WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"The Strangers 2" Gets Director and Plot Synopsis, to Shoot This Spring
Jan 29th, 2015
"Snow White and the Huntsman" Sequel to Bring Back Only Two Dwarves
Jan 29th, 2015
Brad Pitt in Talks for "Africa," Directed by Angelina Jolie
Jan 29th, 2015
Emma Watson is Belle in Disney's Live-Action "Beauty and the Beast" Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Kevin Spacey to Play a Cat in "Nine Lives" Comedy
Jan 29th, 2015
Poster for Dwayne Johnson's "San Andreas" Earthquake Film
Jan 29th, 2015
Disney Wants to Reboot "Indiana Jones" with Chris Pratt
Jan 28th, 2015
Liam Hemsworth Offered Lead Role in "Independence Day" Sequel
Jan 28th, 2015
"Ghostbusters" Reboot Found Its Female Cast
Jan 28th, 2015
Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Child 44" Thriller
Jan 28th, 2015
First Poster for "Ted 2," Trailer Coming on Thursday
Jan 28th, 2015
"Mission: Impossible 5," "Friday the 13th" and "Paranormal Activity 5" Get New Release Dates
Jan 28th, 2015
"Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Jan 27th, 2015
Two New "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Magazine Covers, Opening Scene Revealed
Jan 27th, 2015
Fox Confirms "X-Men" TV Series in the Works
Jan 27th, 2015
Joss Whedon Hints He Won't Direct "Avengers: Infinity War"
Jan 27th, 2015
First Look at Michael B. Jordan in Costume From "Fantastic Four," Trailer Coming Today
Jan 27th, 2015
Adam Sandler's "Ridiculous 6" Netflix Film Unveils First Details
Jan 27th, 2015
Trailer for RZA's "The Man With the Iron Fists" Sequel
Jan 27th, 2015
"American Sniper" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Mortdecai" Flops
Jan 26th, 2015
"Birdman" Wins at PGA Awards, Becomes Favorite to Win Oscar
Jan 26th, 2015
Trailer: Keanu Reeves in Eli Roth's "Knock Knock" Thriller
Jan 25th, 2015
DreamWorks Downsizes, Delays "How to Train Your Dragon 3"
Jan 25th, 2015
Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for "She's Funny That Way" Comedy, with Owen Wilson and Jennifer Aniston
Jan 25th, 2015
Trailer for Anton Yelchin's "5 to 7" Comedy
Jan 25th, 2015
Photos: "Avengers: Age of Ultron" LEGO Sets Reveal Lots of Story Details
Jan 24th, 2015
Jesse Eisenberg Would Return as Lex Luthor in Future Films
Jan 24th, 2015
New Restricted Trailer for "Hot Tub Time Machine 2" Arrives Online
Jan 24th, 2015
"Con Air" Director Simon West to Remake "The Blob" Horror Film
Jan 24th, 2015
New Trailer for "The Rewrite" Comedy, with Hugh Grant and Marisa Tomei
Jan 24th, 2015
Oscar Isaac on Playing Apocalypse in "X-Men: Apocalypse," Plus Jean Grey, Cyclops and Storm Have Been Cast
Jan 23rd, 2015
"Project Almanac" Cuts Out Controversial Scene One Week From Release
Jan 23rd, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-Time

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-TimeSubmit Comment
For the last half a decade TorrentFreak was compiling date on the most pirated movies of all-time. Topping the list is "Avatar" with 21 million downloads. That's not very surprising, considering that the film is also the highest-grossing of all-time.

All of the movies on the list have done well in theaters. In fact every one of them broke the $100 million mark, except for "Kick-Ass," which took seventh place and actually grossed $96 million, three times its budget.

The data I would be most interested in is whether most of these downloads happened when the films were already on DVD or still in theaters. If on DVD, then that would explain poor DVD/Blu-ray sales that studio executives have been complaining about.

Check out the top ten list below.

* Avatar (21 million downloads)

* The Dark Knight (19 million)

* Transformers (19 million)

* Inception (18 million)

* The Hangover (17 million)

* Star Trek (16 million)

* Kick-Ass (15 million)

* The Departed (14 million)

* The Incredible Hulk (14 million)

* Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (14 million)

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:12:36 AM

I don't know why piracy is a big problem. Look at those films, the most pirated films yet they made a sh*tload of money. It's not hurting their revenue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:13:58 AM

Viva la resistance. The more films pirated, the more chance actual good films have to be released when they start turning it into cinema again and not business (or something like that).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:35:28 AM

If you ask the people after they pirated the movie did they then go buy said movieor watch movie in cinema, I reckon most would say "yes"

Even if this hurt the dvd/blu-ray sales it didn't effect the box office takings and "Retardavar" got most of it's money from repeat viewing in the cinema.

boogiel writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:37:08 AM

Whoa...the incredible hulk is in that list? I'm speechless...
prowler writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:33 AM

this list was on WP some time ago. just to fill something in, they put it.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:03:55 AM

there will always be piracy i do it every day but i would never ever sell anything i do dl i do it for personal use buy i buy near enough everything i do download aswel and i go to the movies a lot too
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:44:57 AM

Kickass2 needs to hurry the f*ckup already hitgirls startin to turn into jailbait already.now i have to download Footloose and Glee
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:52:23 AM

piracy NEVER hurts a good movie

I watched The Dark Knight in theaters and bought the Bluray too

I watched Inception 3 times in theaters and still bought the Bluray

I pirated Avatar and I regret the wasted time and bandwidth, and sad thing is, this sh*t of a movie is highest grossing movie of all time. FML

what they trying to say is, James Cameron still owns all your butts
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:03:50 AM

People downloaded The Hulk?!?!?

Bwwahahahahahahahahhahahahaa!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

I like both hulk movies
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 4:04:54 PM

I'm surprised to not see battlefield earth on this list?? Oh, wait......(backs out of room slowly in shame)
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 5:47:58 PM

Who Knew James Cameron likes to download his own movies?
sleepingshane writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:24:18 PM

well they cant stick 21 million people in jail per film and if they cut our broadband thats a lot of lost revenue for telcom industry so theres safety in numbers just download from torrent sites, hollywood had a record breaking year so that proves piracy dosent hurt the industry.
Whitta writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:12:20 PM

And i'm very happy i didn't pay for that sh*t-fest, Avatar
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:19:52 PM

@band - I joke... partially. I never thought (even back in my comic days) that The Hulk should be carrying his own book. As a fit in The Avengers though, I think is a great thing.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:12:07 AM

And all those movies lost money .... if you ask the studios . ( sarcasm )
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 5:21:53 AM

rambo had good point

btw, where rambo 1 until 3?
Bunny X writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 9:04:09 AM

Granted, this list shows that "policed" piracy doesn't truly hurt the revenues but can you imagine if it were left unchecked?
I say keep things as they are. Let Hollywood fluff its feathers and try to stop piracy but knowing deep down that they're not. And let folks continue to fear retribution when there ultimately wont be any.
Kovacs writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:07:05 AM

Pirating a pirate movie.
Win. xD

Actor Edward Herrman Dead at 71

Julia Roberts to Star in "Batkid Begins" Film

Henry Cavill Comments on "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split

Anthony Mackie Discusses Becoming Captain America in Marvel Films

Sam Raimi Says He Messed Up "Spider-Man 3"

Ohio Man Demanding Refund for 50 "The Interview" Tickets

Brad Pitt, Christian Bale and Ryan Gosling to Star in "The Big Short"

Tim Roth Says He Almost Returned as Abomination in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Split Into Two Parts?

Michael Moore Hates "American Sniper," Says Snipers are Cowards
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved