WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Fast Five" Producer Developing "Starship Troopers" Reboot

Posted: December 3rd, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Fast Five" Producer Developing "Starship Troopers" RebootSubmit Comment
Neal Moritz, the producer of "Fast Five" and "I Am Legend," has decided to reboot Paul Verhoeven's 1997 sci-fi film "Starship Troopers." He has hired Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz (Thor, X-Men: First Class) to write the script.

The original film takes place in the distant future where young men and women are encouraged to join the military in order to wage a full scale war against a planet of alien insects. It stars Casper Van Dien, Denise Richards, Jake Busey and Neil Patrick Harris.

The movie wasn't a bit hit, grossing $121 million worldwide on a $105 million budget. It did, however, spawn two straight-to-DVD sequels.

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 8:59:30 PM

Thanks Hollywood for ruining one of my favorite scifi movies I remember I saw this movie on my bday it was the sh*t

That's 3 verhoeven movies now
Robocop,total recall now this one
boogiel writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 10:34:48 PM

Damn you Hollywood morons! It is the sequels that needed to be redone... not the original, You dimwits!!
hollafoadolla writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 10:37:18 PM

starship troopers is the sh*t. too bad none of the actors have a career except for NPH. hopefully it will be good, but then again, it is Hollywood.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:09:09 AM

WTF!!!!
Rambo writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:42:56 AM

don't think it will happen.
animositysteve writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:13:05 AM

If they are rebooting the actual film, that's the worst idea I have ever heard. If they are re-adapting the novel into a new movie, that's a fantastic idea. Starship Troopers was one of the worst adaptations of a classic sci-fi novel ever. Movie was OK, but it was like the Heinlen novel in name only. The book deserves better. Of course, there's no mention of that above, so more than likely it's just another garbage remake.
trailertrash writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:32:58 AM

Love the original, Never bothered with either of the sequels.

Well they seem to be remaking most of Paul Verhoeven's films it was only a matter of time this would suffer the same fate.
Ranger writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 2:40:31 AM

What everyone has said.

DOESN'T NEED REBOOTING (and the sequels sucked big time)!

Hollywood... f*ck, seriously, go play in traffic.

SquirrelFlyer writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 3:35:12 AM

Hollywood is dry out of original ideas


...Would you like to know more?
Johnnyb writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 5:02:05 AM

Hollywood, could we now have a reboot or remake of Basic Instinct, we another sexy bitch actress of the moment, if you please.....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 5:47:45 AM

HEY HOLLYWOOD!!!!

What about "Showgirls"?
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 6:27:35 AM

hmm...this is one remake I want since that movie sh*t all over the amazing book it was based on.
nawtnt writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 7:25:20 AM

I hate remakes but the remake has good writers Ashley Edward Miller and Zack Stentz so all this remake needs is a good director and maybe the film has more scares and chills than ever.

I think Hollywood should stop remaking 80's and 90's classic movies.

Hollywood should realises there are other ideas like making video game movie adaption because there are so many like Halo, Call Of Duty, Assissain's Creed and etc.

Just remaking a classic, it is going to ruin the classic movies.
President Baltar writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 11:35:49 AM

@nawtnt
It doesn't need a good director or writer, it needs to not be remade, is what.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:46:02 PM

"It did, however, spawn two straight-to-DVD sequels."

You speak as if that's the successful side of the coin.

"Thanks Hollywood for ruining one of my favorite scifi movies"

Shut the f*ck up stupid. They're remaking the book into a new film, not time-traveling back to 1997 to f*ck-up Verhoeven's script, you chiquita banana-eating imbecile.

and the film cold use a good remake. it's nothing like the book at all. Verhoeven's film was pure camp and parody, and though it's a cult classic with men under the mental age of 12, it's not particularly clever, funny or enjoyable as anything more than it's most generous definition: 130 minutes of jarring sci-fi schlock horror.
minkowski writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 1:55:08 PM

Also: the first film isn't bright. How anyone could watch the film and not wonder just how anything in it is remotely possible in real life, I've no clue, but I'll wager there's idiots out there like Bando who think he's watching a reality show.

How do alien 'bugs' launch some sort of organic bullet through an atmosphere identical to earth's, into asterooids millions of miles away, causing them to then 'ricochet' towards earth, recisely hitting a pinprick city?

That's like spitting on a falling marble thirty miles away, causing it to then fly across the Atlantic obliterating the Eiffel Tower.

Imagine the enegery those aliens would need just to toss a penny off the planet!

How does the city in question go boom without also devastating the earth? The dinosaurs were killed with less.

Why don't the humans just selectively nuke the planet? Oh, that's right, they can't get violently gore Verhoeven-style if they actually do something intelligent like stay off the arid, nearly lifeless planet surface.

And what do these huge bugs eat? No ecology. No lifeforms, save them. Water? Food? Nothing there but them, and yet they mange to grow to fantastic sizes in an environment of relatively low oxygen and no other flora and fauna.

Idiotic movie for idiotic male minds. Like Bando.
DeVries writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 4:50:29 PM

f*ck it... Robocop, Total Recall and Starship Troopers will all get rapped by Hollywood. They will never do better, just put f*cking CGI all over and pussies to act, like Tatum, Jane, and even probably Bieber. Rocobunt, Total Buttf*ck and Gayship Troopers.
Rambo writes:
on December 3rd, 2011 at 7:08:17 PM

they will probably make it PG-13 in 3D and with jaden smith as the hero.
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 1:47:40 AM

@Rambo - don't give them any such ideas please.

Hollywood can reboot all they want. They won't see a dime from me (nor would they care).

The only reboot I've seen (that I was against initially) that I could stomach (because the original didn't need rebooting... as usual) is 'The Longest Yard' with Sandler. But that one surprised me. Still not even close to the raw grittiness of the original, but it did dare to copy a great story and make some ballsy differences.

No other reboots come to mind... anyone?
Ranger writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 1:49:56 AM

Besides, these reboots aren't made for someone my age (stuck on the original movies). They're good movies re-done for the younger $-spending audience that has a theater night once a week.

'Oh, hey... wow. Just say The Longest Yard, it was great... have you seen it?' 'Yeah... 31 years ago (from original to Sandler's version), ya douche!'
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 10:26:18 AM

can u imagine in the year 2055 people will look back and reminisce on back in the day films and be like okay which one are u talking about they made like 20 f*ckin spider mans?!
elrei writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 11:56:06 AM

ĄShower scene in 3D!
vincere01 writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 10:47:43 PM

The original was decent, star wars it was not. So besides having a huge franchise it was in the shadow of I thought it was a good movie. Ironside was the best part about it. Well besides the best friend sex and nudity she was hot. Her death scene was well acted by her and casper. But it had a campiness to it which I know was part of the point and was on purpose but when I first saw it I didn't really care for that. In repeat viewings though I have grown to like that however. Especially nph. Things I still can't stand though are Denise Richards for one, horrible emotionless actress. And that guy she is with at the end was horrible too. I hated that whole section with them. Terrible acting all around and it kind of ruined it for me. Plus the space special effects were awful even for its time. All time favourite part of the movie though has to be when that big hick blows his own head off, hands down classic.
vincere01 writes:
on December 4th, 2011 at 10:51:00 PM

Anyone see the last one? Straight to dvd with casper returning and jolene blalock?? I was very disappointed watching it on netflix. Hooorrrible story and special effects. Sets looked like complete sh*t. Could easily tell they were not outside but on a sound stage. And.....no boldness blalock nudity???? That was the only reason I watched it. Bad bad bad bad bad movie
Lulupendragon writes:
on December 5th, 2011 at 1:27:24 PM

@Nawtnt: They already tried to make a Halo movie, but that idea fell though. Also movies based on videogames are all hit or miss. Take the Super Mario Bros movie. Some people might argue that it was ok others think it was total crap. Then we have the Resident Evil movies that get about the same criticism. Point is, if you make a movie based on a game you have to please the fans, and some just don't do that.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved