WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" Nears $500 Million in 10 Days

Posted: November 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" Nears $500 Million in 10 DaysSubmit Comment
"The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1" may be giving men seizures, but it continues to dominate at the domestic box office. The film has grossed another $42 million over the Thanksgiving weekend, bringing its domestic total to $221 million and it's worldwide total to nearly $500 million in just ten days.

Disney's "The Muppets" landed in second place with roughly $30 million. The film has a 98% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes and cost only $45 million to make. It will easily make its money back. "The entire goal was to bring back the Muppets, and this great opening signifies that we've done just that," said the studio.

"Happy Feet" took third place with a current domestic total of $43 million, which is how much the first film earned during its opening weekend. But it was still enough to beat the animated comedy "Arthur Christmas" and Martin Scorsese's "Hugo."

"Arthur Christmas" opened to $12.7 million and has a 92% fresh rating. But even if you add the foreign numbers, which add up to $22 million, that's still not enough to earn back the $95 million it cost to produce the movie. Sony feels otherwise, stating "It's a Christmas story that will resonate more and more as we near the holiday."

"Hugo," meanwhile, grossed $11.3 million, but just from 1,277 theaters. The 3D film has a 97% fresh rating and will likely expand to more screens by next weekend. The goal has been to release the film slowly in order to build buzz. The strategy might prove itself to be risky since the budget is north of $150 million.

On the specialty side, four films performed very well. George Clooney's "The Descendants" grossed another $7 million from just 400 theaters. The black-and-white silent film "The Artist" scored one of the top openings of the year with $52,604 from each of the four theaters. David Cronenberg's "A Dangerous Method" took in $45,500 from each of its four theaters. And "My Week With Marilyn" grossed $1.7 million from 244 theaters. All of the films have high fresh ratings and will likely be award contenders.

Click here to read our "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 33 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Dekead writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 10:45:51 PM

Hm no ones broke after all!!
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 10:59:13 PM

What scares me is what part 2 will do in a year :(
vincere01 writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 11:09:04 PM

Part two? It makes men's docks explode the world over. With part 1 they started with your brain...wearing down your will with seizures. Part 2 will go after your d*ck. I'm already crafting my tinfoil jockstrap. Who's with me?
vincere01 writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 11:09:49 PM

d*cks * not docks. Damn phone....
bandolero999 writes:
on November 27th, 2011 at 11:49:18 PM

and i'm glad i didnt contribute to that 500 million.but oh well
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 3:17:31 AM

i saw it for free.f*cking boring as hell and the cliffhanger is predictable as she becomes a vampire.hope i spoiled it for fans right now.
Kurskij writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 3:25:52 AM

Am yet to watch any of those.

Tried to watch Eclipse, as it was reported to be the most tolerable of the bunch, but couldn't.

These series is an insult to cinema.
Bullit writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 4:54:57 AM

@Rambo: I hope you did spoil it. I can't stand this sh*t.

@Kurskij: It's more an insult to the genre than to the cinema. I've always like the writing of Braham Stocker; the best in his kind is definitely Frank Langella's "Dracula" (1979) and of course, F.F. Coppola's 1992. The rest is irrelevant. But this Twilight sh*t is unbelievably Boring ! Pattinson should have remained liked Kutscher: a bloody catwalk model.
trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:17:16 AM

Bullit

Agree on Frank Langella's Dracula that was a good movie, Can't stand Francis Ford Coppola's Dracula movie that was terrible, Great cast just missed the mark for me.

I know it's over 50 years old,But Terence Fisher's Horror of Dracula with Lee (the best Dracula imo) and Peter Cushing is still my favorite Dracula movie so much atmosphere and style.

Classic
Devil writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:21:06 AM

@Rambo

you watched a twatlight movie?
Johnnyb writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:24:47 AM

If this november men suffer seizures from this f*cking movie, the next one men will piss and c*m blood during the first 10 minutes of the film!!!!!
Quidd writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:25:38 AM

Goes to show you can make money on a piece of sh*t
Rambo writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:31:34 AM

@devil

yes,it's good for f*cking chicks to know what happened in the movie.
SeWerin writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 6:03:54 AM

Never underestimate the power of vagina's
Kurskij writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:19:37 AM

@bullit & TT

I'd stick to that it's an insult to cinema as art.

Or maybe the books are so sh*tty it's not humanly possible to make decent movies based on them.

In the quiet words of Lao Tzu: "I don't even f*cking wanna know".

Langella's Dracula is a classic performance in an average genre movie IMHO.

Coppola's Dracula is visually stunning - one of the most beautifully crafted movies ever, but the cast, aside from Hopkins, Oldman and Waits looked lost. Even the ever-reliable Richard E. Grant.

And Sir Christopher Lee is the ultimate Drecula and the ultimate badass. The man is an embodiment of style and screen charisma.

Crazyhorse writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 9:17:55 AM

Rambo


Way to go, now its spoiled for me and my $25 barrel of popcorn and $10 mouthful of sprite

Well its ok thats $35 extra I will have in my pocket for Christmas
Bullit writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 9:24:03 AM

@TT & Kurskij

Yes indeed, Lee was the 1st and true Dracula. The soundtrack terrified me more than Christopher Lee.
I felt sorry for him as he explained later in his career how he was exploited from the Hammer productions. Pity for such talented actor that is so underrated.
trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:17:59 AM

Kurskij

Agree on Lee, Think i've seen most of his films over the years and even in the truly terrible one (there have been a few)like Howling 2 he always shines.

And maybe(just maybe)as Scaramanga it's the only time i've wanted James Bond to lose the final battle.

Bullit

I have read that before.

Hammer wanted him to carry on making the Draucla films because if he didn't a lot of people on the production side of Hammer would be losing their jobs, He did feel a little blackmailed by them.

But he still kept making films with them right up until they closed there doors.

Lee and Peter Cushing are two of my favorite actors, They made some great movies together.

trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:19:50 AM

Crazy

$35 extra In your pocket for Christmas

Just enough for a Pippa ass Calendar then ....

trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:22:05 AM

Anyone seen Hugo ??

off to see it at the weekend thought it looked pretty good

Arthur Christmas wasn't bad,Perfect kids christmas film and has good cast .. 7/10
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:22:21 AM

Don't worry guys this happens at the end of the next Twilight.

http://tinyurl.com/cj5tzbz
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:33:58 AM

Trailer- Have you seen Let The Right One In? That's a pretty good vampire film, dark and gruesome how vampires should be IMO. Also the Russian film Day Watch is pretty epic I would recommend that.

NotAmerican writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 11:37:36 AM

Its funny how I hate something I've never watched.
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 12:08:38 PM

Funny AND smart!
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 1:02:07 PM

Trailer Trash


Is there a Pippa and Kate Calendar?

I'll buy you and Rang one if there is
vellarod writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:20:22 PM

I was going to shoot myself in the cinema....
Scott Baiowulf writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:23:53 PM

this news is angering and depressing at the same time.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:39:59 PM

Having to watch both final Twilight films is a lot like having a rusty icepick rammed to the hilt down your urethra.
minkowski writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:40:42 PM

But hey, whatever passes for fun in Taylor Lautner's house...
trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:52:11 PM

Cinema

No mate i have not seen Let The Right One In, worth checking out then i take it ?

I saw Night Watch and didn't think too much of that movie so i never bothered with Day Watch, It's better then ?

trailertrash writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 5:55:12 PM

Crazy - lol

Only the crap knock off (or knock one off) ones i think.

Fingers crossed for the All Girl Buck House pool party calendar next year
Ranger writes:
on November 28th, 2011 at 8:11:55 PM

Hey Mink... missed ya bud.

@CH - make sure the calendar pages (months with Kristen only) are laminated.
minkowski writes:
on November 29th, 2011 at 2:38:56 PM

Aww, thanks. Likewise.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved