WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Steven Spielberg Blames George Lucas for "Indiana Jones 4"

Posted: October 27th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Steven Spielberg Blames George Lucas for "Indiana Jones 4"Submit Comment
Empire magazine caught up with Steven Spielberg, who revealed that just like many other "Indiana Jones" fans, he too doesn't like "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull."

"I never liked the MacGuffin," the director said about the object that Indy searches for in the franchise. "George [Lucas] and I had big arguments about the MacGuffin. I didn't want these things to be either aliens or inter-dimensional beings. But I am loyal to my best friend. When he writes a story he believes in -- even if I don't believe in it - I'm going to shoot the movie the way George envisaged it. I'll add my own touches, I'll bring my own cast in, I'll shoot the way I want to shoot it, but I will always defer to George as the storyteller of the Indy series. I will never fight him on that."

Even though Spielberg blames Lucas for the story, he admitted that the idea of placing Harrison Ford into a refrigerator to escape a nuclear explosion was all his. "What people really jumped at was Indy climbing into a refrigerator and getting blown into the sky by an atom-bomb blast. Blame me. Don't blame George," said Spielberg. "That was my silly idea. People stopped saying 'jump the shark.' They now say, 'nuked the fridge.' I'm proud of that. I'm glad I was able to bring that into popular culture."

Click here to read our "Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull" review.

Source: Empire


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 18 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2011 at 10:57:57 PM

FIGHT! FIGHT! FIGHT!

You two at the bike rack after school!
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 26th, 2011 at 11:00:19 PM

Yea it was a depressing movie. Too bad money's gone to both your f*cking heads.
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2011 at 11:14:37 PM

"People stopped saying 'jump the shark.' They now say, 'nuked the fridge.' I'm proud of that. I'm glad I was able to bring that into popular culture." --- umm... maybe be proud of Schlindler's List, Saving Private Ryan and Band of Brothers... but not the fridge there Steven.
Taco writes:
on October 26th, 2011 at 11:20:42 PM

Ranger you took my words. Damn you steven! Don't put your name on a sh*tty story, i don't care if its your friend or not. He has lost his mind and your are next!!!
Ranger writes:
on October 26th, 2011 at 11:23:22 PM

Thx. Taco.
GaffJuran writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 1:31:30 AM

Well of course Steven, we ALL blame George for Indy 4. Because it's his fault.
telur writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 1:45:00 AM

don't worry stevie.... we blame shia lebouf too....
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 3:31:54 AM

We need Harry Hill to sort this problem out.
Kurskij writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 4:25:34 AM

Uhuh.

http://latimesblogs.latimes.com/photos/uncategorized/2008/10/09/indy_southpark_2_2.jpg
nawtnt writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 5:12:15 AM

It is great that Spielberg is loyal to Lucas at the time but still Indiana Jones 4 was just the most awful worst movie ever.

Some of the scenes were didn't make sense and were stupid.

I thought the refrigerator scene was stupid and funny but who should be blame for the scene where Shia LeBeouf swings to tree to tree like a monkey towards a car in the jungle.

That scene was funny but still stupid and over the top.

Let's hope Indiana Jones 5 turns out to better than the last one and the script will not have stupid scenes just like the scenes in Indiana Jones 4.

This time more realistic and making sense scenes hopefully.

Bullit writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 5:34:18 AM

"But I am loyal to my best friend"

You don't hear this kind of words very often these days and just for that, I respect Spielberg. And I forgive them for making a crappy Indiana 4.

sri.mikey writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 6:00:02 AM

Its the wine, maaan!
Johnnyb writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 6:47:06 AM

Sure, Stevie, Sure blame the sender not the messenger..... You too were involved in this sh*t, so is your fault like George, so f*ck up both of you, friendship my ass!!!!!

I wonder how it would look it Darabontīs vision in this one!!!!!
boogiel writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 6:50:45 AM

What a whiner! Steven, Indy 4 sucks!! Deal with it!
Rambo writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 8:37:03 AM

i blame harrison ford for being too old in the movie.
artemis bones writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 9:26:19 AM

There you go, Steven! Blame someone else and act as if you had no idea the man can't write his own name, let alone a proper script. Clearly, there was no learning to be had from the festering mediocrity of the Star Wars prequels. Not a bit, nope.
billofill writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 12:29:38 PM

Yes steven we know you came up with the fridge bit, cause you stole it from the Back to the future script that later got turned into a car instead of a fridge.
DexterMorgan writes:
on October 27th, 2011 at 3:26:32 PM

you should never listen to george lucas duh, it george f*cking lucas, hes a big f*ckin retard

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved