WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" Grosses $284 Million This Weekend

Posted: November 20th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn" Grosses $284 Million This WeekendSubmit Comment
"The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1" grossed just under $140 million domestically over the weekend and another $144 million overseas for a worldwide total of $284 million. The new movie cost $110 million to make and has a 29% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Despite very impressive numbers, "Breaking Dawn" was still not able to break the $142.8 million that "New Moon" earned two years ago. "Breaking Dawn" did, however, set two records. It has become the fifth largest opening ever at the domestic box office and the 10th largest worldwide.

"We faced the weekend with some trepidation because you don't really know on a fourth installment whether you are going to maintain the interest of your audience," said Summit Entertainment. "The numbers seem to speak for themselves. We got as close to 'New Moon' as we could."

Meanwhile, "Happy Feet Two" landed in second place by opening to $22 million domestically, compared to $41.5 million that the original "Happy Feet" grossed on the same weekend in 2006. Despite knowing that the sequel would be competing with "Breaking Dawn," Warner Bros was still expecting to top $30 million. "Happy Feet Two" has a 42% fresh rating.

On the limited side, George Clooney's "The Descendants" made its way to tenth place despite opening in only 29 theaters. It grossed $1.2 million for a whopping per-screen average of $41,379. "To break into the top 10 and beat films that are playing in thousands of theaters is an amazing accomplishment," said Fox Searchlight. The film has a 90% fresh rating.

Click here to read our "The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn - Part 1" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
nzfilmmaker writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 10:18:52 PM

f*ck!
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 10:20:38 PM

Saw a pic of kristen stewart with blonde hair and smiling, wutta friggn difference!...Breaking Zipper
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 10:23:49 PM

Thats why chix never pay for dinner so they can spend their $$ on Twilight/Sex in the City,shoes & handbags
bandolero999 writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 10:47:28 PM

The only movie out of the top ten worth watching is J Edgar but will wait for it on dvd
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 10:52:23 PM

I'm gonna go kill myself now.
OneTime writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 11:01:06 PM

my sister made me see it..the first 1:45 was brain dead boring..the last 15 min were ...ok.
telur writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 11:18:49 PM

i bet ranger is one who saw Breaking Dawn

j/k pal :D
pornfly writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 11:42:22 PM

ONETIME u shulda took sum weed. Pack a sneekatoke and take trips to the bathroom or the long hallways at the entrance of your theatre
Rambo writes:
on November 20th, 2011 at 11:53:58 PM

breaking news:

half of the population of this planet are women.
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 12:14:22 AM

Lets hope we see some nudity for a chance huh! i know he f*cks her, im just hopin for some titty action! C,mon Ranger! Where you at!
zyban03 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 12:16:28 AM

@bando

Was J.Edgar worth it?? I won't see this sh*t but always willing to watch a Clint film.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 3:14:41 AM

@telur... lol.
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 3:31:55 AM

@zyban - I like clit films too!
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 3:32:08 AM

Oops. My bad.
trailertrash writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 4:30:05 AM

Watching Clit films gives me EastWood
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 5:35:06 AM

I had to watch this film at the weekend with my bird it was really boring. It felt like a parody of itself the director obviously didn't take it seriously. There's a scene with Kristen on a bed where she looks like she's been on a crystal meth binge for a year and the vampire boyfriend starts biting her all over it's quite graphic f*cked up sh*t. Considering the target audience is primarily little girls I think that was a bit disturbing. You do see Stewart in a few lingerie items though and she does look f*ckable. The graphics on the werewolfs are terrible considering the amount of money pumped in to these films you'd expect a lot better. Definitely one of the worst film franchises of all time and a disgrace to cinema.
witwicky-potter writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 7:17:06 AM

Thats quite impressive.
trailertrash writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 7:43:20 AM

I hear that a lot ....
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 7:56:56 AM

Also there's a hilarious scene where the wolves are talking reminded me of Homeward Bound.
trailertrash writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 8:07:34 AM

Mate, I'm sorry to hear about your terrible night out ...
trailertrash writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 8:15:53 AM

Did you watch it over at Bas Vegas, Mate never seen the place so busy.

Some right nutters out there ...
Cinemaisdead writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 9:03:11 AM

Haha thanks for the support. Yeah I watched it at Bas Vegas on friday night with my mate and his bird as well. The cinema was 90 percent middle aged women. I felt like the little boy out of The Witches they were all cackling to the sh*t humour.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 9:31:00 AM

Alex where's all the news at bud? Your falling behind :(
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 12:34:45 PM

pshh...well only part 2 is left and then i'll be celebrating like it's against my religion...oh wait it is...still, i'm gonna celebrate...i mean harry potter is finally done with...i'm just glad the whole twilight saga will end a lot faster than harry potter did...being that harry potter had some top choice name actors that i like and twilight has...well, none basically...and by top choice i'm talking about actors and actresses such as alan rickman and maggie smith
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 12:44:33 PM

it's because of twilight i hated this new age era the world lives in now...i mean a buddy of mine and i watched taylor wolfboy lautner on saturday night live hosting...and guess what he does, NOTHING!...well, nothing that would appeal to other men...all he did was show off his break dancing moves that every other acrobatic high school student did YEARS and YEARS before he ever did...it's actors like that and the things they do and the fact that they're a teen idol that kills my determination to help reshape hollywood back to where it used to be, creative and original, and kick ass
OneTime writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 8:44:16 PM

@ pornfly

i have learned my lesson.
OneTime writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 8:48:35 PM

@ Cinemaisdead

thats what i was thinking too.

on the bright side..the theatre was FILLED with prepubescent teens wearing sweet f*ck all.

going to teh theatre to see this gets two thumbs up ( if ya know what i mean) (( hint hint))
Ranger writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 9:01:52 PM

'Considering the target audience is primarily little girls...'

'...the theatre was FILLED with prepubescent teens wearing sweet f*ck all.'

I may just buy a ticket to sniff the seats after everyone is gone (or during credits... 'Excccuuussseeee me. I want to sniff your seat!').
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 21st, 2011 at 11:14:13 PM

LOL Ranger.

Ranger- "Bitch can i smell your seat!?"
Young Teen- "wtf! No!"
Ranger- "but i'm Ranger from WP!"
Young Teen - "Oh.. YOUR RANGER!?, Sniff away my Messed up friend, sniff away.."
Young girl 2 - "Is that guy sniffing your f*cking seat?"
Young Teen- "Don't worry its just ranger, He's Harmless, Ranger No Biting!"
Ranger writes:
on November 22nd, 2011 at 2:21:56 AM

lol...
OneTime writes:
on November 23rd, 2011 at 12:51:02 AM

lol

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved