WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Christian Bale's "American Psycho" Being Remade

Posted: December 8th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Christian BaleSubmit Comment
Lionsgate has decided to move forward with a remake of Christian Bale's "American Psycho" film and has hired Noble Jones to come up with a different take on Bret Easton Ellis' 1991 satirical novel. Jones will also direct the new film.

Set in Manhattan during the Wall Street boom of the late 1980s, "American Psycho" concerns the daily life of Patrick Bateman, a wealthy investment banker by day who becomes a homicidal maniac by night. Jones recently turned in a script that explores how Bateman would fare in modern-day New York.

Jones doesn't have a lot of feature film experience. His work mostly includes commercials and music videos. He also served as a second-unit director for David Fincher's "The Social Network."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 36 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
xtlhogciao writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 5:47:21 PM

This is an awful idea.
Rambo writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 5:48:21 PM

^this
PhantomCloneInX writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:11:17 PM

Two words sum this idea up: f*cking. Pointless.

It's barely been a decade since this came out.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:14:08 PM

They will probably just amp up the gore to please as Saw-enthusiasts. The problem is that they will not go for the full yard. Because the only way I will see a remake of this is if they fully embrace the insanity in the book. I want Bateman to prance around with a head on his d*ck and shove a rat up a women p*ssy and with it eat her inside and out.

Is that to much to ask for?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:20:53 PM

I actual think this might work. If they were to explore Bateman as the Commericialized and Capitalistic *sshole we see today it could work.

Also they would have to amp the gore and realize the violence of the book. That was my only complaint with the Bale version was they only implied the violence that was in the book.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:33:09 PM

I really wish they wouldn't continue to peddle Ellis' violently misogynistic trash.

We get it. He doesn't like sex with women. He subconciously hates them. In another age, he'd be best pals with Jack the Ripper.

Stop trying to reboot something just to milk it for shock and cash value.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:44:55 PM

Exactly^ Like this sh*ts getting ridiculous, i see more reboots on here then i see new movies... Cmon like its not even a worth while reboot...
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:45:45 PM

Mainly because the original was f*cking awesome! lol I Loved Christian Betrayal as a Crazy Serial Killer!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:51:15 PM

@Cd

I like the fact the violence was never shown, sometimes just hearing or reading what he did is worse. As horror movie directors have said

"your imagination will always scare you more than seeing it"

I love this movie and after I saw it it was the first DVD I ever bought, not a week goes by when I don't put the DVD on and have a look. I have also read the book and can see why they didn't show all the gore and killings,it would have been pointless, it is much better to see him acting all normal around everybody and being accused of a complete wimp but at the same time inside he is this phsycotic individual.
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:54:28 PM

Whatever happened to that long lost age of yore where and when people repeatedly watched *happy* films?
encoreyourface writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 6:58:32 PM

this is f*cking bullsh*t. that movie is f*cking amazing, not to mention it is barely a decade old. not really time for a reboot, but Hollywood just does not give a f*ck as we are all aware.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 7:33:35 PM

the Poster boy as Patrick Bateman kill yourself please now that you heard this.

you guys sound surprised everything is being remade and when the movies come out you all still watch them
bandolero999 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 7:35:14 PM

guess the sequel wasnt a hit
minkowski writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 7:38:40 PM

The sequel had a woman 'playing' the psycho, and it just didn't work as a fake doc*mentary.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 8:42:14 PM

I can start hearing from the backside of my head "Hip to be Square" from Huey Lewis and the News.....
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 9:27:34 PM

WTF!!!!!
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 9:42:21 PM

@Dave, You have a valid point. However, when I read the book I felt that it was intended to shock you with the contrast between who he was socially and what he really was. Also the detail of the killings somewhat reinforced it was all in his head since it was described in extreme detail (again my interpretation). To Me the lack of violence in the film didn't deliver the stark contrast of what he really was deep down. I did enjoy the ending when his secretary is going through the book of drawings and gave you the glimpse of his mind.

What was described in the book is far worse than what I could imagine, so it was difficult to understand the horror of the film.

That being said the film is still great, and I don't believe it should be remade. However, I do see some reason and potential with it.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 8th, 2011 at 10:14:59 PM

@Cd

Thanks and good point with yours too..but..

I guess we have to agree to disagree..lol.

I loved that there was no actual violence shown that was in the book, the film then would have been known for it's violence instead of seeing how someone who is a weird and out there as Bateman can fit so well into normal life and that in the end is more scary than anything.
Patrick Bateman writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 12:35:36 AM

I think its pretty obvious from my name that I think this is a f*cking awful idea. Hollywood is so flawed because there is plenty of original work out there to adapt but its not safe to bet on something unknown much safer to remake something that has made money and everyone knows about. f*ck I hate hollywood lets remake everything constantly no new movies.
Man in Black writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 12:57:35 AM

Hey Alex , you should run a pool on what movies will be green lit in 2012 for remakes / reboots , every body gets 12 picks. Picks need to be in by Dec 31 winner gets bragging rights and gets to light the match that burns down Hollywood since their isn't an original collective thought in the bunch of them . O and on topic .... this is a bad idea the first is a cult classic in modern standards and didn't make big waves at the box office why reboot ? Oscar bait ?
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 1:32:04 AM

'Jones doesn't have a lot of feature film experience. His work mostly includes commercials and music videos. He also served as a second-unit director...'

His resume is better than a mug of warm milk before bed.... zzzz...


Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 2:13:25 AM

Hey Alex, how about posting 'Rack of the Week!' here on WP. Give up and ONE of these remake/reboots stories for a great set of fun-bags!
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 2:13:41 AM

Or post 3 racks and let us vote.
MYVAGHURTZ writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 2:37:13 AM

hymen
Stuntmanbob writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 3:00:59 AM

Seriously, you can't remake this awesome f*cking movie
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 3:51:38 AM

Avatars will have to be replaced accordingly
Damon242 writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 7:29:51 AM

WHY!?
pornfly writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 8:19:18 AM

Dont forget about the musical
TheBoonDockChin writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 9:25:39 AM

Its always the unknown or sh*tty directors.whi are making reboots remakes of.legendary movies i say burn em
SACdaddy writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 9:50:10 AM

I dont't even know what to say anymore about all these remakes. Im not even surprised or angry anymore, I'm just numb to it all. I haven't been to the movies in weeks and don't see anything worth looking forward to other than MI4 this holiday season. Its kind of depressing to see my favorite passtime drying up like this. To quote an old WP member, "Cinema is dead."
Ranger writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 10:01:03 AM

Bale doesn't look happy about this news in that picture.
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 12:15:41 PM

^^He's just greeting his mother and a set guy.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 4:02:05 PM

@dave, No problem man :). Maybe if they do it right there can be room for two versions.
Movieguru2 writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 6:07:40 PM

has hollywood hit rock bottom??????
minkowski writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 6:26:02 PM

They hit rock bottom five years ago. Since then they've been drilling.
drewsmit24 writes:
on December 9th, 2011 at 7:09:28 PM

why?! just moveon to glamorama brett easton ellis book

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved