WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Tree of Life" and "Beginners" Tie for Best Film at 2011 Gotham Awards

Posted: November 29th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Tree of Life" and "Beginners" Tie for Best Film at 2011 Gotham AwardsSubmit Comment
On Monday night, the Gotham Independent Film Awards were handed out, making "Beginners" and "The Tree of Life" the two winners in the Best Feature category. This is the first time that two films won the award the same year. "Beginners" also won in the Best Ensemble category.

Previous winners include "Winter's Bone" and "The Hurt Locker," which both ended up being nominated in the Best Picture category during the Academy Awards. Since "Beginners" and "The Tree of Life" were able to beat George Clooney's "The Descendants," which was the favorite, both films will likely receive a boost for the popular awards. Other nominees were "Meek's Cutoff" and "Take Shelter."

Also during the Gotham Awards, Felicity Jones won in the Breakthrough Actor category for "Like Crazy" and Dee Rees won Breakthrough Director for "Pariah."

Source: Gotham Independent Film Awards


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 13 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 8:12:36 PM

Really? i never saw the tree of life but was thinking about it. until i read This:

One theater accidentally Was showing the film in the wrong order. let me explain. The Film got all messed up. the order was like End, Middle,Beginning. And NOBODY Who watched it in that theater noticed that it was in the wrong order. so if i can watch a movie in the wrong order and not even notice, then yea.. i'm not watching it
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 8:31:14 PM

Any film that has Brad Pitt looking younger at 40 something than most men in their twenties has to have something going on, I guess. Hope to look as fresh as him at that age. Should have titled it Fountain of Youth instead of Tree of Life. But hey. Someone had to turn The Fountain's theme into a title and win some awards, even though The Fountain was universally snubbed.

Oh look, I'm rambling.
boogiel writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 9:40:24 PM

Gotham awards? I'd be surprise if they didn't choose Dark knight as the best movie. Oh, wait...nope, they won't.
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 9:42:31 PM

Brad looks young because Jolie sucks out his sewage.
Rambo writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 9:56:19 PM

he doesn't look young me.he looked good until jolie started sucking his liquids a few years ago but since he's loaded(with money)they make him look young but once he retires in 3 years he'll start getting wilford briemly on us.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 11:28:14 PM

Cant wait to see him World war Z! It'll beat the record for most money earned by a zombie film easily (Zombieland 75m) Unless you hate zombie movie, and i know you negative f*ckers do lol
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 1:25:56 AM

I'm surprised that The Beginners won, since it didn't receive that good of reviews when it was released. Not bad reviews or anything, just nothing special.

*Read following passage in a whispering voice*

I'm not surprised that The Tree of Life won. It is the sort of "intellectual" movie that juries like. Me? Outside the acid-friendly space section, it was a pretentious piece of sh*t that lead nowhere. Or was it profound?

Haven't seen Take Shelter yet, but I sort of wanted it to win.
Ranger writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 2:42:54 AM

'... and i know you negative f*ckers do lol'

lol.
Bullit writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 5:02:48 AM

@Tanman: Having watched the movie, I kept saying to myself how marvellous this film is for the 3/4 of it as the last 1/4 got me really lost and I wondered what the f*ck was it about ! So, maybe, the version I saw, was also in the wrong order.

It's a pitty though as Terence Malick is one of the finest director out there who has a great sense of poetry and beauty that no other director has. But he always ending up botching the story towards the end of his movies.
Bullit writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 5:04:36 AM

Correction: marvelous.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 2:18:41 AM

@ Bullit

I know lol the second i heard bout that i just stopped and said "Yea.. i' seeing something different."

Don't get me wrong it could be a good movie.. but like i said, if you can watch a movie in the wrong order and notice... then the movie most have been confusing as f*ck!

IE Memento!
Bullit writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 10:32:01 AM

Yes indeed, Memento is the perfect example.

Cheers,
jordanss123 writes:
on July 3rd, 2017 at 10:14:59 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved