WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Studios Orlando to Permanently Close "Jaws" Ride

Posted: December 2nd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Studios Orlando to Permanently Close "Jaws" RideSubmit Comment
Universal Studios Orlando has announced that it will permanently close the "Jaws" ride on January 2nd to make room for new attractions. The ride, based on the 1975 Steven Spielberg movie, was one of the original rides when the park opened in 1990.

"'Jaws' has been an amazing attraction and an important part of our history. We know that Jaws holds a special place in the hearts of our guests," said Universal. "But we always have to look to the future and dedicate ourselves to providing new, innovative entertainment experiences for our guests."

The movie comes as Universal Orlando tries to draw bigger crowds to its theme park. Universal's second park, Island of Adventure, has been extremely popular with attendees ever since opening the Wizarding World of Harry Potter in June 2010.

But whatever "Jaws" is replaced with, Universal it clear that the famous shark will always have a presence at the theme park. "We've got a couple of things planned to ensure we always remember and honor 'Jaws.'"

Source: BaltimoreSun


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 9:02:34 PM

Good now there's no reason at all to go to Hollando

technoreaper writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 9:09:01 PM

That's insane. It's one of the landmark attractions there. What, are they going to put more Harry Potter trash there?
sleepingshane writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 9:53:13 PM

bad move its a classic leave it alone you fools!!!
boogiel writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 11:47:09 PM

I bet they also planning to reboot/remake jaws franchise. Typical Hollywood moves.
bubbles17 writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 12:22:20 AM

glad i got to go again 2 years ago when i could before they did this, classic ride...the guy "driving" the boat was so into his job it was awesome
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:10:19 AM

My high school is right across the street we used to sneak in at night. Wutta bunch of turds
Ranger writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:41:34 AM

Close it only if you're replacing it with Piranha (the movie) fish and titties!
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 3:02:31 AM

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

Love that ride, That and the Back To The Future ride were classic .....
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 3:30:55 AM

RANGER that would be BADASS i used to know the stuntman for the Indiana Jones Stunt Show. sh*t blowin up and tits bouncin all over the place would f*ckn rock.
Id be there in the front everyshow with a lap full of popcorn givin everybody shrapnel.
'Wow wutta show harold i got hit in my face with water'
Johnnyb writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 4:27:02 AM

First Back to the Future and now this..... I wonder what is gonna be next..... E. T.¿?

I wonder when they are gonna make some space for Evil Dead¿?
pornfly writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 6:10:21 AM

JOHNNY shhh theyll most likely use the Evil Dead remake
Alderon writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 9:49:00 AM

Man that kinda blows, That ride is iconic.....now there will be no cool place there to propose to someone as the shark jumps out .........lol I mean who wants to be asked in the world of harry twatter?
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:35:19 PM

It'll take the jaws of life to save this ride from demolition.
Mickael writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:50:49 PM

I actually skipped this attraction way back in the day figuring that it was probably just as lame as King Kong and Earthquake were. Now I wish I had checked it out. The movie is one of my favorites. Instead, I went on Back to the Future ride about 11 times. ...now that was a travesty when they got rid of it. BTTF is still as popular and relevant as it was back in 1991. ..well, almost. I heard the ride was shut down because it cost too much to fix the screen that was tearing apart and the film(s) stock was getting washed out...losing it's luster..even had scratches in the print like the ones you see at the dollar movie theaters. Now that's one they should of redid instead of tear down. I heard there's a Simpsons attraction there now?
technoreaper writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:10:05 PM

I agree with boogiel. I suspect the movie is on the docket for a remake, and when it is complete, a new version of the ride will debut.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:45:44 PM

That would then presume that they're working on a 'Back to the Future' remake as well.

Is that your contention?
technoreaper writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 9:56:11 PM

Haha minkowski, you never know...
Assclown writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 12:51:18 AM

Come on people let's be real here, the ride sucked. Iconic maybe, but it still sucked about as much as Lohag's vag eats souls
English_Bloke82 writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 8:30:00 AM

Read it originally as they were going to close the "Jews" ride. This is rubbish though, it may be old and corny but that's why it is so good.
minicooperz writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 3:40:09 PM

instead of jaws, they should put that 2-headed shark from carmen f*ckin electra's new movie
vincere01 writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 11:05:15 PM

When they closed the back to the future ride that part became dead to me. I would have kept going for decades if they had it. Now....they get none of my money. They even closed that ride in Hollywood and tokyo! Bastards. All I got left now is to go to universal Hollywood on a day when they arnt using the backlot. At least I can still walk the streets of hill valley and see the clocktower. Well, what parts didn't burn down that is. Clocktower and half the shops are left. The dinner and movie theater are no more. Damn element of fire that eats element of oxygen.
the_chosen_one writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 10:00:20 PM

This makes me sad...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved