WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Mission: Impossible 4" - What Did You Think?

Posted: December 17th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Mission: Impossible 4" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
"Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol," the fourth installment in the franchise, is now playing in IMAX theaters nationwide. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below. Please save your comments about "The Dark Knight Rises" opening for this thread.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying an impressive 95% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that it's one of the best Hollywood action films in recently history. It also succeeds in renewing a franchise that was likely on its way out.

"M:I4" only opened in 425 theater, which were mostly IMAX, grossing $1.1 million from just the evening and midnight shows. It will expand to a wide release next weekend.

Click here to read our "Mission: Impossible - Ghost Protocol" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Phil writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 8:46:57 AM

One of the best in the series, but not as good as the third one.

The movie was a little too slow paced for a MI flic. And you can't stop wandering how easy it is to close down the IMF agency and apperently start it up again.

The villian, and whatever little screentime he had, had no depth and I couldn't care less if his plans would succeed or fail.

The character of renner was also unbelievable. His background story was weak to say the least.

All in all not a bad movie, but I was expecting something else.
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 9:56:30 AM

I definitely agree with Phil when it comes to the villain. He couldn't have had more than 10 minutes of screen time.

But I couldn't help but sit there and try to think of how many times the villain's plan was almost exactly the same as Blofeld's plans from the Bond movies, as well as a couple of Roger Moore's.

I didn't think it was slow paced at all though. In fact the one time it really slowed down and got a bit sentimental, the very next shot is of Hunt's comedic Russian contact shouting at the camera.
-Chewy- writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 11:13:24 AM

Phil......the third one was sh*t.

This was a lot better. The only sh*t part about this movie was the villain. Who is an invincible nerd who runs faster than Tom Cruise.

But all the action pieces (except the final fight with the villain) were very cool and original.....and very limited on CGI. Which was nice.
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 12:25:56 PM

i had more fun watching this than any of the others..the whole set piece in the hotel in dubai was absolutely phenominal. i might go see it again just to see cruise hanging/swinging off of that building.
DeVries writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 12:49:37 PM

Haven't seen it yet, but the third one was absolute piece of sh*t.
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 1:07:25 PM

You guys must be confusing the third movie with the second movie, the second one being the piece of sh*t. Both this one and the third one are better than the first which is really saying something. I liked the humor in this one a lot. Not having a more villainy villain is the only major problem in it. I really liked the tie in with Brandt, but I can't say that I an a fan of how they handle the 'twist' in the end I would have the same thing but set it up differently.
SeWerin writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 1:11:10 PM

I haven't seen part 4. But i will agree that part 2 of MI movies was the worst.

That being said, all MI movies are nothing special, just a bit above mediocre fun.
FBO writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 1:13:59 PM

Oh and this one isn't slow paced at all
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 1:14:22 PM

Hmmm... I thought the first one was the worst...
Phil writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 1:44:20 PM

The third one was the JJ abrams' one. Besides the end where cruise dies and ressurects is still the best one.

The second one by john woo wasn't any good at all.
Kurskij writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 4:28:28 PM

Mission: Impossible (1996) is still the best one for me. It has it all: great cast with top-notch acting, great direction, cinematography and editing and some outstanding visual and special effects for its time.

John Woo's Mission was slick and stylish, and no one can't deny that it had some great action sequences, but the final cut definitely lives up to all the rumours that it was a troubled production.

Abrams' Mission was a good one, but had it's problems, like its "invisible" MacGuffin. And it really dragged during the last 20 minutes.

As for this one: f*ck, is Brad Bird enormously talented, Robert Elswit brilliant and Paul Hirsch (note: the editor) great! It doesn't have much of a solid screenplay or a decent villain (Seymour Hoffman, imho, did the best job possible with the material he had on MI 3 and was miles ahead of Nyqvist) but it really delivers in all other departments. Thanks to the talents of Bird, Elswit, Hirsch and all the tech people involved (including greatly the stuntmen) - the fourth part truly delivers the goods.

Moscow and Dubai parts (mostly Dubai) include some of the best action sequences in years.

And of course, Cruise, as crazy as he may or may not be (and most likely, he may), delivers what not other star of his calibre did, at least in this decade. The Burj sequence in IMAX looks frightening, and the guy f*cking did it HIMSELF!

I'm not a big fan of Cruise aside from his performances in Collateral, Born on the 4th.., and a couple of others, but here he shows that, like him or not, he is a true movie star and has an epic pair of balls to envy.

Kudos to him and tremendous amounts of respect for giving his all to entertain the viewers - and that's what a true star is about.
Rambo writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 4:42:02 PM

6.5 out of 10

it had some great action scenes next to cheesy james bond look a like moments that we've seen 100 times before.

one thing's for sure.Paula Patton was hot.
Kurskij writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 5:23:18 PM

^ she looked like a top class milf. Like a... like a... echantillon de reference for all the milfs out there.
Tsantilla writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 8:02:48 PM

I have to say, for all the hype and top notch reviews I expected it better.

Its a good action movie, worth watching in movie theaters but thats all.
technoreaper writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 10:52:48 PM

Great action scenes, but the plot was unoriginal to the point of negligence. The series has run stale. I could only recommend this on Redbox.
technoreaper writes:
on December 17th, 2011 at 10:54:29 PM

If you can ignore the corny romance scenes in the 3rd movie, it was the best one in the series. This one was really bad. The second unit did a great job, but the rest of the movie was terrible and you could tell.
Znavoy writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 2:35:55 AM

Saw it yesterday at the cinema and when the movie began all the audience were noisy, people were talking, laughing and it looked like no one really wanted to "see" the movie, it is like they cam to the movies to talk with each other (so annoying) anyway half way into the movie i took a look around me and saw that every single one of the people that was surrounding were hooked into the screen. people weren't blinking and they were reacting to the movie exactly as they should be, laughing at the funny parts, grasping at the tense parts, shocked at the shocking scene. so for me. a really good action movie isn't judge by it's own, it is judge by the audience and let me tell you i was hypnotized to the screen like the rest of them because this movie KICKED ASS!!! :) just go and enjoy it. should you choose to accept it! :)
Stuntmanbob writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 3:23:04 AM

I dont know why everyone thinks the third one was sh*t, I havent seen the new one but right now MI3 is my favorite. The second one was pure sh*t to me. I liked MI3 because it was pretty realistic other than the sh*t at the end like Phil said thats why I hated the MI2 because of it being so retardedly corny and wooish. I was worried about this one being like MI2 when I saw the whole computer thing in the bmw but it sounds like its pretty awesome so ill def pay to see it. Tom Cruise is the sh*t, yeah thats right, you heard me, I aint takin it back. Plus add Renner and its golden
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 4:14:16 AM

So awesome, exceeded all expectations. Cruise still has action running through his brains and when you add someone who just embodies badassness like Jeremy Renner, you've got buddy action chemistry gold. Pegg and Patton are awesome as well, glad to see Pegg getting good movie roles finally, he brings great comic relief to everything, he was one of the better parts of MI:3 and his role in this one is so much larger. This one probably is the most exciting and has the best action sequences (and set pieces...umm, Dubai...was so dope), but I think it's only slightly better than MI:3. It's pace is lightning quick, which is great since MI:3 lags in areas, but MI:3 also had the best villain of the serious, perfectly played by Philip Seymour Hoffman. Sadly, this movie had a James Bond-rip off villain that lacked serious development. But otherwise, MI:4 is definitely worth seeing, a huge welcomed surprise. Odd, this was a franchise that got better in the later installments, the first two are pretty weak in my opinion. 2 is too cheesy (even John Woo should be ashamed, what usually is balletic action brilliance just looked cheap and laughable) and 1 just never sat right with me. Had such an odd feel to it, plus I could never get over how fake the climax looked with Jean Reno's helicopter exploding and catapulting Cruise through the air onto the train. Anyway, I highly recommend Ghost Protocol
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 4:14:37 AM

running through his *veins
murphyslaw93 writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 4:17:25 AM

And check it out in IMAX, like real IMAX. You won't be sorry. Besides getting the Batman prologue, this movie needs to be seen on an IMAX screen. The whole like 25-30 minute sequence in Dubai, like I said, is breathtaking and actually frightening on that massive screen. Huge props to Brad Bird, that guy is wicked talented and truly understands action, whether it's live action or animated (The Incredibles).
technoreaper writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 11:45:34 AM

I beg to differ. Brad Bird did a terrible job. Like one reviewer said, the whole movie is just an excuse to set up action scenes. There was no story. This was a very badly made movie.
the wire writes:
on December 18th, 2011 at 2:06:40 PM

I totally agree with mr technoreaper. not half as good as M:I 3.
birnam writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 2:34:32 AM

I disagree with both of you. MI4 was the best of the series. Yes it was all go go go. Action scene after action scene, but it was all executed so well by Brad Bird that it was a great ride. I would Highly recommend it. As an action movie it's as good as they get.
dparks writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:17:56 AM

Really sweet attempt by Bird. Cruise (ahem) cruised through it well - but I also wasn't impressed with the villain(s) here as I was in MI:3, nor with the manly Paula Patton chick who seemed to be smirking throughout the movie. And what exactly was up with Cruise kissing her at the bar? Didn't quite catch the "I'm going on the hunch" relevance there; especially when we find that his wife is still alive and kickin'.
the wire writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:37:29 AM

you can say what you want, this movie sucked big time. gave me nothing.
blinkbomber writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 10:16:01 AM

you can say what you want, this movie rocked big time. gave me everything.

see how that works? haha... but no seriously, i thought it was great but i am actually happy to see thought out discussions over it from people who disagree.
vincere01 writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 5:18:51 PM

Ok. Let me start by saying cruise is one crazy motherf*cker. But my o my is he talented. He has overseen every movie in this series. He has input in story, action sequences, casting, picking the director etc. And he is damn good at doing all that and he nails it as the lead actor too??? Amazing. Everyone he works with is always eventually asked the same question, how was it to work with him? And the answer is always the same. Crazy hard worker and nice guy. But that no one in Hollywood has more drive and dedication to do the absolute best movie possible. He has spaced out each movie well and never rushes a sequel just for money. He picks new directors and writers for every installment to keep things fresh. He changes the look of his character etc. That being said I would rank mi4 the best yet not for any one particular reason. It dosnt have the best of the stories or best vilan but when you put everything it does have together then it is the most entertaining. My personal ranking would be
1. Mi4
2. Mi1
3. Mi3
4. Mi2
Also 1 and 3 are very very close. 3 had best vilan and best individual performence by cruise. But 1 put everything together better just like 4 does.
technoreaper writes:
on December 19th, 2011 at 9:07:07 PM

It's funny that a lot of people are praising this film. It's probably only because the critics gave it a 95% on Rotten Tomatoes. I wonder what they would have thought if they went into this film blind? What a joke, this was probably the 3rd worst Mission Impossible movie.
bill the butcher writes:
on December 20th, 2011 at 5:55:04 PM

one of the worst films of the year

what a f****** waste of my time :(

hurt locker
girl dragon tattoo

now those are thrillers

only reason i wanted to watch this
was french actress
Lea seydoux

she was only in the film
for maybe 10 minutes

and the script never have her a chance
to be a great villain

the start of this film
was like some direct to dvd movie

i mean
look at the start
of mission impossible 3
it had an amazing start

philip seymour hoffman with a gun
and cruise tied to a chair

that was a good film

this ''thriller'' was not :(

minkowski writes:
on December 21st, 2011 at 3:12:06 PM

Everyone sees what they want, and no eyes are ever opened.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved