WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Mickey Rourke Says Marvel Ruined "Iron Man 2"

Posted: October 30th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Mickey Rourke Says Marvel Ruined "Iron Man 2"Submit Comment
During a press junket for "Immortals," Mickey Rourke spoke about how Marvel ruined "Iron Man 2" and whether he would be interested in returning for the "Sin City" sequel.

"I try to find the moments where [the villain is] not that cliched, evil bad guy and it's a big fight," Rourke said about his character in "Iron Man 2." "I had it on 'Iron Man' and [Marvel] won. It was going to work for Marvel and them breaking [Jon] Favreau's balls and wanting just a one-dimensional villain. The performance and all the things that I tried to bring to it ended up on the f*cking floor. That can cause you not to care as much. To not to want to put that effort in to try and make it an intelligent bad guy or a bad guy who is justified in what his reasons are."

It was recently reported that Marv (Rourke) is in the "Sin City 2" script. When asked if he would reprise the role, the actor said: "It depends on how bad they want me. You feel me? I did [like the character], but I'm claustrophobic, so the hours of makeup... You have to keep it on for about 13 or 14 hours a day. It's latex and glue and that stuff that gets my eyes all red..."

Source: SHH


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:08:25 PM

You would think Mickey thought Sin City was a pretty sweet gigg, Being paid a nice few dollars and having a makeover every day.
cress writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:16:43 PM

Iron Man 2 sucked. It felt rushed and Don Cheadle was miscast. Very forgettable sequel.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:17:07 PM

Shut the f*ck up Rourke.that role was your comeback from B movie madness.If it wasnt for Rodriguez you'll still be giving blowjobs in LA with Thomas Jane
bandolero999 writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:18:14 PM

you can blame the *sshole that wrote the screenplay of Iron Man.The guy that is currently dating Jennifer Aniston
Bonzaitri writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:19:52 PM

Marvel obviously wanted IM2 to be a huge preview of the Avengers and they had too much control over the movie. hopefully now that they don't need to worry as much about that, Shane Black can get them off his ass and deliver something great, because I think he is very capable and great with dialogue
nawtnt writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:28:45 PM

Iron Man 2 wasn't great but still a good sequel.

I think Rourke is right that Marvel ruined Iron Man 2.

I hope Marvel get it right with Iron Man 3 just like the first movie.
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:37:03 PM

I totally agree with cress and bandolero. As much as I like Don Cheadle as an actor, he was miscasted in the Iron Man 2 sequel.

And Rourke seems to be getting a swelled head lately. He needs to be reminded that it won't take much to put him right back onto the direct-to-DVD circuit.
venomex writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 7:43:50 PM

a one dimensional actor playing a one dimensional character that gave a one dimensional performance....and he's complaining now?
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 8:06:11 PM

It wasnt that long ago that this pretentious ass was starring in movies along side other great actors such as JCVD, Tupac and others who did nothing but pollute the screen. Yet it took a film like the wrestler to revive his career.. Dont know if you realized this Rourke but your last little film did call passion play did so well it too went straight to dvd. Dont bite the hand that not only feeds you but brought your career back from the dead. Pretty soon if he keeps this up, he will be lucky to be casted as a zombie in the walking dead....
The Tall Man writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 8:32:55 PM

Iron Man 2 was un-epic in everyway possible... and boring.
markoz writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 9:07:36 PM

Iron Man 2 was made to be too much of The Avengers promo.So was Thor just not that much. I totally forgot that Mickey Rourke was in Sin City,beacuse of make-up and all.He was great there.
Avirex writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 10:17:08 PM

@yourmomgivesgoodhead

He should be fortunate enough he ever had the opportunity to appear alongside Tupac. Or would you say his current co-stars like Megan Fox (Passion Play) are somehow superior?
boogiel writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 10:49:51 PM

So now we know why favreau quits. Marvel broke his balls.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 10:50:27 PM

Double Team was such an atrocity to film it hurts my eyes.

Bullet with 2pac and Adrien Brody is actually pretty good give it a watch
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 11:30:15 PM

Bando- Cmon you gotta love Rodman in that movie lol. J/K

I even forgot I owned Iron Man 2 till read this article.
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 11:49:31 PM

He's back to spending nights in hotels in the tropics at $4K a night (as he's mentioned on Leno). You THINK he would remember being down on his luck and Hollywood giving him a second chance. Not too thrilled with his comments here. He's honest, and good for him for not 'playing the game' - of course it's his call. But the game (Hollywood) is a small town, and burning bridges hasn't worked for Lohan, so Mickey... wise-up!
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 11:50:28 PM

And I've said it before on here. I'm a HUGE Iron Man fan, and I literally fell asleep during IM2.
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 11:54:39 PM

PS: if ANYone thinks my post are play-alongs to popular opinion. My last posts on here were made after reading Mickey's comments and I didn't read even ONE of the comments before posting mine.

Mickey of course is free to speak his mind... but careful Mickey. We all know you have a self-destructive personality... maybe you miss being poor already?
Ranger writes:
on October 30th, 2011 at 11:57:06 PM

And I don't doubt for a second that the exec's stuck their noses into the creative element that was Favreau's IM, instead of doing what they should be doing and that's counting beans and nothing else. You hire talent (directors, actors) to put your trust of your investment into them. Butt the f*ck out!
JohnZee writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 12:47:21 AM

First of all it is common knowledge that the only reason that Mickey Rourke ever did Iron Man 2, whatever you believe about the state of his career back then, was because Robert Downey Jr. begged him to do it. (At the Oscars btw, where Rourke was in attendance because he was nominated.)

BEGGED HIM.

And then when Marvel said they wanted to pay him crap compared to the other actors besides the bit characters, he told them to go f*ck themselves.

And then Robert Downey Jr. and the director had to do some serious BEGGING to get Mickey Rourke to accept anything for the role.

And he's right Marvel f*cked Iron Man 2. It was their hands that diluted that special magic that made Iron Man into a TOTALLY unexpected smash hit.

And Mickey Rourke has always spoke his mind. Throughout the many highs and lows that he's experienced in his career. HE's always been known as an actor that doesn't give a f*ck and speaks his mind. Something that has cost him cash and career opportunities.

So he's speaking his mind again, at least consistent. And at least he's always had the balls to speak his mind, in an industry where speaking your mind is seriously frowned upon.

Second of all wasn't Bill Murray in Passion Play too? So is everyone saying that Bill Murray is a piece of sh*t actor that NEVER could act?

Well f*ck you, f*ck you, and f*ck you.

Tons of great actors have had career slumps or haven't given their greatest performance in everyone of their films.

But Bill Murray and Mickey Rourke have done GREAT work as actors. Memorable roles that will be remembered for decades as examples of great acting.

Has all their work been great?

Nope. Personally I thought the first Ghostbusters was one sh*tty ass performance for Murray. In fact the first time I ever saw ite I thought that it was the first movie that he was in where it didn't look like he was trying to push the envelope of his art. And doing the very best that he could possibly do.

In Ghostbusters it looked like he was just there for the paycheck.

Jean Reno was in Leon the Professional, great movie and he played the role greatly. But that Steve Martin Pink Panther movie and a lot of Jean Reno's later movies don't compare.

Does that mean that Jean Reno can't act? That in reality he could never act.

I suggest you watch Leon the Professional and then afterwards if you can honestly say that Jean Reno is "a one dimensional actor playing a one dimensional character that gave a one dimensional performance...." for ANY film he has ever played in I would wager that you are full of sh*t.

Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 12:52:06 AM

'So he's speaking his mind again, at least consistent. And at least he's always had the balls to speak his mind, in an industry where speaking your mind is seriously frowned upon.' --- agreed. I do like it that he's honest and consistent (seriously). And I don't think $'s mean that much to him. He's a great interview. On Leno, telling stories about the old days when he was a money collector and guns were involved. Priceless. They had to bleep out about every 5th word he spoke. I'm sure he's aware more than most of us that his 'honesty' can cost a person jobs in that town.
Damon242 writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 1:00:30 AM

I agree. Iron Man 2 was a mess, and the only thing I found enjoyable about it was Rourke's character - at least for the first half, before he began another run-of-the-mill bad guy.
Raider writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 1:03:53 AM

You know I never got why people didn't like Iron Man 2. Can anyone tell me what's with the hate?
Rambo writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 4:16:53 AM

yet he didn't mind getting paid.
Ranger writes:
on October 31st, 2011 at 10:57:34 AM

@Raider - as no one else has taken a shot of this. If memory serves (and remember I fell asleep throughout this movie)... Mickey's character wasn't threatening. He was in the movie, then not (maybe when I dozed off... again?). They needed a villain, but his character was poorly used.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved