WorstPreviews.com Logo Join the community [Login / Register]
Follow WorstPreviews.com on Twitter
What\ News Coming Soon In Theaters On DVD Trailer,Posters,Pictures,Wallpapers, Screensavers PeliBlog.com Trivia/Quizzes
News/Headlines
"X-Men" Director Bryan Singer Accused of Raping 17-Year-Old Boy
Apr 17th, 2014
Robin Williams to Return for "Mrs. Doubtfire" Sequel
Apr 17th, 2014
Jerry Bruckheimer on "Pirates of the Caribbean 5," "Top Gun 2" and "Beverly Hills Cop 4"
Apr 17th, 2014
James Franco Didn't Know He Has a Cameo in "Dawn of the Planet of the Apes"
Apr 17th, 2014
Poster for Denzel Washington's "The Equalizer" Thriller
Apr 17th, 2014
"The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Contains a Surprising Post-Credits Scene
Apr 17th, 2014
Trailer for Eli Roth's "The Green Inferno" Cannibal Horror Film
Apr 17th, 2014
Antonio Banderas Says "Puss in Boots 2" is Already Being Made
Apr 16th, 2014
"Friday the 13th" Reboot in Talks with "V/H/S" Director
Apr 16th, 2014
Sneak Peek at Marvel's "Guardians of the Galaxy"
Apr 16th, 2014
Final Trailer for "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Sinister Six" Spin-Off May NOT Feature Classic Spider-Man Villains
Apr 16th, 2014
Leonardo DiCaprio to Star in "The Revenant" Revenge Thriller
Apr 16th, 2014
Will Ferrell, John C. Reilly and Adam McKay Re-Team for "Border Guards" Comedy
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for Chrloe Moretz's "If I Stay"
Apr 16th, 2014
"Fast and Furious 7" Hires Paul Walker's Brothers to Help Finish the Film
Apr 16th, 2014
Trailer for "Third Person," with Liam Neeson and James Franco
Apr 16th, 2014
Andrew Garfield Says Spider-Man is Jewish
Apr 15th, 2014
Channing Tatum Confirms Talks to Play Gambit in "X-Men" Film
Apr 15th, 2014
David Fincher to be Replaced on Steve Jobs Biopic Due to Unreasonable Requests
Apr 15th, 2014
Harrison Ford Excited to Return for "Blade Runner" Sequel
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for David Cronenberg's "Maps to the Stars," with John Cusack and Julianne Moore
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Philip Seymour Hoffman's "God's Pocket" Thriller
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Zoe Saldana's "Rosemary's Baby" TV Series
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Tommy Lee Jones' "The Homesman"
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Jay-Z's "Annie" Remake, With Jamie Foxx and Cameron Diaz
Apr 15th, 2014
Trailer for Ben Affleck's "Gone Girl" Thriller, Directed by David Fincher
Apr 14th, 2014
Pierce Brosnan Says He Was NOT Good Enough as James Bond
Apr 14th, 2014
"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ
Apr 14th, 2014
Watch Opening Battle Sequence From "X-Men: Days of Future Past"
Apr 14th, 2014
Spider-Man Battles Electro in New "The Amazing Spider-Man 2" Clip
Apr 14th, 2014
First "Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles" TV Spot Shows Splinter
Apr 14th, 2014
"Transformers: Age of Extinction" TV Spot From MTV Movie Awards
Apr 14th, 2014
Previous News Stories Next News Stories

Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-Time

Posted: October 13th, 2011 by WorstPreviews.com Staff
Top 10 Most Pirated Movies of All-TimeSubmit Comment
For the last half a decade TorrentFreak was compiling date on the most pirated movies of all-time. Topping the list is "Avatar" with 21 million downloads. That's not very surprising, considering that the film is also the highest-grossing of all-time.

All of the movies on the list have done well in theaters. In fact every one of them broke the $100 million mark, except for "Kick-Ass," which took seventh place and actually grossed $96 million, three times its budget.

The data I would be most interested in is whether most of these downloads happened when the films were already on DVD or still in theaters. If on DVD, then that would explain poor DVD/Blu-ray sales that studio executives have been complaining about.

Check out the top ten list below.

* Avatar (21 million downloads)

* The Dark Knight (19 million)

* Transformers (19 million)

* Inception (18 million)

* The Hangover (17 million)

* Star Trek (16 million)

* Kick-Ass (15 million)

* The Departed (14 million)

* The Incredible Hulk (14 million)

* Pirates of the Caribbean: At World's End (14 million)

Source: TorrentFreak


Bookmark and Share
You must be registered to post comments. Login or Register.
Displaying 19 comment(s) Profanity: Turn On
masht7 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:12:36 AM

I don't know why piracy is a big problem. Look at those films, the most pirated films yet they made a sh*tload of money. It's not hurting their revenue.
Cinemaisdead writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:13:58 AM

Viva la resistance. The more films pirated, the more chance actual good films have to be released when they start turning it into cinema again and not business (or something like that).
DaveThePhotoGuy writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:35:28 AM

If you ask the people after they pirated the movie did they then go buy said movieor watch movie in cinema, I reckon most would say "yes"

Even if this hurt the dvd/blu-ray sales it didn't effect the box office takings and "Retardavar" got most of it's money from repeat viewing in the cinema.

boogiel writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:37:08 AM

Whoa...the incredible hulk is in that list? I'm speechless...
prowler writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 8:30:33 AM

this list was on WP some time ago. just to fill something in, they put it.
nuttie30xx writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:03:55 AM

there will always be piracy i do it every day but i would never ever sell anything i do dl i do it for personal use buy i buy near enough everything i do download aswel and i go to the movies a lot too
pornfly writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:44:57 AM

Kickass2 needs to hurry the f*ckup already hitgirls startin to turn into jailbait already.now i have to download Footloose and Glee
30YoVirgin writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:52:23 AM

piracy NEVER hurts a good movie

I watched The Dark Knight in theaters and bought the Bluray too

I watched Inception 3 times in theaters and still bought the Bluray

I pirated Avatar and I regret the wasted time and bandwidth, and sad thing is, this sh*t of a movie is highest grossing movie of all time. FML

what they trying to say is, James Cameron still owns all your butts
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 11:03:50 AM

People downloaded The Hulk?!?!?

Bwwahahahahahahahahhahahahaa!!!
bandolero999 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 2:41:41 PM

I like both hulk movies
vincere01 writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 4:04:54 PM

I'm surprised to not see battlefield earth on this list?? Oh, wait......(backs out of room slowly in shame)
Rambo writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 5:47:58 PM

Who Knew James Cameron likes to download his own movies?
sleepingshane writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 7:24:18 PM

well they cant stick 21 million people in jail per film and if they cut our broadband thats a lot of lost revenue for telcom industry so theres safety in numbers just download from torrent sites, hollywood had a record breaking year so that proves piracy dosent hurt the industry.
Whitta writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:12:20 PM

And i'm very happy i didn't pay for that sh*t-fest, Avatar
Ranger writes:
on October 13th, 2011 at 10:19:52 PM

@band - I joke... partially. I never thought (even back in my comic days) that The Hulk should be carrying his own book. As a fit in The Avengers though, I think is a great thing.
Man in Black writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 3:12:07 AM

And all those movies lost money .... if you ask the studios . ( sarcasm )
telur writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 5:21:53 AM

rambo had good point

btw, where rambo 1 until 3?
Bunny X writes:
on October 14th, 2011 at 9:04:09 AM

Granted, this list shows that "policed" piracy doesn't truly hurt the revenues but can you imagine if it were left unchecked?
I say keep things as they are. Let Hollywood fluff its feathers and try to stop piracy but knowing deep down that they're not. And let folks continue to fear retribution when there ultimately wont be any.
Kovacs writes:
on October 15th, 2011 at 8:07:05 AM

Pirating a pirate movie.
Win. xD

"The Goonies" Sequel is Confirmed by Director

James Cameron Gives "Avatar" Sequels Update, Comments on Arnold Schwarzenegger Rumor

"Captain America: The Winter Soldier" Remains Box Office Champ

Marvel Hints at "Iron Man 4" Development

Hugh Jackman Wants Channing Tatum to Take Over Wolverine Role

Lindsay Lohan Says She Was Almost in "The Avengers," But as Which Character?

Anthony Mackie Almost Got Arrested Signing "Captain America 2" Falcon Posters

"Guardians of the Galaxy" is Connected to "Avengers 3"

Marvel Already Set Up Films Through 2028, Lots of Spin-Offs in the Works

"Captain America 3" Directors Hint at Plot Details
Buy High Quality Waterproof Camera Products at Wholesale Price
WorstPreviews.com hosted by pair Networks WorstPreviews.com
Hosted by pair Networks
News Feeds | Box Office | Movie Reviews | Buzz: Top 100 | Popularity: Top 100
Poster Store | About Us | Advertising | Contact Us | Privacy Policy | Web Tools | Site Map
Copyright © 2009 WorstPreviews.com. All rights reserved