WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
First Photo of Daniel Radcliffe and James McAvoy in "Victor Frankenstein"
Jul 4th, 2015
Two More Photos From "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 4th, 2015
"Hello Kitty" to Become $200 Million Movie
Jul 4th, 2015
New Photos From "Pride and Prejudice and Zombies"
Jul 4th, 2015
Lots of New "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Photos and Story Details
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Ryan Reynolds' "Deadpool" Comic Book Film
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Monopoly" Movie Hires "The Truman Show" Writer
Jul 3rd, 2015
New Photo From Quentin Tarantino's "The Hateful Eight"
Jul 3rd, 2015
"Terminator Genisys" - What Did You Think?
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for Michael Fassbender's "Steve Jobs" Biopic is Here!
Jul 2nd, 2015
New Trailer for "Transporter" Reboot
Jul 2nd, 2015
Trailer for "Rocky" Spin-Off "Creed"
Jul 1st, 2015
Trailer for Gerard Butler's "Olympus Has Fallen" Sequel, "London Has Fallen"
Jul 1st, 2015
Marlon Wayans Threatening to Make "White Chicks" Sequel
Jul 1st, 2015
Teaser Trailer for Oliver Stone's "Snowden" Film, with Joseph Gordon-Levitt
Jul 1st, 2015
Robert Zemeckis Says He'll Stop Any "Back to the Future" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Titles for "Star Trek 3" and "Guardians of the Galaxy 2" Revealed
Jun 30th, 2015
First Look at Costumes From "Ghostbusters" Reboot
Jun 30th, 2015
Trailer for "Ten Thousand Saints," with Ethan Hawke and Asa Butterfield
Jun 30th, 2015
"Ted 2" Underperforms at Box Office, "Jurassic World" Continues to Dominate
Jun 29th, 2015
"Lucy" and "Colombiana" Sequels in the Works
Jun 27th, 2015
Steven Spielberg Acquires Michael Crichton's "Micro" Novel
Jun 27th, 2015
New "Heroes Reborn" Trailer Arrives Online
Jun 26th, 2015
Photos From New Episodes of "The X-Files"
Jun 26th, 2015
New Trailer for Tom Hardy's "Legend" Thriller
Jun 26th, 2015
Adrian Grenier Would Make "Aquaman" Cameo
Jun 26th, 2015
Shia LaBeouf Hospitalized After Sustaining a Head Injury on Set
Jun 25th, 2015
Dwayne Johnson to Star in "Rampage" Video Game Movie
Jun 25th, 2015
First Look at Gerard Butler in "London Has Fallen"
Jun 25th, 2015
Emma Watson Joins Tom Hanks in "The Circle" Thriller
Jun 25th, 2015
"Spider-Man" Reboot Announces Actor and Director
Jun 24th, 2015
First Trailer for "Paranormal Activity: The Ghost Dimension"
Jun 24th, 2015
Channing Tatum Says He Hates "GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra"
Jun 24th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-Time

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-TimeSubmit Comment
For the last half a decade TorrentFreak was compiling date on the most pirated movies of all-time. Topping the list is "Avatar" with 21 million downloads. That's not very surprising, considering that the film is also the highest-grossing of all-time.

All of the movies on the list have done well in theaters. In fact every one of them broke the $100 million mark, except for "Kick-Ass," which took seventh place and actually grossed $96 million, three times its budget.

The data I would be most interested in is whether most of these downloads happened when the films were already on DVD or still in theaters. If on DVD, then that would explain poor DVD/Blu-ray sales that studio executives have been complaining about.

Check out the top ten list below.

* Avatar (21 million downloads)

* The Dark Knight (19 million)

* Transformers (19 million)

* Inception (18 million)

* The Hangover (17 million)

* Star Trek (16 million)

* Kick-Ass (15 million)

* The Departed (14 million)

* The Incredible Hulk (14 million)

* Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (14 million)

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:12:36 AM

I don't know why piracy is a big problem. Look at those films, the most pirated films yet they made a sh*tload of money. It's not hurting their revenue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:13:58 AM

Viva la resistance. The more films pirated, the more chance actual good films have to be released when they start turning it into cinema again and not business (or something like that).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:35:28 AM

If you ask the people after they pirated the movie did they then go buy said movieor watch movie in cinema, I reckon most would say "yes"

Even if this hurt the dvd/blu-ray sales it didn't effect the box office takings and "Retardavar" got most of it's money from repeat viewing in the cinema.

boogiel writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:37:08 AM

Whoa...the incredible hulk is in that list? I'm speechless...
prowler writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:33 AM

this list was on WP some time ago. just to fill something in, they put it.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:03:55 AM

there will always be piracy i do it every day but i would never ever sell anything i do dl i do it for personal use buy i buy near enough everything i do download aswel and i go to the movies a lot too
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:44:57 AM

Kickass2 needs to hurry the f*ckup already hitgirls startin to turn into jailbait already.now i have to download Footloose and Glee
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:52:23 AM

piracy NEVER hurts a good movie

I watched The Dark Knight in theaters and bought the Bluray too

I watched Inception 3 times in theaters and still bought the Bluray

I pirated Avatar and I regret the wasted time and bandwidth, and sad thing is, this sh*t of a movie is highest grossing movie of all time. FML

what they trying to say is, James Cameron still owns all your butts
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:03:50 AM

People downloaded The Hulk?!?!?

Bwwahahahahahahahahhahahahaa!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

I like both hulk movies
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 4:04:54 PM

I'm surprised to not see battlefield earth on this list?? Oh, wait......(backs out of room slowly in shame)
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 5:47:58 PM

Who Knew James Cameron likes to download his own movies?
sleepingshane writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:24:18 PM

well they cant stick 21 million people in jail per film and if they cut our broadband thats a lot of lost revenue for telcom industry so theres safety in numbers just download from torrent sites, hollywood had a record breaking year so that proves piracy dosent hurt the industry.
Whitta writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:12:20 PM

And i'm very happy i didn't pay for that sh*t-fest, Avatar
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:19:52 PM

@band - I joke... partially. I never thought (even back in my comic days) that The Hulk should be carrying his own book. As a fit in The Avengers though, I think is a great thing.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:12:07 AM

And all those movies lost money .... if you ask the studios . ( sarcasm )
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 5:21:53 AM

rambo had good point

btw, where rambo 1 until 3?
Bunny X writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 9:04:09 AM

Granted, this list shows that "policed" piracy doesn't truly hurt the revenues but can you imagine if it were left unchecked?
I say keep things as they are. Let Hollywood fluff its feathers and try to stop piracy but knowing deep down that they're not. And let folks continue to fear retribution when there ultimately wont be any.
Kovacs writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:07:05 AM

Pirating a pirate movie.
Win. xD

Hugh Jackman on Quitting Wolverine and Making "Deadpool" Cameo

Hugh Jackman Quit Wolverine Role Because of Jerry Seinfeld

It's Official: "Jurassic World" Beats "The Avengers" for Biggest Box Office Opening

Marvel and Sony Can't Agree on Which Actor Should Play Spider-Man

Spider-Man Contractually Cannot be Black or Gay

"Jurassic World" is a Massive Hit, Chris Pratt to Return for Sequel

"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Plot Synopsis Revealed

Stan Lee Comments on Spider-Man Contractually Being White and Straight

"Star Wars" Actor Arrested After Insane Car Chase

Targon Egerton Wants to Replace Hugh Jackman as Wolverine
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved