WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Tom Cruise to Star in "Groundhog Day"-Type Sci-Fi Film "All You Need Is Kill"

Posted: December 1st, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Tom Cruise to Star in "Groundhog Day"-Type Sci-Fi Film "All You Need Is Kill"Submit Comment
Tom Cruise is set to star in Warner Bros' upcoming "All You Need Is Kill" film, rumored to be called "We Mortals Are," which is based on the Japanese novel by Hiroshi Sakurazaka. The new "Groundhog Day"-type movie will be directed by Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity).

Plot: The story centers on a new recruit in a war against aliens who finds himself caught in a time loop in which he wakes up in the past after having been killed on the battlefield. As the soldier's death and resurrection repeat, his skills as a soldier grow as he attempts to change his fate.

While Cruise has yet to sign the contract, he already verbally agreed to take the role and the script has been re-written to fit his age. According to recent reports, the ending of the film will be different from the ending in the book. Shooting is expected to begin late 2012.

Source: Variety


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:40:12 PM

Im just hoping Mii4 is going to be good

There havent been many good ones this year
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:41:25 PM

I like Cruise. He brings a lot of energy to even the worst of his films. You can't fault him professionally, and even though the this film's idea seems less then seminal, he should make it at least watchable, a la Knight and Day.
OneTime writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:42:22 PM

i like his movies...not gonna lie
c-prime writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:46:14 PM

I don't even need to read the article. That pic... that ridiculous pic...

I bet the person on the receiving end of that gesture/facial expression combo couldn't sleep for months. (And no doubt ol' girl Katie Holmes heads the table of that insomniac support group.)
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 7:51:57 PM

-the
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:03:17 PM

-then +than. Wow.

"Plot: The story centers on a new recruit in a war against aliens who finds himself caught in a time loop in which he wakes up in the past after having been killed on the battlefield. (how this f*cking happens is anyone's f*cking guess) As the soldier's death and resurrection repeat, his skills as a soldier grow as he attempts to change his fate."

So, Groundhog Code, or Source Day, right? Yep. Brilliant. Ka-ching!
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:06:49 PM

Mink

Yea

Knight and Day was good better than I thought it would be
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:11:58 PM

Knight and Day was watchable in spite of everything working against it, specifically the script and Diaz, but Cruise saved the film by being himself...
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:24:36 PM

...but I already said that, so...
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:28:21 PM

He sure is suckn up alotta action rolls. Get'em while you still can. Would like to see more along the lines of Collateral
Crazyhorse writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:33:55 PM

Yea your right about Diaz

Scarlett Johanson would have worked and looked better
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:34:31 PM

^^Good luck. Michael Mann lost his nut.
boogiel writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 8:59:02 PM

Mehh it's top gun meets groundhog day. I think I'll pass.
pornfly writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:00:20 PM

Damn there goes my bubble
Johnnyb writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:25:00 PM

"All You Need is Kill"...... Well, actually he already kill this movie with his performance!!!!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 9:48:35 PM

Even though he's batsh*t crazy, I still love the guy and watch his movies.
Cannon writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 11:26:12 PM

Sounds like the plot to Scientology.
masht7 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 11:55:46 PM

It's 'Groundhog Day', 'Source Code' and his own 'Minority Report' mashed together in a big mixing bowl.
Tyrkae writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 12:20:17 AM

I read this book it was QUITE GOOD but i think they need to give something like this to an up and comer not some 50 some guy

I highly suggest you read this book and the parth they dont tell you is that its not just a soldier this guy is in a Mech suit which will film great
Rambo writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 3:19:45 AM

Rated G for gay.
President Baltar writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 3:58:14 AM

Tom Cruise must be some kind of immortal or something. Don't care for his religion much, but I admire his skills as an actor. I shall definitely be watching this.
Znavoy writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 6:05:56 AM

sounds great! looking forward to a new sci fi movie.. seems like 2012 will be the year of the sci fi films ever since 2009-2010-2011 which was very very low with sci fi movies...
vincere01 writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 12:38:53 PM

Call him batsh*t or weird. But he is a great actor. He brings intensity and conviction to every movie. I'm willing to bet he will be top 5 in effort given. He throws himself into roles completely. Take collateral for example. Everyone gave him sh*t when it was announced. Saying he is a pretty boy goody tooshoues who can't be believed as a cold blooded assassin/sociopath. But when u actually watch the movie its amazing. He is lost in that character and 100% becomes him. That was a completely engrossing character for him. Great job. I don't give two sh*ts if hes jumping on couches or getting in fights with Matt lauer. If he keeps giving me good movies with great performences like he always does, if he keeps giving 110% effort like that? Hes got my money every time.
minkowski writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 2:21:02 PM

I'm sorry, but how the hell can anyone give more than a 100%? There's no such thing as giving 110%. It's just a cliche. You can give all you have, but that's still only 100%...
MarsVendz writes:
on December 2nd, 2011 at 3:37:48 PM

i can dig this concept and i think cruise is a great actor even tho hes a nutjob in real life but lets face it most of the great artists out there usually are a little off ...hopefully he doesnt drop out since he hasnt signed on yet

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved