WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Look at Jesse Eisenberg as Lex Luthor in "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice"
Mar 26th, 2015
Trailer for Arnold Schwarzenegger's "Maggie" Zombie Film
Mar 26th, 2015
First Clear Look at The Thing From "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 26th, 2015
Idris Elba May Play Villain in "Star Trek 3"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Photos of Ben Stiller and Owen Wilson From "Zoolander 2"
Mar 26th, 2015
New Trailer for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 25th, 2015
Vin Diesel Predicts "Furious 7" Will Win Best Picture Oscar
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Slow West" Western Thriller
Mar 25th, 2015
Poster for "Fantastic Four" Reboot
Mar 25th, 2015
Trailer for Dustin Hoffman's "Boychoir" Film
Mar 25th, 2015
Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
Mar 24th, 2015
"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon
Mar 24th, 2015
Vivica A. Fox Returns for "Independence Day 2"
Mar 24th, 2015
Poster for "Entourage" Movie
Mar 24th, 2015
Tom Cruise's "Mission: Impossible 5" Trailer is Here!
Mar 23rd, 2015
Neill Blomkamp Says "Alien 5" Won't Interfere With "Prometheus" Franchise
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops
Mar 23rd, 2015
"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" to Begin Filming Next Month
Mar 23rd, 2015
Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman
Mar 22nd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" Unveils New Photos and Magazine Cover
Mar 22nd, 2015
Bobby Cannavale Discusses Confusing "Ant-Man" Shoot
Mar 22nd, 2015
Jason Statham vs Dwayne Johnson in "Furious 7" Clip
Mar 22nd, 2015
Sony to Remake "Romeo and Juliet" Using "300" Style
Mar 21st, 2015
New Trailer for Ethan Hawke's "Good Kill" Film
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for Simon Pegg's "Man Up" Comedy
Mar 21st, 2015
Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Footage in "Avengers: Age of Ultron" TV Spot
Mar 20th, 2015
New Trailer for M. Night Shyamalan's "Wayward Pines" TV Series
Mar 20th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Pixels" Trailer Breaking Records
Mar 20th, 2015
"Captain America: Civil War" Start Date and Plot Synopsis Revealed
Mar 20th, 2015
Jim Carrey and Keanu Reeves to Star in "The Bad Batch" Cannibal Film
Mar 20th, 2015
First Look at Tom Hanks in Steven Spielberg's "Bridge of Spies"
Mar 19th, 2015
"Sharknado 3" Gets Title and Release Date
Mar 19th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Hugh Jackman Wants to Play James Bond

Posted: October 16th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Hugh Jackman Wants to Play James BondSubmit Comment
We recently heard that Idris Elba (Thor) would love to play James Bond after Daniel Craig decides not to return to reprise the role. And now comes word that Hugh Jackman is also interested in portraying the secret agent.

According to Jackman, he had the chance to play Bond when "Casino Royale" was casting the lead. He explained: "I got a call from my agent saying, 'There is some possible interest in you for Bond, are you interested?' At the time I wasn't. I was about to shoot 'X-Men 2' and Wolverine had become this thing in my life and I didn't want to be doing two such iconic characters at once."

The actor added that if he was offered the role again, he might just take it. "I think every male at some point thinks about playing James Bond so it was not right then, but it may be right if it comes back," he said.

Source: Press Association


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 32 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
bandolero999 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:51:57 AM

Just let Ryan Reynolds star as James Bond so he can f*ck that franchise up as well.since he already ruined Blade 3,deadpool,green lantern
Rambo writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:53:58 AM

well,he will be too old if he takes over the franchise after Craig so no...stick to wolverine and gay musicals.
boogiel writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 8:21:46 AM

If he does, he'll be the second Aussie to portray bond. and as I recall, things don't go very well with Aussie Bond.
bandolero999 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 8:30:48 AM

So no more Wolverine then
sleepingshane writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 9:36:42 AM

he would make a better indiana jones.
NotAmerican writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 9:44:45 AM

Hugh Jackman would do James Bond no justice. Henry Cavill or Michael Fassbender would be super Daniel Craig replacements.
Rambo writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:29:00 AM

he should have f*cked the girl in the end.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:37:38 AM

Let him play Doctor Who.
Raider writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:41:18 AM

I have a feeling The Wolverine will never be made.
SACdaddy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:05:40 AM

The actor playing Bond is not the problem. The material sucks without Ian Flemmings influence.
zyban03 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:46:07 AM

^Very True!!

But even so, nothing against Jackman, I'd rather see Fassbender play the role.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:01:09 PM

Wow... his ego.

"... and I didn't want to be doing two such iconic characters at once." --- biggest line of sh*t I've ever heard an actor speak.

If they REALLY WANTED him for Bond, they would have waited the few months it takes for him to finish a movie like X-Men.

As for Elba... 'if Craig decides to not return'... ahh, Bond is the closest thing Craig has in his career for keeping him in the spotlight, so don't expect him to decline any Bond offers... IN HIS LIFETIME!

Oh, and Jackman... want a bigger shovel?

And SAC is right. Any lacking on Craig's Bond movies had nothing to do with him. He's a fab. Bond. Bond without Fleming is like Star Trek without Roddenberry.
Atemisk writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:57:08 PM

I think Sleepingshane has it right. Daniel Craig is an awesome Bond. On the otherhand I don't think that Hugh Jackman really fits the role. Maybe he could do it, but something just wouldn't seem right. He could make a great Indiana Jones, and think about it: after the giant pile of sh*t that was Indy 4 how could Hugh Jackman possibly make the series any worse??
nawtnt writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 1:14:31 PM

I think he wouldn't make a great James Bond, instead he should stay as Wolverine.
Daniel Craig is great as Bond and should stay as Bond for at least two more movies.

I hope Bond 23 turns out to be the best movie in the series.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:01:19 PM

I've been watching Bond since the Connery (and George Lazenby) days. I think Craig is good enough they should keep using him as Bond 'til the man is almost in a wheelchair.

Even an episode of House (MD) nailed it. With Dr. House asking someone: 'Who's the best Bond - Connery or Craig?' (IMO George Lazenby is a close 3rd.). Craig is CLEARLY in Connery class.

As for Huge Jack-off... if they really offered him Bond (as he says), he would have done it as quickly as any actor with a working pair would accept Batman. Hugh... you're full of sh*t.
technoreaper writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:23:07 PM

NO.

Didn't the Bond producers say he was "too fey"?
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:57:15 PM

Ranger

Nice to hear someone else like dear old George, Bad advice robbed him of at least a couple more Bond outings thats for sure, Who wouldn't give it all up for Diana Rigg

For me Roger Moore will always be Bond closely followed by Sean.

Under the Moore era,yes they were more light hearted than Connery but they set the standard for all action films during the late 70's to mid 80's.

Don't think anyone else out there at the time could have followed Sean and Roger has always been very quick to sing the praises of Connery's Bond saying he will always be number 1.

Craig should carry on as Bond i like him (didn't think i would just couldn't see him as Bond before C.R).

And his films have been Boxoffice gold one of MGM's only shinning lights.

As for Jackman i dont mind the guy but i don't see him as Bond. As already been said on here Michael Fassbender would be my choice to takeover when Craig steps aside
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:09:33 PM

Agreed TT Fassbender would make a great Bond. I thought of him being Bond after the kill scene in X-Men 1st class.
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:18:33 PM

Yes mate.

Even though he's half German (we can over look that) i think he would make a very cool old style James Bond.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:43:57 PM

In the Connery fashion TT?
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:51:05 PM

He's got that 60's look about him but with a hard edge (see Eden Lake great little british thriller)

Think it was Rabid who said they should set the films back in the 60's again, Thats a great idea.

That would set Bond aside from all the Bourne type action films that are out there today, Which is thanks to the Bond franchise.
Quidd writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 4:20:03 PM

Sheeeettt. Everyone want to play Bond. Remember Jamie Foxx wanted to play it. Thats worse than putting a n*gger in the White House.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:31:00 PM

Ahh... ok.

But Obama is half white. So wez still gots us a cracker is da Big House!

As for Connery... I like him best on Jeopardy:

http://tinyurl.com/ConneryONJeopardy

@tt - I've talked with friends about Connery vs. Moore. If they're a few years younger than I, they always go with Moore. I liked him as well. He was in some of the best outings as Bond.
Batmanfan writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 11:33:04 PM

Well he isn't the first Austrailian to play Bond
telur writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 12:26:02 AM

he should play Dr. No
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 12:41:39 AM

Why. Jackman never says no to anything.
Mudders writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:22:49 AM

make a prequel to "dirty harry" and cast him as a young harry callahan and i'll def watch
zyban03 writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 1:31:50 PM

^ NO WAY!!

Leave Dirty Harry alone - Nobody should ever play that character again.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:43:17 PM

I hate him as Wolverine! I hope he does this and They finally get someone who can Play Wolverine!
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 10:53:36 PM

Well... Gary Coleman is no longer an option.

THANKS TO THAT MURDEROUS SHANNON PRICE!!!!!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 18th, 2011 at 4:16:27 AM

I'd cast Tom Hardy.
Long Rod VonHugendong writes:
on October 20th, 2011 at 4:14:40 PM

Wow no love for Roger Moore, And to say that Craig is in the same class as Connery...thats just funny, Lazenby wore a friggin kilt...he couldnt act worth a sh*t. Connery is the best, Moore is the 2nd best. Craig just pouts and gets his ass kicked and every movies thus far. The whole point of Bond was a quote from Q haha " Never let them see you bleed" and what does craig do...bleeds...alot..

Joss Whedon Blames Edgar Wright for Not Having Ant-Man in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

Mexico Pays "Spectre" $20 Million to Rewrite Script

Michelle Rodriguez Apologizes For White People's Superheroes Comment

Next Spider-Man Will NOT Be White?

Disney's "Cinderella" Dominates at Box Office

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Hugh Jackman Knows Who Would Win in a Fight, Batman or Wolverine

"The Dark Knight" Voted the Greatest Superhero Film of All Time

Confirmed: Neill Blomkamp Will Direct New "Alien" Film

Stephen King Comments on Early Screening of Guillermo Del Toro's "Crimson Peak" Horror Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved