WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Martin Scorsese Says Holograms are the Future of Movies

Posted: November 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Martin Scorsese Says Holograms are the Future of MoviesSubmit Comment
LA Times sat down with director Martin Scorsese to talk about his upcoming 3D film "Hugo" and also discussed the future of storytelling. The Oscar-winning helmer believes that 3D is only the beginning, adding that fans will one day be able to watch hologram movies.

"As I sit here now, I see you in 3-D. So why belittle that part of our existence? Why not use it?," said Scorsese. "If everything moves along and there's no major catastrophe, we're headed toward holograms."

The director believes that within the next few years, a hologram of an actor (while in character) will walk into the theater and interact with the audience. "You have to think that way. Don't let the fashion and the economics inhibit you."

Source: LA Times


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:30:59 PM

The future is scary
otis writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:32:28 PM

This is our most desperate hour. Help me Obi Won. We must join in the Rebellion of this bullsh*t.
Taco writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:40:16 PM

can the hologram give me a hand job?
Dirt writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:43:29 PM

why not watch a play?
jellyzero79 writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:44:39 PM

I hate when the greats get caught up in the thrill of the moment.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:46:52 PM

The only thing better than seeing Joe Pesci shoot directly at the camera at the end of goodfellas is seeing Joe Pesci walking outside of the screen and shooting each individual joy-filled audience member in the face!

f*ck you technology
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:56:32 PM

"As I sit here now, I see you in 3-D."

Actually Marty, you only see in 2D, so WTF?!
pornfly writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:11:39 PM

Holographic porn chics masturbating.insert own weiner here
boogiel writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:12:01 PM

"If everything moves along and there's no major catastrophe, we're headed toward holograms."

Right. Expect a booming for porn movies.
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:19:42 PM

Mmmmm... Lisa Anne's boobage in holoGRAPHIC 3D

BA-BOING!'
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 12:32:08 AM

No I don't want to walk into a theatre and have a hologram of Tatum or La Douche trying to interact with me.
trailertrash writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 3:07:30 AM

lol
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 3:34:03 AM

lol...
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 4:23:29 AM

I actually think he has a point. It's the logical next step from 3D, because 3D in itself is insufficient unless it become completely immersive, which hologram is. If Scorses means holographic worlds and not just holographic characters, that would just be stupid.
Cannon writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 4:48:35 AM

Anyone who’s ever sat down with an episode of Star Trek: The Next Generation (weeknights, 11 pm where I live) knows where this is going: The Holodeck, bitches!

What was cool about the Holodeck is that it was all tangible, and you could interact with it and even adjust the computer setting to make it more dangerous. So if that is were cinema is going, well, just think about the possibilities. I mean, you could walk into some seedy, inner-city hotel room circa 1941, with Amber Heard laying on the bed as your half naked femme fatale witness, whom you have to f*ck for information.

And then, uh-oh, who’s that at the door? Why, it's your temperamental Ex, played by Anne Hathaway, catching you in the act: “Freeze. Computer, adjust narrative for threesome scenario.”

Cannon = awesome.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 8:18:15 AM

"It's the logical next step from 3D,"

Yeah, it is, too bad 3D isn't a logical step to begin with, though.
BlueMobius writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 2:54:18 PM

What Dirt said.
Adamtheflash writes:
on November 9th, 2011 at 2:59:27 AM

Since when did Martin Scorsese turn into James Cameron....I fear for the future
Adamtheflash writes:
on November 9th, 2011 at 2:59:42 AM

"Shark still looks fake"
MattyB13 writes:
on November 9th, 2011 at 7:12:52 PM

@ Ranger, are you retarded, we see in 3 dimensions. Two eyes, two pov's, equals a three dimensional image. Also even if you disagree or reject 3d, and i agree it looks like sh*t now. He's saying in the future it will be the standard. It's the next layer of immersion and the next potential plane to present a new artistic layer. Imagine the ways you can f*ck with the viewer! Obviously not with the 3d tech now, but once glasses are removed from the equation, which they've already been able to do, it will be the next step. Just like digital is overtaking film. It's inevitable.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved