WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Universal Studios Head Says "The Wolfman," "Cowboys and Aliens," "Land of the Lost" are Crap

Posted: November 4th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Universal Studios Head Says "The Wolfman," "Cowboys and Aliens," "Land of the Lost" are CrapSubmit Comment
Speaking at the Savannah Film Festival, head of Universal Studios Ronald Meyer criticized some of his movies, including "The Wolfman," "Cowboys and Aliens" and "Land of the Lost," stating that they were all "crap."

"We make a lot of sh*tty movies. Every one of them breaks my heart. We set out to make good ones," he said. "One of the worst movies we ever made was 'Wolfman.' The script never got right, [the cast] was awful. The director was wrong. Benicio [del Toro] stunk. It all stunk."

Meyer continued: "'Cowboys and Aliens' wasn't good enough. Forget all the smart people involved in it, it wasn't good enough. All those little creatures bouncing around were crappy. I think it was a mediocre movie, and we all did a mediocre job with it."

And regarding "Land of the Lost," the studio head said: "'Land of the Lost' was just crap. I mean, there was no excuse for it. The best intentions all went wrong."

He did, however, recognize that "Scott Pilgrim vs the World" was a good movie, but was disappointed that it didn't do as well as the studio hoped. Meyer is also proud of "United 93," which he said "wasn't a big moneymaker, but it's a film I believe every American should see."

Source: Movieline


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 31 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
boogiel writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 10:36:46 PM

Universal Studios Head Says "The Wolfman," "Cowboys and Aliens," "Land of the Lost" are Crap


You don't say.
Bob82 writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 10:37:00 PM

Agree about 'Wolfman' and 'Cowboys', they were crap, but I liked 'Land', or at least I laughed at the bits I saw on cable. 'Scott Pilgrim', masterpiece.
jdl107 writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 10:39:12 PM

Sure says crap a lot.
DeVries writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:01:39 PM

Oh stop crying it breaks your heart you f*cking rich c*nt, it only makes your a little less rich instead of f*cking richer everytime. bastard.
Raider writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:02:11 PM

I actually liked Cowboys and Aliens.
BadChadB33 writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:21:33 PM

Well..
billofill writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:22:55 PM

Scott Pilgrim was a niche f*cking audience to begin with. Fun f*cking movie but none the less. And Wolfman was alright except the whole Wolfman vs Wolfman ending wtf was that.
witwicky-potter writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:38:42 PM

Stopped caring what's said about movies these days,if its a good movie for me then im down with that.
hollafoadolla writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:39:58 PM

durrrrrrr. this is why you hollywood a**holes need to listen to the people that actually go see the movies. but no, you want to make awful decisions and then complain about the shi* profits.
TrueAvenger12 writes:
on November 3rd, 2011 at 11:47:38 PM

@witwicky-potter Same here.
nawtnt writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 12:02:31 AM

The Universal Studios head is a stupid idiot for insulting the movies that his company helped got made.

I haven't watched The Wolfman and the script wasn't right, the cast was awful maybe and the director was wrong, then why chose Joe Johnston?

Choose a classic horror director.

About Cowboys and Aliens? The cast looks great and the head is p***** because the film didn't made lots of money which for the head means it wasn't good enough.

And also about Land Of The Lost? Forget it looks crap so I have agree that one with the studio head.
Cannon writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 12:24:15 AM

Good god, what. an. *sshole.

Look, I know we’re all supposed to respect honesty and all, but this is just poor taste and downright unprofessional. First of all, I liked Wolfman. It wasn’t a classic by any means but despite the patchwork production, I thought it was respectable. Del Toro was a great casting choice both for his brooding resemblance to Lon Chaney Jr. and also for his unique leading man qualities. Joe Johnson is a fine craftsman director and gave this movie proper technique and moody atmosphere.

The problem lies with the generic scripting, which is ultimately watered down and dictated by...you guessed it...the studio execs. So this motherf*cker is just passing the buck, like a little bitch. If Cowboys and Aliens, as is, was a box office megahit, he’d be standing there talking about how well “those creatures” worked. In other words, his creative insight only goes as far as box office receipts.

But now he’s gonna act all high and mighty for speaking his mind. f*ck him! If movies suck, 99.99% of the time it's the studio's fault.


hunter207 writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 1:13:22 AM

I just don't understand why people hated the wolfman, I actually liked that movie
SquirrelFlyer writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 1:24:34 AM

hire me to show you how to care about movies and put thought into making them.
Sleuth1989 writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 1:39:58 AM

@Raider
I did too. In fact most people I talked to loved it and thought it was awesome. The problem was they thought a lot of people couldn't accept the science fiction with the western elements but when you just opened up to the story it was quite well made.
Devil writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 1:58:15 AM

f*cking *sshole. Wolfman had one of the best cast one could ever ask for. It was you who f*cked it up.
sleepingshane writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 2:00:25 AM

united 93 no, go watch loose change or september clues.
Ranger writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 2:15:41 AM

So, is he bragging that he authorizes sh*tty movies?! Way to go buddy!

Worse yet will be when he makes: 'Cowboys VS. Aliens and The Wolfman in the Land of the Lost!'

That'll suck.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 3:01:25 AM

you know what would have been AWESOME?????? if you thought of that BEFORE you actually RELEASED those movies ..... SURELY you must have seen them before they were released?
Kurskij writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 3:16:38 AM

He sure has a lot of sand in his vagina.

Yet he is all quiet about "Green zone". Still hoping for another real Bourne to happen?
birnam writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 4:12:46 AM

Good for him to sh*t talking his own movies.

The Wolfman was probably one of the worst movies I have ever seen. The acting was terrible. It was like all the actors decided to just read their lines for the whole movie.
telur writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 4:58:10 AM

bottom line... he f*ck he's own sh*t

that's wrong baby

that's wrong to publish in public

Kurskij writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 8:42:53 AM

^ Almost died laughing.

Though that's probably what he really does.
Spankfish writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 9:02:38 AM

If he's that upset about the films he should quit, then use the vast fortune he's acquired making sh*t films giving the money back to the people who paid for a ticket to see the films in the 1st place. Like Jay and Silent Bob, but without the beatings.
Bunny X writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 9:06:34 AM

No need to go around repeating what we all know.
Makes you sound like a twat.

I really liked Scott Pilgrim, it's one of those movies I can actually watch over and over again from any point in the movie.
Devil writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 9:15:16 AM

@Ranger

LOL.
President Baltar writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 1:52:19 PM

@Sleuth1989
Firefly already did id, huge fan base.
FBO writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 5:19:23 PM

THEN WHY DID YOU RELEASE THEM YOU ASS f*ckING HOLE?!?
japaninmotion writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 8:19:50 PM

wolf man trouble from the begining nothing good was going to come from that

lotl rushed for writers strike

AvsCB bad marketing
EilanVakshti writes:
on November 4th, 2011 at 8:41:19 PM

Sooner or later we'll all be calling this studion "Anus-versal" because of how many godawful films they have released lately.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on November 5th, 2011 at 9:40:16 AM

You arrogant f*ck!!

"Wolfman" tanked because you stupid f*cker fired the director a week or so before shooting.

"Cowboys and Aliens" tanked because you didn't market it right.

"Land of the Lost" didn't do to well because people were sick and tired of Will Ferrel.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved