WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne Johnson in Talks for Michael Bay's "Pain and Gain" Bodybuilding Film

Posted: December 5th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne Johnson in Talks for Michael BaySubmit Comment
Michael Bay won't let Paramount Pictures push him into directing another "Transformers" film until he has a chance to helm his low-budget bodybuilding movie "Pain and Gain," that is said to cost around $20 million.

Now comes word that Mark Wahlberg and Dwayne Johnson are the frontrunners to co-star in Bay's new project, which is described as a dark comedy. Both actors have discussed "Pain and Gain" with the director, but negotiations are still early.

Based on a Miami New Times article from 1999, "Pain and Gain" will follow a pair of Florida bodybuilders who get caught up in an extortion ring and a kidnapping scheme that goes terribly wrong. "Captain America" scribes Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely wrote the original script and have compared its tone to the Coen brothers' "Fargo."

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 8:25:18 PM

I don't mind the unusual story concept, nor do I even mind Bay bashing about behind the camera yet again for a mere 20 mil instead of the 200 mil he normally enjoys, but I do mind him hiring Dwayne Johnson, who has proved repeatedly and effortlessly that he cannot act any better than a thrown rock, and Wahlberg, who is, at best, a weak supporting actor rather than a strong male lead.
bandolero999 writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 8:36:10 PM

A low budget Michael Bay film with no explosions interesting

And no signs of la douche
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 9:07:27 PM

So this is a kid's film? I mean The Rock is in it so it has to be.
Avirex writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 9:13:21 PM

Marky Mark is always irritating to watch on screen. Dwayne was actually decent in 'Faster' but it might be because he had very little dialogue. Thus, if they replace Marky Mark and make Dwayne the silent type then perhaps it might be watchable.
Johnnyb writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 12:44:28 AM

Two bodybuilders, sweeting I guess.... This project is so gay......
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 1:17:45 AM

yep,travolta already booked a ticket
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 1:34:27 AM

The only explosions I see when watching a Michael Bay film is between my legs when Megan Fox is on screen.
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 2:13:35 AM

have another one

http://static.moviefanatic.com/images/gallery/megan-fox-topless.jpg
masht7 writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 2:22:32 AM

@mink

Did you see Walhberg in 'The Departed'? That was the only performance of his career that I was impressed with.
Rambo writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 2:26:59 AM

^that just shows what a great director Scorsese is..
Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 3:15:28 AM

I love it when Megan makes crop circles!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 3:18:12 AM

"Fargo"?

Never liked "Fargo"

So guess I won't like this..eventhough I wasn't keen on it anyway.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 3:24:33 AM

Ranger writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 3:15:28 AM

I love it when Megan makes crop circles!


I would love to "crop" Megan Fox's "circle" and by that I mean f*ck her ass until she is bleeding and crying...then f*ck it some more.
Serpico1988 writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 9:20:07 AM

Gonna be sh*t !
Bullit writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 9:37:28 AM

What Minkowski said.

But as part of the audition, do you think Michael Bay is gonna ask them to wash his Ferrari ?
vincere01 writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 12:31:01 PM

Ok, both actors can do no dialoige action and have the body type for this. Sometimes passable in light comedic fare as well. But if bay wants to show he can make movies for the non brain dead crowd too then he better wake up and realize he won't get anything like that from them. I say Michael clark Duncan and an unknown actor with some talent should get the shot. Otherwise this movie is going to be laughable ghetto comedy trying to pass as a crime drama in no time.
DeVries writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 2:16:08 PM

Wahlberg and The Rock... Call the movie B'roids instead.
JoeCanton writes:
on December 6th, 2011 at 9:31:02 PM

The Michael Bay Transformer movies are my guilty pleasures. I saw each one in theaters and took them for what they were. I thought Dark of the Moon was very good, because I only watch for explosions and the gorgeous effects and cinematography. This idea sounds good, even though I have gotten tired of Wahlberg( here's to hoping he isn't playing a f*cking cop in another movie).
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on December 7th, 2011 at 12:22:56 PM

This happened in my neighborhood. These guys were insane. Acting like feds. When I read the article I couldn't believe what I was reading. I was only fifteen but still they did some crazy sh*t. And honestly I always thought the coens would of made this into a film. Really disappointed to hear c*nt muffin bay is doing this. He wont stay true to the material.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved