WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Discuss: Why Did TV Ownership Drop for First Time in History?

Posted: December 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Discuss: Why Did TV Ownership Drop for First Time in History?Submit Comment
According to Nielsen Media Research, the amount of households owning television sets has been going up each year ever since the company started tracking this information in 1970. But the rising trend of TV ownership has been leveling off in recent years, and now the number has finally dropped for the first time in history.

The decline was only 1%, and considering that the number of households has gone up, the drop is insignificant. But TV ownership among the key adult 18-49 demo dropped even more, down by 2.7%. Many believe that the decrease in TV sets has a lot to do with the fact that people have been leaning toward the internet to get their entertainment. This is likely why the number of households with DVD players has also slipped to 85%. And believe it or not, but 57% of households still own VCRs, down from 90% seven years ago.

But it's not all bad news for television. According to Nielsen, the amount of time spent watching TV is on its way up. And the company expects that 41% of all households will own DVRs in 2012 and 51% will have digital cable. The number of TV sets in each home has also gone up. 56% of all households now have three or more sets each.

Questions: Do you watch more of online content or television? Do you still own a VCR? How many television sets are in your household?

Source: KansasCity


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
sleepingshane writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:08:04 PM

Because people are aware or waking up to the media mind control propaganda bullsh*t thats pushed on us through it 24/7. its called the demon box for a reason the first TV invented wasn't invented for entertainment it was for trying to contact spirits of the dead in the ether. its an occult weapon being used by the illuminati to subvert our minds!!!!!
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:17:26 PM

Ooooooooook. Well then.

So, Alex, you already answered your question: the internet. But really, is 1% that far outside the margin of error for these types of statistical studies? Maybe black folks just stopped stealing them?
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:23:20 PM

^troll and/or dumbass.

The reason given makes perfect sense, you can find anything online for free, even live streaming sports. That being said it still surprises me that TV ownership has dropped. I certainly don't know anyone that doesn't own one. I have a number of friends who don't have cable for the reason above.
As for me, I own two HDTVs, one in my living room the other in my bedroom. I have digital cable, but no DVR...also, for the reason above. If I miss a broadcast I just download it.
Haven't owned a VCR in 9+ years.
Osiris3eagle writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:23:57 PM

dumbass troll comment was for sleepingshane.
OneTime writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:43:50 PM

internet is the new tv

SHABOING
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:44:34 PM

Oh, it's ok. I haven't been called something negative in an hour or two, so I was feeling unloved.

And I used to have a VHS player, sure, because there are some movies that just have not made it to DVD or BluRay, believ it or not, and I hated to part with those old copies.

And no, I don't watch TV on the TV. I purloin the eps or grab the discs and go from there. I refuse to indulge the puerile notion that I must endure insipid commercials to endure insipid entertainment.
John1017 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:50:12 PM

no surprise here, with all the horrible programming on tv these days, there is really nothing good on, ever, I have about 3 shows I really watch, and can get them all on the internet, really the only thing that keeps my tv on is espn/sports, as more and more sports go online I imagine the tv ownership numbers will continue to decline. I have a DVD/VCR combo that I never use,, two TVs in my household
markoz writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:53:03 PM

Well,I have a TV which I don't watch, a DVD player and a VCR which still comes in handy
The Derp Knight writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:08:18 PM

Okay, this may be the most uninteresting article I have ever read on this site.
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:18:28 PM

What's a TV anymore?
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:43:57 PM

i watch lots of TV, but i also watch TV online also.. Infact ive been watching more online tv then i have on the tv lol (Dexter) Great show :P
Johnnyb writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 10:18:52 PM

It is obviously that this was gonna happen..... TV canīt offer all free movies that are or not in theaters and also in internet, I can watch free porn whenever I wanted, with or without been watch it. Meanwhile TV only offers movies that have been show 2 or 3 years ago, which lost my interest. And porn, well, you just have to call the cable company which will be very embarassment of the service you are asking for......
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 10:52:22 PM

The drop is because more people are out raping, stealing more cars, dealing drugs and robbing 7-11's is why. And honestly, all the above is a bit more fun than most of what's on TV.
Damon242 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 10:53:14 PM

computers
Whitelock84 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 11:39:46 PM

Have to admit it, the only time we use the TV in this house is to watch a DVD (and that's only if it's more than one person, usually I just pop something in on my laptop).
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 12:19:52 AM

Porn I hope.
NotAmerican writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 1:11:08 AM

1) People (read: Americans) have realised they need to get their fat asses to the gym*

2) Why would I want to watch TV on a 27 inch monitor when I can watch it on a TV double that size?

3) Commercials can easily be bypassed by fast forwarding.

4) Haven't seen a VCR since 2004.

5) 5 TVs in the house, we (brother and I) only use 3.

6) They don't have digital cable in this country, only satellite.

7) Long live TV.

*Just kidding. Americans will never go to the gym.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 1:39:06 AM

I don't know how it works in the US, but here in Sweden we must pay a fee for owning a TV. If you don't pay it, you don't officially own a TV and don' get included in the statistic. It can also be that everyone now owns a TV and the market is getting full.

I never watch TV anymore, unless there's a certain sporting event, but I USE my TV to watch DVD's and I hook up my computer to the TV and watch the stuff I want to see. I could never watch a movie on a computer-screen.
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 1:44:28 AM

tv is dumb
Maacho writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 8:04:43 AM

I watch more content on the TV than television. But through play channels, downloadable shows, movies etc with HDMI cable... Have 2 working VCR ;)) and we have about 7 TVs in the home, not all in work though .
j-man writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 11:24:09 AM

Because the blacks keep on stealing them!
Ranger writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 11:30:58 AM

Hey, no argument here.

Gotta go. One of them just climbed in my window.

f*ck!
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 12:16:30 PM

Still have a vcr , tried using it the other day just for white and giggles. Thatch thing is loud as f*ck! Anyways, I have a large bluray collection now and play a lot of games on my xbox, so my 50 inch plasma 1080 hd Tv is a very good friend of mine. I don't want Tv live, EVER. I dvr shows I want to watch and watch them when I have time. Sometimes a month later even. I love watching nfl games on my Tv too. I dvr them and watch them on a 2 hour delay so I can fast forward commercials and by the time its ending I have caught up to the live broadcast. I don't really use my computer for much anymore though. Id say 95% of my internet use is through my phone now. Call it lazy if u want, but when I can do what I want on my phone almost as fast as I can on my computer its not worth getting off my couch then. Plus I use my phone a lot at work. I have 2 tv's a blu ray player, 2dvd players and one vcr
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 12:17:25 PM

sh*t * not white. Alas the phone does have a few drawbacks lol
seveltoto writes:
on November 5th, 2017 at 1:40:18 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved