WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"Captain America: Civil War" Concept Art Shows Two Avengers Teams
Aug 30th, 2015
First Look at Michael Fassbender in "Assassin's Creed" Video Game Movie
Aug 29th, 2015
Matt Damon Reveals "Bourne" Sequel Plot Details
Aug 29th, 2015
New Trailer for Jack Black's "Goosebumps"
Aug 29th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence and Amy Schumer Working on New Comedy
Aug 27th, 2015
Christopher Meloni Joins "Holding Patterns"
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for "Love the Coopers" Comedy, with John Goodman, Ed Helms and Olivia Wilde
Aug 27th, 2015
Trailer for Nicholas Hoult's "Kill Your Friends" Crime Thriller
Aug 26th, 2015
James Franco is a Tech Billionaire in "Why Him" Comedy
Aug 26th, 2015
General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Aug 20th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Jungle Cruise," Based on Disney's Theme Park Ride
Aug 20th, 2015
Trailer for "Blunt Force Trauma," with Mickey Rourke and Freida Pinto
Aug 20th, 2015
First Trailer for "Victor Frankenstein," with Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy
Aug 19th, 2015
"Prometheus 2" Delaying Neill Blomkamp's "Alien 5"
Aug 19th, 2015
Freddie Highmore and Odeya Rush Join "Holding Patterns"
Aug 19th, 2015
New Trailer for Matt Damon's "The Martian" is Here!
Aug 19th, 2015
Post-Apocalyptic "Zorro" Reboot is Moving Forward
Aug 19th, 2015
Hugh Jackman Hints at Sabertooth and Berserker Rage in "Wolverine 3"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for "Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at "Star Wars: Rogue One" Spin-Off Film
Aug 18th, 2015
First Look at Chris Hemsworth in "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Aug 18th, 2015
New Photo From Pixar's "Finding Dory"
Aug 18th, 2015
First Poster for Disney's Live-Action "The Jungle Book"
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for "Carol," with Cate Blanchett and Rooney Mara
Aug 18th, 2015
Trailer for Kevin Hart's "Ride Along" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
First Posters for "Alice in Wonderland" Sequel
Aug 15th, 2015
Bradley Cooper is a Chef in "Burnt" Trailer
Aug 15th, 2015
First Look at Black Panther on "Captain America: Civil War" Set
Aug 13th, 2015
First Look at Dolph Lundgren in "Kindergarten Cop" Sequel
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight" is Here!
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Life," with Dane DeHaan as James Dean
Aug 13th, 2015
Trailer for "Trumbo," with Bryan Cranston and Helen Mirren
Aug 13th, 2015
Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?
Aug 9th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman Wants to Play James Bond

Posted: October 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play James BondSubmit Comment
We recently heard that Idris Elba (Thor) would love to play James Bond after Daniel Craig decides not to return to reprise the role. And now comes word that Hugh Jackman is also interested in portraying the secret agent.

According to Jackman, he had the chance to play Bond when "Casino Royale" was casting the lead. He explained: "I got a call from my agent saying, 'There is some possible interest in you for Bond, are you interested?' At the time I wasn't. I was about to shoot 'X-Men 2' and Wolverine had become this thing in my life and I didn't want to be doing two such iconic characters at once."

The actor added that if he was offered the role again, he might just take it. "I think every male at some point thinks about playing James Bond so it was not right then, but it may be right if it comes back," he said.

Source: Press Association


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:51:57 AM

Just let Ryan Reynolds star as James Bond so he can f*ck that franchise up as well.since he already ruined Blade 3,deadpool,green lantern
Rambo writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:53:58 AM

well,he will be too old if he takes over the franchise after Craig so no...stick to wolverine and gay musicals.
boogiel writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 8:21:46 AM

If he does, he'll be the second Aussie to portray bond. and as I recall, things don't go very well with Aussie Bond.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 8:30:48 AM

So no more Wolverine then
sleepingshane writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 9:36:42 AM

he would make a better indiana jones.
NotAmerican writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 9:44:45 AM

Hugh Jackman would do James Bond no justice. Henry Cavill or Michael Fassbender would be super Daniel Craig replacements.
Rambo writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:29:00 AM

he should have f*cked the girl in the end.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:37:38 AM

Let him play Doctor Who.
Raider writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:41:18 AM

I have a feeling The Wolverine will never be made.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:05:40 AM

The actor playing Bond is not the problem. The material sucks without Ian Flemmings influence.
zyban03 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:46:07 AM

^Very True!!

But even so, nothing against Jackman, I'd rather see Fassbender play the role.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:01:09 PM

Wow... his ego.

"... and I didn't want to be doing two such iconic characters at once." --- biggest line of sh*t I've ever heard an actor speak.

If they REALLY WANTED him for Bond, they would have waited the few months it takes for him to finish a movie like X-Men.

As for Elba... 'if Craig decides to not return'... ahh, Bond is the closest thing Craig has in his career for keeping him in the spotlight, so don't expect him to decline any Bond offers... IN HIS LIFETIME!

Oh, and Jackman... want a bigger shovel?

And SAC is right. Any lacking on Craig's Bond movies had nothing to do with him. He's a fab. Bond. Bond without Fleming is like Star Trek without Roddenberry.
Atemisk writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:57:08 PM

I think Sleepingshane has it right. Daniel Craig is an awesome Bond. On the otherhand I don't think that Hugh Jackman really fits the role. Maybe he could do it, but something just wouldn't seem right. He could make a great Indiana Jones, and think about it: after the giant pile of sh*t that was Indy 4 how could Hugh Jackman possibly make the series any worse??
nawtnt writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 1:14:31 PM

I think he wouldn't make a great James Bond, instead he should stay as Wolverine.
Daniel Craig is great as Bond and should stay as Bond for at least two more movies.

I hope Bond 23 turns out to be the best movie in the series.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:01:19 PM

I've been watching Bond since the Connery (and George Lazenby) days. I think Craig is good enough they should keep using him as Bond 'til the man is almost in a wheelchair.

Even an episode of House (MD) nailed it. With Dr. House asking someone: 'Who's the best Bond - Connery or Craig?' (IMO George Lazenby is a close 3rd.). Craig is CLEARLY in Connery class.

As for Huge Jack-off... if they really offered him Bond (as he says), he would have done it as quickly as any actor with a working pair would accept Batman. Hugh... you're full of sh*t.
technoreaper writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:23:07 PM

NO.

Didn't the Bond producers say he was "too fey"?
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:57:15 PM

Ranger

Nice to hear someone else like dear old George, Bad advice robbed him of at least a couple more Bond outings thats for sure, Who wouldn't give it all up for Diana Rigg

For me Roger Moore will always be Bond closely followed by Sean.

Under the Moore era,yes they were more light hearted than Connery but they set the standard for all action films during the late 70's to mid 80's.

Don't think anyone else out there at the time could have followed Sean and Roger has always been very quick to sing the praises of Connery's Bond saying he will always be number 1.

Craig should carry on as Bond i like him (didn't think i would just couldn't see him as Bond before C.R).

And his films have been Boxoffice gold one of MGM's only shinning lights.

As for Jackman i dont mind the guy but i don't see him as Bond. As already been said on here Michael Fassbender would be my choice to takeover when Craig steps aside
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:09:33 PM

Agreed TT Fassbender would make a great Bond. I thought of him being Bond after the kill scene in X-Men 1st class.
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:18:33 PM

Yes mate.

Even though he's half German (we can over look that) i think he would make a very cool old style James Bond.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:43:57 PM

In the Connery fashion TT?
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:51:05 PM

He's got that 60's look about him but with a hard edge (see Eden Lake great little british thriller)

Think it was Rabid who said they should set the films back in the 60's again, Thats a great idea.

That would set Bond aside from all the Bourne type action films that are out there today, Which is thanks to the Bond franchise.
Quidd writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 4:20:03 PM

Sheeeettt. Everyone want to play Bond. Remember Jamie Foxx wanted to play it. Thats worse than putting a n*gger in the White House.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:31:00 PM

Ahh... ok.

But Obama is half white. So wez still gots us a cracker is da Big House!

As for Connery... I like him best on Jeopardy:

http://tinyurl.com/ConneryONJeopardy

@tt - I've talked with friends about Connery vs. Moore. If they're a few years younger than I, they always go with Moore. I liked him as well. He was in some of the best outings as Bond.
Batmanfan writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:33:04 PM

Well he isn't the first Austrailian to play Bond
telur writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 12:26:02 AM

he should play Dr. No
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 12:41:39 AM

Why. Jackman never says no to anything.
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:22:49 AM

make a prequel to "dirty harry" and cast him as a young harry callahan and i'll def watch
zyban03 writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 1:31:50 PM

^ NO WAY!!

Leave Dirty Harry alone - Nobody should ever play that character again.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:43:17 PM

I hate him as Wolverine! I hope he does this and They finally get someone who can Play Wolverine!
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 10:53:36 PM

Well... Gary Coleman is no longer an option.

THANKS TO THAT MURDEROUS SHANNON PRICE!!!!!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 18th, 2011 at 4:16:27 AM

I'd cast Tom Hardy.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on October 20th, 2011 at 4:14:40 PM

Wow no love for Roger Moore, And to say that Craig is in the same class as Connery...thats just funny, Lazenby wore a friggin kilt...he couldnt act worth a sh*t. Connery is the best, Moore is the 2nd best. Craig just pouts and gets his ass kicked and every movies thus far. The whole point of Bond was a quote from Q haha " Never let them see you bleed" and what does craig do...bleeds...alot..

Did 20th Century Fox Leak Comic-Con Trailers for "X-Men: Apocalypse" and "Deadpool"?

General Zod to Have Flippers Instead of Hands in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"

Two Ben Affleck Movies Delayed, "Batman" Reboot Happening Earlier?

Director Josh Trank Blames Studio for Terrible "Fantastic Four" Reviews

Charlie Hunnam Says "Pacific Rim 2" Must Focus More on Story Than Visuals

"Ant-Man" Gets Second Worst Marvel Opening

Ben Affleck to Direct "Batman" Reboot!

James Wan Joins "Mortal Kombat" Reboot

Superman Destroyed One of Bruce Wayne's Buildings in "Man of Steel"

Bryan Singer Says "X-Men" and "Fantastic Four" May Soon Unite
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved