WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
Five Actors in Talks for "Spider-Man" Reboot
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at "Point Break" Remake
Apr 23rd, 2015
EL James' Husband to Write "Fifty Shades of Grey" Sequel
Apr 23rd, 2015
"21 Jump Street" Directors to Helm Animated "Spider-Man" Movie
Apr 23rd, 2015
Photo: Johnny Depp is Crime Boss Whitey Bulger in "Black Mass"
Apr 23rd, 2015
First Look at Johnny Depp in "Pirates of the Caribbean 5"
Apr 22nd, 2015
New Trailer for George Clooney's "Tomorrowland" Sci-Fi Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
First Poster for M. Night Shyamalan's "The Visit" Thriller
Apr 22nd, 2015
Poster for Jake Gyllenhaal's "Southpaw" Boxing Film
Apr 22nd, 2015
New "Jurassic World" Trailer is Here!
Apr 21st, 2015
First Look at Jared Leto as The Joker From "Suicide Squad"?
Apr 21st, 2015
Photos: Marvel Putting Up Tiny "Ant-Man" Billboards
Apr 21st, 2015
"Transformers 5" Coming in 2017
Apr 21st, 2015
Photo: Full Batman Costume From "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Revealed
Apr 21st, 2015
Full "Fantastic Four" Trailer is Here!
Apr 20th, 2015
Teaser for "Star Wars" Spin-Off Film Leaked Online!
Apr 20th, 2015
Two "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Posters
Apr 20th, 2015
"Furious 7" Crosses $1 Billion at Box Office
Apr 20th, 2015
Trailer for Ridiculous "Mega Shark vs Kolossus"
Apr 20th, 2015
Chris Pratt and His Raptors in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 20th, 2015
George Lucas Says Marvel May Remake "Howard the Duck"
Apr 19th, 2015
Dinosaur vs Shark in New "Jurassic World" Poster
Apr 19th, 2015
Official "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer is Here!
Apr 18th, 2015
Restricted Trailer for Salma Hayek's "The Tale of Tales" Fantasy Film
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for Joseph Gordon-Levitt's "The Walk," Directed by Robert Zemeckis
Apr 18th, 2015
New Poster for "Jurassic World," New Trailer Coming on Monday
Apr 18th, 2015
Full "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Trailer Leaked Online!
Apr 17th, 2015
New "Star Wars: The Force Awakens" Trailer is Here!
Apr 17th, 2015
Josh Hartnett Regrets Turning Down Batman Role in "Batman Begins"
Apr 17th, 2015
Ryan Gosling in Talks for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2015
Trailer for "The Gallows" Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2015
Matthew Vaughn to Direct "Flash Gordon" Remake
Apr 17th, 2015
"Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice" Teaser Trailer is Here!
Apr 16th, 2015
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-Time

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-TimeSubmit Comment
For the last half a decade TorrentFreak was compiling date on the most pirated movies of all-time. Topping the list is "Avatar" with 21 million downloads. That's not very surprising, considering that the film is also the highest-grossing of all-time.

All of the movies on the list have done well in theaters. In fact every one of them broke the $100 million mark, except for "Kick-Ass," which took seventh place and actually grossed $96 million, three times its budget.

The data I would be most interested in is whether most of these downloads happened when the films were already on DVD or still in theaters. If on DVD, then that would explain poor DVD/Blu-ray sales that studio executives have been complaining about.

Check out the top ten list below.

* Avatar (21 million downloads)

* The Dark Knight (19 million)

* Transformers (19 million)

* Inception (18 million)

* The Hangover (17 million)

* Star Trek (16 million)

* Kick-Ass (15 million)

* The Departed (14 million)

* The Incredible Hulk (14 million)

* Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (14 million)

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:12:36 AM

I don't know why piracy is a big problem. Look at those films, the most pirated films yet they made a sh*tload of money. It's not hurting their revenue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:13:58 AM

Viva la resistance. The more films pirated, the more chance actual good films have to be released when they start turning it into cinema again and not business (or something like that).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:35:28 AM

If you ask the people after they pirated the movie did they then go buy said movieor watch movie in cinema, I reckon most would say "yes"

Even if this hurt the dvd/blu-ray sales it didn't effect the box office takings and "Retardavar" got most of it's money from repeat viewing in the cinema.

boogiel writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:37:08 AM

Whoa...the incredible hulk is in that list? I'm speechless...
prowler writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:33 AM

this list was on WP some time ago. just to fill something in, they put it.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:03:55 AM

there will always be piracy i do it every day but i would never ever sell anything i do dl i do it for personal use buy i buy near enough everything i do download aswel and i go to the movies a lot too
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:44:57 AM

Kickass2 needs to hurry the f*ckup already hitgirls startin to turn into jailbait already.now i have to download Footloose and Glee
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:52:23 AM

piracy NEVER hurts a good movie

I watched The Dark Knight in theaters and bought the Bluray too

I watched Inception 3 times in theaters and still bought the Bluray

I pirated Avatar and I regret the wasted time and bandwidth, and sad thing is, this sh*t of a movie is highest grossing movie of all time. FML

what they trying to say is, James Cameron still owns all your butts
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:03:50 AM

People downloaded The Hulk?!?!?

Bwwahahahahahahahahhahahahaa!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

I like both hulk movies
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 4:04:54 PM

I'm surprised to not see battlefield earth on this list?? Oh, wait......(backs out of room slowly in shame)
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 5:47:58 PM

Who Knew James Cameron likes to download his own movies?
sleepingshane writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:24:18 PM

well they cant stick 21 million people in jail per film and if they cut our broadband thats a lot of lost revenue for telcom industry so theres safety in numbers just download from torrent sites, hollywood had a record breaking year so that proves piracy dosent hurt the industry.
Whitta writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:12:20 PM

And i'm very happy i didn't pay for that sh*t-fest, Avatar
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:19:52 PM

@band - I joke... partially. I never thought (even back in my comic days) that The Hulk should be carrying his own book. As a fit in The Avengers though, I think is a great thing.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:12:07 AM

And all those movies lost money .... if you ask the studios . ( sarcasm )
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 5:21:53 AM

rambo had good point

btw, where rambo 1 until 3?
Bunny X writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 9:04:09 AM

Granted, this list shows that "policed" piracy doesn't truly hurt the revenues but can you imagine if it were left unchecked?
I say keep things as they are. Let Hollywood fluff its feathers and try to stop piracy but knowing deep down that they're not. And let folks continue to fear retribution when there ultimately wont be any.
Kovacs writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:07:05 AM

Pirating a pirate movie.
Win. xD

New Spider-Man is 15-Year-Old Peter Parker, No Origin Story

Disney Making Live-Action "Winnie the Pooh" Film

Gal Gadot Responds to Criticism That Her Breasts are Too Small to Play Wonder Woman

Arnold Schwarzenegger Happy He Didn't Star in "Terminator Salvation"

"Avengers: Infinity Wars" Officially Replaces Director Joss Whedon

"Insurgent" Takes First Place at Box Office, Sean Penn's "The Gunman" Flops

"Spectre" Opening Sequence is Biggest in History

"Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles 2" Title Revealed

"Home" and "Get Hard" Perform Well at Box Office

Jennifer Lawrence Says "X-Men: Apocalypse" is Her Last "X-Men" Film
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved