WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

David Fincher on His Plans for "Spider-Man" Movie

Posted: December 19th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
David Fincher on His Plans for "Spider-Man" MovieSubmit Comment
During a press conference for "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo," David Fincher said that he was considered to direct the first "Spider-Man" movie and the new reboot. For whatever reason, things didn't work out, but the helmer has now revealed his vision for a Spidey film.

"I was never interested in the genesis story," he said. "I couldn't get past a guy getting bit by a red and blue spider. It was just a problem. I wanted to start with Gwen Stacy and the Green Goblin, and I wanted to kill Gwen Stacy."

Fincher went on to explain how he would kill Stacy. He said: "The title sequence of the movie that I was going to do was going to be a ten minute - basically a music video, an opera, which was going to be the one shot that took you through the entire Peter Parker [backstory]. Bit by a radio active spider, the death of Uncle Ben, the loss of Mary Jane, and [then the movie] was going to begin with Peter meeting Gwen Stacy. It was a very different thing, it wasn't the teenager story. It was much more of the guy who's settled into being a freak."

Source: io9


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
lebowski writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:21:25 PM

f*ck off fincher
technoreaper writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:26:49 PM

This guy is a hack.
Avirex writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:28:39 PM

A f*cking music video of montages that essentially skips past the creation and birth of the character? That sh*t has never worked.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:34:33 PM

I thought Cameron was to direct the first spiderman,then dropped out
mpiper821 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:55:53 PM

Interesting
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 8:56:28 PM

Who gives a sh*t??
vincere01 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:03:24 PM

This guy needs to go suck Phillip seymour hoffmans pretentious d*ck and die
triggax writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:29:30 PM

Wow, you're literally all f*cking tools.
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:29:34 PM

I couldnt get past getting bitten by a red and blue spider,it was a real problem
Sounds like sum sh*t an ol' fart would say. Stay away from our superheroes
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:39:06 PM

People here are retarded and iq is around 65.
All i see is burning down articles and movies and talk about f*cking and sh*t.
Makes one think that those who say it are sexless movieretarded fatgoggled sh*tstains.
Feels good doesnt it
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:47:50 PM

The only thing that feels good is me sh*tting down your sisters throat. Now suprise me say something intelligent yourself!!!
pornfly writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:58:21 PM

'my neighbors dog has a four inch clit'
codeman_1216 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 10:11:30 PM

Sorry guys, I like it. I thought the origin montage worked fine in The Incredible Hulk. I'm sick of the whole teenager thing, they have a 28 year old playing an 18 year old. Also I think it would have been a more comfortable setting for Garfield since he worked with Fincher on The Social Network.
codeman_1216 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 10:18:34 PM

And since when is this guy a hack? Aren't all of his movies a least good?
hardcorehogan87 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 10:45:46 PM

What triggax said.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 11:17:51 PM

Really sounds like a dark take on the spidey, could work if he doesnīt project spidey as a "freak" and more like a tragic hero with amazing powers,,,,
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:06:01 AM

we don't need to hear the plans.. it's gonna be sh*t regardless..
DeVries writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:12:08 AM

Musicals are f*cking gay, no mather who the f*ck is directing it or acting in it. Fincher should sniff my farts after a casein shake for that.
Adamtheflash writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 4:44:55 AM

@ codeman
I agree. It worked with Incredible Hulk. Why not cut to the chase? It's pretty common knowledge of how Spidey became Spidey. That's why I liked Spiderman 2 way better than the first. There was no wasted time on back story.

Batman Begins pulls off the origin story simply because of the unique take on it. But if a movie is going to recycle the same story that everyone already knows, then it's a waste.

Not sure Fincher was the right man for the job, but I like his take.
SeWerin writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:10:53 AM

Lol, classical Fincher!
cress writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 8:48:45 AM

I'm sure Fincher would have made a great Spidey flick. Instead, were getting another goddamn origins story again.
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 12:57:40 PM

Fincher is one of the greatest directors.
He could make every movie good
Frostyballoon writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 2:25:42 PM

Damn the comments are getting more and more vulgar each day. Soon all they will say is f*ck f*ck sh*t sh*t ur gay!!

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved