WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Who Wants a "Green Lantern" Sequel?

Posted: October 15th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Who Wants a "Green Lantern" Sequel?Submit Comment
"Green Lantern" hit theaters earlier this year and grossed only $219 million globally on a $200 million budget. Considering that a massive marketing campaign was implemented, Warner Bros ended up losing a substantial amount of money on the superhero film, which has only a 27% fresh rating on RottenTomatoes.

The movie has now been released on DVD and Blu-ray, and THR caught up with DC's Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns to find out if the studio is planning a sequel. "There is the hope that we will eventually see one," he said. "I hope that the character gets another film, and it will be live-action again - I guarantee."

Meanwhile, the company is focusing on building up the character. Johns added: "with the new animated series, Green Lantern is only going to get bigger."

That animated series, which will premiere on Friday, November 11th at 7/6c on Cartoon Network, has now unveiled its opening scene. Check it out below.

Opening Scene:

Source: THR, Cartoon Network

Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 44 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
HorrorJunky4Life writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:20:56 PM

Personally, I wouldn't look forward to one but if they can make the sequel actually watchable, I'm game.

Just don't expect me to pay for for it.
Rambo writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:25:49 PM

Ryan Reynolds was a miscast imo.He's a good actor but didn't make a good green lantern.moreover all the other actors seemed quite anemic and lifeless.so if they make a sequel or a reboot there should be some serious changes.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:27:10 PM

Get a Good Director and someone who can actually play Hal Jordan and not have Ryan Reynolds Play himself calling himself Hal Jordan then maybe. 2nd Thought Just make a Sinestro movie.
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:40:39 PM

Just watched the movie tonight funny enough, Don't know anything about GL so i thought it was ok at best.

Mark Strong was under used as Sinestro IMO, His character seemed the most interesting to me.
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:41:54 PM

More Blake Lively is never a bad thing on the plus side
pornfly writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:46:39 PM

Goodcall on the ryan playin ryan calling himself GL but i'd luv many more but needs a good score/theme
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 4:47:15 PM

didn't watch the first, not gonna watch the sequel
SeWerin writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 5:14:57 PM

Hal Jordan needs to be c*cky SOB, he needs to be bastard at times, but a bastard with a sense of justice. He isn't Van Wilder in green.

I didn't like first one at all. Too much time on earth, boring villain, sucky relationship, incredibly pointless & stupid twist after the credits (seriously that's just slap in the face).

I would say that we need John Stewart as a Green Lantern in a sequel also about 80% of movie needs to be set in space.
JOR-EL writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 5:28:04 PM

I am looking forward to a Green Lantern sequel. While the first movie was not without flaws it was an origin story so I understood why it was on earth so much. Hopefully the sequel will have more action and improved villain. Ryan Reynolds was the perfect Hal Jordan. I love the comic book and the movie but I hope it finds a bigger audience. I though it was way better than Wolverine or X-Men First class and both of those are getting sequels.
trailertrash writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:08:38 PM

^ I thought X Men 1st class was the best of all the super hero films this summer
nawtnt writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:12:56 PM

I don't there is no need for a sequel.

Green Lantern is the worst comic book movie not only this year but in years since Batman and Robin.

I was amazed how the film turned out to be and honestly it got trashed by Thor, X-Men: First Class and Captain America: The First Avenger.

Those films are the best comic book movies of the year.

Still hey, Transformers 2 still got a sequel: Dark Of The Moon so maybe GL might get one too.

I think a reboot would be great in my opinion.

JACKallupinJILL writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 6:48:55 PM

SURE...just cut out all the comedy sh*t!
Johnnyb writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:16:23 PM


I didn┤t see GL!!!!! And when it becomes available, I don┤t think I seem either. However what keeps me of giving a try on this movie.... Why have many bad reviews┐? Why ┐? Is because the acting, the plot or action scenes were not enough. Can someone explain me┐?
reach110 writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:31:17 PM

@johnnyb No one can explain you. No one wants to try.
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:42:52 PM

do i want one? sure ...... as long as its NOTHING like this one.

id cope with a sequel as long as they focused on less sh*t and made me care more about the characters.
venomex writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 9:05:15 PM

no thank you
Batmanfan writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 9:31:12 PM

Am I really one of the people that liked Green Launtern? I did notice it was lacking in some areas yes but they can go anywhere. Sinestro fordged the ring of fear in the after credit scene for one and Blake Lively said in an interveiw that Carrol Ferris will kick Hal's ass in the sequel, could mean Star Saphire might make an appearance as well which I would watch for sure, also Hal wasn't the only human Launtern either a sequel could bring in Guy Gardner, Jon Stewart or Kyle Reyner into the story. So many options!! And Ryan Reynolds was a good choice I can't think of any one else to do it. It came down to Reynolds or Bradley Cooper.... Really seems the lesser of two evils
yourmomgivesgoodhead writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 9:45:04 PM

I say give it another go, why not. I mean they cant make franchise any worse than it already is. But please recast Reynolds. Nathan Fillion would be a bad ass GL(imo) and the studio/producers did way too much with the cgi. more old school filming would actually suit this type of film and oh it may help if they actually give the characters depth.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 9:46:53 PM

It'll happen anyways
Ranger writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 10:34:13 PM

I'd like to know what cost so much to make the first one.

I'm one of the biggest GL fans around (for decades). I think he has one of the BEST background stories every (Superman-class). And I haven't lifted a finger to see this (yet), mainly because of everyone's negative reviews (plus I'm busy with a project). Maybe this winter I'll give it a go.

Question is. If a big fan of GL like me hasn't bothered to see it. I don't know how they expected people (like tt) that didn't even know his background to bother to go pay a ticket for it.

A sequel? Who cares?
Devil writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 11:57:07 PM

Johnnyb writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:10:59 AM


I don┤t care what you think or not, ass!!!!! I still want an explanation of why GL is so bad!!!!!
Jamall316 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:18:09 AM

Just have the whole damn movie in space, then it'll be fine.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:23:38 AM

Ok, if you are making one.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 6:38:29 AM

Totally agree with Ranger. I've been a big GL fan since I first started reading comics as a kid in the 80's. Nothing from what I saw in the trailers or commercials made me wanna see it. All the negative press and reviews definitely didn't help either. I did however buy a $4 bootleg outside of an NYC bar one night. Even being a huge fan, it took me two weeks to actually watch it, and two attempts to get through it. Although I like Reynolds in certain movies, he was terribly miscast in this. The special effects, for the most part, were horrible. The script made no sense and there was no attempt at making the audience connect with any of the characters. The Guardians were a bunch of whiny pussies. There was no solidarity actually shown from The Corps, other than when they had their little pep rallies that went nowhere. Blake Lively was annoying. Hector f*cking Hammond??? There's not enough time to go into how lame he was, so I'll just say a nerdy guy in a wheel chair with elephantitis and a receding hairline is not an intimidating villain. What's left? Parallax looked like f*cking cross between Malebolgia from that sh*tty live action Spawn movie and Galactus from that sh*tty Fantastic Four movie, only much worse. Just because it was so bad, I'll mention the script being terrible again. On top of all that, I think Helen Keller could have done a better job directing and editing this disappointment. Like many others, one of the only positive things I can say was Mark Strong was great as Sinestro, even though we were never given any inclination that he craved power and will ultimately turn into the heroes biggest and most recognizable villain. All in all, I would recommend for people not to bother wasting time on this one. It wasn't really even a good "brainless popcorn action movie". It was just a steaming pile of CGI'd green garbage.
markoz writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 6:49:46 AM

Well,if they don't replace screenwriters who actually work for DC comics with someone who doesn't have any contact with comics again,then it will be good.
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 6:59:09 AM

...and no, I do not want to see a sequel. When I first read that the movie was moving forward a few years ago, I envisioned something completely different. I was actually hoping for Kyle Rayner to be the main GL, but set it up similar to the original Star Wars movies and have it be about the salvation of the protagonist, in this case, Hal Jordan. Have the opening scenes be a huge battle involuntary the Lantern Corps, on the scale of the final act of the second Lord of the Rings movie. This could set up both Hal Jordan and the corps as being a bunch of badass space police. Always though Dennis Quaid would've made a great battle worn, slightly aged Hal Jordan. Have Hal sacrifice himself to stop Parallax, then move on to earth, where no one was even awear they were in danger. Set up Kyle Rayner's quick backstory. Give him the ring and have him try to figure it out while constantly getting his ass handed to him by Sinestro and a couple of minor villains. His balls finally drop and he saves the day. End on a hint at a sequel by him getting a message from Guy Gardner and Jon Stewart telling him he isn't alone. Next movie - all 3 working together and training for the return of Parallax (the Hal Jordan version, nit the yellow space bug). Add a couple of supporting characters for good measure and elevate the status of a couple of DC's second string villains and have then go toe to toe with the Lanterns until Hal shows up and reeks havoc. They hold him off long enough to cleanly end the movie. 3rd movie - focus more on the strength of The Corps, even though most have been killed by Hal. Have them rebuild and train together with some typical minor battles throughout and ultimately lead to Hal Jordan's redemption and death and solidify his spot as the quintessential human Green Lantern. This could also set up for another series focusing on prequel tales of Hal and the other GL's as well as a new trilogy of movies based on the resurrection of Hal. Sorry if this was really long (that's what she said), butive been on the toilet for quite a while now, and I needed something to help pass the time. Cheers!
eViL.kEv2 writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:03:05 AM

*Sorry for the spelling mistakes. Typing on an iPhone while squeezing out my stinky morning mountain is not the best idea I've ever had.
pornfly writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:06:20 AM

EVILKEV2 nailed it thx
Kill-the-director writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 7:36:19 AM

A sequel would have great potential for GL. The origin story isn't the greatest so i'm glad its out the way. I must be the only person who thinks ryan reynolds was a great choice for hal jordan.
Bunny X writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 9:34:09 AM

Had they kept this new animated series in the same vein as Justice League or even Young Justice, it'd be great. But it's along the lines (animation wise) as the Star Wars animated show. So it'll be crap. But still infinitely better than that horrible movie.
Ranger writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:13:57 PM

@eViL - great post (not just for agreeing). Your $4. bootleg story and STILL 2 weeks to even look at it, for a big GL fan like myself says it all as to why this tanked at the box office.

@Kill - not sure you meant the origin story in the movie sucked, or GL's origin story itself sucks. If the latter, I'd have to disagree. GL has an AMAZING, involved, galactic his-story. For the $'s we heard they spent on the movie (it MUST have included their advertising budget, and they wanted to pump out a large number to make people believe they were taking this movie seriously), it should have EASILY been the best superhero movie of the year (origin included).
Dre-EL writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 12:25:37 PM

I wanna see a sequel. Also bring in John Stewart and Guy Gardner. Leave Kyle for the third movie.
Kill-the-director writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 2:49:26 PM


sorry wasn't clear enough. meant the way the movie portrayed the origin sucked
fuck_you_thats_my_name! writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 3:46:33 PM

technoreaper writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:06:42 PM

TRUEMAN writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 5:43:09 PM

I wanna see a sequel. Also bring in John Stewart (idris Elba) and for gaynolds he is the flash and them the justice league with Bruce tim producing
JohnZee writes:
on October 16th, 2011 at 10:32:21 PM

I'm a pretty big Green Lantern fan, and that cartoon was so embarrassingly bad I am starting to rethink all those kudos I have given Geoff Johns over the years for the work he has done with the Green Lantern comic books for DC.

I'd take that Ryan Reynolds movie over that crap any day of the week.
Ranger writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 1:10:28 AM

@Kill --- thx.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:15:05 PM

The people who cast this movie are dumb! I think Bradley Cooper would be perfect for Guy Gardner not Hal.
Ryan Looks the part like he really does, But he played himself, I swear thats he did! And 2 be honest he's just too canadian for me as Hal. Im canadian and thats just true!
KillerCOck writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:19:06 PM

I do blame alot of his acting on the script and director in this movie though. I really do think Ryans a good actor, just not in this movie.
I really think Chris Pine would be a good Hal Jordan, enough people disagree with me though, but I really think he Would've been a better choice.
KillerCOck writes:
on October 17th, 2011 at 7:29:44 PM

It'd be easier to tell you whats good about the movie cuz I personally think thats a real short list.

-Mark Strong as Sinestro is f*cking inspiring.

-Peter Saarsgard as Hecter Hommand. He's cool to watch in this.

-Appreciating how true to the source material the movie kind of succseeds in.

Thats it pretty much it. But don't get me wrong. If it wasnt called Green Lantern, It's actually pretty entertaining in a cheesy kinda way.
Ranger writes:
on October 18th, 2011 at 12:19:51 AM

After gaining tons of respect for Pine's 'Kirk', I think he would make a fab. Green Lantern.
jellyzero79 writes:
on October 20th, 2011 at 7:49:03 PM

I liked it and would be interested in seeing how the Sinestro story hinted at in the credits would play out. The effects were great too.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

Marvel Has Contingency Plans In Case It Regains Rights to Superheroes

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved