WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Scarface" Remake Hires "Training Day" Writer

Posted: November 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Scarface" Remake Hires "Training Day" WriterSubmit Comment
Back in September it was announced that Universal Pictures was developing another version of "Scarface," which was first released in 1932 and then turned into the iconic Al Pacino film in 1983.

At the time, the studio was looking for writers. And now comes word that David Ayer (Training Day) has been hired to pen the new movie. "Scarface" will be a remake, but will have very little to do with the first two films, except the title and general premise, which revolves around an immigrant who forces his way into the criminal establishment in pursuit of a twisted version of the American dream.

"This is a fantasy for me, I can still remember when I saw the film at thirteen and it blew my mind," said Ayer. "I sought it out; I went after it hard. I see it as the story of the American dream, with a character whose moral compass points in a different direction. That puts it right in my wheelhouse."

He added: "I studied both the original Ben Hecht-Howard Hawks movie and the DePalma-Pacino version and found some universal themes. I'm still under the hood figuring out the wiring that will translate, but both films had a specificity of place, there was unapologetic violence, and a main character who socially scared the sh*t out of people, but who had his own moral code. Each was faithful to the underworld of its time. There are enough opportunities in the real world today that provide an opportunity to do this right. If it was just an attempt to remake the 1983 film, that would never work."

Source: Deadline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 42 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 6:14:09 AM

Will be as successful as new Point Break
Stop bein a d*ckrider and create your own movie without the Scarface moniker
Taco writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 6:28:27 AM

Another classic ruined by a pointless remake.
WV-Films writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 6:59:38 AM

So what's he gonna be pushin now? Meth? Russian wives?
Or....who gives a sh*t....
boogiel writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:08:42 AM

That's it. I'm now officially convinced that Hollywood creativity is dead. Expect godfather remake/reboot within a year or two.
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:18:17 AM

When is somebody gonna remake Twilight with actual hot chicks and actual men
pornfly writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:27:18 AM

Middle eastern scarface slangin drums of oil. With Leonardo Dicaprio as Sonjay Marrakashakkkkkkkkkka
trailertrash writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 8:14:24 AM

^ lol
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 9:30:43 AM

Pornfly-lol

Jaws remake is next!!
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 10:34:56 AM

call it something different instead of mooching off the existing title name
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 10:55:51 AM

Will Tony actually bang his fugly sister on his desk in a pile of coke this time?
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 10:57:29 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-4GsCEopbd4

I wood.


(yep... spelled that right too).
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 10:58:11 AM

Seriously, when you sister is coked up and shooting at you there's nothing left to do BUTT f*ck her!


(spelled that right as well).
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 12:00:22 PM

This makes me want to be sick and sniff a big line of cocaine out of pure spite!
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 1:07:58 PM

while they're at it they can just remake twilight, jaws, psycho, another psycho and f*ck it lets also remake cowboys and aliens...
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 2:36:13 PM

@ Ranger lol When i first watched the movie i was waiting for him to go all hard raged and f*ck the bitch! At least we got a couple titties!

@ Cinemaisdead
Your Name Is my only comment

This is f*cking stupid, even though Scarface is a remake of a 1930s Film. lol

minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 2:46:30 PM

I'm not against the remake of the remake in general, on the premise that someone would have, and probably did, said the same thing when confronted with the announcement of Brian DePalma's 1983 project.

What I am emphatically against is the plainly apparent and inexcusable fact that 90% of all American films are pure obnoxious garbage, and 60-70% of that 90% is comprised of idiotic and blatantly unneccessary remakes, reboots, spinoffs, sequels, prequels, sidequels and 'creative reimaginings', whatever the f*ck that euphemistic turn of phrase is supposed to mean.

It's time to go back, look at what it means to tell a good story, get the audience invested, and start from scratch. Come up with something genuinely original, fresh and poignant, even if that 'something original' is otherwise outlandish and does a hog stomp all over cinematic norms and conventions.
reyjose writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 2:53:18 PM

Even though this remake will be called Scarface I won't see it as Scarface. You can't blame Hollywood though. Look at what the Batman franchise has done? The last Superman was a hit and you know the next one will be too. How about Star Trek? All have been $$$
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:26:53 PM

Tanman- Yep, or maybe it should be MAINSTREAM CINEMA IS DEAD. There's still hope with international and low budget directors who actually care and treat film as art instead of a business.

Minkowski- Exactly... even a film like Inception which is quite over rated and not the greatest film, at least Nolan had the balls to be original, although I always felt like he dummed it down a bit for the standard retarded movie-goer who sees thinking about a film as too much effort.

With the amount of films that are out now a new idea may be similar to one that's been out in the past maybe an obscure foreign film, but remaking a film like Scarface which is such an iconic film is just ridiculous surely he knows the hatred he's gonna get from real movie fans has he no self respect.

Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:50:32 PM

@Tanman - I hear ya. If he doesn't nail his sister. What's the point in watching this newest version?
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:54:27 PM

I hear Diablo Cody is writing the screenplay. Her take is more modern and sensitive. He doesn't bang his sister, he bangs his brother. I also hear the screenplay is already up for an Academy Award nomination.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:56:28 PM

"I studied both the original Ben Hecht-Howard Hawks movie and the DePalma-Pacino version and found some universal themes."

Yes. They both contain drugs, bitches, guns and violence. Both are titled Scarface. Study's over. Idiot.
KillerCOck writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 5:51:54 PM

As Long as they don't get a white dude 2 play a cuban again im good.
It'd be nice 2 see a nigga in the role doh. Keep things different. First one was a white guy, 2nd one was a cuban (played by a white guy) and da new one could be spanish speaking black dude or something different.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:06:08 PM

Well, to be fair, Al Pacino is Italian, so you have an Italian playing a Cuban, and they're all ultimately derived from the Mediterranean, so...
Johnnyb writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:19:39 PM

Since the first one was an italian coming to america and then a cuban coming to american this one has to do it a black man who would say like this:

"Hey yo motherf*cker, say hello to my little friend, motherf*cker!!!!!"
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:33:03 PM

Clever would be using a black guy, but during slave times. He comes to America as a slave, takes over the plantation and makes all the crackers his bitches.

I haven't expounded on the plot beyond that first thought, but it's more than David Ayer has done, apparently.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 7:53:08 PM

In the other two films, you have two white guys holding big black guns. In the new film, he'll just walk around groping his crotch.

The symbolism wouldn't be missed by many. And Ayers would think it was clever.
c-prime writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 8:17:36 PM

"Clever would be using a black guy..."

Keep that creative adjustment to yourself, minkowski. Given their emulation of recalcitrant criminals and better-off-dead ne'er-do-wells (offscreen and on), by mere "virtue" of the moniker "Scarface", over 90 percent of my people have reserved tickets to see this derivative eyesore ALREADY. A black protagonist would surely push all holdouts (excluding myself) over the precipice of rational decision-making.

Please. I... I just don't think I could live with the shame.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 8:23:44 PM

"would surely push all holdouts (excluding myself) over the precipice of rational decision-making."

Yeah, but the fall wouldn't even skin a knee.
triggax writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 9:36:31 PM

cunnilingus.
minicooperz writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 10:45:04 PM

@BadChadB33 re: Jaws remake is next!!

too late. there's that crap jurassic shark and carmen electra's sh*tty two headed shark attack out already
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 11:35:45 PM

@mink,

Random thing i heard about Scarface awhile back.
Al pacino was so broke during the filming that he needed to borrow money for the bus to get to the set!

Ive also heard about how people hated the fact that they were remaking the "Classic" 1930s Version. Scarface wasnt popular till Preteens in the 90s found out about it and thought it was awesome cuz of the violence and told all they're friends at school, or at least thats how i found out about it lol
triggax writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 11:58:25 PM

You do realize he already had these films under his belt by the time he had made Scarface?

Author! Author!
Cruising
...And Justice for All
Bobby Deerfield
Dog Day Afternoon
The Godfather: Part II
Serpico
Scarecrow
The Godfather

I'd love to see where the f*ck you read that bullsh*t.

Honestly, are you serious? He was already a 3 time academy award nominee and one time winner by the time they made Scarface, you really think he was taking the f*cking bus?

Not too mention, DePalma sought after Pacino for the role of Tony Montana. You think a director like DePalma, at the time, would have had his lead scrumming for change to take the f*cking bus to the set?

Honestly dude, is there a single person that uses this website that knows his/her *sshole from a hole in the ground?

Think about it, academy award winning lead actor, taking the bus to the set.

I can only imagine, filmed mostly in Miami. Al Pacino, The Godfather, on the bus with a bunch of Mexicans just tryin' to pay the bills, use your f*ckin' head man.

Even if this was the case and he was too broke to afford a car, which I can assure you there are plenty of in Miami, why wouldn't the production team have someone limo drive his ass on to the set? Really.

He roled with f*ckin' Sidney Lumet and f*cking Francis Coppola in 1983, Robert DeNiro.. Where the f*ck do people get their facts from these days.

Yeah he must have been so f*cking broke. f*cking Serpico was too broke to make it to the set of Scarface, the most famous lead actor in hollywood in 1983 was too f*cking broke to make it to the set. Bullsh*t.

I am obviously very upset about this.
triggax writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 12:18:19 AM

Sorry, tanman. That wasn't intentionally supposed to sound so harsh.
CharlestonChewbacca writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 1:16:04 AM

every rapper is sucking producer d*ck right now trying to be the lead. And taking it in the butt for an original song by them on the soundtrack.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 2:31:17 AM

"Random thing i heard about Scarface awhile back"

I'm confused... what part of that sentence does it say that i knew al pacino and heard it from him personally. That's right it doesn't. I Was just sharing a rumor that i had HEARD. so don't get all strung up man! i love the guy too!

And i Re-looked it up. i was wrong
"Gasp!" People are wrong now a days ?

"In 1966, Pacino studied under legendary acting coach Lee Strasberg, finding acting a therapeutic outlet in a youth which saw him depressed and so impoverished he could barely afford the bus fares required to get him to his next audition"

"Next audition" not set. and most likely before he was famous. my bad.. only human..
KillerCOck writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 3:47:58 AM

An Italian White guy is a white guy.
A Polish White guy is a White guy.
A German White guy is still a white guy.
A Canadian/American white guy is still a white guy. You follow?

Ima Racist accept it. I don't hate people cuz of what they are doh (not dat kinda Racist).

Everyone is a racist doh even if its secretly or at one point in their life .




Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 3:59:08 PM

Hey I am, and I don't even think I've kept it a secret on here.

One day driving... passing a student driver call...

And East Indian instructor was teaching a female Asian how to drive. I laughed my ass off... got on the phone right away and told a friend.

Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 4:45:28 PM

LOL Ranger, Thats Racist.

your A Racist!

And so am I ;)
Ranger writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 10:49:57 PM

High 5 Bro!
seveltoto writes:
on November 5th, 2017 at 1:43:29 AM

sevelace writes:
on December 4th, 2017 at 11:55:47 PM

recreator9 writes:
on December 6th, 2017 at 11:33:21 PM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved