WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
"X-Men: Apocalypse" to Focus on Younger Cast, Patrick Stewart Says He May Still Return
Apr 20th, 2014
Hayden Panettiere Won't Return for "Heroes: Reborn" TV Series
Apr 20th, 2014
Trailer for Michael C. Hall's "Cold in July" Thriller
Apr 20th, 2014
Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage
Apr 19th, 2014
Is "Batman vs Superman" Changing Its Release Date to Avoid "Captain America 3" Competition?
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look at Ryan Gosling's Directorial Debut "Lost River"
Apr 19th, 2014
Jaden Smith to Play a Slave in "The Good Lord Bird"
Apr 19th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Normal Heart," with Mark Ruffalo and Julia Roberts
Apr 19th, 2014
Producers Say Spider-Man Will Only Join "X-Men" or "The Avengers" When They Run Out of Ideas
Apr 19th, 2014
Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel
Apr 19th, 2014
First Look: Michael Fassbender in William Shakespeare's "Macbeth"
Apr 18th, 2014
New Footage in "Godzilla" TV Spot
Apr 18th, 2014
Marvel Confirms It Has Rights to Kingpin and Elektra for "Daredevil" TV Series
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Clint Eastwood's "Jersey Boys" Musical
Apr 18th, 2014
"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel
Apr 18th, 2014
Trailer for Ryan Reynolds' "The Captive" Thriller
Apr 18th, 2014
New Trailer for "The Rover," with Guy Pearce and Robert Pattinson
Apr 18th, 2014
"Sinister" Sequel Gets a Director, To Begin Filming in July
Apr 18th, 2014
Opening Scene from "In Your Eyes" Sci-Fi Film, Written by Joss Whedon
Apr 18th, 2014
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Johnny Depp Blames "The Rum Diary" Failure on Dumb Americans

Posted: November 12th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Johnny Depp Blames "The Rum Diary" Failure on Dumb AmericansSubmit Comment
"The Rum Diary" was released in theaters two weeks ago and only managed to gross $16 million worldwide, with most of the money coming from the US. The film cost $45 million to develop, making it a flop. But Johnny Depp knows exactly why the film failed. According to the actor, Americans are too stupid to enjoy such an intelligent film.

"I believe that this film, regardless of what it makes in, you know, Wichita, Kansas, this week which is probably about $13 it doesn't make any difference," said Depp. "I think it's an intelligent film. And a lot of times, outside the big cities in the States, they don't want that."

The citizens of Wichita quickly replied, stating: "People have these preconceived notions about cities like Wichita and cities in the Midwest. Because his movie has been deemed a critical stinker and audiences haven't gravitated toward it, obviously he is trying to displace the blame on to audiences here who he deems unintelligent."

On RottenTomatoes, which has reviews from all over the world, "The Rum Diary" has only a 51% fresh rating from both critics and movie-goers.

Click here to read our "The Rum Diary" review.

Source: The Guardian


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 63 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:29:40 AM

Johnny Depp Blames "The Rum Diary" Failure on Dumb Americans

Well i never i thought it just looked crap
trailertrash writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:40:06 AM

Isn't Depp from middle America somewhere, he should know what they will and won't watch then ..
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:41:13 AM

Woah!!! JD maybe you should have looked at other factors why The Rum Diary failed at the box office. Don't be quick to point the blane at dumb Americans. Just my thought.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:42:59 AM

That means Jack Swallows 5 is coming for sure.
Valerie writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 8:15:08 AM

I have to say as someone who has appreciated his movies, and him previously a lot, he sure is saying tons of dumb sh*t lately! I guess no right PR around, but please stfu and sit down!
Johnnyb writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 8:15:12 AM

Johnny I have see you rip off by Freddy, drunken as Jack Sparrow and addicted to drugs in Las Vegas, what make you think I want to see another film in which you are totally buzz up. f*ck U!!!!!
Mister Leary writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 9:16:43 AM

The movie is actually pretty decent. I blame it's failure on a trailer that wasn't the best representation of the film and stupid people everywhere. It's not the best movie, but it deserves to perform better than the other brainless sh*t currently in theaters.
Rambo writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 9:24:50 AM

I am not a dumb american.only my avatar is.
coldplayesence writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 9:35:36 AM

The movie floped and he's angry about it? Why? I mean he owns a f*cking island it's not like he's starving or something
The Tall Man writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 9:48:11 AM

I'm just to intelligent to watch such a stupid film like The Rum Diary.
Crazyhorse writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 10:24:48 AM

I went saw the Dumb Diary and it sucked.

By far his worst film ever.

It was about as exciting as watching a red light turn green
xtlhogciao writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 10:54:41 AM

I read the book about 10 years ago, and it wasn't long after, that the film first popped up on IMDB. I remember thinking even then that it wouldn't make that good of a picture. There may also be a reason that the book sat in Hunter's basement for decades and was never published until 1998.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 10:55:26 AM

2 hours of johny Depp and his new partner running around Puerto Rico drinking rum in every scene.

The only good character was Nic Cage's brother

PUss in boots with Banderas and Zach Galifinakis was more enjoyable and I'm being serious

Bwahahahahahahahahahahaha even Tower Heist made more money than that Diary sh*t.
ProfMovies writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:04:47 AM

I played RUM DIARY in my theater, which is one that is noted to cater mostly to the intelligent and more discerning (In other words, NOT a mall or multiplex dump) and the result was the same: The movie layed a big egg!

Depp is obsessed with his late pal Hunter S. Thompson, and there is nothing wrong with that, but don't judge those who choose to not share that vaunted opinion as "dumb".

Actually, I wanted the movie to do well, and promoted it to the skies, but had to pull it after just one week because of shockingly low ticket sales.

It could also be the studio, Film District, who really hasn't had anything that has done well. They just lost their key honcho, Bob Berney, and I wouldn't be surprised if they are down for the count.

With Depp's dismal failure on "The Tourist" and now "The Rum Diary", this should be a wake-up call that he, too, is not guaranteed box-office any longer.
nawtnt writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:06:27 AM

I never expected this kind of anger from Depp.

I have to be honset, the TV spots for The Rum Diary looks boring so I think the film didn't look like a funny and enougable film.

I think Depp should apologizes for his comments and been happy that at least, the audience go to watch those awful Pirates Of The Carbiarian.

I mean the fourth movie had lots of action but the story was weak.

j-man writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:12:05 AM

Depps obviously explaining why drive bombed, not (dry) rum diary
NotAmerican writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:13:59 AM

While Americans are not always the sharpest tools in the proverbial shed (I say it with love) Depps films have been kinda sucky recently.
Rambo writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:33:46 AM

why is the rum gone?
j-man writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:40:32 AM

@rambo

Becuase it was doubles and triples from 00:00:01 lol

Yes the film was that good.....
Gates writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 11:56:49 AM

Lol I live in Wichita Kansas .
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 12:11:25 PM

@Mister Leary - I don't think a better trailer would have helped that much. I don't know if Amrikan entelighenz is much of the issue either. People vote with their $'s. And a HUGE star like Depp won't be viewed unless he's a pirate now. So now we know from this little experiment, it's Jack Sparrow they want Depp to play and little else. Otherwise even a sh*tty movie with Depp in it would bring in a LOT more than this movie did. Depp's ego is hurt, he's lashing out. He's become so eccentric, he's turned into a little priss like Michael Jackson was (and I love MJ, so I mean that the best way I can).

'Jack Swallows 5... 'c*mming' next' (artistic license there BC)... lol.

moviefan123 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 12:14:08 PM

wow! did anyone even read what johnny said? he isn't saying that it is wichita's fault, nor did he say that americans are dumb. he didn't say that at all. he said he understands that this film will only make a little bit of money and he is ok with that, he still believes it is an intelligent film. we all know that the movie going public isn't going to be drawn to this movie if given a choice. it is really an art theater movie.
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 12:35:11 PM

reed wat artical?
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 12:37:00 PM

I think if too many people rely on Rotten Tomatoes to decide on whether they should see a movie... doze pehple iz dumm!
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 12:43:49 PM

I see people in Louisiana only gave this movie a 5 out of 10 squeals rating.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9x7rmYurx4
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 1:09:01 PM

The good news is Snow White is featured at the Hut today.
Joanne Worley writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:17:52 PM

He's right: Jack & Jill (3% on RT) due to make $27million this weekend. Movies making more than Rum Diary include Puss & Boots, Harold & Kumar, Immortals & Footloose.

He's just saying that the average American at the the end of the work week just wants the pleasure of mindless entertainment, not something they have to think a lot about.
Joanne Worley writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:19:23 PM

Also, I saw the Rum Diary - it was really good and very funny. Sagged a little at the end when it took a more serious tone, but overall a good film. It deserved better.
trailertrash writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:22:15 PM

reed wat artical? (lol) .........

woo eeven duz tht aneway
trailertrash writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:23:42 PM

Is that Snow White and the Dwarf by any chance lol
trailertrash writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:28:03 PM

Why didn't he call it "The Bum Diary" and try and get the gays into the cinema instead

Because that is the vibe that picture is giving off
pornfly writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:35:05 PM

TT depp is from the orlando area which back in the 60s/70s might as well be kansas,i think the fear and loathin crown will be rentin this instead of makin an effort to go out to a theatre
synthetic1985 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 2:54:58 PM

well i didn't have money or the time to go to theaters usually, so i hope that doesn't make me dumb, and having been an audience member for years, knowing what audiences want, i'm sure a lot of fans aspire to become actors or some type of star and have their moment in a movie or hit movie or something...this is why i liked the 80s and 90s better, we saw newer the same people with the same sh*t rehashed all the time, and even if it was that way back then at least they went about it more originally...we need to see things like that again, it would bring in a whole slew of new ideas that can still be brought to honor instead of shame...i'm still planning to watch the rum diaries but i'm not desperate, i just hate hearing how studios and actors get all ancy just because every american didn't jump at the opportunity to see the film...hell some people don't want to see it because they'd rather be making their own work...but can't because they don't have a budget that will ever allow it become something inspirational...and studios don't help these kind of people out because really they're out to steal their ideas and make money off of it....thanks but no thanks...if i write a book for instance and it becomes popular i'll never let them make a movie out of it so long as i live unless i'm the one directing it
Ranger writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 3:08:43 PM

@tt - yeah, she starts to blow the midget.

Pretty disturbing.
Devil writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 3:24:17 PM

How the f*ck can people choose Timberlake's "i wanna be a bad ass but i'm actually a sissy" movie over a Johnny Depp movie? What the f*cks happening?
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 3:25:45 PM

Surprised he didn't blame it on Tim Burton not directing it.
Quidd writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 4:14:43 PM

The book was great. The movie sucked balls. Everything about it was amateur. And f*ck you JD. Don't turn on your own people *sshole.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:05:24 PM

I aint watching because of Amber Heard.

mustardayonnaise writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:26:18 PM

depp was born in kentucky. he likes to deny his roots, just like he usually refuses to talk about 21 jump street. (he calls it 'that TV show'). now he lives in france and likes to make believe that he's some sort of intellectual highbrow. but he's still a kentucky hillbilly when it comes down to it. what a douche.
Lulupendragon writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:34:43 PM

Perhaps The Rum Diary is like the Metallica & Lou Reed craptastic album Lulu, not for everyone. Sorry Johnny, I know it hurts to have one of your movies fail but that isn't a reason to go talk trash about the audience. One persons trash is another persons gold. Just wash your hands on it and move on like most actors do.
encoreyourface writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 7:35:35 PM

i knew it was gonna flop, it looked really boring.
funseeker writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 8:27:31 PM

man that does pirates vol 5,6 and 7 has comments about viewers being dumb, he's totally right, they viewed couple of pirates movies to much. any non retarded person quit watching after midway 2nd movie!!!!!
Powdered Toast Man writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 8:57:28 PM

Yeah, us Americans were dumb to waste monen on those last 2 Pirates of the Carr. movies
liverpool67 writes:
on November 12th, 2011 at 10:00:16 PM

I don't know why all many of you take this so personal. The word "dumb" is the interpretation of the media. Don't take the hint.
Gunslinger writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 12:11:12 AM

Did they mean to say, "...audiences here whom he deems unintelligent"?
zyrkon writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 1:36:16 AM

I agree with him, American are stupid
spanish/french teacher writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 2:05:51 AM

The only thing that surprises me about Johnny's comment is that he should refer to Americans as "stupid" again. Didn't he get himself in a heap of trouble years ago when he insulted America as being like "a dumb puppy"? It took him forever to clear that up, all the while claiming that his comment was taken out of content. He knew this movie wouldn't be a hit, he was making it to honor his late friend Hunter Thompson. He never has cared about box office successes, he just does movies that interest him, and now, he can afford to, financially. Just by reading these many comments though, as a teacher, I can say it does dismay me that so many of you misspell so many words...but that's not dumb, just ignorant or lazy.
Stuntmanbob writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 3:00:18 AM

Ofcourse johnny, we are stupid. All your movies you make are so intelligent, its not like your the star character of a movie based on a Disney world ride or anything
Ranger writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 3:30:54 AM

lol.
pornfly writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 3:42:05 AM

SNL just said more people have been in momma Duggard than any showing of The Rum diary
Rambo writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 5:03:36 AM

no news today?come on alex,there must be some new footage of catwoman's ears or something...
Patrick Bateman writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 6:05:59 AM

Haha So true Rambo half the news feed for the last 6 months is someone having a coffee or visiting the port o pottey on the f*cking dark knight set.

And nice dp Stuntman Bob

As to the article I believe that because Johhny was good friends with Hunter that he is pissed off he cant make a notable film too his memory like how leaving las vegas got panned at the box office as well. I havnt seen the movie yet but I love withnail and I if anyone has seen that by Bruce Robinson who directs Rum Diary. Also thing fear and loathing was critized unfairly as I find it to be very entertaing even though it is utterly insane.
sri_91 writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 9:19:24 AM

Epic Depp is epic
FilmFan91201 writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 3:11:09 PM

He never called anyone dumb, let's just calm down. He said people don't want intelligent movies. And he's right: look at the dreck Hollywood cranks out: sequels and remakes and idiotic movies that go on to make billions ("Transformers", hello?). Let's not get all pissed off at him for something he didn't even say, ok?
nuttie30xx writes:
on November 13th, 2011 at 7:10:44 PM

im english and i only watch about 60 seconds of the trailer and i think i was generuos to give it that much time
ProfMovies writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 1:14:24 AM

Of course, reflecting here on Sunday night, I am shocked so many of you actually paid good money to see "The Immortals" or "Jack and Jill"!!
"The Immortals" had lousy 3D, and was a boring wannabe rip-off of "300", and "Jack and Jill" is the new Adam Sandler movie...
The only thing Sandler is good for is to prove Johnny Depp's "dumb" remark.

It says a lot that this bozo can even sell a single ticket, much less deliver films that make millions.
Its very disturbing.
trailertrash writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 2:34:46 AM

Pornfly - Thanks for the info bud ...
DeVries writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 3:47:18 AM

I blame you Depp for f*cking Pirates of the Carric*nts too.
jellyzero79 writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 8:50:15 PM

What does he blame the success of the last three Pirates films success on then?
technoreaper writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 9:19:09 PM

I'm going to give Americans credit for avoiding this movie. Can we play the trailer right now? Ah yes...I wouldn't spend $8 on this garbage, and neither would most monkeys. All this coming from the idiot that sold his soul to Disney to make the dumbest movies around. POTC tops most best movie lists for this country's trash. Have a nice day.
am_bee writes:
on November 14th, 2011 at 10:30:29 PM

hahaha johnny is so funny, and says whatever he wants, like he really cares what people think. Depp's a rebel.
Jacks writes:
on November 16th, 2011 at 1:27:59 PM

The movie failed because they took the story that provokes thought and understanding and NOT ONLY dumbed it down massively but included things that seemed to be JUST for the sake of marketing/trailers. Shame.
Gunslinger writes:
on November 19th, 2011 at 10:41:11 AM

Well...can't be any worse than the last Pirates movie.

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved