WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

"The Thing" - What Did You Think?

Posted: October 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
"The Thing" - What Did You Think?Submit Comment
The prequel to John Carpenter 1982 sci-fi horror film "The Thing" is now playing in theaters. If you already had the chance to see it, we want to know what you thought. Write your mini-reviews in the comments section below.

On RottenTomatoes the film is carrying a lousy 34% fresh rating, with most critics agreeing that it's good for a bunch of cheap thrills, but lacks any real scares. Most, however, found it entertaining.

The $35 million film grossed $3.2 million on Friday, which was only good enough for third place, behind "Real Steel" and "Footloose." It's being estimated that "The Thing" will end up making $8.5 million for the weekend, which is not enough to earn back its budget domestically. Come back on Sunday to see the actual results.

Click here to read our "The Thing" review.

Source: WorstPreviews.com


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 25 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 5:04:42 PM

Shame Carpenter couldn't have been involved directing or as a producer, His original is one of the best SCFI Horror films ever made !!
SeWerin writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 5:16:56 PM

@trailer

Indeed. But this one sounds like quasi-remake full of CGI. And that's not point of "The Thing" at all.

Also that stomach scenes is still one of the greatest scares for me. Such an epic scene.
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 5:45:05 PM

SeWerin

Agree 100% thats a great scene in a movie full of great scenes.

Carpenter was on a high in his career back then and he optimized those types of FX techniques in all his films and they still stand the test of time even today.
nawtnt writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:20:04 PM

This prequel is getting panned and might not do well with money but still John Carpenter's The Thing didn't do well with money or the critics either so I might go to watch this movie.

I still a sequel would be great, I mean have a rescue team investigating the destroyed camp where the team goes inside the alien spaceship since no one in the original 1982 movie went into the ship.

Also the original movie has amazing scenes and my favourite scene is also the stomach scene.
JACKallupinJILL writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:45:43 PM

I actually loved this film...it was a winner for me because it's what it was...a prequel! **SPOILER ALERT** it ended just as john carpenter's began..with the helicopter chasing the dog..there's a scene in the new film where a hero kills part of the thing that's crawling on the wall with an ax..the ax sticks in the wall..before he retrieves it the heroine says.." leave it there" cause it had infected blood on it. now go watch kurt russell's THE THING..when he goes to that camp to investigate there's the ax stuck in the wall..i love that stuff!!! the effects were awesome..i give this film 5 SQUIRTS of BUTTER!
triggax writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:55:33 PM

TT.

Carpenter still to this day utilizes the same gore techniques that he himself pioneered.

Watch cigarette burn. Its a masters of horror short film. Classic carpenter. Quite the enjoyable little horror film
sleepingshane writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 7:26:10 PM

get ready for them to butcher They Live next, still give this one a go tho..
SACdaddy writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:00:14 PM

As I said on another thread, I though this prequel was pretty decent, and that's coming from a person who thinks the 80 version is one of the best films ever made. It just lacked the star power and some of the paranoia of the original. I was totally satisfied with the effects and scares though. It does screw up the very end but not in a way that ruins the rest of the film.

hardcorehogan87 writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:02:21 PM

@SeWerin, trailertrash: Spot on. The original is my second favorite movie all time. Just a great, old-fashioned, "Don't make 'em like they used to" horror movie.

There's just too much CGI in the trailers to make me want to see the new one.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:40:15 PM

wayy too much CGI + no REAL characters = total bore
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 9:41:54 PM

thats not good.
j-man writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 10:48:31 PM

Yet WP GAVE IT 8/10
technoreaper writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 11:54:32 PM

Please, quit the spin guys.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:28:24 AM

Hey trig. Nice to see you post.

You out on a weekend pass?
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:44:48 AM

@TT

You aint wrong there mate, the ahole movie is a masterpeice. When you rely too much on CGI you know the script is sh*t.

And that stomch still turns me now and I ahve seen the movie hundreds of times.

If you can listen to the commentary..it is Carpenter and Russell.

On subject.

This should never had been made..it is an abortion..it needs to be kicked in the crotch to kill it.

Will end up watching but holding any hope it will be good.

My brother is already pissed off at this, just hope it is crap so I can confirm his suspcion.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 6:59:58 AM

Good lookin out TRIGGAX AND TT def. Gonna watch all these on dvd together,just seen the o.gp.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:18:59 AM

JACK/JILL
SACdaddy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:53:01 AM

You know, I think the whole bit about "too much CGI" is getting old. Its 2011 and we have entire studios that do nothing but spend millions to perfect the effects we have today. When done right, I believe these effects are every bit as creative as anything Stan Winston delivered back in the day. Not to knock the old rubber latex and corn syrup days but they had their limitations. Film is an evolving artform and is always attempting to push itself passed these limitations. CGI exists to be to break these barriers and hurdles. Anyone remember the end of the original Thing film. Once we finally saw the alien in full beast mode it was painstakingly slow, cartoonish, and cheesy. They show a lot more of the Thing in action in this prequel so they had to find a way to make it more realistic and fluid in plain sight. There is no way to compensate for this with the old creature effects so the CGI must step in. You guys complain all the time that you want something new and creative from these films and this is their way of giving you just that. They gave us a fully functioning creature, thats fast on its "feet", and extremely believable without having to do away with the "shock and awe" factor the original provided. There are still plenty of WTF moments in this film when the creature is either spassing out under a building or is right on top of somebody where the CGI is so realistic that its almost uncomfortable. The audience reaction to these scenes speaks volumes. You could feel the tension in the theater during these scenes, and in my book that makes for an effective film. If you love film I say give your nostalgic hangups a break for 2 hrs and give this pequel a chance. Its no masterpiece but its definitely worth the price of admission.
bill the butcher writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:53:03 AM

joel edgerton was hard as nails in WARRIOR

mary elisabeth winstead was great in DIE HARD 4

it will not be as good as the carpenter one

but it will be worth a look all the same :)
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:20:12 PM

Thanks Trig i will try and check that out.
trailertrash writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:24:35 PM

dave -

I've not heard the dvd commentary mate but will check that out next time i watch it (which will be very soon)
Stapes writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 8:11:42 PM

Way better than I was expecting, some great homage here and there, CGI looks as good as CGI can, still think some of it could have been done with more practical effects, just would have been extremely expensive, the movie does indeed seem to get kind of stupid by the end, but truth be told, Carpenter was never able to get the final creature effects they way he wanted them in the original.
Sev writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 10:45:24 AM

Practical effects have come a long way since Carpenter's days and still wins over CG anyday. Plus it costs less with less man power and time to do practical effects compaired to the number of CG artists needed for around a year to finish CGI. Thank f*ck for Cineworld cards otherwise I wouldn't go see this CG fest.
Loui Balfour writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 4:07:37 PM

everyone dies....

the dog lives... for a while!
makingcircles writes:
on October 18th, 2011 at 10:41:16 AM

The CGI bothered the hell out of me. Some movies the CGI works....this was not one of them. Too cartoony. They should have just done real effects if they really wanted to pay homage to the original.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved