*t movie anyway, the man is a hero.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:28:09 AM

This guy is going to Federal " pound me in the ass " prison for releasing the biggest sh*tfest since flubber?

#judicialsystemsucksdonkeyballs
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:41:33 AM

I Think the president of 20th Century Fox should have been fired.You can't even stop 1 guy from trying to steal your sh!t.That's just laziness.
velocityknown writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:48:12 AM

@trailertrash

You are exactly right, my friend. Very few people who pirate movies would walk right into a video store and take it off the shelves, but they are essentially doing the same thing.

When movies get pirated in a big way, do people really think its the big stars or the producers that are suffering? No, it's the crew members and labor workers who are losing jobs when they have to cut back costs. You really think Hugh Jackman is losing a buck over piracy? When people pirate movies, they're not hurting who they think they are.
Devil writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 9:34:33 AM

The "filmmakers" should be jailed for creating that piece of sh*t. This man kept me from seeing it. Free X-MEN ORIGINS: WOLVERINE PIRATE, *ssholes.
Avirex writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 10:33:00 AM

That heaping pile of excrement excuse for a film still had a ridiculously large opening weekend even though there that DVD screener had been released. It didn't hurt it one f*cking bit.

..and no its not the same as f*cking stealing from a store. If a film is worth a f*ck it might actually spread positive word of mouth and motivate people to go watch it in theaters. Also, some can't afford to spend money in theaters so they watch a "free" version because even if they wanted to they can't buy 10 tickets for that sh*t.

Worse case scenario: Some guy/chick who had no intention of watching (___) film in theaters instead opts to watch it online. They enjoy it so f*cking much they decide they need to see it in theaters. Maybe more than once. They are so f*cking excited they speak of it's greatness to their family, mistress, classmate, neighbor, etc.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 10:36:01 AM

It's ok I'm gonna visit this guy in prison and shake his hand for being a hero.
Big_Daddy writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 10:37:41 AM

^ don't drop the soap
beepboop writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 10:55:48 AM

"Fox claims that the leak hurt box office numbers and with the help of FBI, dedicated themselves to tracking down the pirate."

just imagine how many tax dollars were wasted, because fox can't acknowledge that wolverine being a bad movie hurt it's box office numbers.
an "extremely serious" offense indeed.
nawtnt writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:03:39 PM

As much as this guy did damage to the movie, I think he did a great job.

I watched X-Men Origins: Wolverine and it was awful.

The timeline was stupid, the action was great but the speical effects were poor, the story was badly written and the characters were done badly.

X-Men Origins: Wolverine should be what X-Men: First Class is, a great prequel.

I am happy that Fox has learned it's lessons and made great movies like X-Men: First Class and Rise Of The Planet Of The Apes.

Let's hope Fox does make a piece of crap movie like Wolverine again because the studio is now on top.

Also Scott Adkins who did the Weapon 11 stunt work, had his efforts wasted.

He did a great job but the movie was just worst since Batman and Robin.

I think Fox should make a Deadpool movie then get the right director and the right writers and should get a great actor to play the charcater.

It should be a R rated and then if that happens, I think Fox has forgiveness for how Deadpool turn out in Wolverine.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:40:32 PM

"Well, there goes his ass as bitch in jail and his desire to still downloading or uploading movies, poor guy!!!!!"

- ^ What?

Peter Parker writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:48:28 PM

Curiously, despite of the fact that they're using Sanchez as an example to dissuade others from sharing supposed "intellectual property", the fact is that the movie was a tremendous commercial success and, as if that wasn't enough, Sanchez's activities and stories like this one continue to put the movie in the headlines, giving it far more attention that it deserves.

Had this been part of a planned marketing strategy, the guy would have been praised as a brilliant publicist. Since he did it on his own, they throw his ass in jail.
The irony.
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:59:09 PM

This site should be renamed to worst reviews guys here rating and reviewing dont know movies for sh*t
Peter Parker writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 1:05:59 PM

"guys here rating and reviewing dont know movies for sh*t"

- Says the clown who expresses himself like a 12 year old retard.
Way to go, genius.
Peter Parker writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 1:12:18 PM

"Fincher is one of the greatest directors.
He could make every movie good"

- That was a brilliantly articulated review right there, clown.
Please, continue to grace us with your brilliant insight on the films industry and let us drink from your sapience, clown.

BadChadB33 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 1:19:08 PM

Big Daddy- That's why I'm glad they have visiting hours and I will be nowhere near a shower in that place.

Boomd*ckChin-If you ever tax your brain, don't charge more than a penny.
pornfly writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 1:47:14 PM

The Derek Zoolander Center for Kids Who Can't Read Good and Wanna Learn to Do Other Stuff Good Too"
hollafoadolla writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 2:24:50 PM

Uhhh, Brandy kills a woman by crashing into her car and gets probation. Paris Hilton gets a DUI, hit and run, and has cocaine on her, and she gets probation. Lindsay Lohan.....well, we all know about her shi**y life, and she stays out of jail. AND THIS GUY GETS A YEAR?!
Frostyballoon writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 2:27:33 PM

Too bad this make the SOPA bill look like jesus christ himself. Dammit it America cant afford to have articles like this right now, not until we destroy the SOPA bill for good!!
Ranger writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:19:57 PM

His next leak will be from his butthole after it's raped by Big Bubba.

trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:28:29 PM

lol

Which TheBoonDockChin will be down loading ASAP
trailertrash writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:31:36 PM

velocity- Agree my friend also
reaper1000 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:31:01 PM

Someone should sue everyone that was involved in that movie. Worst comic book movie of all time, ok maybe Spiderman 3 was but it sucked anyway.
minkowski writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:45:41 PM

Damn. He started this thing by pirating something sh*tty that came out of someone's ass, and finished up having someone pirating his ass with something that smells like sh*t.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:50:36 PM

Give the man a cigar.
Jamall316 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 10:56:59 PM

Ouch
Whitelock84 writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 12:11:35 AM

I have to agree with TrailerTrash & velocityknown, piracy is a crime and I'm glad to see that he is not getting off scot-free.

However, if 20th Century Fox really thinks that THIS was the reason their film did poorly at the box office, then congrats, they'll need a shovel to dig themselves out of all that denial.
pornfly writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 2:25:08 AM

PREACH@HOLLA dont forget Halle Berrys wild ride
Bunny X writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 9:01:40 AM

Lol @velocity, looks like you copied that word for word from the anti-pirating website.
Yes, pirating is stealing regardless how good or bad the film is and regardless of it's box office success or failure. I understand them making an example of this guy as it was the most publicized case of movie pirating. And even though none of the crew, writers, or other personnel seem to have lost anything due to the relative box office success, that doesn't change the fact that he committed a crime.

That being said, we should have pooled the money he saved everyone from watching that piece of sh*t called "intellectual" and gotten him a better lawyer. Or at least used the money to send and hide him overseas to avoid prosecution.
Origins was complete and utter garbage.
minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 12:16:19 PM

Piracy isn't necessarily stealing if it cannot be determined if the act caused a loss to the IP owner.

You people are just regurgitating corporate nonsense, and common English law that was formulated before the advent of digital information.

The fact is, if I had a machine, say one along Star Trek replicator lines, and I scanned your TV and then duplicated one for myself in my own home using my own raw materials and energy, could you say that I stole your television? Did I steal one from Sony or RCA or whoever?

Sure one could argue that the company in question owns access to the television's essential characteristics, and that by duplicating it, I'm manipulating abstract or specific non-material aspects to which I may or may not have proper access, but can you can you say I'm committing the legally defined act of *theft*?

I don't think so.

Then there's the issue that companies such as Universal and FOX don't actually count the number of infringers, as if they could.

Instead they use highly abstruse and complicated statistical methods to extrapolate a good fat number that works well for their lobbying in Congress, lobbying that works not really to 'protect' them and their property, but to further encourage profits, even though profits earned for media corporations have been, on the whole, increasing since the middle to the 20th century with nary a return to to the consumers (also known as 'slaves').

I once pirated a program that, at the time, cost sixteen grand. I never used it to make a dime. I just liked to play with it for my own edification.

Who lost anything? The company? Nope. Who gained anything? Me? Some knowledge, but that's it.

The case above, the one regarding XMen: Orgins, could only be called 'just' if it can be independently verified that the act of posting an incomplete cut of a crappy film on the internet caused financial harm to FOX.

Has or has not that been demonstrated, and if not, then the person in question, the defendant, or should I say felon, convict whatever, is serving time for a non-crime.

Ayn Rand once said that the power of the government is to make so many things a crime that a man cannot live without becoming a criminal. Are we there yet? Have Rand and Orwell predicted the future better than we fear?

You shall see.
Avirex writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 8:08:48 PM

@Mink

You definitely summed up my thoughts on this subject perfectly. Kudos to you sir I completely agree with each point.
minkowski writes:
on December 22nd, 2011 at 1:35:09 PM

Thank you kindly.
The First_AVENGER writes:
on December 25th, 2011 at 2:31:50 AM

Ragetti- BLOODY PIRATES!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved