WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Immortals" Dominates Box Office with $32 Million Opening

Posted: November 14th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Immortals" Dominates Box Office with $32 Million OpeningSubmit Comment
The 3D action film "Immortals" topped the domestic box office this weekend with a $32 million opening, grossing another $36 million overseas. The $68 million worldwide bow is the biggest for Relativity Media, which didn't expect for the movie to surpass $25 million domestically. The film cost $75 million to make and has only a 38% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

Adam Sandler's "Jack and Jill" comedy had to settle for second place with a $26 million debut, which is much lower than most Sandler films bring in. The $80 million movie will struggle to make its money back at home and it's not helping that it has a 3% fresh rating.

The other new wide release of the weekend was Clint Eastwood's "J. Edgar," starring Leonardo DiCarprio. The film opening in only 1,910 theaters, but still grossed $11.5 million, which is in line with Eastwood's other openings. Warners has already launched an Oscar campaign for "J. Edgar," which has a lousy 40% fresh rating.

Meanwhile, "Paranormal Activity 3" broke the $100 million mark domestically. The film took in a whopping $190 million worldwide in just four weeks and it cost only $5 million to make.

Click here to read our "Immortals" review.

Check out the rest of the box office results

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 16 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
YoungChris writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 7:21:51 AM

$68 million .. Good for them ...
Taco writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 7:45:02 AM

Saw immortals! It was bad ass!
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 7:45:58 AM

I heard lukewarm things about it too.

Sandler's will make back it's budget on the overseas market and DVD.

Tanman32123 writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 8:43:11 AM

Not My Cup of Tea, I'll Catch The DVD Maybe..
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 8:51:47 AM

I'm happy for em.
Rambo writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 9:14:02 AM

saw 'immortals' 4/10 very poor in acting and story.there was almost no action at all till the last 25 minutes.'300' is way way better.
SeWerin writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 9:17:57 AM

Why Sandler still exists?! And why his movies make money?!?!?
Jakey Nightmare writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 9:39:31 AM

It was a really good movie, only the titans were pretty weak. And gods were all like 19 haha other than that It was awesome
nawtnt writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 10:39:19 AM

Great news for Immortals, I hope this film turns out to be badass since the critics are trashing it.

It looks like it can be the best movie of the year, no knows.
cruzcontrol39 writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 10:45:23 AM

I really question anybodies sanity if you thought this movie was any good. It was god awe full. It was boring with ridiculous hats...and not even close to being historically or mythologicaly correct.
Ranger writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 10:58:48 AM

@SeWerin - you guess that one right and you'll win a puppy. I can't figure it out myself. Although... Sandler's 'Reign over me' I liked and as I really dislike re-makes, his 'Longest Yard' was better than expected (but I had no expectations really... so).

As for J. Edgar. I like DiCaprio, and love Eastwood... but will just wait and watch this movie at home.

As for Jack & Jill...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rVq2OajEZSM
Bunny X writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 11:25:15 AM

Eastwood is the best, but I'll pass on this film for now. I'm waiting for the day where Clint either gets in front of the camera for a western or goes behind it for one. I am dying for an A-Lister Western directed by Clint Eastwood.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 1:54:48 PM

No way I was gonna pay 15 for Immortals and in 3d to give me a headache.

Too bad Conan hasn't made half its money.I Will watch them both and see which one is better
vaodsi writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 3:52:01 PM

Immortals bored the heck out of me. Gorgeous visuals and a pretty awesome 20 minute finale were not enough to make up for the terrible cheeeeezy YAWNFEST that preceded it. I seriously considered leaving multiple times i was so bored, like sitting through a sermon. But i paid too much damn money for my ticket. So I stuck it out till the end waiting for something cool to happen or something remotely exciting. Like I said, the last 20 minutes were visually interesting, but that was it. And the last shot of the movie was actually THE BEST SHOT OF ALL and was used heavily in the trailers and was only like 30 seconds long. Thumbs down. BOOOORING. Wait for it on dvd so you can fast forward to the end. However, I will say it was the best 3D experience I have seen yet, and I am not a fan of 3D.
pornfly writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 6:45:31 PM

I'll wait for Superman even tho i dnt get y he has friggn body hair
dwight writes:
on November 15th, 2011 at 6:50:22 PM

Finally the Dwight has come back to worst previews! Immortals over all was pretty Bad! could have been even badder, but bad still

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved