WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Trailer for "Midnight Special" Sci-Fi Film, with Michael Shannon and Joel Edgerton
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Melissa McCarthy's "The Boss" Comedy
Nov 23rd, 2015
Trailer for Juan Antonio Bayona's "A Monster Calls"
Nov 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Central Intelligence" Comedy, with Dwayne Johnson and Kevin Hart
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for "Zoolander 2" Arrives Online
Nov 19th, 2015
Official Trailer for "Now You See Me" Sequel
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Chris Hemsworth's "The Huntsman: Winter's War"
Nov 19th, 2015
Trailer for Keanu Reeves' "Exposed" Thriller
Nov 19th, 2015
First Look at Chris Pine on "Wonder Woman" Set
Nov 16th, 2015
Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel
Nov 16th, 2015
Gerard Butler is a God in "Gods of Egypt" Posters
Nov 16th, 2015
First Look at Liam Neeson in Martin Scorsese's "Silence"
Nov 16th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Divergent Series: Allegiant"
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for "Moonwalkers" Comedy, with Ron Perlman and Rupert Grint
Nov 16th, 2015
Trailer for Charlie Kaufman's "Anomalisa" Stop-Motion Film
Nov 3rd, 2015
Poster for "Warcraft" Arrives Online, Trailer Coming on Friday
Nov 3rd, 2015
There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster
Nov 2nd, 2015
First Trailer for Sacha Baron Cohen's "The Brothers Grimsby" Comedy
Nov 2nd, 2015
"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas
Nov 2nd, 2015
Final Trailer for Ron Howard's "In the Heart of the Sea," with Chris Hemsworth
Nov 2nd, 2015
New Photos From "Warcraft" Video Game Movie
Nov 2nd, 2015
Lots of New Photos From "Suicide Squad"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Dirty Grandpa" Comedy, with Robert De Niro and Zac Efron
Oct 30th, 2015
Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"
Oct 30th, 2015
Trailer for Jared Hess' "Don Verdean" Comedy, with Sam Rockwell
Oct 30th, 2015
"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast
Oct 28th, 2015
Trailer for Adam Sandler's "The Ridiculous 6" Comedy
Oct 28th, 2015
"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie
Oct 28th, 2015
Another "Monopoly" Movie in the Works
Oct 28th, 2015
"Jumanji" Remake Hires "Con Air" Writer
Oct 26th, 2015
Disney's "Tower of Terror" Park Ride Movie Moving Forward
Oct 26th, 2015
Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"
Oct 26th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Seth MacFarlane Wants to End "Family Guy" and Reboot "Star Trek" TV Series

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Seth MacFarlane Wants to End "Family Guy" and Reboot "Star Trek" TV SeriesSubmit Comment
The Hollywood Reporter caught up with "Family Guy" creator Seth MacFarlane, who revealed that he wishes "Family Guy" would come to an end and that he's eager to reboot "Star Trek" for television.

Regarding "Family Guy," which is in its tenth season, he said: "Part of me thinks that 'Family Guy' should have already ended. I think seven seasons is about the right lifespan for a TV series. There are plenty of people who say the show is kind of over the hill... but still the vast majority go pale in the face when I mention the possibility."

He added that he would rather end the show and then release a "Family Guy" movie every few years. "Creatively, that would be the way to do it for me," MacFarlane explained. "Do a really fantastic final episode while the show is still strong."

Regarding "Star Trek," he said: "I don't know who would give me the keys to that car, but I'd love to see that franchise revived for television in the way that it was in the 1990s: very thoughtful, smartly written stories that transcend the science fiction audience."

Source: THR


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 23 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:15:39 AM

Good, 'Family Guy' is sh*t anyway.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:16:21 AM

Didn't they already reboot Star Trek recently making a prequel type show? Family Guy won't be missed but maybe he could try to release another cartoon that doesn't completely rip off the Simpsons. You know like Futurama did.
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:31:09 AM

No sh*t McFarlane!
velocityknown writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:07:12 AM

"...majority go pale in the face when I mention the possibility."

Funny, that's the reaction I get whenever I tell people "Family Guy" was renewed for another season. No one I talk to thinks this show is worth watching anymore. f*cking end it.

And stay away from Star Trek you ruiner of good things.
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:08:24 AM

sounds good to me and his star trek vision,Next generation was indeed thoughtful and the best star trek series.make it so.
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:08:24 AM

sounds good to me and his star trek vision,Next generation was indeed thoughtful and the best star trek series.make it so.
jdl107 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:10:47 AM

This show used to crack me up, but it's been f*cking terrible the past few years. So is American Dad. Haven't even bothered with that Cleveland Show.
numnut writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:17:57 AM

sh*t yea, would be really interested to see Seth's version of Star Trek.... Paramount take note
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:26:59 AM

Abrams already rebooted it already, so go f*ck yourself.
BadChadB33 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:40 AM

although I would love to a series set after Generation.
mlodge87 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 9:06:25 AM

Abrams didn't reboot sh*t. He just made a completely asinine movie full of lens flares that was set in space. I would be very interested in someone like McFarlane coming out with a series since he actually watched Star Trek and is a huge fan, unlike Abrams who never watched it and knew nothing about it.
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:55:19 AM

I actually have respect for him now cuz he said that seven seasons stuff and admitting the series is over
most TV writers are network bitches while it's the other way around with MacFartlane.
Oh and The Cleveland show sucked
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:57:10 AM

Southpark/Futurama consistently funny keep up the good work
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:59:46 AM

Wut MLODGE said,that prequel series with Scott Bacula was aiight the only good ep. was the borg origin story
technoreaper writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:41:19 AM

Does he have a say in this? This guy has the worst taste in films.
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 12:02:36 PM

Good posts folks.

TNG is good because Roddenberry was given the budget (despite STILL having to fight with interfering studio execs. (which they said upon hiring him they'd never do) that ultimately killed him), and was able to implement all the things he said he wanted in the original series (like the ship breaking off into 2 sections), etc. He hand-picked all the actors too (oh, and Marina Sirtis is a bitch in real life, glad she's washed-up now).

I think (being an original viewer of the original series and throughout... 'cept for that sh*t-fest called 'DS9'), an obvious hole in Roddenberry's masterpiece(s) is a series set after the original series and before TNG. There's those 79 years (coincidentally just how many there were episodes of the original series) that should be explored. The Federation was growing for those 80 years. They still had the old crap Kirk-class ships... THOSE were the pioneering days of Star Trek.
j-man writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 12:28:41 PM

Aslong as american dad stays, its consistantly funny....
zyban03 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:34:46 PM

If they could do something like the next generation again, that would be pretty cool. I don't see any studio doing anything until Abrams is done though.
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 3:21:04 PM

While I love family guy I would hate to see it go the simpsons route and just go on and on like a slowly dying duck who won't stop quacking now and then just to piss you off with its dying breaths. If it ends it would still leave room for a movie from time to time. Simpsons waited way to long to do they're movie in my opinion. And on the star trek note....why not? Hes obviously smart and multi-talented and very creative. And not a well known fact about seth is it wouldn't be all new territory to him. No I don't mean the parodies he has done of trek. He actually has acted in episodes of the last star trek series. He was a crewman with some scenes in season 3 I believe.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:14:19 AM

Seth has the money to do it with his own production co.
BadChad is on to something .
Champ1432 writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 12:53:38 PM

@Ranger

I think that's a great idea, there's a lot of things they could explore in the time between the two series, chief among them the emerging peace between the Federation and Klingons, and how it got from its infancy at the end of Undiscovered Country to where it was when NG began.

They could also cover the technological advancements made leading up to Galaxy Class ships such as thr ships separating, better warp drives, etc. And maybe give us a look at the Federation's first contatct with some of the alien races that popped up for the first time in NG.
Ranger writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 2:11:00 PM

@Champ - yes. I think that's the biggest hole of uncovered time withing Star Trek's storyline. And their time of biggest growth and accomplishments. It could/would be a fantastic adventure to watch.

Oh, and I was in the same room with Gene Roddenberry once. Pretty sweet moment in time.
jellyzero79 writes:
on October 20th, 2011 at 7:54:58 PM

The show hasn't been "strong" for a while now.

There's a Good Reason Why Luke Skywalker Isn't on "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Poster

"The Walking Dead" Fan Kills Friend Who Turned Into a Zombie

Ridley Scott Reveals Another Title for "Prometheus" Sequel

"Indiana Jones" Producer Says Harrison Ford Will Not Be Recast

Johnny Depp and Edgar Wright Team for "Fortunately, the Milk"

"Spectre" Breaks Box Office Records Overseas

"Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Demolishes Pre-Sale Records

Paul Bettany Responds to Jason Statham's "Avengers" Insult

Sandra Bullock to Star in Female Version of "Ocean's Eleven"

Daniel Craig Would Rather Commit Suicide Than Return as James Bond
Lace Wedding Dresses from ViViDress UK online shop, buy with confidence and cheap price.
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved