WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Elijah Wood is a Serial Killer in "Maniac" Remake

Posted: November 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Elijah Wood is a Serial Killer in "Maniac" RemakeSubmit Comment
Last year it was revealed that Alexandre Aja (Piranha 3D, The Hills Have Eyes) was developing a remake of "Maniac," the classic 1980 slasher film. Then in August, "P2" director Franck Kahlfoun was brought on to direct.

Now comes word that Elijah Wood (The Lord of the Rings) has been cast as Frank, the lead character in the film. He will be joined by Nora Arnezeder (Safe House) who will be playing Anna. The plan is to begin filming later this year.

In "Maniac," Wood plays the role of a serial killer who works at a shop that sells antique mannequins. He finds victims on the Internet and stalks them like prey, all the while suffering from hallucinations that throw him back into the past, when he was abused by his own mother. In his twisted mind, he gains a measure of revenge against his mother with each kill.

This isn't the first time Wood would play a deranged killer. The actor previously played a cannibal named Kevin in "Sin City."

"Maniac" Trailer:


Source: Deadline, Bloody-Disgusting


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 20 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 9:59:00 PM

Anybody here even seen this 1980 original movie? Is the original really good? I am curious to find out.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 10:11:30 PM

dont know but the cover looked like Chucky

IDK Sweetcakes are you sure your not a f*cking pedophile on the hunt for abercrombie boys?
watch the movie yourself and see if it doesnt change you and you become supersourguy instead.
boogiel writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 10:14:11 PM

ELijah wood as a bad guy, well that doesn't happen often. I think I might give this movie a shot.
bandolero999 writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 10:19:14 PM

He played a killer in SIn City and it was pretty believable.

Not a f*cking Hobbit and Cinema dont get sensitive cause i bash that sh*t.I know you hate other popular sh*t as well.Them Fanboys in my city really get on my nerves and I blame it on those f*cking HOBBITS
Johnnyb writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 11:25:52 PM

@ Supersweetguy:

I saw it last year. It was watchable, it has Tom Savini in cameo and the hot-sexy Caroline Munro from James Bond.... However donīt expect too much from the plot, since it was do it back in the 80īs it was reasonable that doesnīt have a nice plot but very violent and gorish..... If you like brains blow out, girls getting slashed, guts and everything else, this is your movie. If is not, then I donīt recommend it.....
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 11:48:26 PM

@Bando; I am not some f*cking pedo or whatever you think of me. I was just asking what this movie was all about.
Supersweetguy writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 11:50:14 PM

@Johnny: I would certainly love to see brains being blown out, girls being slashed, certainly gorish and the violence.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 12:50:00 AM

Interesting
Tanman32123 writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 12:50:29 AM

Dear alexandre aja,
Dont Remake it! i havent seen the movie yet (on my list) but im sure it will be good! id rather them not remake it until i watch it, if bad, redo, if good, dont. please hold off until then,
Sincerily- Tanman32123
pornfly writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 1:13:57 AM

They just released the anniversary edition,there was alot of contraversy over one of the scenes,there was supposed to be a sequel in like 94 but the actor died,it was his baby.BANDO seagal looks like hes gonna eat that panda and wear the skin in disguise to get chix
wonderBOY writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 1:25:15 AM

Tom Savini better reprise his role as the shotgun to the face guy
realgirl76 writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 2:33:49 AM

The original is streamimg right now on Netflix..its mediocre at best. Tom Savini is the best part I think
Johnnyb writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 8:42:47 AM

@ Supersweetguy:

Definetly you are going to enjoyed it, mate. Have fun!!!!!
Rambo writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 9:14:06 AM

hobbits...
Cannon writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 5:36:10 PM

70s/80s horror remake No. 1,264
Cannon writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 5:38:13 PM


Better idea: why not cast Wood to play the Brit who murdered his Thai girlfriend for breaking his Star Wars toys?

trailertrash writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 6:39:24 PM

(( Sigh )) Caroline Munro ......
minicooperz writes:
on November 8th, 2011 at 7:53:38 PM

looks interesting enough though i've never seen the 80's version. as long as they don't make any sh*tty comments about hobbits or lord of the rings, i'm in
seveltoto writes:
on November 5th, 2017 at 2:36:09 AM

recreator9 writes:
on December 7th, 2017 at 12:59:34 AM


There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved