WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"Independence Day 4" Sequels May Happen Without Will Smith

Posted: October 28th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"Independence Day 4" Sequels May Happen Without Will SmithSubmit Comment
NY Mag has learned that director Roland Emmerich and his screenwriting partner Dean Devlin are now putting the finishing touches on the scripts for the two new sequels to "Independence Day," with hopes of shooting the films back-to-back.

Back in 2009, 20th Century Fox attempted to convince Will Smith to reprise his role, but the actor wanted $50 million for the two films. The amount was too big for Fox, which also has to negotiate Emmerich's massive deal.

And now that Emmerich is ready to deliver the scripts next month, Fox has decided that it will move forward with the sequels with or without Smith. It will likely be without the actor, because not only is he expensive, but comes with lots of demands. "He wants to be close to home," said a source. "There's also talks about him wanting to include Jada and maybe even Willow in the movie, too."

Source: NY Mag


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 39 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
oklahomaer writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 7:20:57 AM

I sure hope it is without smith.I wouldn't see it if he had his 2 c*nts in that movie.
Freudian_Nightmare writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 7:32:10 AM

Stop pimping your children, Will! Even sweatshop-owners in Bangladesh think you're a tool.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:03:27 AM

Everything sounded good and I had Faith on this until this part:There's also talks about him wanting to include Jada and maybe even Willow in the movie, too."

a part of me died inside

bandolero999 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:05:20 AM

just cause your family is in the 1% and your not collecting food stamps,and extremely wealthy doesnt mean you have to ruin Hollywood and put all your f*cking SEEDS.
nawtnt writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:06:40 AM

Independence Day is a classic movie, why is it having a sequel?

I think the sequel wouldn't work without Will Smith but still he wants more money and also wants Jada and Willow included in ID4 2 so it is good for Fox to move the film forward without Smith.
Rambo writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:08:46 AM

Smith lost his balls the day he got owned by jada..
bandolero999 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:33:26 AM

Smith was the reason I hated Independence Day

They could of put Ice Cube,Larry Fishburne or some Real NIgga then i would of been straight
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 8:45:40 AM

I always get Jada and Willow mixed up
Lizardking515 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:31:12 AM

Im sure some other black dude can take his place and be better at being black. Lol. And for cheaper. Give it to sum1 that would take no more that 15 mil for both(7.5 each, sounds about rite) considering the budget for one of them is going to be 200, cant be giving some one 50 and shell out another 15 for his family members to be ik nvolved. Thats like 1/3rd of the budget rite there. Wtf is he thinking
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:37:19 AM

Will your dead to me!!! You had to marry Jada, I'm still lost by all of this.
Dre-EL writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:49:19 AM

f*ck it we dont need him.
The5thBeatle5 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:58:59 AM

I lost a lot of respect for Will Smith ever since he's been trying to shove his talentless kids down people's throats, but f*ck it, have Jeff Goldblum in the sequels and I'm good.
pornfly writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 10:30:44 AM

Thank f*ckn God,i'll wait for sumwun else to say they all look alike anyway....beloved yes,classic i- dont-think-so-o-o (laughing),Smith lost me when he punches that alien,hes about as gangsta as tom cruise is catholic
Tanman32123 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 10:58:01 AM

I'll see The Sequels Regardless... But It wont be Very Good Without Will Smith, I say pay the 50m Cuz It's Obviusly It'll make 600m + Each Film... Cheap c*nts!
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 11:31:25 AM

Everything about this is bad news.

1. We don't need sequels. Earth was nearly destroyed in the first one. What's in the sequels... Earth's rebuilding... then attacked again, and again? Alien's big brotha come to seek revenge? Zzzzzz...

2. Will's $25mil a movie is reasonable. Adam Sandler has received that much for a movie for the love of God!

3. Talk of any of Will's family still in this (after Will is out?) = unlikely. If they are, I surely won't watch these.

4. The President's speech in the first movie was a joke.

5. Back to Will's $50mil for TWO movies. I'd do the same (being honest). He made them a LOT of money first time 'round. Any of us would ask for the same in his position. I just don't think these sequels are necessary.

6. Jada... ummm, yeah. We know who wears the pants in that family (answer: anyone BUT Will).
Johnnyb writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 11:36:16 AM

Maybe Tyrese can be the next big hit after Transformers in this one.....
billofill writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 11:42:06 AM

THey should replace him with the guy who played Carlton.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 11:52:04 AM

The doorman from Rhoda?

Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 11:52:25 AM

Steven Wright?
zyban03 writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 12:37:48 PM

Want's to be close to home?? This guy takes a home and rents a home everywhere he goes.

http://www.businessinsider.com/will-smith-trailer-2011-5
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 1:25:39 PM

'The Heat' - I thought Lindsay trademarked that name for her crotch?
thomas deadison writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 2:57:32 PM

Am I the only one confused by this headline? "Independence Day 4"? Did we already get three sequels?
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 3:29:53 PM

@Ranger: Wouldn't it have been more reasonable for Will Smith to cut his up front fee and instead take a share of the gross profits for each film?
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 3:59:46 PM

I bet he gets a % of the gross plus his $25mil Horror
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 4:05:25 PM

Will Smith ID4 pt2 and 3 $50mil Pay Cheque, Seems like a good deal to me all round.

The guy will bring the punters in, Take MIB3 i bet it's not all that, But it will still take 500/600mil dollars w/w next year easy.

Like it or not a lot of that will be down to Smith.
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 4:11:59 PM

Ranger -

Sandler gets paid the bucks because his films take the dollars at the Boxoffice (US more than else where)

His pay is most likely the most expensive part of any of his films.

So they know $25mil for him and another 40 making it 9x out of 10 it will take $150/250 at the worldwide B/O.

A Sandler comedy is pretty safe and sound bet at the Boxoffice
trailertrash writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 4:14:02 PM

The President's speech in the first movie was a joke.

Man that scene is so cringe worthy ..

technoreaper writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 4:43:15 PM

What an idiot. Way to destroy your career. You had a good run.
technoreaper writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 4:44:50 PM

BTW, I'm pretty sure the $25 million a movie wasn't the deal breaker. It was the garbage about including his kids, working from home, and god knows, flying in Thai food from Bangkok everyday, lol. Some of these actors are morons. Glad they turned him down. I used to think he was a cool guy.
pornfly writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 6:27:49 PM

Lorenzo music aka Garfield?hes dead RANGER come awn buddy
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:26:28 PM

Man she has a tight hold on his balls.

I say, f*ck him, leave him out. He is an annoying c*nt anyway.
JohnZee writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:29:13 PM

$25 million a movie?

And I'm sure he'd want his wife to make at least $10 million on each one, and just wouldn't be happy if his little girl made less than at least twice as much as the guy that played Captain America did.

Geez I'm starting to think that Smith being the present day equivalent of the token black guy in every movie is doing detrimental damage to the career of a lot of African American male actors as a majority of the roles and the financial resources are going to him.

Hard justify that a major studio needs to hire more black male actors or budget films with black male leads with that c*cksucker sucking up $25 million a picture.

And probably EXACTLY the reason Samuel L. Jackson decided to cap off the amount he made on each individual film.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:30:43 PM

Give it to Christ Evans I herbarium he does it on the cheap.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 9:31:34 PM

.....hear he does it on the cheap....bloody iPad!
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 10:27:48 PM

@Horror, tt & John... yep.
Ranger writes:
on October 28th, 2011 at 10:32:46 PM

@techno - agreed. $25mil. (I'd also say) wasn't the deal breaker. Will can pull that in with his name attached (especially considering the successful first movie). I'd get sick of his demands as well (as if the $'s weren't enough... the 'add-ons' are just pretentious bullsh*t). I just hope this scraps the whole idea of these 2 (unnecessary) movies altogether.
Man in Black writes:
on October 29th, 2011 at 1:24:38 AM

f*ck it , he includes the rugrats and dont count on it being a) rated r and b) a block buster .
witwicky-potter writes:
on October 29th, 2011 at 1:43:59 AM

ID4 isnt built around Will Smith so i dont get what the fuss is about.let em do it without him.simple
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 29th, 2011 at 2:39:47 AM

he meeds something to revive his career *cough* bad boys 3

not id4 2 & 3

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved