WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Photos: Woman Gives Homeless Man a Bag of Food, That Homeless Man is Richard Gere
Apr 24th, 2014
Japanese Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 24th, 2014
Scarlett Johansson and Lupita Nyong'o in Talks for "The Jungle Book"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Photo From Set of "Pitch Perfect 2"
Apr 24th, 2014
Jessica Chastain May Play Female Lead in "Mission: Impossible 5"
Apr 24th, 2014
First Look: Arnold Schwarzenegger on "Terminator: Genesis" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Photos From "Jurassic World" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
Sony Working on a Live-Action "Barbie" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Eric Roberts Says "Human Centipede 3" is Really Horrible
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is NOT Working on "Frozen" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney is Considering Moving "Captain America 3" To a Different Release Date
Apr 23rd, 2014
Lou Ferrigno Will Return to Voice The Hulk in "Avengers: Age of Ultron"
Apr 23rd, 2014
Peeps Candy to Become a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
Disney Turning "It's a Small World" Ride Into a Movie
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Pirates of the Caribbean 5" Still Doesn't Have a Script
Apr 23rd, 2014
"Bad Boys 3" Hasn't Happened Due to Bad Timing
Apr 23rd, 2014
First Look: Robert Downey Jr on "Avengers: Age of Ultron" Set
Apr 23rd, 2014
New Photos From Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2014
Bill Paxton Will Do Anything to Join "Avatar 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films
Apr 22nd, 2014
Paul WS Anderson Reveals Title for New "Resident Evil" Film
Apr 22nd, 2014
Watch First Five Minutes From "How to Train Your Dragon 2"
Apr 22nd, 2014
"Terminator" Reboot is Officially Filming
Apr 22nd, 2014
Marc Webb Wants J. Jonah Jameson in "The Amazing Spider-Man 3"
Apr 22nd, 2014
Trailer for "The Grand Seduction," with Taylor Kitsch and Brendan Gleeson
Apr 22nd, 2014
First Look: Paul Walker's Brothers on "Fast and Furious 7" Set
Apr 22nd, 2014
Danny Boyle and Leonardo DiCaprio in Talks for Steve Jobs Biopic
Apr 22nd, 2014
Steven Spielberg Wrote the Story for "The Goonies" Sequel
Apr 22nd, 2014
New Poster for Tom Cruise's "Edge of Tomorrow" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 21st, 2014
Writer Says "Fantastic Four" is a Coming of Age Story
Apr 21st, 2014
"Bioshock" Movie May Still Be Alive
Apr 21st, 2014
Rubin "Hurricane" Carter, the Boxer and Inspiration for Denzel Washington's Movie, Dead at 76
Apr 21st, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Still Dominating at Box Office, Johnny Depp's "Transcendence" Bombs
Apr 20th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-Time

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-TimeSubmit Comment
For the last half a decade TorrentFreak was compiling date on the most pirated movies of all-time. Topping the list is "Avatar" with 21 million downloads. That's not very surprising, considering that the film is also the highest-grossing of all-time.

All of the movies on the list have done well in theaters. In fact every one of them broke the $100 million mark, except for "Kick-Ass," which took seventh place and actually grossed $96 million, three times its budget.

The data I would be most interested in is whether most of these downloads happened when the films were already on DVD or still in theaters. If on DVD, then that would explain poor DVD/Blu-ray sales that studio executives have been complaining about.

Check out the top ten list below.

* Avatar (21 million downloads)

* The Dark Knight (19 million)

* Transformers (19 million)

* Inception (18 million)

* The Hangover (17 million)

* Star Trek (16 million)

* Kick-Ass (15 million)

* The Departed (14 million)

* The Incredible Hulk (14 million)

* Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (14 million)

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:12:36 AM

I don't know why piracy is a big problem. Look at those films, the most pirated films yet they made a sh*tload of money. It's not hurting their revenue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:13:58 AM

Viva la resistance. The more films pirated, the more chance actual good films have to be released when they start turning it into cinema again and not business (or something like that).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:35:28 AM

If you ask the people after they pirated the movie did they then go buy said movieor watch movie in cinema, I reckon most would say "yes"

Even if this hurt the dvd/blu-ray sales it didn't effect the box office takings and "Retardavar" got most of it's money from repeat viewing in the cinema.

boogiel writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:37:08 AM

Whoa...the incredible hulk is in that list? I'm speechless...
prowler writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:33 AM

this list was on WP some time ago. just to fill something in, they put it.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:03:55 AM

there will always be piracy i do it every day but i would never ever sell anything i do dl i do it for personal use buy i buy near enough everything i do download aswel and i go to the movies a lot too
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:44:57 AM

Kickass2 needs to hurry the f*ckup already hitgirls startin to turn into jailbait already.now i have to download Footloose and Glee
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:52:23 AM

piracy NEVER hurts a good movie

I watched The Dark Knight in theaters and bought the Bluray too

I watched Inception 3 times in theaters and still bought the Bluray

I pirated Avatar and I regret the wasted time and bandwidth, and sad thing is, this sh*t of a movie is highest grossing movie of all time. FML

what they trying to say is, James Cameron still owns all your butts
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:03:50 AM

People downloaded The Hulk?!?!?

Bwwahahahahahahahahhahahahaa!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

I like both hulk movies
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 4:04:54 PM

I'm surprised to not see battlefield earth on this list?? Oh, wait......(backs out of room slowly in shame)
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 5:47:58 PM

Who Knew James Cameron likes to download his own movies?
sleepingshane writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:24:18 PM

well they cant stick 21 million people in jail per film and if they cut our broadband thats a lot of lost revenue for telcom industry so theres safety in numbers just download from torrent sites, hollywood had a record breaking year so that proves piracy dosent hurt the industry.
Whitta writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:12:20 PM

And i'm very happy i didn't pay for that sh*t-fest, Avatar
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:19:52 PM

@band - I joke... partially. I never thought (even back in my comic days) that The Hulk should be carrying his own book. As a fit in The Avengers though, I think is a great thing.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:12:07 AM

And all those movies lost money .... if you ask the studios . ( sarcasm )
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 5:21:53 AM

rambo had good point

btw, where rambo 1 until 3?
Bunny X writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 9:04:09 AM

Granted, this list shows that "policed" piracy doesn't truly hurt the revenues but can you imagine if it were left unchecked?
I say keep things as they are. Let Hollywood fluff its feathers and try to stop piracy but knowing deep down that they're not. And let folks continue to fear retribution when there ultimately wont be any.
Kovacs writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:07:05 AM

Pirating a pirate movie.
Win. xD

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Parents Freaking Out Over "Frozen" Merchandise Shortage

"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy

Zack Snyder Explains Why Batman is in "Man of Steel" Sequel

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Mrs. Doubtfire" Actress Wants Nothing to Do With Sequel

"Star Wars: Episode VII" Will ONLY Be Based on First Six "Star Wars" Films

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved