WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Writer Reveals Details About "Black Widow" Film That Didn't Happen

Posted: November 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Writer Reveals Details About "Black Widow" Film That DidnSubmit Comment
The Black Widow appeared in "Iron Man 2," but many years ago, David Hayter (Watchmen, X-Men) was working on a script that would give the character her own solo movie. Now in an interview with FemPop, the writer revealed some of the plot details and the reason the film fell apart.

"What I tried to do was use the backdrop of the splintered Soviet Empire – a lawless insane asylum with four hundred some odd nuclear missile silos," he explained. "It was all about loose nukes, and I felt it was very timely and very cool. Unfortunately, as I was coming up on the final draft, a number of female vigilante movies came out. We had 'Tomb Raider' and 'Kill Bill,' which were the ones that worked, but then we had 'BloodRayne' and 'Ultraviolet' and 'Aeon Flux.'"

He continued: "'Aeon Flux' didn't open well, and three days after it opened, the studio said, 'We don't think it's time to do this movie.' I accepted their logic in terms of the saturation of the marketplace, but it was pretty painful. I had not only invested a lot of time in that movie, but I had also named my daughter, who was born in that time period, Natasha – after the lead character in Black Widow. I named my daughter after a movie that I wasn't working on anymore."

There is still a chance that a Black Widow movie may happen. Marvel has mentioned several times that they would love to have Scarlett Johansson play the character in a solo film.

Source: FemPop, CBM


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 14 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Kurskij writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 7:39:08 PM

Natasha is a beautiful name, David.

Don't blame your daughter for your sin of writing a potentially sh*tty movie.
pornfly writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 8:08:36 PM

Now lets all concentrate collectively and a Scarlett Johanssen Barbarella remake will happen
pornfly writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 8:09:52 PM

I would drink a tea brewed from her black widow outfit
boogiel writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 8:51:34 PM

"There is still a chance that a Black Widow movie may happen. Marvel has mentioned several times that they would love to have Scarlett Johansson play the character in a solo film"




Yes, please do make that happen. Scar-Jo is hot enough to melt Hell and burn Satan too.
Cd_Smith0 writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 9:28:53 PM

Shut up Hayter and get back to playing Solid Snake.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 9:58:57 PM

did directors not learn from Sucker Punch?

the only films that were popular with Chicks as the lead were the Alien franchise,Iron Angels franchise,La Femme Nikita by Luc Besson,Naked Weapon with Maggie Q.
pornfly writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 10:47:09 PM

Naked weapon f*ck yea
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 11:09:09 PM

Scarlett I need your diahrehha to make my spicy chili.
Johnnyb writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 11:47:56 PM

The only reason female vigilantes donīt work is because they donīt really look realistic. Just look what happen with Warner when they started releasing films with female leading characters like The Brave One or The Invasion.... They just simply flopped because the story was so stupid and unconventional. Marvel try the same with Elektra and it didnīt work. So in this case, just forget it will never be profitable to make this kind of movies because they are just lame. Maybe in porno is it more authentic, but once again it goes in other way..... Just leave like it is and that is just simply a good thing for now own.....
Alderon writes:
on November 17th, 2011 at 12:12:35 AM

Only way i would even spend money on this movie (aside from seeing Scarlet in that tight outfit again...or maybe less.)And Is if they made it a origin movie...and kept it true to the marvel character.....unlike the entire X-men movies...
Ranger writes:
on November 17th, 2011 at 1:35:59 AM

What BadChad said!
telur writes:
on November 17th, 2011 at 1:53:51 AM

it didn't work with Elektra and Catwoman too
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 17th, 2011 at 6:49:31 AM

Nope
JohnZee writes:
on November 18th, 2011 at 4:05:46 AM

I think it could work. But to make it work you would have to intensify the reality. Over the top action films just don't work with women. And a lot of it has to do with the fact that we related violence with masculinity.

Like I said before, a man get's pissed off and just ups and slaps a bitch. Laughs at her crying ass and forgets the whole thing happened five minutes later.

A woman will say "yes dear" when she's pissed, and pretty much go on with her life for twenty years until the husband is having a heart attack scrambling to reach his bottle only to find that it's filled with custom M&M's with the words "Whose laughing now?"

And the man doesn't have f*cking clue. Last time he bitch slapped her it was 1973.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved