WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Terry Gilliam Says "Transformers" is Garbage

Posted: November 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Terry Gilliam Says "Transformers" is GarbageSubmit Comment
In an interview with director Terry Gilliam (Twelve Monkeys, Brazil), the helmer revealed that he doesn't understand movies like "Transformers," which he said he forced himself to watch during a flight.

"You just sit there and watch the explosions," Gilliam said. "I couldn't tell you what the movie was about. The movie hammers the audience into submission. They are influenced by videogames, but in video games at least you are immersed; in these movies you're left out."

He added: "In films, there's so much overt fantasy now that I don't watch a lot because everything is possible now. There's no tension there. People can slide down the side of a building that's falling and they don't get ripped to shreds? The shots are amazing, but if there is no consequence, no gravity, what's the point? I can't watch Hollywood movies anymore. There's no room for me."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 34 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:02:13 PM

Well, they were sliding down glass under the influence of gravity, Terry, so I think that's at least as plausible as Bruce Willis time traveling just to eat a spider and perform ad hoc bathroom dentistry...
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:02:41 PM

"Terry Gilliam Says "Transformers" is Garbage"

In other news: The hell you say!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:10:42 PM

Breaking news: Someone thinks Transformers is garbage!
In related news: Only retarded girls like Twilight!
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:26:08 PM

Can't you at least recycle garbage?
c-prime writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:38:51 PM

@ minkowski: Glory be, you've returned. (For good this time, I hope.)
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:42:16 PM

For good, for evil. I try not to make the distinction.
pornfly writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:51:18 PM

I heard the sky is blue and water is wet. Is that true too?
Noway MINK u didnt like 12Monkeys?!? Hit the ground running are we?LOL
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:59:14 PM

No, I liked 12 Monkeys (I could make a Casey Anthony jury joke here...), but Terry Gilliam taking on Transformers because it isn't realistic just isn't a credible line of criticism.

Had he said the film(s) has sh*tty acting, lousy dialogue, lots of noise and endless idiotic violence, I would have tossed the man a cookie and said good boy.

But believe or not, I got a bang out of Dark of the Moon. By that I mean I jacked off to Rosie Huntington-White in the back of the nearly empty second-run theater. Worth every bit the $2.50 I paid, I think.
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:29:53 PM

the first one was good.the sequels were crap.
Cain writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:33:45 PM

Bwahahahahaha.........

Gilliam did the Baron Munchausen film and he's bitching about Transformers?

The irony.
technoreaper writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:39:40 PM

minkowski lives???!!! LOL. Where were you, the police academy? Off Federal probation?

Anyways, Terry Gilliam is an idiot.
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:40:47 PM

i left in the middle of that grimm brothers movie.that was crap.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:49:43 PM

The rumors of my death have been greatly exaggerated.

"Anyways, Terry Gilliam is an idiot."

Yep.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:51:01 PM

He has a point

I said that about the last Die Hard movie. Which I thought was good until the stupid plane scene on the interstate.

Yes I do know some folks think the last Die Hard sucked but oh well
Belmondo Bogart writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:51:02 PM

"I can't watch Hollywood movies anymore..."

I concur. I hardly go to the cinemas this year - I think I've gone to the movies twice this year.

I mostly watch movies now pre-1970s.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 9:38:47 PM

Glad I have is approval that they sucked donkey d*ck!!
boogiel writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 9:56:48 PM

Terry Gilliam Says "Transformers" is Garbage

For once, I agree with him.
nope.com writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 10:01:44 PM

no sh*t Terry, welcome back from 2007
cress writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:12:48 PM

I agree with Terry that Transformers is crap. Revenge of the Fallen is one of the worst films ever and Dark of the Moon isn't much better. But he needs to be called out on his work as well. Gilliam has made some sh*tty f*cking films of late. Grimm and that Imaginarium of Dr. p*ssylips flick sucked ass. Oh, and there was a Jeff Bridges turd a few years back.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 12:49:56 AM

Tideland was unforgivable biggest waste of life ever.Taking a sh*t was more exciting.

12 Monkeys and Fear and Loathing are the others I've seen from Gilliam
Raziel writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 3:41:51 AM

yeah no sh*t terry
Adamtheflash writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 3:59:41 AM

"These young whipper snappers are influenced by their pop rocks and super mario cousins!"

Since when is Transformers the sudden standard of Hollywood Terry? And you've done nothing in your career to put you above that standard. Granted, there are some crap movies out there. A lot of crap movies. However, no one is going to say "this movie looks great! It could be the next Dark of the Moon!" Shut up Terry. You're a writer, and yet you find it impossible to put together a cohesive thought. Needless to say, his resume is no more impressive than Bay's. Regardless of your opinion on Transformers, at least Bay is one rich mother f*cka.

@ Minkowski
Could these guys suck your nuts any harder? jk

Cannon writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 5:55:28 AM

I never even bothered watching Dark of the Moon. Sorry, Bay: Fool me once, shame on me. Fool me twice ...I murder your kids.

As for Gilliam, he does seem to be preaching to the choir (which, in this case, is the entire f*cking planet--seriously, who actually likes any of those Transformers movies? f*ck them.), but TG has always been something of a loudmouth critic. The guy disiss Spielberg at the drop of a hat. Itís not uncommon for him to speak out against anything mainstream. For what itís worth, I still dig Time Bandits, yo!

Midgets traveling thought time = awesome.
nawtnt writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 6:21:21 AM

I disagree, Transformers was a great movie necuase it had lots of explosion, lots of action and also a good story.

It would had been better if Gilliam said that Transformers 2 was garbage because that film just had action and action in it.

The film had no story in it and became boring when the acting just got worse and worse.

I think Transformers 3 was way better than ROTF but not great as the first one.

I hope there is no more Transformers movies.
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 8:52:17 AM

if this dude wants to bitch, why doesnt he bitch about twilight.
Damon242 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 10:49:24 PM

First film was fun watching it in the cinemas, didn't need to take it seriously.

The second was terrible, even as just entertainment.

The third I have yet to see.


The key is knowing what kind of film you're going into, and a Michael Bay film? Exactly what was Terry Gilliam expecting to find?
mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 1:51:10 AM

I'm torn by TG's comments. He's definitely got a point- all of the Transformers flicks are crappily written, acted and directed. But they're techincally awesome, obviously, and what (mostly) redeems them is that they generally know what they are- braindead popcorn flicks, 2 hours of mindless fun. At least the first and the third ones were okay in that respect, the second one was pretty awful.

TG has made some pretty lame movies in the past decade, which is frustrating to me, cuz I grew up worshipping his earlier works. I mean, come on, Holy Grail is epically quotable, Time Bandits is awesome, 12 Monkeys is superb, Fear and Loathing is solid, and Brazil is a masterpiece. He's earned a lot of goodwill from a fan such as myself- but he definitely been squandering it with his last few movies.
slumdoggodzilla writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 9:29:59 AM

Hey, retard in residence. Minkowski. He was talking about gravity and physics, not realism per-se. Real physical consequences are engaging, and in 12 Monkeys, real physical consequences were taken on a ride through time, isn't that exciting? If real physical consequences were battling giant robots, that would be fantastic. However, imbeciles, c*ckroaches, idiots like you, are in charge of the CGI, and there's no physical consequence, no reality model. Is the picture clearer now, new generation of complete utter garbage people?
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:30:55 PM

The gravity of which he spoke, idiot, wasn't the explicitly physical quantity, but that of a literary expression, as in 'he didn't understand the gravity of the situation', not gravity as expressed per Newton or Einstein's relativisitic reformulation.

And he explicitly mentioned the scene where Shia and company slide down a glass slided building, wherein they no not 'get ripped to shreds', which is every bit as 'realistic' as some guy getting tossed around in time just so he can remove his teeth because he's somehow being tracked through time, even though the same wizards of the future that can perform said lowjack temporal miracle cannot pinpoint the precise time to which said ad hoc dentist should be sent.

Yeah, very realistic.

The point is that Transformers knows it's pop-rock garbage, and that Terry Gilliam isn't aware he's made one film that has any 'gravity' with popular culture (12 Monkeys), and from then on hasn't made one film anyone, save illiterate cretins such as yourself that have merely taken a momentary refrain from chronic masturbation, will watch.

I just find it funny to reread your post and realize repetitively that you cannot separate 'realistic' consequences from physical reality, and then yet confuse me of making the very same mistake you made, when in fact Terry Gilliam was talking about how one is irrevocably linked to the other within the constraints of most modern action films.

Furthermore, if you knew anything about CGI, you would understand that there's very few other disciplines that are so wholly built on physical laws per the expression of complicated mathematics, and you would also know the responsibility in linking said physical recreations to the 'gravity' of realistic situational expectations is the job of the director and the scriptwriter, not the f*cking army of CGI technicians.

'Imbecile'.
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:32:29 PM

no=do

But why do I even bother for the drive-by trolls?
minkowski writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 4:37:58 PM

I patiently await your patently absurd reply, and your consequent utter destruction.
Man in Black writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 2:33:08 AM

Minks back from holiday and in top form i see . Terry have you met kettle he is also black .
minkowski writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 4:33:07 PM

lol
cress writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 6:20:44 PM

This is good. Never thought I could use a war of words as masturbatation lubricant...

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved