WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"RoboCop" Reboot to Focus on Creation Process

Posted: November 7th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"RoboCop" Reboot to Focus on Creation ProcessSubmit Comment
ComingSoon caught up with director Jose Padilha to talk about the sequel to "Elite Squad." During the conversation, the helmer also shared a few details about the upcoming "RoboCop" reboot, which he is set to direct.

"I have my take on it," he said. "And I can tell you this: In the first 'RoboCop' when Alex Murphy is shot, gunned down, then you see some hospitals and stuff and then you cut to him as RoboCop. My movie is between those two cuts. How do you make RoboCop? How do you slowly bring a guy to be a robot? How do you actually take humanity out of someone and how do you program a brain, so to speak, and how does that affect an individual?"

When asked if Padilha will consider casting his "Elite Squad" star Wagner Maura as RoboCop, the director made it clear that only an American actors will be looked at. "We need an American RoboCop," he said. "RoboCop is an American guy, his name is Alex Murphy."

Source: ComingSoon


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 26 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:29:56 PM

So no Michael Fassbender then since hes Deutsche

Better selection than jolly boy Chris Pine
Taco writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:32:49 PM

Hes american, his name is Alex Murphy. This film has been made. Leave it alone
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:38:11 PM

Umm... a non-American actor can't play an American? Someone pull the flag outta that guy's ass!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:45:26 PM

He's right guys, f*ck Henry Cavill in the role of Superman, we need a Kryptonian Superman!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:48:11 PM

I mean, supermans a kryptonian guy, his name is Jor-El!
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:48:31 PM

Kal-el*

Shut up
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:55:23 PM

LOL.

DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 8:58:51 PM

Christ! This film is gonna be so boring.

No one gives a f*ck about the process of becoming "Robocop" and we saw ot all in the first one.

They just want to do this becuse they realise that they got nowhere to go on the reboot.
boogiel writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:00:58 PM

"We need an American RoboCop," he said. "RoboCop is an American guy, his name is Alex Murphy."


Hell yeah. I'll buy that for a dollar.
Ranger writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:02:26 PM

What Dave said.
pornfly writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 9:22:08 PM

He shuld put the same thought and effort into makin an original movie
triggax writes:
on November 7th, 2011 at 11:15:02 PM

I'm interested to see how this may turn out. f*ck you guys can be negative. Good director. So far anyway. Elite squad was sick.

Spooky nice to see youre still retarded.
SpookyCupcakes writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 12:15:13 AM

Deal with it, nerd
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 12:29:13 AM

I no longer want to see this.
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 3:29:06 AM

@trig - I find your negativity towards us negative.
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 3:38:08 AM

If I want to watch 90 minutes of a man feeling like his humanity is lost, I'll re-visit:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HofoK_QQxGc

Which by the way is classic TV.
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 3:41:27 AM

PS: I figure we're overdue for some Lynda rackage and spinning:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1ROi9Isk_5I&feature=fvwp&NR=1
trailertrash writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 4:16:06 AM

Phew !!! Thanks mate that was needed
trailertrash writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 4:40:59 AM

And i agree the six Million Dollar man was a Great TV show
Cannon writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 4:56:26 AM

Boy I sure do love me some ROBOCOP. Whenever I stroll through a battered steel mill I get that warm fuzzy feeling that somewhere nearby is a half-man-half-machine using baby food for target practice.

The best thing about Verhoeven's police procedural doc*mentary (aside from the line “Bitches, leave!”) is that the tragedy that befalls Alex Murphy can be directly rooted to his female partner not backing him up, because she was too distracted by the male anatomy. Thats right, the destiny of RoboCop began with a black guy's d*ck.

Cinematic poetry.

Kill-the-director writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 5:31:42 AM

so its 2 hours of a man in a hospital bed?
NatG83 writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 10:30:11 AM

Bad move to make it entirely focused on the conversion. I've always been a fan of Robocop. And yes, I've always though the process should be explored more. However, making a film out of it is going to feel like a doc*mentary. Let's say he makes the film 2 hours long. My opinion, which maybe no one cares about, is give use maybe 15 or 20 minutes of the build, but then show us Murphy dealing with it...and criminals.
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 10:43:10 AM

@tt - lol... you're welcome.
@Cannon - good post, and (seriously) you nailed it about she getting distracted. She could have come up behind all those guys as they were blasting Murphy and put a few caps in each of their ass's. She had a Glock.
@Kill-the --- we all hope it will be that way. Like Nat said... sure a bit more time to see him being rebuilt. His issues with it (although, they blank his mind so I can't see him having any issues with it). Sort of like The $6 Million Man - pushing his bionic arm away in the hospital room as Rudy is showing it to him (pre-surgery of course).

RoboCop should KICK-ASS so much in this movie that Sly would think of putting him in The Expendables 3!

Bitches leave! and
Bitches come! (XXX)... ahh... sometimes Hollywood makes me tear up with joy.

As for RoboCop. The first movie was genius (nothing less). The sequels and TV shows sucked as bad as that first movie was genius. So historically it doesn't have a great track record. 1 GREAT movie out of the bunch.
Ranger writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 11:00:57 AM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-W6cT3Tvu9g

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DvBsMyKcuhg

You're welcome.
Orias writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 11:43:29 AM

I second DaveThePhotoGuy sentiments. What made the movie interesting was "Robocops" struggle with his humanity after the process and his flash backs of his life before he became a cyborg and the revenge he get's, not some stupid medical procedures.
nawtnt writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 1:06:24 PM

It is great that Padilha is staying true to Robocop and is looking for American actors to play Alex Murphy.

Hopefully his take on Robocop turns out to be awesome.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved