WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Roy Lee on "Poltergeist," "The Grudge," "The Ring" and "Battle Royale" Remakes

Posted: November 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Roy Lee on "Poltergeist," "The Grudge," "The Ring" and "Battle Royale" RemakesSubmit Comment
According to producer Roy Lee, there are remakes of "Poltergeist," "The Ring" and "The Grudge" in the works, with "Poltergeist" being the most realistic. "Battle Royale," however, will likely never be remade for US audiences.

Poltergeist: "The one I'm most excited about is a 'Poltergeist' reboot and that is probably something, hopefully, next year someone will be able to accomplish. I'm in talks with that right now, yeah, with MGM."

The Grudge: "We are looking to do a new version of 'The Grudge,' we just aren't sure what exactly that will be. We've been hearing takes from writers on just what they could bring to the table for a new version, but nothing's official yet."

The Ring: "We're in the same situation with 'The Ring' as we are with 'The Grudge.' We're currently hearing takes to see which direction we should go in, whether it's a third movie or a reboot altogether. We actually are having a script written right now to see if it works in terms of restarting 'The Ring' franchise but nothing official just yet."

Battle Royale: "'Hunger Games' took a lot of wind out of the sails of [a US version of 'Battle Royale'] because of its similar storyline and so I'm not exactly sure any studio - even before 'Hunger Games' - would have taken the creative risks you would have needed to take to make the movie right. Now would be even harder."

Source: DreadCentral, STYD


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 22 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 6:56:31 PM

''Hunger Games' took a lot of wind out of the sails of [a US version of 'Battle Royale'] because of its similar storyline and so I'm not exactly sure any studio - even before 'Hunger Games' - would have taken the creative risks you would have needed to take to make the movie right. Now would be even harder."

Because American's haven't seen Poltergeist, The Grudge and The Ring, and all their many horrible sequels, right?

Sounds like you'd rather just milk extant 'franchises' for name recognition, rather than take a chance on a potential financial failure.
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:11:16 PM

These are all future rejects that will end up collecting dust in a 2.00 bend in some dirt road gas station out in Iowa.
Johnnyb writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:12:54 PM

Well at least he is realistic with Battle Royale, the other ones can just f*ck up!!!!!
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:18:09 PM

"Battle Royale," however, will likely never be remade for US audiences."

Best news for a while.

I'm sure we will see a 'Poltergiest'-movie soon. All the other classics from the 80's have been remade, why should this be any different.
Rape away, mates.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:19:48 PM

I'd rather do the raping, if you don't mind.
pornfly writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:41:03 PM

Rape away MINK welcome back. Wutyado knock sum chick up? Advise on sum movie? Either way glad to have u back.
How can anyone be proud of soo many remakes?
Putting 'a twist' on something doesnt count as an idea,is this the limt to your potential???
SERIOUSLY SICK OF THESE HACKS
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 7:49:26 PM

All those are worthy goals, pornfly, along with 'arson of an inhabited dwelling', for sure, but no, my parole finally came through. But I do thank you.

Anyway, someone send me a basket of fruit when they make a film revolving around a demonically possesssed toaster. Only then will I know Hollywood creativity is back in business again.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:20:15 PM

I think they'll just rehash the original scripts, throw an 's' on the end of each title, and call it a day.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 9:01:05 PM

Welcome back Mink.

Maybe Poltergeist, but f*ck these other ones.
The Tall Man writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 10:21:20 PM

Remakes of remakes... f*cking unbelievable.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:36:45 PM

Poltergeist never needs to be remade (Jo-Beth Williams gave me serious wood).

So, f*ck off and die Hollywood!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:58:24 PM

So does Carol-Ann's older sister in that movie!
Ba-boing!
Ranger writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 12:03:57 AM

Yeah... eating pickles and ice cream... lol.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 1:03:58 AM

Poltergeist: Remake would be f*cking retarded, why Remake a Classic ? Whats next, The Godfather !?

The Ring and The Grudge:
Who Gives a sh*t lol Nothing can save those franchises Right now, id Personally Recommend turning them into the straight to dvd market Like Wrong turn.

And lastly Battle Royale.
wtf is battle royale ? lol No offence but ive never heard of it lol
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 1:08:54 AM

@ Mink

Its funny cuz the other day i actually went back and looked up your profile, randomly thought "Wtf happened to mink" and here you are.. lol

"demonically possesssed toaster"
Has "Demonic Toys" and "Puppet master" Met their match ? lol!
trailertrash writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 3:07:11 AM

Roy Lee is excited about making a film that has already been done before, Major Fail ...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 5:10:53 AM

Battle Royale is one of those filsm so crazy it wouldn't even work in America. Even Michael Bay the godfather of pyrotechnics wouldn't be able to handle the explosion of violence the original portrayed.
NotAmerican writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 6:18:48 AM

Boring X4, especially Poltergeist.
Kill-the-director writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 7:37:38 PM

how are they going to reboot the ring. Instead of a vhs its a blu-ray this time?
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 8:50:28 PM

No, even worse. A clip caught with an iPhone.
Donyae 420 writes:
on November 30th, 2011 at 1:12:58 AM

Poltergeist is my personal fav because 10 mins where I live is the real house & i've been there many times.7 out of 8 houses on the street were all haunted.Google 803 Poppets Way,Crosby Tx.Im so f*cking ready 2 see a real take on the original classic.
Tanman32123 writes:
on December 1st, 2011 at 11:39:21 AM

@ donyae 420

I Feel you man, my childhooh home was haunted, me,my mom and my brothers lived on the 3rd floor. and my aunt and uncle and their kids lived on the second floor right under us. whenever we would leave to go to my grammas they would here babies crying and people screaming and yelling. chair be scratched along the floors, and when we where in the house ud have the feel that u were constantly watched. lol me and my brothers always said we were talking to people in our rooom :P

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved